Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

New season of Top Gear

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭cdeb

First time watching the new Top Gear. Agree that the format was a bit cliched alright. The two lads are very northern; it's an acquired taste in accents I think!

I think the main problem though is something I noticed with LeBlanc et al - while they may be car enthusiasts, CHM are car journalists and are far better at letting you know something about the cars. There was two interesting cars in the challenge, but beyond saying that one has hydrogas suspension and the other had a wonky steering wheel, I don't think anything really of their history or their character came across

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 23,923 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

They are clearly playing it as an entertainment show rather than a car show so far, letting the new crew get to find their feet I'm guessing.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭Krombopulos Michael

The celebrity challenge (bollards with Bob) could be expanded more, but the interview is woeful. Having the 3 lads there interviewing one guest seems messy.

They have also cut out watching the stig put cars around the track, rather they just tell the laptime and you can view the lap online.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,557 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Glad to see I am not the only one that was dissapointed with last nights episode. It just seemed a bit dull. They had one great looking car in the Bacherist and a strange looking estate and going through a forest was just stupid. It could have been so much better if they had done something else. I have to say do that after he done up the estate it grew on e and I think it looked far better done up. The Rolls Royce SUV while an amazingly engineered car is just silly and dull. Just greed gone to far.
    Hopefully next weeks episode is better.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,300 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

Well Top Gear started late tonight due to an abrupt cut-off from the Women's doubles final at Wimbledon. Top Gear began at 8:20pm on BBC Two.

My DVR recording didnt get the last 15 mins of it due to the delayed start, so its on again tonight so will watch then

• Registered Users Posts: 1,650 ✭✭✭Muppet Man

Wasnt a bad episode to be fair... looks like that was the last of this season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 693 ✭✭✭The Satanist

The Supra thing was very good imo

Seeing Paddy do an actual car review, I was wondering how it was going to go, having no journalism experience. However he just covered what he felt like driving and how it was good regardless of who made it.

Then having Chris come in to give it a thrash was fun, especially watching Paddy trying to stay stoic while drifting around.

Ms

My DVR recording didnt get the last 15 mins of it due to the delayed start, so its on again tonight so will watch then

Yes Wimbledon messed it all up. I was the same. Watched it again tonight as did not get to see all of the piece on the Lotus 79 but did now. That and the part on the Supra was really good. Found the motorsport racing part in Iceland a bit mad. It was fun but as Chris says I don't see the point of it.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

So watched it all. The Lotus piece was very good and very interesting. Would love to have seen stig do a timed lap in it.

Overall I liked the Iceland bit as it was good to see just Freddy and Chris do a segment together without Paddy so see what the dynamic is like.

Out of the whole format, I think the Celeb interview is the weakest. Having the 3 presenters sit there trying to interview one guest seems clunky. If they change the format a bit, and had the interview while they were doing laps in a car with Chris at the wheel and Paddy & Freddy in the back, that could be a laugh.

Overall, I liked this season, some slow bits but it definitely has promise.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,369 ✭✭✭Rossi IRL

New season started tonight.

I enjoyed it.

Only thing I'd like to see them do different is to show the stigs timed lap, don't just say "you can see it online" and then give the time.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

Didn't even know it was back. I'll have to find a repeat. The Xmas trip to Nepal was pretty good

Edit: Tuesday at 7

No celebs - good thing

I enjoyed it. Bit of fun and the lads have a good dynamic.
    I liked the bit in the water at the end when Freddie splashed Chris and Chris got out and tackled him to the water and ended up having a mud fight. Last season it seemed like the lads picked on Chris a bit too much, but this seems like hes up for the challenge this season.

Ms

Didn't even know it was back. I'll have to find a repeat. The Xmas trip to Nepal was pretty good

Edit: Tuesday at 7

Ye the Christmas special was good.
    Muppet Man wrote: »
    No celebs - good thing

Not for long do they will be back from next week. As long as the celebritie is into cars, a bit of fun and is someone failry well known then I don't mind.
    I enjoyed it. Bit of fun and the lads have a good dynamic.
    I liked the bit in the water at the end when Freddie splashed Chris and Chris got out and tackled him to the water and ended up having a mud fight. Last season it seemed like the lads picked on Chris a bit too much, but this seems like hes up for the challenge this season.

Ye that was good.
    Thought the bit with the car hanging over the dam do was stupid and boring. One part I really did not like do was the shooting the golf balls at the cars although the costumes they wore was funny especially the dinosaur one.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

AMKC wrote: »

Ye that was good.
    Thought the bit with the car hanging over the dam do was stupid and boring. One part I really did not like do was the shooting the golf balls at the cars although the costumes they wore was funny especially the dinosaur one.
    The dam thing was silly, although before the drop Freddy was defo very nervous.

I'd say Chris felt some of those golf balls in the dino costume, but it was a bit unnecessary wrecking the cars. Although when Freddy threw the balls, you can see the force and accuracy he has.

Ms

I'd say Chris felt some of those golf balls in the dino costume, but it was a bit unnecessary wrecking the cars. Although when Freddy threw the balls, you can see the force and accuracy he has.

Oh he definitaly did. Totally agree especially the Merc and the Escort has both seemed to be in good condition. Did not care that much about the American car as even Flitoff himself said it was rubbish.[/SPOILER]

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

Ms

Oh he definitaly did. Totally agree especially the Merc and the Escort has both seemed to be in good condition. Did not care that much about the American car as even Flitoff himself said it was rubbish.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

Wow. I'm loving the Speedtail at the moment.

Who has £2 million for a Speedtail? :eek: :D

• Registered Users Posts: 8,369 ✭✭✭Rossi IRL

Another good watchable episode

Ms

I actually think the Speedtail is a very oddly proportioned car and it certainly ain't pretty. In fact its best view was from above looking down on it.

I loved the section with the Dirty Rascal do and the two other great little 4x4s.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

AMKC wrote: »
    I actually think the Speedtail is a very oddly proportioned car and it certainly ain't pretty. In fact its best view was from above looking down on it.

I loved the section with the Dirty Rascal do and the two other great little 4x4s.

The jimny did surprisingly well!

Seen other reviews on the Jimny which were positive, but Freddy was massive in it. Still, good episode and that F35 is some machine.

Ms

A great little car off road but not so great on road. The model before it is a great little car too and still loads of them out there. The Duster done well too.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

So watched last nights episode, and I was honestly a little disappointed as it had great potential.
    The firebird falling apart appeared to be preplanned, or they knew the car was a junker and was going to fail some way, hence running it on the drag alone so not to hit someone else.

I really liked the Dart that Chris had, but he could have rev matched it into 1 gear and finished the drive

The VW bus was cool, but not proper american muscle. Surely they could have found something else, like a C10 truck or the likes.

Perhaps they were worried about copying the old crew, but maybe gone to USA itself, buy the muscle cars and do some new challenges.

Top Gear is moving to BBC One later this year.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/mediacentre/latestnews/2020/top-gear

• Registered Users Posts: 13,304 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Absolutely fantastic segment from Chris Harris on Colin McRae winning the World Rally Championship in 1995 in the episode tonight. Spine tingling. Really, really good

Best thing I’ve seen on the show in years. There’s not much good about the new ladbible version but that was brilliant.