Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
18-09-2013, 10:45   #331
inc21
Registered User
 
inc21's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 507
Quote:
Originally Posted by zefer View Post
I bought a couple of these for my mam and upgraded to firmware v3.8 via usb

Everytime I go to the house now, she says that the box keeps freezing and she has to pull the plug to get it back on again. She says it might happen 2 or 3 times in an evening. I have a feeling it might be because she is flicking through the remote too quickly and have told her to slow down with it but the last time I was there, she says it happened even with going through menu's slowly

Anyone ever seen this or know a fix?
Are they using this box for recording?

I find on my box it freezes a lot when I use EPG to record. So to avoid freezing I set up timers instead and that seems to work well.
inc21 is offline  
Advertisement
18-09-2013, 12:26   #332
zefer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 802
Quote:
Originally Posted by inc21 View Post
Are they using this box for recording?

I find on my box it freezes a lot when I use EPG to record. So to avoid freezing I set up timers instead and that seems to work well.
Nope, apparently its just flicking through the channels that causes it..

I showed her how to use timers and that seems to work fine
zefer is offline  
18-09-2013, 18:41   #333
inc21
Registered User
 
inc21's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 507
Quote:
Originally Posted by zefer View Post
Nope, apparently its just flicking through the channels that causes it..

I showed her how to use timers and that seems to work fine
channel change issue has been mentioned here alright and to be honest box is a bit sluggish at times (i am on 3.8).
inc21 is offline  
20-09-2013, 15:45   #334
BurnsCarpenter
Registered User
 
BurnsCarpenter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 498
Quote:
Originally Posted by zefer View Post
I bought a couple of these for my mam and upgraded to firmware v3.8 via usb

Everytime I go to the house now, she says that the box keeps freezing and she has to pull the plug to get it back on again. She says it might happen 2 or 3 times in an evening. I have a feeling it might be because she is flicking through the remote too quickly and have told her to slow down with it but the last time I was there, she says it happened even with going through menu's slowly

Anyone ever seen this or know a fix?
Yep, mine was freezing up regularly as well. Brought it back to the shop and worked like a charm when yer man tested it. Brought it home again and same problems. Eventually realised that it was the external drive causing it. Hard drive plugged out, works fine. Hard drive plugged in, freezes up.

I originally bought a hard drive specifically for it, and the Walker wouldn't even recognise it. So I tried a different drive and it worked ok. Well, reasonably ok. Around half of all timed recordings failed. But then, the freezing started. At this stage I'm just going to give up on the recording functionality.

This device seems to have major problems with hard drives (reported by others also).
BurnsCarpenter is offline  
14-10-2013, 18:37   #335
FatBeard
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 172
I see saorview are broadcasting the 3.8 upgrade again. I wonder is it the same 3.8 or possibly a 3.8.1 but not reported correctly on the site?

http://is.gd/FyzRQL
FatBeard is offline  
Advertisement
15-10-2013, 14:27   #336
Avenger GT
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1
Has anyone had a problem with the volume control of these boxes not working properly on BBC, ITV, & CH4 HD transmissions. It operates like a switch, i.e. going from zero volume to maximum volume on the first segment of the volume graphic. It works normally on Russia Today and NHK HD channels and on all non HD channels.
Avenger GT is offline  
20-10-2013, 15:00   #337
FatBeard
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by FatBeard View Post
I see saorview are broadcasting the 3.8 upgrade again. I wonder is it the same 3.8 or possibly a 3.8.1 but not reported correctly on the site?

http://is.gd/FyzRQL

Had to downgrade to 3.3 before it would update over the air. Bit turns out it's the same 3.8. Unfortunate considering the box does all I want it to but the bugs make it unusable.

Gonna try dropping the hard drive in favour of USB flash to see will it solve problem.
FatBeard is offline  
20-10-2013, 16:04   #338
elsie1b
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by FatBeard View Post
Had to downgrade to 3.3 before it would update over the air. Bit turns out it's the same 3.8. Unfortunate considering the box does all I want it to but the bugs make it unusable.

Gonna try dropping the hard drive in favour of USB flash to see will it solve problem.
Begs the question how a box so riddled with bugs in many software updates could have passed saorview approval process ?
elsie1b is offline  
21-10-2013, 08:32   #339
FatBeard
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 172
Ya. That thought had crossed my mind. One of the reasons I thought this firmware broadcast would sort my problems. They need to get better
FatBeard is offline  
Advertisement
21-10-2013, 12:31   #340
steveon
Registered User
 
steveon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 3,897
I'm amazed they haven't done anything with the firmware in quite some time as its been version 3.8 for months.
steveon is offline  
21-10-2013, 12:50   #341
FatBeard
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 172
Ya, I know, hopefully there will be an update soon. Anyone try finding a firmware for the Vestel TS7100. I believe it's the same box?
FatBeard is offline  
21-10-2013, 12:54   #342
steveon
Registered User
 
steveon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 3,897
Quote:
Originally Posted by FatBeard View Post
Ya, I know, hopefully there will be an update soon. Anyone try finding a firmware for the Vestel TS7100. I believe it's the same box?
The Walker, Normende 4life and finlux boxes and probably countless other names are all made by Vestel....so it probably is the same box...I think they own the Normende name as well themselves but could be wrong...
steveon is offline  
21-10-2013, 13:36   #343
Antenna
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 1,891
Quote:
Originally Posted by Avenger GT View Post
Has anyone had a problem with the volume control of these boxes not working properly on BBC, ITV, & CH4 HD transmissions. It operates like a switch, i.e. going from zero volume to maximum volume on the first segment of the volume graphic.
I tried one of these boxes for this - volume seemed to behave OK on those HD channels. This trying both audio on HDMI and SCART.
Are you using the S/PDIF optical digital audio output? (I couldn't try that)

Quote:
It works normally on Russia Today and NHK HD channels
The audio on them is the same as SD channels - MP2.
SD-only FTA satellite receivers I have can tune them in and play the sound without picture (A Lidl one I have puts HD TV channels in the Radio list), whilst no sound as well as no picture on BBC etc HD channels.

Last edited by Antenna; 21-10-2013 at 18:35.
Antenna is offline  
21-10-2013, 22:12   #344
dkane
Registered User
 
dkane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 351
I'm looking for a combo box preferably Saorview approved and 7-day EPG on Satellite.
With those requirements in mind is the WP645TS-HD the best receiver available?

Would you recommend this box or an alternative?
dkane is offline  
21-10-2013, 22:48   #345
The Cush
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 12,999
Quote:
Originally Posted by dkane View Post
I'm looking for a combo box preferably Saorview approved and 7-day EPG on Satellite.
With those requirements in mind is the WP645TS-HD the best receiver available?

Would you recommend this box or an alternative?
I think the Walker you mention is the only one that meets your requirements.
The Cush is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet