Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

WRH proposed downgrade - protest on Saturday the 23rd of Feb

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭O Riain

Bless,even the biggest of begrudgers wont begrudge him this.

"THE Joint Oireachtas Committee on Jobs, Enterprise and Employment has given its backing to a proposal from Waterford Senator David Cullinane to bring forward a major Jobs Action Plan for the South-East.
    Senator Cullinane has been appointed as the Special Rapporteur and will carry out the extensive consultations with stakeholders from across the region.
    Senator Cullinane said:
    “The South-East has one of the highest unemployment rates in the state at over 19%. It is clear that not enough is being done to create jobs in the region.”
    As Special Rapporteur David Culinane will lead the consultations with all of the relevant stakeholders, including city and county managers, the South East Regional Authority, City and County Enterprise Boards, Enterprise Ireland, IDA, Chambers of Commerce, trade unions, organisations for the unemployed, Údarás na Gaeltachta, other business groups, local development companies, fishing and farming organisations, education providers, elected representatives, community and voluntary groups and the unemployed.
    Senator Cullinane said:
    “The objective is to build on existing plans such as the South-East Unemployment Action Plan and the work of the South-East Employment Forum. It is crucial that the plan is comprehensive, credible, realistic and deliverable.
    “It is vital that the key recommendations are implemented in full and that we all do what we can to bring jobs to Waterford and the South-East.”

Good man David, he got my number one vote, he's definitely our most active politician and people should have realised this rather than not voting for him just because he is Sinn Féin.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Bless,even the biggest of begrudgers wont begrudge him this.

"THE Joint Oireachtas Committee on Jobs, Enterprise and Employment has given its backing to a proposal from Waterford Senator David Cullinane to bring forward a major Jobs Action Plan for the South-East.
    Senator Cullinane has been appointed as the Special Rapporteur and will carry out the extensive consultations with stakeholders from across the region.
    Senator Cullinane said:
    “The South-East has one of the highest unemployment rates in the state at over 19%. It is clear that not enough is being done to create jobs in the region.”
    As Special Rapporteur David Culinane will lead the consultations with all of the relevant stakeholders, including city and county managers, the South East Regional Authority, City and County Enterprise Boards, Enterprise Ireland, IDA, Chambers of Commerce, trade unions, organisations for the unemployed, Údarás na Gaeltachta, other business groups, local development companies, fishing and farming organisations, education providers, elected representatives, community and voluntary groups and the unemployed.
    Senator Cullinane said:
    “The objective is to build on existing plans such as the South-East Unemployment Action Plan and the work of the South-East Employment Forum. It is crucial that the plan is comprehensive, credible, realistic and deliverable.
    “It is vital that the key recommendations are implemented in full and that we all do what we can to bring jobs to Waterford and the South-East.”

Not saying he doesn't work hard and I have no problem giving him credit where its due. I don't like nor trust Sinn Fein and they keep proving beyond doubt they are an awful party. Highest expenses, regularly involved in expenses scandals north & south, heavy active links with Sinn Fein with a question over their leaders involvement, dishonest, daft policies and so on. Perhaps Cullinane would be better as an Independent.

My point is that its not only David that is working hard for Waterford. Whatever about Deasy, in the two houses of government we have Paudie Coffey (TD) who does trojan work and Senator Maurice Cummins likewise. Locally we can give credit to a number of FG Cllrs including John Cummins.

• Registered Users Posts: 2 roddie

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

roddie wrote: »

Those guys are doing absolutely fantastic work. Focusing mostly on the facts, pretty well organised and fighting for our hospital without the bull**** and crappy rants.

Sully wrote: »
    Those guys are doing absolutely fantastic work. Focusing mostly on the facts, pretty well organised and fighting for our hospital without the bull**** and crappy rants.

One of their aims is to save our city status just like Waterford Gives a Shirt so they both at least recognise that this is an important issue whereas you seem to think its a non-issue.
    However I do think our own councillors are completely inept and a massive shake up is needed but I don't like nor trust the way it singles us out. Limerick will be ok they're big and bold enough to survive.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,687 ✭✭✭Bards

Not saying he doesn't work hard and I have no problem giving him credit where its due. I don't like nor trust Sinn Fein and they keep proving beyond doubt they are an awful party. Highest expenses, regularly involved in expenses scandals north & south, heavy active links with Sinn Fein with a question over their leaders involvement, dishonest, daft policies and so on. Perhaps Cullinane would be better as an Independent.

My point is that its not only David that is working hard for Waterford. Whatever about Deasy, in the two houses of government we have Paudie Coffey (TD) who does trojan work and Senator Maurice Cummins likewise. Locally we can give credit to a number of FG Cllrs including John Cummins.

Every Party has their Bad Apples - FG are no exception - Michael Lowry for example

as I said before they only party left open to me that I can vote for is SF. The political establishment have left me with no other option. It is THEIR (The establishment) fault - They are looking after too many vested interests instead of the electorate who THEY are meant to server:mad:

E.G Lab want to increase the USC for people who earn over €100K per year. FG are trying to block this and make the less well off make up the budget shortfall instead. Is this the kind of society we want?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭vixdname

All, theres a rally \ martch taking place this Saturday in protest against the downgrading of Waterford Regional Hospital, we need numbers, big numbers to turn out, please do your best to meet in Ballybricken at 12pm and march till 2pm.......DONT LEAVE THE MARCHING TO SOMEONE ELSE, IF WE ALL DO THAT NO ONE WILL TURN UP.

This will affect YOU, YOUR Spouse, YOUR Girlfriend, YOUR Mother, YOUR Father, YOUR Son, YOUR Daughter, YOUR Friends and YOUR loved ones.

This is too importrant to ignore.

Make it to Ballybricken at 12pm this Saturday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭seven_eleven

vixdname wrote: »
    All, theres a rally \ martch taking place this Saturday in protest against the downgrading of Waterford Regional Hospital, we need numbers, big numbers to turn out, please do your best to meet in Ballybricken at 12pm and march till 2pm.......DONT LEAVE THE MARCHING TO SOMEONE ELSE, IF WE ALL DO THAT NO ONE WILL TURN UP.

This will affect YOU, YOUR Spouse, YOUR Girlfriend, YOUR Mother, YOUR Father, YOUR Son, YOUR Daughter, YOUR Friends and YOUR loved ones.

This is too importrant to ignore.

Make it to Ballybricken at 12pm this Saturday

Would definitely attend if I didnt have work :(

Just to update people on this..
    The leader of the Seanad has said that he would consider his position if the re-grouping of the South East hospitals goes ahead. Waterford's Maurice Cummins was speaking on Deise Am about a report being compiled by Professor Higgins, which if approved by the Health Minister could lead to Kilkenny and Wexford being grouped with Dublin hospitals, and Waterford Regional and South Tipp being grouped with Cork. This could effectively lead to the downgrading of Waterford regional hospital. Senator Cummins also said on Deise Am this morning, that he has seen a leaked report showing that the HSE South is in favour of retaining hospital services in the South East as they stand.

Maurice Cummins is a Fine Gael Senator.

• Registered Users Posts: 56 ✭✭Swissarmyknife

Bards wrote: »
    Every Party has their Bad Apples - FG are no exception - Michael Lowry for example

as I said before they only party left open to me that I can vote for is SF. The political establishment have left me with no other option. It is THEIR (The establishment) fault - They are looking after too many vested interests instead of the electorate who THEY are meant to server:mad:

E.G Lab want to increase the USC for people who earn over €100K per year. FG are trying to block this and make the less well off make up the budget shortfall instead. Is this the kind of society we want?

Not forgetting the Fine Gael cll; Fred Forsey,who has been jailed,or the tax defaulter Dr.James Reilly,and his appearance in stubbs gazette.
    Frank Feighan TD,and his failure to pay back a €300k loan,which he ends up in the courts.
    Fidelma healy eames,and her escapades:).
    There is many more shenanigans from Fine Gael.

Also the broken promises of the "Five point plan",and their "New Era" document.Which are just fit for the fire. Unfortunately.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,498 ✭✭✭blue note

Looking on Wikipedia, Mullingar, Portlaoise and Tullamore all seem to be Regional hospitals. Tullamore is 30 to 40 minutes from the other two, and Mullingar is an hour and 10 minutes from Portlaoise.

Is it right that these threes regional status is not to be questioned, but Waterfords is?

That doesn't seem to make sense to me.

Would it not make sense to group Wexford and Kilkenny with Waterford Regional Hospital?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Deise Tom

decies wrote: »
    He had prior arrangements in Dublin or something , noctor had about 3 opportunities to ask him but blew it !!!

If he was interested in Waterford or even seen to be interested in Waterford he would have been at the WIT. He could easily have got out of the committee meeting in Dublin by making his appologies. But he did not because the expense of driving from Dungarvan to Dublin and back is greater than having to drive from Dungarvan to Waterford and back.

Here is another question. Did Paudie Coffey accept the wedding invitation for last Thursday before or after he and all the other TD's voted to give themselves a mid term break just like the teachers had last week.

comeraghs wrote: »

It will do you no good. They dont answer emails or Phone calls, unless you are one of the lucky ones.

You do.

Who?

O Riain wrote: »
    Good man David, he got my number one vote, he's definitely our most active politician and people should have realised this rather than not voting for him just because he is Sinn Féin.

He would have an excellent chance of getting elected if his party were to tell us the truth about the pay they get for their work and what they do with it.

Just to update people on this..

Maurice Cummins is a Fine Gael Senator.

He might have been better off saying he would pull away from the party if they downgrade the hospital and the south east more than they have in the last two years rather than say he would think about what he would do.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

Deise Tom wrote: »
    He might have been better off saying he would pull away from the party if they downgrade the hospital and the south east more than they have in the last two years rather than say he would think about what he would do.
    You do realise that you're allowed put everything you want to say into one individual post rather than post over and over again?

AdMMM wrote: »
    You do realise that you're allowed put everything you want to say into one individual post rather than post over and over again?

you dont say...

• Registered Users Posts: 19,377 ✭✭✭✭road_high

blue note wrote: »
    Looking on Wikipedia, Mullingar, Portlaoise and Tullamore all seem to be Regional hospitals. Tullamore is 30 to 40 minutes from the other two, and Mullingar is an hour and 10 minutes from Portlaoise.

Is it right that these threes regional status is not to be questioned, but Waterfords is?

That doesn't seem to make sense to me.

In name only though. Tullamore is the actual regional hospital. Mullingar and Portlaoise are satelites of it. I think it was political that they were all named regional. Specialised servcies are centralied tin Tullamore or Dublin far as I know.
    Mullingar is a pretty small hospital actually.

• Registered Users Posts: 304 ✭✭leopard trek

Deise Tom wrote: »
    He would have an excellent chance of getting elected if his party were to tell us the truth about the pay they get for their work and what they do with it.
    They all take the average industrial rate.. the rest goes back to the party. They do tell the truth. If you believe anyone on the street giving out about sinn fein just because they are 'sinn fein'... people need to open their eyes to new people, plus they could do no worse shower of [EMAIL="b@$t@3d$"]b@$t@3d$[/EMAIL] that were/are in it :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,254 ✭✭✭Chiparus

mfitzy wrote: »
    In name only though. Tullamore is the actual regional hospital. Mullingar and Portlaoise are satelites of it. I think it was political that they were all named regional. Specialised servcies are centralied tin Tullamore or Dublin far as I know.
    Mullingar is a pretty small hospital actually.

same size as wexford and Kilkenny, bigger than south tip, sees more patients than Tullamore, Kilkenny, wexford or south tip in the A+E

They all take the average industrial rate.. the rest goes back to the party. They do tell the truth. If you believe anyone on the street giving out about sinn fein just because they are 'sinn fein'... people need to open their eyes to new people, plus they could do no worse shower of [EMAIL="b@$t@3d$"]b@$t@3d$[/EMAIL] that were/are in it :D

Two things there. The money is leaving the state coffers to go towards the party, so the state is still worse off and Sinn Fein are still taking a full wage. They also tend to make up for this in expenses.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,377 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Chiparus wrote: »
    same size as wexford and Kilkenny, bigger than south tip, sees more patients than Tullamore, Kilkenny, wexford or south tip in the A+E

St. Lukes has 285 beds, Mullingar 202.
    On the other point I'll have to take your word for it, but it's hardly a regional hospital like WRH would be.
    Relation had a baby there a few years back. Did not go back there again but that weas just her personal experience.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,254 ✭✭✭Chiparus

mfitzy wrote: »
    St. Lukes has 285 beds, Mullingar 202.
    On the other point I'll have to take your word for it, but it's hardly a regional hospital like WRH would be.
    Relation had a baby there a few years back. Did not go back there again but that weas just her personal experience.

In terms of acute beds its more like 228 vs 197
    Kilkenny includes the psych beds in the number, mullingar does not.
    But it sees more emergency patients

• Registered Users Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭fricatus

I've been seeing various people giving out about Deasy on Twitter over an interview he did on WLR yesterday, but I won't have any chance of listening to it for a few days.

Anybody hear it? Can you sum up his main points?

• Registered Users Posts: 304 ✭✭leopard trek

Two things there. The money is leaving the state coffers to go towards the party, so the state is still worse off and Sinn Fein are still taking a full wage. They also tend to make up for this in expenses.
    but with the rest of them take full wage + expenses?

• Registered Users Posts: 165 ✭✭jad2007

I heard it,

He made a few points

Firstly he said in relation to not attending the meeting he said that he had to be at the Public Accounts Committee hearing in Dublin. He said that he notified the consultants of this in advance but they failed to tell the meeting that he couldnt attend. He called this the "weirdest thing that ever happened to me in politics"

His next main point was that he had been working on this issue since last November and that basically some people were point scoring but trying to maintain none of the TD's were working on the issue.

He said that it was not up to the government to decide which hospitals were in which grouping and that consulatants in Kilkenny were in favour of leaving the group.

He then laid the blame for this at the feet of the consultants in Waterford and said they were impossible to deal with and had very high opinions of themselves. He also said that their performance in negotiations was "underwhelming"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭Baby4

• Registered Users Posts: 2,687 ✭✭✭Bards

If John Deasey expects us to believe that at the end of the day it will not be a "Political Decision" then he takes us all for fools

All Decisions taken by Govt in Ireland are "Political Decisions"

He's (As Usual) only looking out for himself