Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Dinner Tonight! Where to go? - Restaurant & Eating Out Recommendations for NCD

• 25-01-2008 9:07am
    Registered Users Posts: 22,746 ✭✭✭✭

[Mod Note] As suggested by Wishbone Ash (I got there eventually!!) this thread can be somewhere to post your dining experiences (good or bad) in Dublin County North. Feel free to post separate threads on specific places for further discussion, aswell as adding your experience here. Thanks :)

Re: Harvey's Restaurant in Skerries

Well WA - good news to report. Despite mixed reviews from a few people I had spoken to (OK - a few of the lads in Nealons) I'm pleased to say that we had a fantastic meal.

They've a good range of starters, reasonably priced - around €5 to €12.50.
    The mains are pretty well spread too - €12.50 to €25 or so.

Mrs Billy had fish cakes to start & then confit of duck. Both were very well presented. The fish cakes were spot on in texture & flavour, & came with a basil & coriander pesto.

The duck was melt in the mouth & just dripped off the bone. Herself was highly impressed.

I had a "tower of crispy duck" on toasted brioche to start, then "turf & surf".
    The starter was fantastic! Really quite the best starter I've had in a long, long time. They went a bit heavy on the coriander & chives, which were so plentiful that they were more part of the dish than just a garnish. As I like both I won't complain too much. The crisy duck was plentiful & it also came with something I can only describe as a "cucumber coulis" which was fcuking delish! (I can't wait to see Tom Doorley or Matthew Fort use that phrase. :D)

The surf & turf was a bit disappointing though. A couple of the prawns were a bit overdone & the steak came medium-to-well done rather than medium as requested. All the same though, it was a nice flavoursome piece of meat. But I'd question whether it was actually a sirloin as stated on the menu. The chips were out of a freezer, but good quality nonetheless.

One thing that I'll say is that whoever was plating up in the kitchen last night was an artist. I'm not one to be impressed by food presentation (just give me good food & plenty of it!), but this person was the 'Banksy' of food.

We had a wonderful bottle of wine - a St Emillion Reserve - at €26. They have a cracking wine list - from fine wines to a very good range of house reds & whites. The house wines are very reasonably priced too.

We didn't need to order dessert as the waitress must have overheard me wish Mrs Billy a happy birthday & a couple of them came over with a big slice of a chocolate mocha cake with a candle in it & sang "Happy Birthday" to her.
    It was a really nice touch.

The serving staff were very professional & on the ball as regards being there just when you needed them, but not hovering at the same time. That said it was a quiet enough night & it may be a different kettle of fish on a busy Saturday (according to another review received over a pint in Nealons).

The bill came to €91 (including a coffee & a brandy). All in all, a great night was had, the food was brilliant (apart from my main which was still nice enough) & we'll definitely be back.*

* That is high praise indeed as I'm a fussy git when it comes to eating out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 288 ✭✭suzieb

Hi looking to book a meal somewhere nice in Balbriggan tonight!
    Not too fussed on type of food once its nice.Was hoping for thai but dont think theres anywhere and dont fancy driving to swords!
    Any ideas? I've been to castellina chianti(sp) before and liked it and other italian restaurant but looking for something for me and the bf thats not gonna break the bank!
    thanks

• Registered Users Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭wow sierra

Golden Emperor chinese is great. Doesn't look much from the outside but the food is great as is the service, really friendly and it won't break the bank. I must go there again soon myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 288 ✭✭suzieb

Hey thanks,

Gonna try that next weekend cos just got lazy and decided to order take away with bottle of wine! Sooo lazy ;-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

+ 1 on Golden Emperor. Tis ny0m!

The Italian spot down by the cinema is also quite nice and I've heard rave reviews about the chinese above the Hamlet pub.

Perhaps we could make this a permanent restaurant review thread for NCD? Always good to have boardsie recommendations!

• Registered Users Posts: 24,951 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Chinafoot wrote: »
    Perhaps we could make this a permanent restaurant review thread for NCD? Always good to have boardsie recommendations!
    Great idea! I've been to the Bombay Bistro again tonight (in Rush) and have come away very satisfied as usual - great spot!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 488 ✭✭SuzyS1972

I love the indian opp the italian in Balbriggan - Garam Masala - very nice - mmmm

• Registered Users Posts: 405 ✭✭An Bradán Feasa

Try the Bracken Court Hotel, they do lovely food.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭LouOB

Try the Bracken Court Hotel, they do lovely food.

I love the restaurant in there - but since they changed chef I am not liking it as much. But still fairly decent

My only gripe is the duo - piano and guitar player. They ruin a nice dinner
    The other piano player (Niall) was lovely compliment to a meal - rather than Karen Carpenter esque and Christy Moore who are quite loud

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,952 Mod ✭✭✭✭Moonbeam

Tried the Golden Emperor at the weekend and it was nice.

I had a takeaway from there about 2 years ago and was completely unimpressed,it was definitely worth giving it a second chance.

Feis Gardens also does a nice Chinese and the staff are friendly.

The Indian in Balbriggan is very disappointing,there is nothing wrong with the food but it definitely makes Skerries worth the trip.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,951 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Hill Billy wrote: »
    My pleasure folks. I just hope that you get the same quality of grub & service when you go.
    Myself and Mrs Wishbone Ash dined there last nightand were fairly impressed overall.

Mrs WA had the fish cakes for starter and the chicken and bacon skewer for main. I had the crispy duck and surf 'n' turf. I asked for it rare but it was more like medium but I was expecting that anyway. The sauce was fabulous but I can't remember what it was.

Apologies for not giving as much detail as Hill Billy but I don't really have that much interest in food itself - more interested in company, ambience and surroundings.

The presentation was top class and the staff were professional. The decor was fresh and modern also although they could ditch the tacky placemats.

A couple of minor gripes - the music was a bit loud (IMO) and we thought that the red wine was a couple of degrees on the cool side.

The bill was €120 approx (including two bottles of wine).

• Registered Users Posts: 5,449 ✭✭✭blastman

Was in the Balbriggan one tonight for something to eat for the first time. The food was good (and hot!) and the service was quick and pleasant. I'd definitely go back.

blastman wrote: »
    Was in the Balbriggan one tonight for something to eat for the first time. The food was good (and hot!) and the service was quick and pleasant. I'd definitely go back.

There was 7 of us there a about 3 weeks ago and it was lovely. Reasonably priced for the portion sizes and nobody in our party had any complaints about the food. Service was fast and very friendly.

Going to try and get the work crowd down there soon.

• Registered Users Posts: 218 ✭✭Chopperdog 2

+1 Again.

Harveys in Balbriggan is holding true to the excellent food and large portion sizes that have always been associated with any of Jimmy/Anthony Reilly's restaurants.

Mrs. Dog and I went there for lunch today and everything was to our satisfaction, we had a lovely meal, tasty, hot and well presented.

The Hoi Sin spring rolls were rather exceptional.
    Mrs. Dog (Vegetarian) was very impressed with the relatively large choice available for her, especially when you realise that this a steakhouse and Grill.

Service was swift and the girls were very friendly.

Well done all round, we will be back.

PS They are offering a very good deal for groups coming up to Christmas, € 35 for 3 courses and a complimentary cocktail.

That could be worth investigating.

• Registered Users Posts: 295 ✭✭midonogh

I am going to dissent and say that I find Harveys quite disappointing.
    Decor wise there is nowhere to beat it. They have obviously spent a lot of time and money fitting it out and it looks superb.

I have had dinner twice and lunch twice. My and the missus reaction was that it was barfood at restaurant prices. Dish that offended the most was the bangers and mash. The mash was lost for a bit of salt and pepper and the sausages were of the type that you get at a hot food counter. I did have the duck on the brioche that was mentioned above and although I thought it was a strange combination I did quite enjoy it. I had the steak on my first trip and found it quite tough.

I enjoyed the staff - a bit amateur, they had to be reminded to bring our wine, but they were very pleasant and friendly.

My recommendations in Skerries:
    I have a young child and we like to eat a lot in Il Sorisio, the Italian above Gerrys. Food is good, view is superb and prices are great. Only downside is that it is a very big restuarant and when there are only a few people in it is a bit cavernous.

I have not been for a while, but love Pasta Pizza when it is full. Food is fine, maybe not as good as Il Soriso but the tight tables can make for a great atmosphere.

Always enjoy the food at Stoops, but on the rare occasion that we get out I can not be bothered with that hovering at the bar hoping to get a table. If only you could make a booking!!

Have only been in the Lifeboat once. Actually I had forgotten about it and thanks to the poster above for reminding me. Had a great meal in a lovely setting . Will have to go back.

Red Bank is a great dining experience, but the decor is woeful. I wonder could they move into Harveys?

Have been to the Chinese near the Tennis Court. Decor was nice, prices were fine, but disappointed with the food. Same for the Indian, although I have only had take away. I lived in London for a long time and the standard of ethic cuisine was very high, so it is a bit hard to adjust to Skerries. However I still keep buying from them. For Indians, the best by far that I have had in Ireland is Medina which is down towards Capel Street. It is the match for just about anything that I had in England.

The new place in Russell's looks interesting and I will try the next time that I am out. Anybody been?

• Registered Users Posts: 862 ✭✭✭cbreeze

I agree with midonogh's assessment of the skerries eateries. new place in russels is 'tarragon'. food good, but if you get a table in the back section the low ceiling is v claustrophobic and there is nothing to soak up the sound. Service is very amateur - staff have just done their leaving cert. Wine list is very well thought out and not a rip off for the quality of the wines on offer.

Here's some recommendations/reviews from this thread.

I think that Garam Masala (01 690 4714) in Balbriggan is the best of a bad lot locally TBH. Indie Spice in Swords (01 8077999) is good.

If you fancy making your own curry - here's a spicy little number:

Fiery lamb curry

As the name suggests, this is a very hot dish, not for people with a weak constitution. This is one of the few Indian dishes that contains heat in every sense - both 'chilli hot' and 'spice hot'. You can decide the amount of heat you'd like. Discard most of the seeds from the chillies if you want to reduce the heat, or keep them in if you want it really hot.
    Serves 4

25-35 dried red chillies, stalks removed
    11/2 tsp cloves
    150g ghee or vegetable oil
    250g plain yogurt, whisked until smooth
    2 tsp cumin seeds, roasted
    20g ground coriander
    1 tsp red chilli powder
    2 tsp salt
    3 cinnamon leaves or bay leaves
    6 green cardamom pods
    5 black cardamom pods
    75g garlic cloves, finely chopped
    250g onions, finely chopped
    1kg leg of lamb or goat with bone chopped into 2.5cm cubes
    750ml lamb stock or water
    30g coriander leaves, finely chopped

Set aside 3 or 4 of the dried chillies to use later; put the remainder to soak in 125ml water. Also put aside 4-6 of the cloves and 1 tbs of the ghee. Mix the yogurt with the cumin seeds, ground coriander, chilli powder and salt in a bowl. Set aside.
    Heat the rest of the ghee in a heavy-bottomed pan. Add the remaining cloves, the cinnamon leaves and the green and black cardamoms. When they begin to crackle and change colour, add the garlic. Sauté for 2 minutes or until the garlic begins to turn golden. Add the onions and cook for 10 minutes or until golden brown, stirring constantly. Stir in the meat and cook for 2-3 minutes. Drain the red chillies and add to the pan.
    Continue cooking for 10-12 minutes or until the liquid has evaporated and the meat starts to brown. Now add the spiced yogurt and cook for another 10-12 minutes or until the liquid from the yogurt has evaporated. Add the stock or water and bring to the boil, then cover the pan, reduce the heat and simmer until the meat is tender. Check the seasoning. Remove from the heat and keep warm.
    To prepare the tadka, or tempering, which boosts the flavours, heat up the reserved ghee or oil in a large ladle over a flame (or in a small pan) and add the reserved cloves and dried red chillies. Cook for 1-2 minutes or until the ghee changes colour and the spice flavours are released. Pour the contents of the ladle over the lamb curry, sprinkle with the chopped coriander and serve.

Gonna have to disagree on both counts there! I love Garam Masala! I find that takeaways aren't nearly as good as the sit-down meal for some reason though. I wasn't overly impressed with Indie Spice.
    Yeah to second pretty much what has been said here;

Indian in Skerries is poor (luminous radioactive gloop AFAIR)
    Garam masala, balbriggan - OK
    Indie Spice, swords - good

The only indian take-away in Dublin worth my vote would be Bombay Pantry in Glenageary
    I always found Indy Spice in Swords to be a lovely restaurant. The service is excellent....and not being an expert on Inidan cusine, always found the food to be very good too.
    I tried a take away from the Bombay Bistro on Wednesday. I had the Lamb Vindaloo & Mrs Billy had the Chicken Rogon Josh.

Both dishes were OK. The Rogon Josh was milder than some Kormas I've had elsewhere. Apart from the melt-in-the-mouth lamb, the Vindaloo was nice enough but nothing special.

Overall, better than Shiva, but not quite as good as Garam Masala. IMO.
    Mrs WA and I had a sit-down there last night. For a starter, we went for the vegetarian platter (for two) - a lot of eating in it. Mrs WA went for the Aloo Gobhi while I had the Keema Aloo with vegetable and nut pulano. Nice bottle of Argentine Red to accompany it. Bill came to €62. Service was good and food excellent. We'll be back.

(They seem to be doing a roaring takeaway trade - constant stream of bags from the kitchen).
    Yeah the new Indian in Rush is called the Bambay Bistro. Absolutely cracking indian food. Restaurant in lovely to. Grand and big for parties etc. The more that go there the better I say. Rush wouldnt be the most out going town in the cuisine area. Love to see it staying in Rush. Number is 8437552. Believe the indian guy that own it has a place in Navan and is hoping to move to Rush if it takes off.
    The food is great but the takeaway service is very slow though. When I send Mrs Wishbone Ash off (:)) it usually takes about 45 mins. She tells me the owner is Nepalese, not Indian. I asked her how she knew and she tells me that she has to spend the 45 minutes doing something! :eek: :D

PS - I work with a few Indians (and a lot of cowboys) and they all go to an Indian takeaway in Portmarnock for the nosebag. They say it's the most authentic around. (I don't know its name though).

Some recommendations/reviews from this thread.
    hi all!
    heading to bewleys airport hotel before flying out early sunday morning,the house resto doesnt look the flashest,just wondering anywhere around thats decent for nosh on sat night?

Bewleys Hotel Dublin Airport
    Baskin Lane
    Swords
    Co. Dublin

thanks
    john
    Hi i had dinner in that restaurant few months ago and found it lovely...

Theres not really much around tho,the hilton hotel is at the end of the road that your hotels on and theres a nice pub restaurant"the goblet" about 5 mins drive away in artane... big portions and great food.

Swords isn't too far in taxi either and plenty of places out there to eat.
    went to website and found not much in way of choice on evening menu,just a brasserie menu on their site.
    also carvery lunch but not much more!
    so your saying they have a la carte and a regular dinner menu?
    whats the price:value like?
    thanks
    john
    Kealys Pub at the Airport is excellent for food and great service. Head up to the Airport and turn left at roundabout, its just on your right.

As you will be driving taxiing anyway from Bewleys Swords is only a few minutes away by car. Indie Spice or Chilli Shaker for Indian, Schoolhouse Restaurant for regular food, Trentunos for Italian, decent Chinese, Thai etc .
    available also. Most of the pubs do decent food too.

Swords will probably be busy/noisy on a Saturday night so if you want somewhere handier Kealys is your best option.
    The restaurant in the Clarion Hotel in Dublin Airport in very good IMO. I can't think of it's name at the moment. The food has an Asian theme.
    Coachmans Inn Cloghran near the airport is not bad.
    Clouds in The Carlton (Old Airport Road ) is Very Good .
    i agree with Kealy's, lived in swords all my life and still go there for grub :) also one in santry called the little bistro which aint too bad :)

Some recommendations/reviews from this thread
    Does anybody know a good JAPANESE RESTAURANT where they sell fresh SUSHI in the Balbriggan area?? (maybe Drogheda?)

thanks in advance.
    There's the 'Gold Coast' (maybe 'Golden Coast') takeaway on the South Strand in Skerries. They do sushi according to their menu.

Caveat emptor. ;)
    The name of the place is now Ocean View. Their number is 01 8490848.
    Apparently there is a new "YoSushi" restaurant opening shortly in the Pavilions shopping centre.
    I've had it in The Parachute in Skerries on one of their special jazz nights but I don't think it's normally available.

Where can you buy Mexican food on the North side of the city? Is there anywhere around the Santry/Glasnevin/Phibsborough area?
    a restaurant or in a shop?

there is a restaurant in howth called El Paso - http://www.elpasorestaurant.com/
    El Paso is probably the only Mexican on the Northside

Here is a list of Mexican restaurants in Dublin:

http://www.menupages.ie/Dublin/Cuisines/Mexican
    I'm pretty sure there is one in Malahide... it may not be exclusively Mexican... but it certainly features heavily on the menu.
    The Orangerie?
    If you like mexican food El Paso is worth a visit... Ive been a couple of times and really enjoyed it.
    Went to considerable lenght to go to El Paso earlier in the year.After seeing it on City Channel.Was well disappointed.Unless you live in Sutton/Howth not worth the hassle.IMO
    Completely disagree, have been a good view times and the food was lovely each time, speedy and friendly service too.

Well worth a visit OP.

Anyone able to recommend a good restaurant for a romantic meal near Stamullen?
    Skerries would be the closest location with some decent places to eat, I'd rule Balbriggan out to be honest.
    Bluetonic,

What would you reccomend in Skerries?

My partner and I like anything except for Indian and sushi and we are due to go for a mean during the week for my birthyday..
    Stoop Your Head (Stoops) over at the harbour is excellent food in a casual setting. Excellent for seafood.

The Orchard (Chinese) on Church Street is supposedly still nice. I've not eaten there in years mind you.

The Red Bank if your looking for something a bit more formal www.redbank.ie/menus.htm

Russells on Strand Street is also popular, although I've never eaten there. Food is 'European'.
    The food in Blue Bar down beside the pierhouse is lovely. Its a lovely pub too.
    I have to agree. I was surprised. nice food. nice decor. excellent service.
    Coast in Bettystown is fab, Pricey but really good service and very good menu. It used to be the old bachus restaurant but they have changed ownership.

Also D Vine in Drogheda, It is a little Italian on stockwell Street. They have a wine licence and the food is absolutely gorgeous, They do boards for starters, with parma ham, salami, sun dried tomatoes, cheeses, olives, Roasted peppers, pate etc and the freshest bread, The mains are all pasta based. And its cheap and cheerful..

Redz is a good choice too, this has been changed to a fully licenced restaurant downstairs. The portions are huge. Not really cosy and romantic, as it caters for a lot of large groups. But good value for what you get.

If you need anything else. Let me know!!!

Best of luck!!

Anybody been down yet? Its beside Starbucks towards the Marina Village. Its only been open a short while but have tried to make a booking for a Saturday and they instantly say 'sorry we're booked out' for all Saturday's in the near future :eek: Anybody I know who has rung to book have got the same bull**** line. Maybe they only have 5 tables, that would explain it :p

They cant be that popular so quick surely? Are they trying to sound good by saying they are booked out constantly to create an impression that its such a great place that you will take any booking just to go :confused:
    Hi all, its owned by the gang who own Kinnara in Clontart.

Excellent food! I hope you all get bookings...
    Just back - very nice meal and I would recommend it. I preferred it (slightly) to Jaipur, which would be a similar enough venue nearby.

To be fair, the place was completely full and there isn't a huge amount of tables inside. I thought the ambience was quite good and our table (for two) was fairly spaced from the others - our chairs were also big leather affairs. Looking around they had a fair few tables catering for large parties (there were as at least five birthdays on while we were there).

Portions were all a good size and the menu (online anyway) was quite decent. The only one that was a bit on the small side was the range of desserts, although the strawberry cheesecake was nice. I can't comment on the wine selection as I don't drink the stuff.

I'd recommend you give it a shot - maybe turn up in person as we did and they can't fob you off so easily!
    They have an early bird menu from 5-7 I think on weekdays, 20 euro or so for set meal.
    Finally got round to eating here and solved the mystery of why its so difficult to get a booking in the process.....the place is f**king tiny !!

They are booked out 3 wks in advance for fri & sat nights which makes sense given the demand for those nights versus the size of the place. You will have no problem strolling in during the week though.

Superb food, cramped surroundings (granted some tables are tucked away nicely but theres only about 3 of them) and hit & miss service was our experience.
    is it as good as indy spice in swords?
    The food probably is better alright based on my visit, generous portions and the food arrives in nice little pots :) The service needs polishing though. Wasnt busy when we were there and they still managed to "forget" about dessert and coffees that were ordered :(
    Was there this evening and was impressed with the place. Food lovely. Service very polite and attentive. Staff seemed to work well as a team.

For quite a small restaurant, the design works really well and you don't feel cramped. They clearly put thought into the fitting-out, which is of high quality.

Will go back.
    No. Me and Mr Me have been in to Kajal a few times now for the Thali lunch. It was quite good when it started but seems to have faltered a little. We also got an early bird dinner there one time that we were not mad on plus it was a bit expensive. Bilash Tandoori around the corner from it is better value for money but I think Indie spice and DChilli Shaker in Swords are better. I would go yo Kajal if I wanted to impress someone like on a date, etc. The service is good though.
    ixoy on wrote: »
    I was there on Wednesday and it was still excellent (and packed too). I'd definitely recommend it even if it's a tad pricey. I think it's a good bit nicer than the Bilash Tandoori nearby.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭Martron

ok, went to the sapphire last night and was pleasantly suprised.the decor is not what i expected at all. the food and service was excellenst and the bar is great for a few drinks before and after dinner.

me and the gf had starters main and dessert an a drink each and it only came to 60 euro!!!

was well impressed and will most defiantely go back there and also recommend it .!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 196 ✭✭rferguson

right well i went to Sapphires last Tuesday.

One Word......... WOW!!!!!
    i brought my sister and mother down to try it. The Srvice is A1 and the decor is fantastic it looks like it should be in malahide or town.

tghe food was fantastic and the prices are very reasonable

2 thumbs up for me

• Registered Users Posts: 9,543 ✭✭✭billyhead

Rfergusen,

What food did you have

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭roneythetube

I got a take away from Sapphire on Sat nigh and the food was delicious. I had beef with ginger and spring onion and the wife had chicken with cashew nuts both with fried rice. and it was only gorgeous!
    i had a quick look around while waiting for me food and it looks really nice. with a lovely little bar as well. all in all a really nice place. would defo recommend it. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 196 ✭✭rferguson

billyhead wrote: »
    Rfergusen,

What food did you have

For starters i had the Salty & Chilli Shredded Chicken (fantastic)

For main course i had Duck in Plum Sauce with fried noodles (Best duck ive had in this country)

The Sister and the mother both has chicken and sweetcorn soup (they loved it)

and cant remeber what they had for the main course. but they loved it anyway

so all in all, good reports all round

• Registered Users Posts: 1,606 ✭✭✭sgarvan

Went to Harveys on Tuesday night. Wasnt overly impressed with it.
    Food was ok, nothing spectacular and the service was atrochiously slow. I for one wont be going back

• Registered Users Posts: 2,022 ✭✭✭Redpunto

Went there a few months ago and cant fault the place, the food excellent, staff friendly and polite and cool decor and atmosphere. Would defo go back again

• Registered Users Posts: 1,606 ✭✭✭sgarvan

Redpunto wrote: »
    Went there a few months ago and cant fault the place, the food excellent, staff friendly and polite and cool decor and atmosphere. Would defo go back again

Great restaurant and fantastic food

• Registered Users Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭Martron

is it just me or has the quality in bombay bistro declined lately.

i have had some dubious meal out of there as of late and was very suprised