Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Farming Chitchat 10/10- Now VIRUS-FREE!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Odelay

And gone :(

Bugger. Really sorry to read that. Know how well you look after your stock.

Keep the head up Lady.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

Odelay wrote: »
    Bugger. Really sorry to read that.

Keep the head up Lady.

Try to. Really a knock, this one.
    Not ashamed to say tears are falling.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,100 ✭✭✭Grueller

Ah sh1te. Tis a sickener alright.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,047 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

That's tough, you had her named as well so she probably had a character.
    It reminded me of our purebred sheep, they used to put out the waterbag and then stop for no reason, only for the cameras we'd have missed a lot of them as when we'd go out to the shed there'd be no sign of a string or anything.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,121 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Ah that's unfortunate.

• Registered Users Posts: 516 ✭✭✭Ard_MC

Thats a pure balls lady. Sayin in our house is when it stays outside its never so bad. But not much consolation now.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,980 Mod ✭✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Because you care for your stock.
    A lot of people that don't farm will never understand the level of care that goes into breeding livestock.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Sorry to hear that, a tough one to take. At least you can take solace in that she passed rel quickly, sometimes after such a calving the craters can hang on a while with little actual chance of recovery before passing

• Registered Users Posts: 3,216 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

Sorry LadyH- I hate when it happens.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,675 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

'The Bishops blessed the Blueshirts in Galway, As they sailed beneath the Swastika to Spain'

• Registered Users Posts: 11,026 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

A native rural Dutchman's take on the farmer protests.

https://twitter.com/detgrim/status/1184898297217069056?s=20

• Registered Users Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Odelay

^ looks like a grand day trip!

Come on Ireland!!

Give em Hell.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,615 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Come on Ireland!!

Give em Hell.

17-0 I think we're nearly at the stage where our lads will be saying to the ref 'Is there much left ref?':(

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

blue5000 wrote: »
    17-0 I think we're nearly at the stage where our lads will be saying to the ref 'Is there much left ref?':(

Go out and do a bit of farmwork. It makes it easier...
    Just been and back from the co-op for a few bags of meal in the tractor.
    Seems everyone else has the same idea and the roads are getting busier.
    Futureproof is on Newstalk.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,808 ✭✭✭enricoh

Come on Ireland!!

Give em Hell.

Never so much hype for so much tripe!

• Registered Users Posts: 29,056 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

enricoh wrote: »

Didnt get to see any of it. Good game tomorrow evening liverpool and Manchester United

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,980 Mod ✭✭✭✭Genghis Cant

whelan2 wrote: »
    Didnt get to see any of it. Good game tomorrow evening liverpool and Manchester United

Isn't you county final that was posponed last weekend on tomorrow too?

• Registered Users Posts: 29,056 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Isn't you county final that was posponed last weekend on tomorrow too?

Ye. We're in the minor and senior final tomorrow.

• Registered Users Posts: 734 ✭✭✭longgonesilver

enricoh wrote: »

A fresh team playing a tired team in a very physical sport. It was always going to be unfair.
    We lost that match before kickoff.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

A fresh team playing a tired team in a very physical sport. It was always going to be unfair.
    We lost that match before kickoff.

I don't think the type of rugby we play will ever cut it at the world Cup.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭zetecescort

At our best we would always be up against it playing NZ, our form this year has been very patchy. Too many picked on reputation rather than form I think

They haven't been the same team since Joe Schmidt announced he was leaving.
    Whether it's the training is half arsed or/and heads are down when playing. But it hasn't been the same.
    The expectation for today was built on a different time when Ireland could do no wrong when they beat the ABS in Chicago and Dublin.
    I seen absolutely none of the northern players singing Ireland's Call today either. Maybe I'm wrong and missed them but if you're a team you do things as a team and leave all other things outside the stadium.
    Just my few cents.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭kk.man

They haven't been the same team since Joe Schmidt announced he was leaving.
    Whether it's the training is half arsed or/and heads are down when playing. But it hasn't been the same.
    The expectation for today was built on a different time when Ireland could do no wrong when they beat the ABS in Chicago and Dublin.
    I seen absolutely none of the northern players singing Ireland's Call today either. Maybe I'm wrong and missed them but if you're a team you do things as a team and leave all other things outside the stadium.
    Just my few cents.

They haven't been the same team since they beat NZ last time out. It all went down hill from there. NZ were going to revenge for that loss today it wouldn't take much to hope them up for today's game.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,100 ✭✭✭Grueller

Thanks be to jaysus I've no cows to milk yet. Just in front a wedding and ful enough. 12 tomorrow will be time to get up

• Registered Users Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Big dirty fry will sort you :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,216 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

The land beside me that I had a bid on ended up being bought by a neighbour with about 10 farms and over 120cows and 4 bulls. He sold a quarry to the turbine crowd and ended up paying cash for the place.

He asked me what I would do with it- I said fence it- “ah we’d have to find money for that”. He bought another field this week for €35000 cash and I’ve just moved his cattle off my lawn and helped gather the rest of them from around the locality.

New gate going in the bottom of our driveway fairly soon.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,362 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

The land beside me that I had a bid on ended up being bought by a neighbour with about 10 farms and over 120cows and 4 bulls. He sold a quarry to the turbine crowd and ended up paying cash for the place.

He asked me what I would do with it- I said fence it- “ah we’d have to find money for that”. He bought another field this week for €35000 cash and I’ve just moved his cattle off my lawn and helped gather the rest of them from around the locality.

New gate going in the bottom of our driveway fairly soon.

Some lads are just addicted to owning land

• Registered Users Posts: 527 ✭✭✭MeTheMan

There's an ole lad around here who has been left "five farms of land" he doesn't own one animal and spends his days going around taking the neighbours sheep out of his land. The sheep are on the long acre and his land isn't fenced that well. Why he won't rent it out I don't know.

Reggie. wrote: »
    Some lads are just addicted to owning land

120 cows on 10 farms and no fences!!
    Some lads are addicted to hardship.
    Reminds me of that fella Evenflow...:pac: