Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

End of #metoo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 197 ✭✭Dick Swiveller

leggo wrote: »
    Can you tell me the 22 words you cut out of my post that occurred literally before that section you quoted of me?

I'll save you the hassle...

So shhh. Stop talking. You're not good at this.

I acknowledged you said that and said the quoted piece was nonsense

batgoat wrote: »
    You're being incredibly disrespectful towards dark crystal after she's talked about an incredibly difficult experience, grow up a bit.

She asked me what I was doing on the day she was raped. I told her I could ask her a similar question, but when asked to, I said I'd rather not. That's it.

Don't tell me to grow up a bit. I ended that conversation as politely as I could, while being goaded into sharing more than I wanted to.

See, it didn't even cross yer minds that that's what was happening since you know I'm a man. If it were a woman saying "I'd rather not.", you'd know to drop it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 197 ✭✭Dick Swiveller

It does resolve them. Kavanaugh's role in the Supreme Court isn't being decided by Twitter poll. Not one person has ever gone to prison because Twitter has convicted them, that's not how the legal system works. What do you think comes of these cases in real life? Kavanaugh may still become a Supreme Court judge, Paddy Jackson plays for Perpignan...these people's successful lives will move on if they are found to be innocent. So they don't get to be unanimously loved by Twitter, that isn't a human right. They are still getting their day in court and legal presumption of innocence.

Well, being screamed at by activists while your standing in an elevator might effect the way you vote. Don't you think social media can ramp up hysteria levels?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

She asked me what I was doing on the day she was raped. I told her I could ask her a similar question, but when asked to, I said I'd rather not. That's it.

I didn't share with you the day I was raped. I couldn't tell you the exact day. It was a long time ago now.

Don't tell me to grow up a bit. I ended that conversation as politely as I could, while being goaded into sharing more than I wanted to.

Goaded? How??

See, it didn't even cross yer minds that that's what was happening since you know I'm a man. If it were a woman saying "I'd rather not.", you'd know to drop it.

It was dropped. Your being a man had nothing to do with anything.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

As a lad, I get that other men are threatened by this and terrified a skeleton in their closet may arise so pray for an ending

As a lad (or a woman) you should be terrified simply because it's extrajudicial.

I was listening to a guy explaining why a woman he was with in college didn't press charges at the time. Basically it was her first week in college and she had worked so hard to get there she didn't want to go through with a trial and being cross examined etc. even though there was no question she was assaulted. Which is a horrible thought but I understand.

Now if she comes forward 10 - 20 years later and decides it needs to be prosecuted we have a problem because it will be exponentially harder to prove and may well be impossible. No, I don't just 'believe' a woman based on their own testimony the same way I won't 'believe' anyone based on their own testimony incriminating someone in serious crimes.

My point is: https://imgur.com/a/CWLjzFV and it's like that for a reason. The exception being with serial scumbags who've left a trail of hell behind them, once someone breaks silence that seems to cause an avalanche.

I see more danger to society in disregarding principles of justice than there ever will be from the crimes themselves.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

A lot of it is just twitter noise.
    If only.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 537 ✭✭✭Niles Crane

The era of white (and particularly white male) dominance is finally coming to and end, and that's essentially what the 21st century democrats and liberals across Western Europe are building for a lot of this century.

To many Americans, and certainly to the likes of CNN etc, Brett Kavanaugh represents arrogant white male entitlement, and all over twitter amongst liberal activists I always read "I'm fed up of white people" "I'm ashamed to be white" "No more white men!" amongst the American left, some of it is quite powerful and very passionate.

Its interesting economics don't play much of a part in modern day progressivism as much anymore and rather social issues are at the forefront, it certainly seems to be that way in American politics anyway.

I think Democrats will run on #MeToo in 2020 against Trump, and keep on calling him racist sexist misogynist racist sexist misogynist etc etc. I don't think they'll concentrate too much on economics, and certainly not Bernie style economics.

And for that reason the democrats will lose the next election.

By far the most important issues in every single western country are the economy and jobs if the so called liberals/left copped on to that instead of decided to solely focus on identity politics they'd have a better chance of being successful.

People are selfish and generally don't give a **** about the kind of issues the left seem to be focusing mainly on in recent years.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

As a lad (or a woman) you should be terrified simply because it's extrajudicial.

But here’s the thing too: it’s really easy not to rape or sexually assault someone. It’s not something I’ve ever had an issue with, if anything I’ve dealt with social anxiety my entire life so breaking people’s boundaries in any way kind of breaks me as a human. So while I understand lads resisting this, I also sleep soundly at night knowing “holy crap, all those times I wondered if something was wrong for not being ‘this way’, I was actually right.” Nobody is coming for me and even if some nutcase decided to make something up, it wouldn’t be anything that could stick because nothing like that has happened, so nothing to fear. The only responsibility or guilt I feel is more that I could or should’ve spoken out more when I saw something I felt was wrong or heard lads tell me questionable stories.

If lads are terrified, I empathise to a degree too. There were different social norms and I remember being an early adolescent, not having a clue of ‘the rules’ of what was and wasn’t okay and having nobody to teach me, so if people crossed those boundaries (mildly albeit, rapists can go rot) when younger and then it came back to bite them as they grew up and matured because a thing trended on Twitter, there’s a tiny part of me that sympathises. But then there’s also a much bigger part that says “**** them, on some level they knew they were wrong, they just thought they’d get away with it because that was normal at the time. Let them cringe and deal with the guilt and shame.”

That’s why I eye this resistance by men to this up so suspiciously. It’s the actions of someone who wants to discredit the source rather than honestly evaluate the system. Again I don’t see how someone looks at the issue of rape/sexual assault, weighs it up honestly on both sides and says “The problem is women shaming people on Twitter. That’s what I need to spend the few minutes of my day thinking about this topic discussing.” It reeks of people trying to protect their own interests tbh, and I wonder what those interests involve.

But here’s the thing too: it’s really easy not to rape or sexually assault someone. It’s not something I’ve ever had an issue with, if anything I’ve dealt with social anxiety my entire life so breaking people’s boundaries in any way kind of breaks me as a human. So while I understand lads resisting this, I also sleep soundly at night knowing “holy crap, all those times I wondered if something was wrong for not being ‘this way’, I was actually right.”

If lads are terrified, I empathise to a degree too. There were different social norms and I remember being an early adolescent, not having a clue of ‘the rules’ of what was and wasn’t okay and having nobody to teach me, so if people crossed those boundaries (mildly albeit, rapists can go rot) when younger and then it came back to bite them as the grew up and matured because a thing trended on Twitter, there’s a tiny part of me that sympathises. But then there’s also a much bigger part that says “**** them, on some level they knew they were wrong, they just thought they’d get away with it because that was normal at the time. Let them cringe and deal with the guilt and shame.”

That’s why I eye this resistance by men to this up so strongly. It’s the actions of someone who wants to discredit the source rather than honestly evaluate the system. Again I don’t see how someone looks at the issue of rape/sexual assault, weighs it up honestly on both sides and says “The problem is women shaming people on Twitter. That’s what I need to spend the few minutes of my day thinking about this topic discussing.” It reeks of people trying to protect their own interests tbh, and I wonder what those interests involve.
    The question is whether you're comfortable with an extra-judicial movement. 'It reeks of people trying to protect their own interests', what exactly are you saying here? It sounds like you have no principles, everything just comes down to whether it is effecting you or not. You can't imagine a reason why you'd want certain protections under the law because you haven't done anything wrong?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

The question is whether you're comfortable with an extra-judicial movement. 'It reeks of people trying to protect their own interests', what exactly are you saying here? It sounds like you have no principles, everything just comes down to whether it is effecting you or not. You can't imagine a reason why you'd want certain protections under the law because you haven't done anything wrong?

Once again, what’s discussed on Twitter or here isn’t law. So I’m less concerned about that and more concerned with creating a system where guilty people can be prosecuted effectively, something we don’t have now because of a culture of victim-blaming that #MeToo and similar campaigns are looking to curtail. Can you see why people would see prosecuting rapists as more important than gossip on Twitter?

And, even then, when it comes to #MeToo, what I’ve personally seen is a lot of people who’ve been forced to confess for past crimes that had gone on so long unreported (Harvey Weinstein, Kevin Spacey, Louis CK, Bill Cosby etc). I don’t see evidence of these mysterious false claims people seem to fear so much, it’s actually been a pretty successful campaign from what I’ve seen. So no, I’m not particularly concerned with the method that makes rapists face overdue justice if it works. Why would someone be against that? If something on Twitter can achieve something the justice system itself couldn’t for decades, does that not point to flaws in said system? And why would someone be concerned with protecting said flawed system if not for their own interests?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,776 ✭✭✭up for anything

Is it tens, hundreds? How did you get the information from them?

Oh, I tied them to a kitchen chair in a tiled room empty of everything except a desk which I leaned against, using a bright light to blind them whilst applying electrodes to their extremities and whittling my nails with a scalpel and badgered ang harangued the information from them. You obviously didn't read my entire post or you'd know 'how I got the information from them'. Through talking. Surely you are familiar with that thing called conversation?

As to how many? The answer to that would be as many as the stars in the sky or close to it. I wrote in my post:
    I've put in more than a few years in this life and in all that time I know personally only a handful of women who claim not to have been sexually assaulted in their lives.

You can choose not to believe me or think that I am exaggerating or think that I've spent my entire life among women who are more likely to be sexually assaulted than may be what is considered the norm. It doesn't make any difference to me. I'm not trying to bang up innocent or even guilty men either on my own behalf or that of others. I'm not trying to generalise about men.
    Half the time we don't even think of it or recognise it as assault. It's just the way things were/are and we shrug it off rather than cause a scene or be thought of as bad sports. The women who shared their experiences with me had no reason to lie to me or exaggerate. But have a think about this... who assaulted all these women? For the most part not other women although some experienced that. For the most part not cruel and unusual couples - not one that I know of experienced that. And not the same 100 men.

My daughter's twentysomething generation gets touched up constantly while out in pubs, clubs and concerts. Only slightly less now than when they were teenagers. I used to get incensed by hearing their 'lighthearted' stories over breakfast after they'd had a night out. Then I got incensed over them not being able to find a way they found comfortable to fend off those hands and mouths. I find it sickening that it's such an accepted part of life but at least now there are glimmers of hope that it is becoming less acceptable to all parties except the gaslighting perpetrators.

All I can do is ensure that my children and grandchildren understand boundaries and consent.

Once again, what’s discussed on Twitter or here isn’t law. So I’m less concerned about that and more concerned with creating a system where guilty people can be prosecuted effectively, something we don’t have now because of a culture of victim-blaming that #MeToo and similar campaigns are looking to curtail. Can you see why people would see prosecuting rapists as more important than gossip on Twitter?

And, even then, when it comes to #MeToo, what I’ve personally seen is a lot of people who’ve been forced to confess for past crimes that had gone on so long unreported (Harvey Weinstein, Kevin Spacey, Louis CK, Bill Cosby etc). I don’t see evidence of these mysterious false claims people seem to fear so much, it’s actually been a pretty successful campaign from what I’ve seen. So no, I’m not particularly concerned with the method that makes rapists face overdue justice if it works. Why would someone be against that? If something on Twitter can achieve something the justice system itself couldn’t for decades, does that not point to flaws in said system? And why would someone be concerned with protecting said flawed system if not for their own interests?

You can always catch more genuine criminals in the net cast by lowering evidentiary thresholds or removing restrictions on law enforcement - not very compelling to me.

The Patriot Act I'm sure stopped a decent amount of terrorism but it doesn't mean that someone would only oppose it because they have some terrorism to do. Things have consequences outside of their most obvious benefits.

I see long term dangers with rhetoric like 'believe women' which has evolved out of metoo. That doesn't mean I'm less inclined to personally believe a woman (or a man like Don Lemon) who's been assaulted, it means I'll hold on to my standards surrounding anyone accused and I hope that societies do too.

'Why would someone be concerned with protecting said flawed system if not for their own interests'... again you seem to think about this as shallowly as possible. Only guilty people have standards for justice in your mind so it's hard to even discuss. The things being weighed up are 'It's a bit of Twitter gossip' on one side and 'Harvey Weinstein, Kevin Spacey' on the other.

Out of interest, what do you think my reason is for not being 100% on board with the trend of MeToo? Or anyone who has no sexual assault in their past? What self interest are we serving?

Keeping in mind I know someone who had to go through two trials for sexual assault which was personally infuriating but I also understand that it wouldn't be a good thing for society if she and others like her just blasted the accusation on twitter without due process.

I am curious. The accusations from three women are from 1980s. If the memory is a bit dull, not a surprise, what is in the police reports from the time?

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,459 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

LorenzoB wrote: »
    I am curious. The accusations from three women are from 1980s. If the memory is a bit dull, not a surprise, what is in the police reports from the time?

Where are the police reports for the thousands of people abused by the priests, teachers etc? So many victims of abuse don't report to the police, even now and decades back it was worse.

If a police report is the standard then that you require to believe something then I guess there's thousands upon thousands of people lying about being abused in your view.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

CNN are typical of modern day liberalism, very left on social issues, but pro corporate and will fight any politician (Sanders and to a lesser extent Liz Warren) who attempt to change the current capitalist/corporatist structure from the left.

Well that is what liberalism always was. Liberalism is not the same as socialism.

Cabaal wrote: »
    Where are the police reports for the thousands of people abused by the priests, teachers etc? So many victims of abuse don't report to the police, even now and decades back it was worse.

If a police report is the standard then that you require to believe something then I guess there's thousands upon thousands of people lying about being abused in your view.

So, are you saying none filed a complaint? Apart from that, your post is but a thin veiled slur on my question

• Registered Users Posts: 4,588 ✭✭✭LLMMLL

Malayalam wrote: »
    You know that the four people who she put forward to corroborate her accusations including her close friend refused to back her up? It's also a recovered memory, so far she can't say how she got to and from the house or whose house it was. If she was in court the burden of proof would weigh heavily on her. People lie all the time - either she is or he is. None of us can definitively say which. It's all opinion.

What’s your source for it being a recovered memory? I can’t find anything online that corroborates that.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,723 ✭✭✭SeanW

batgoat wrote: »
    Two men ALLEGEDLY pinned her to a bed, covered her mouth and tried to remove her clothing... I would say it's reasonable to assume that's attempted rape...
    You kinda missed the key word. ALLEGEDLY!!! FYP.
    I don’t know if Kavanaugh is the guy to bring down the movement: I mean you’ve got a highly credible accuser (even Fox News say as much and you know they’d love to slate her if they could) versus a lad who’s supposedly willing to do ‘anything’ to prove his innocence but refuses point blank to say he’d be happy for an FBI investigation to happen. Why wouldn’t an innocent man who knows the rigours of justice and wants to clear his name wish to submit to a process that would have to suppose him innocent until evidence of guilt arose, unless he knows there might be said evidence out there? I believe her tbh in this case and think any subsequent appointment of his here would be another damning indictment into the frailty of America’s justice system.

As a lad, I get that other men are threatened by this and terrified a skeleton in their closet may arise so pray for an ending, but I don’t think it’s ever going to get to a stage where it ‘ends’ and things go back to how they were. If you used to get away with slapping your secretary’s bottom in work, I’m sorry but I don’t think that’s going to fly again. However I do think it’ll level off eventually and people en masse won’t just believe everything they read on Twitter sans evidence, and that’s a good thing too (like I know women personally who posted emotional stories slating people but I’ve also witnessed tell HUGE lies or be sexually aggressive towards men themselves, so it definitely wasn’t a zero-sum process). I think this period has been, and continues to be, perhaps an overdue over-correction, which is what happens whenever you oppress a segment of society and don’t offer a viable solution in its place: you get an angry, emotional reaction rather than a logical one that’s fair on all sides. I get where it came from and I think once it balances out we’ll have a better, more equal culture for it, which I’m happy with since I’ve a sister and loads of other women in my life that I care about and want that for.
    The most disturbing thing here is Trump and others refusal to even entertain any investigation initially.
    In any normal situation or company if a person was going into such a high power role and claims were made against their character there would be and should be investigations.
    In any normal circumstances, an accusation would be reasonably credible and there would indeed be time for an investigation, because such an appointment would continue if the investigation found nothing. If something were found, then someone similar would be found to replace a now impaired nominee. That's not the case here though.

The Democrats have made it clear that they are out to "Bork" judge Kavanaugh. They invented the term "Borking" a conservative out of a Supreme Court position or other high office in 1987 when the Left mounted a challenge to Ronald Reagan's proposed apointee to a Supreme Court seat, Robert Bork.

Remember, Reagan did not nominate partisan hacks, earlier in the decade Reagan nominated Sandra Day O'Connor, who disagreed with him on many issues but whom he considered the most qualified for what he was trying to do. The appointment of political hacks to the Supreme Court did not start until the 1990s with Ruth Bader Ginsburg.

But the Left ran a successful campaign to derail Robert Bork's nomination, and Borking entered the English language in 1991 when feminist activist Florynce Kennedy said at an NOW meeting that she and her ilk were going to "Bork" Clarence Thomas. They tried it with Anita Hill, and failed.

Since the 2016 election, the Democrats made it clear that no matter how qualified any Trump nominee, no matter how committed they were to upholding and interpreting the law, that they were going to do everything in their power to Bork any of Trump's nominees. They all voted against Neil Gorsuch, but they didn't have any real way of stopping him. So there was no point in weaponising a false rape claim against him, because the resulting delay would have served no purpose. Even if they had destroyed Gorsuch with false allegations, Trump would have nominated someone similar.

What is different with Judge Kavanaugh is that this appointment comes not long before the mid-term elections, when the Democrats are hoping for a "blue wave". If they get a blue wave, the innocence or guilt of Kavanaugh will make no difference whatsoever - their plan to Bork him will have succeeded.

Once you understand that, everything about this becomes crystal clear.

I was in the U.S. during some of the Senate hearings and ... forget about televising it ... they should have had it in a 3-ring circus and charged admission. The refrain from Democrats was all the same: "We want a delay (until November), we want millions of pages of documents that we're not going to read, and answers to thousands of questions that we don't, care about the answers to, and time to consider each ... until at least November ... despite the fact that no amount of answers or no amount of documentation will make any difference whatsoever as they will all vote No, no matter how much documentation is produced, how many questions are answered, how much time the Democrats are given to review any of the above, or after these accusations were made, whether he is innocent of them or not. It. makes. no. difference. Full stop.

The Democrats have not been hiding their policies. They will do everything in their power to block Trump nominees - and they've said so in no uncertain terms - because they want a Supreme Court that is full of Ruth Bader Ginsburgs. They have been absolutely clear about this.

Once you understand this, these accusations and the timing of their release, i.e. after the above 3 ring circus, after thousands of questions, hearings, millions of pages of documents and dozens of private meetings with Senators, including Diane Feinstein who had the letter, but just before the vote, all becomes clear. These 4 decade old, hazy, ill-defined accusations (no dates, times, places or similar details of any kind) come from a Hillary supporting feminist, California college professor (i.e. a member of the "Resistance"), and were timed to come out at just the right time - by the Democrats - to delay the nomination vote, which the Democrats said from the start that they wanted.

The Democrats made it clear, in no uncertain terms that they were going to do this. They've said very clearly that this is about changing the Constitutional role from "advise and consent" to "obfuscate and destroy". Why do we not believe them?
    Trump and many Republicans blindly supporting him isn't enough to show he's a good person....I mean for feck sake they previously backed Roy Moore even after him not denying he had a thing for teenager girls (even ignoring the sexual misconduct stuff). In fact it was well known he had a thing for them.
    Neither do the Democrats saying he's bad. I'd take the Democrats more seriously if they were not lead by Keith Ellison, himself a #MeToo case, but it's OK because he leads the Democrats.
    Malayalam wrote: »
    I saw him struggle to remain composed, I saw no hysteria. This person has been accused of molestation, facilitating gang rape and suggestions of paedophilia have been thrown into the mix for good measure. His family have been vilified and received death threats. He was attempting to defend himself not only before the senate but also knowing a huge national and international audience would witness him trying to defend himself against accusations that are as low as one can be accused of. I didn't begrudge him his emotions. It's of zero consequence to me who is appointed, I'm only going by what I saw in that testimony.
    He has been subject to nearly as much scrutiny as all previous nominees in history combined, had been subject to the most hostile approval hearings in history after Robert Bork, Clarence Thomas and Neil Gorsuch, called a murderer by Yale's Dean of law school and the at the 11th hour, been subject to a politically timed bogus accusation for the sole purpose of destroying him.

If he is innocent, he has every right to be angry, and to direct that anger at those responsible.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 12,531 Mod ✭✭✭✭2011

The highly likely acceptance of Brett Kavanaugh to the Supreme Court would appear to mark the end of #metoo.

Why?

Because a lot of people sided with him against what they saw as what was turning in to a witch hunt against men. Even liberal women friends of mine were undecided on this one after the hearings.

That and the movement made it even more easy for accusations to be made that could ruin someone's career and life even if those accusations were completely false.

Then you had the backlash against actors from Hollywood (Liam Neeson for example) for merely suggesting, whilst there are many genuine cases of sexual assault, there was a witch hunt against men and it was getting out of control. Guilty until proven innocent.

How incredibly naive of you.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Crea

If by the #metoo movement you mean women being able to speak out about sexual assault and actully being listened to - then I hope not.
    Tbh I find this whole thing really depressing. It's extremely common that a woman will not report a rape or sexual assault especially since, even now, it's the womans behaviour/dress/social & drink habits are put under the microscope to show that she is worthy of reporting a rape because it seems that if you like to go out and drink and party and snog or sleep with guys and wear short/tight clothes then you can't possibly be raped because you are open to anyone sticking their dick in you.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,341 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

SeanW wrote: »

The Democrats have made it clear that they are out to "Bork" judge Kavanaugh. They invented the term "Borking" a conservative out of a Supreme Court position or other high office in 1987 when the Left mounted a challenge to Ronald Reagan's proposed apointee to a Supreme Court seat, Robert Bork.

Bork was a terrible candidate and up to his ears in scandals given his association with Nixon. Reagan was warned by Democrats and Republicans not to nominate him and ignored them. 6 Republicans voted against his appointment.

Not sure your point here. The whole process of hearings are to determine if said nomination is a suitable candidate for a lifetime role as one of most important people in the US..bork wasn't suitable. Reagan's second pick Anthony Kennedy got in without any issue.
    Remember, Reagan did not nominate partisan hacks, earlier in the decade Reagan nominated Sandra Day O'Connor, who disagreed with him on many issues but whom he considered the most qualified for what he was trying to do. The appointment of political hacks to the Supreme Court did not start until the 1990s with Ruth Bader Ginsburg.

Well he nominated Bork who was completely partisan given his rulings on civil rights and womens rights. As I pointed out earlier if a Democratic president nominated someone who had strong views on eliminating the second amendment there would be war in DC. You can't expect someone whose views go against one side or the other to not be grilled to the teeth.

Ginsburg is nowhere near as liberal as Thomas is conservative. His appointment has been a total disaster in every way given his ideological leanings do not correspond with that of a modern western nation.
    But the Left ran a successful campaign to derail Robert Bork's nomination, and Borking entered the English language in 1991 when feminist activist Florynce Kennedy said at an NOW meeting that she and her ilk were going to "Bork" Clarence Thomas. They tried it with Anita Hill, and failed.

Why didn't they try it with Kennedy then?
    Since the 2016 election, the Democrats made it clear that no matter how qualified any Trump nominee, no matter how committed they were to upholding and interpreting the law, that they were going to do everything in their power to Bork any of Trump's nominees. They all voted against Neil Gorsuch, but they didn't have any real way of stopping him. So there was no point in weaponising a false rape claim against him, because the resulting delay would have served no purpose. Even if they had destroyed Gorsuch with false allegations, Trump would have nominated someone similar.

First up Democrats have every right to be pissed. Republicans blocked Merrick Garlands hearing for 14 months.

Then you have a President under investigation with half a dozen of his campaign team either under arrest or already convicted nominating people for life-time appointments. If the boot was on other foot Republicans would be doing everything and more to block the Democratic nominee and you would see alot more people on the streets protesting.

Some Democrats did vote Gorsuch but regardless that vote was just rubbing salt into the wounds because that was Garlands seat by right. The Democrats should have boycotted the vote because Republicans certainly would have and the Tea party gang would likely have flocked en mass to DC to make sure no vote took place.

Btw how do you know Dr Ford is making a false rape claim?
    What is different with Judge Kavanaugh is that this appointment comes not long before the mid-term elections, when the Democrats are hoping for a "blue wave". If they get a blue wave, the innocence or guilt of Kavanaugh will make no difference whatsoever - their plan to Bork him will have succeeded.

Once you understand that, everything about this becomes crystal clear.

And that's why Republicans are trying to force him through without proper vetting because they know election is upcoming and Democrats are leading in many polls. They will put the worst candidate possible in the position as long as they get their guy. They proved with Garland they would try anything for as long as possible to stop the Dems making it a 5-4 court in their favour.
    I was in the U.S. during some of the Senate hearings and ... forget about televising it ... they should have had it in a 3-ring circus and charged admission. The refrain from Democrats was all the same: "We want a delay (until November), we want millions of pages of documents that we're not going to read, and answers to thousands of questions that we don't, care about the answers to, and time to consider each ... until at least November ... despite the fact that no amount of answers or no amount of documentation will make any difference whatsoever as they will all vote No, no matter how much documentation is produced, how many questions are answered, how much time the Democrats are given to review any of the above, or after these accusations were made, whether he is innocent of them or not. It. makes. no. difference. Full stop.

Why the rush. Kennedy didn't die, he could easily have retired after the elections and again Republicans were happy enough to leave the court with 8 justices for well over a year so they could get their guy on the court.
    The Democrats have not been hiding their policies. They will do everything in their power to block Trump nominees - and they've said so in no uncertain terms - because they want a Supreme Court that is full of Ruth Bader Ginsburgs. They have been absolutely clear about this.

Ginsburg was voted in 96-3. I am sure they do want nominees that would sail in and be voted in by majority of Republicans and Democrats and not be mired in controversy and scandals.
    Once you understand this, these accusations and the timing of their release, i.e. after the above 3 ring circus, after thousands of questions, hearings, millions of pages of documents and dozens of private meetings with Senators, including Diane Feinstein who had the letter, but just before the vote, all becomes clear. These 4 decade old, hazy, ill-defined accusations (no dates, times, places or similar details of any kind) come from a Hillary supporting feminist, California college professor (i.e. a member of the "Resistance"), and were timed to come out at just the right time - by the Democrats - to delay the nomination vote, which the Democrats said from the start that they wanted.

Again how do you know Dr Ford is lying.

Why would she agree to such an ordeal where her life is no doubt going to be turned upside down. As mentioned she wrote to Chuck Grassley indicating that in the 72 hours her name became public she had to deal with death threats, harrassment, e-mails hacked and had to move house..why would someone in a steady employment with a family put themselves through such a thing unless she herself believes it were true?

It's funny when all the sexual harrassment allegations were on one side of the political spectrum and mostly confined to Hollywood everyone wanted to believe the supposed victims..now that's it on both sides of the political spectrum and the Roger Ailes, Roy Moore and Bill O'Reilly of this world are getting caught suddenly it's all a big sham and witch-hunt. Noticing a bit of a pattern emerging...
    The Democrats made it clear, in no uncertain terms that they were going to do this. They've said very clearly that this is about changing the Constitutional role from "advise and consent" to "obfuscate and destroy". Why do we not believe them?

Maybe we shouldn't have a vote at all and just let him through? That would be easier right. It's a bit hypocritical of Republicans to spend 8 years blocking Obama at every turn even when he tried to reason with them and then complain that Democrats want to properly investigate a candidate looking for a lifetime appointment.

Even without the allegations Kavanagh is a terrible candidate. The guy can't answer simple questions and has lied under oath multiple times during this hearing. He has also shown himself to be completely partisan by going on Fox News in an attempt to gain sympathy from Republican voters.
    Neither do the Democrats saying he's bad. I'd take the Democrats more seriously if they were not lead by Keith Ellison, himself a #MeToo case, but it's OK because he leads the Democrats.

Ellison has called for full investigation https://bringmethenews.com/minnesota-news/keith-ellison-requests-house-investigation-into-abuse-allegation-against-him

Of course he isn't going for a lifetime appointment or running unopposed.
    He has been subject to nearly as much scrutiny as all previous nominees in history combined, had been subject to the most hostile approval hearings in history after Robert Bork, Clarence Thomas and Neil Gorsuch, called a murderer by Yale's Dean of law school and the at the 11th hour, been subject to a politically timed bogus accusation for the sole purpose of destroying him.

If he is innocent, he has every right to be angry, and to direct that anger at those responsible.

If..you made it very clear you think Dr Ford made it up and it's all a Democratic/Feminist plot

• Registered Users Posts: 8,723 ✭✭✭SeanW

Anthony Kennedy among other things, reaffired Roe v. Wade many times over, and has been a "swing vote" that often voted with Ginsberg and her crowd. Despite being a Reagan appointee, he was probably the most milquetoast conservative ever, except perhaps Sandra Day O'Connor (Reagan) and others appointed by Republican presidents during that era. Especially since the protection of Roe v. Wade is a defining issue for the Left, and Kennedy, O'Connor and David Souter all did so, the Democrats would look like a right pack of schmucks if they did not vote for Kennedy.
    As I pointed out earlier if a Democratic president nominated someone who had strong views on eliminating the second amendment there would be war in DC.
    And yet, that's exactly what Ginsberg wants to do. In Heller v. DC (2008), Ginsberg and her allies wrote essentially that the Second Amendment did not say what it actually says, in black and white and in plain English. You see the problem here? An activist court could easily neuter not just the Second Amendment, but any part of the Bill of Rights, or indeed any individual right (free speech, due process etc) that an activist court may consider incompatible with leftist identity-politics or "social justice."
    First up Democrats have every right to be pissed. Republicans blocked Merrick Garlands hearing for 14 months.
    You can certainly argue that the Republicans did not treat Merrick Garland fairly, but they did not use bogus accusations just before a key point to destroy him personally. Merrick Garland still has his good name. Brett Kavanaugh's has been permanently and severely stained. That's what makes this a new low.
    Then you have a President under investigation with half a dozen of his campaign team either under arrest
    Funny, this president is accused of colluding with Russia, yet he bombed the crap out of Assad's army in Syria many times, including incidents where large numbers of Russian operatives were killed in Syria. He also doubled down on a lot of Russia related sanctions and re-imposed sanctions on another of Russia's key allies, Iran. Oh and let's not forget, Trump also approved of the sales of lethal weaponry to the military of the Ukraine, which is kinda fighting a Russia backed insurgency. This saw the US sell weapons to the Ukraine for the first time since their conflict with Russia began.

If Putin paid for this "stooge" he should look for a refund. Yet, I almost expect that if Trump launched nukes at Moscow, the leftists (who survive) would be like "Trump just did that to distract us from his collusion with Putin"
    And that's why Republicans are trying to force him through without proper vetting because they know election is upcoming and Democrats are leading in many polls.
    So you admit this is all about Borking a Trump nominee?
    Again how do you know Dr Ford is lying.
    I never said she was lying, or if I did, it was un-intentional. Please show me where I used the word "lying" or withdraw that question.

Rather, I suspect that something did happen to her at some point, but that her memory is simply not reliable as to any of the details, including the identity of the attacker.

As to how I "know" naturally I don't know for sure, but there are very strong reasons to suspect that the allegation is not true.
    1. They were politically timed, they came out literally the last week before the confirmation vote.
    2. She said she did not want to go public, but nevertheless wrote to journalists from two left-leaning newspapers, took a polygraph test and wrote a letter to Diane Feinstein.
    3. The accusations are almost 4 decades old. This is problematic in the best case because not only do memories fade/become coloured, but hitting someone with old accusations as opposed to new ones closer to the time makes it much, much harder for the accused to obtain exculpatory evidence with which to mount a defence. Simply put, if I accuse you of doing something bad this day last week, and it's not true, you can say "no, I was nowhere near that place, I was on CCTV somewhere else and witnesses will say I was doing X, Y and Z at the time. I even have travel receipts, e-toll records, train tickets, airline tickets or whatever to show that my version of events is correct". Yet, if I accuse you of doing something bad decades ago, you will have much less access to exculpatory evidence given the passage of time. That automatically makes old accusations more suspicious and should increase the burden of proof on the accuser.
    4. The leak was orchestrated by a group that has said in no uncertain terms they will do everything they can to stop Kavanaugh, and made it clear that they wanted a delay until November. How convenient that they now have new grounds for such delay ...
    5. The human memory is not the most reliable form of evidence, even under the best possible circumstances. In connection with a project I am working on, I asked a fried who is a retired US police officer if it's true that witness statements are notoriously unreliable and that for example if you have 20 witnesses to an event, you could get 20 different stories? His response? You might get 21! He then told me a story of a traffic accident where they nearly arrested someone who was not involved, on the word of a RANDOM witness who said that driver had participated in the accident by swerving and then fled the scene, only for the investigation to show that this was not the case. Unlike Ford, the witness had no stake in the case and told this story a very short time after "seeing" the accident. According to my friend, this is not uncommon.
    6. Witness testimony is unreliable even in the best of circumstances (e.g. a traffic accident 5 minutes ago) it's even less reliable when the witness has a massive personal stake in the case and the events are so old.
    7. Ford is a California college professor, feminist, Hillary supporter and likely #Resistance member. Extreme bias can colour memories, and Ford would be a likely candidate for something like this, especially if she has other personal difficulties, e.g. with mental health.
    8. The terms that she demanded for her testimony included a requirement that Kavanaugh go first and that she had the last word ... no civilised trial (and this was a trial) requires that the defense present their defense and then rest their case before the prosecution case against them has been made ... Maybe that's how they do things in Commiefornia, but in places where due process is required, the defense gets to answer any claim made by the accusers/prosecutors. Forcing the defense to defend against claims that have not been made yet is kind of a no-no. Either Ford wanted this, or her lawyers did. Either way, that ALONE should knock on the head any question of whether this was political or not.
    9. Ford's claims are so full of holes that they do not even make a good "he said, she said" case. They also fall short of a very low standard of evidence called "preponderance of the evidence."

Don't take my word for it. Read Rachael Mitchell's report, a 9 page analysis of Ford's testimony. There are holes in these claims you could drive a freight train through.
      And these are not just a few inconsistencies, they are wide ranging problems. Witness she referred to who do not corroborate her story and in some cases said the exact opposite. Major changes in her story, like she first could not come to DC because she is afraid to fly, yet flies regularly in connection with family and hobby matters. Outright omissions like where this happened, when during the Summer of 1982 (after first claiming was the mid 1980s, then the early 1980s). Where was the party? Who was at the party? (that part kept changing) Who invited her? After sneaking out of the house and not having her own transportation, how did she arrange a ride home when she did not have a mobile phone (it being 1982 and everything) and could not return to the house to use the land-line?
      https://assets.documentcloud.org/documents/4952137/Rachel-Mitchell-s-analysis.pdf

If nothing else, the Mitchell report makes it clear that this case is so full of problems that it cannot possibly be taken seriously by any reasonable person. If a man can be destroyed on the basis of this kind of nonsense, we are heading into very dark times.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 17 Southwest Alaska

Imagine if Roxanne Pallet had no cameras on her during her so called assault, people would have likely believed her becuase of the tears.

Without solid evidence no conclusions of guilt should be made.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭Assetbacked

Well, luckily the rule of law does not follow this dangerous belief in respect of justice. While I appreciate that fear silences victims (and that is a really important point), the correct approach is to take claims seriously and for the relevant authorities to assist the alleged victims as much as possible to extract as much of the memory as possible in order to fully test the claims. Nonetheless, innocent until proven guilty beyond reasonable doubt.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,953 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

Well, if a self-confessed serial assaulter can gain the most powerful office in the country of America do you really think they are going to listen to one woman?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 17 Southwest Alaska

Well, if a self-confessed serial assaulter can gain the most powerful office in the country of America do you really think they are going to listen to one woman?

When did Donal Trump commit assault?

Has a woman ever grabbed your genitals while kissing passionately, it's quite normal for women to do this without asking for permission. Would you therefore conclude they are commiting sexual assault?

• Registered Users Posts: 28,014 ✭✭✭✭looksee

Leaving aside the Ford accusations - though you do have to accept some sort of situation where Kavanaugh was pushed emotionally - and just look at his presentation of himself. He managed to hold himself together for the Fox interview, but then somewhere along the line he decided to go for the Trump school of acting and do huge emotion, deflection, aggression performance. Is someone who can get so emotional about a calendar and his father someone you want in a position of ultimate authority? His rambling and obsession with beer was pure Trump. Is someone who is as clearly, by his own admission, partisan as Kavanagh suited to a position that requires at least a pretense of non-partisanship? Should a supreme court judge be so ready to invoke conspiracy theories?

Kavanagh's own evidence and his calendar show he was not the choirboy he wanted to represent himself as. If he had simply said to the effect 'yes, I was 17, my actions were not always wise and they were fuelled by alcohol. If I behaved inappropriately to anyone, especially females, then I apologise, but I honestly don't remember' the whole matter would have died before it got started. But he chose to go on a rant, is that level of judgement that you expect from someone who will have an entire population in his control?

Trump wants all power to rest with the President, he is trying to break down the separation of powers, and with the help of the Republicans, he is succeeding.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,142 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

The End of #metoo? Are you joking? Brett Kavanaugh acceptance to the Supreme Court will be more like throwing a can of petrol on a camp fire.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭BBFAN

I'm not sure how I feel about this whole situation. When I initially heard about it I was thinking would any of us like our life from 32 years ago dissected in public?

I actually think this particular story is more to do with Trump than the metoo movement but that's just my gut instinct on it.

Do I think it signifies the end of the metoo movement, no. I do see it petering off a bit naturally anyway.

I know one thing I wouldn't like to be at the moment is any powerful man with any type of skeleton in the cupboard big or small.