Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Anyone else fed up of dating apps?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Raconteuse wrote: »
    Oh I'm not saying there's anything wrong with what you said. It's just that these threads are always full of posts about how picky women are, and that men aren't fussy.

That's generally life tho. Men are the chasers women are the choosers.
    Most blokes would ride a cat going up a skylight. Most women are picky.

What's next Russia has cold winters? Lol.

• Registered Users Posts: 202 ✭✭BurnUp78

Oh I'm not saying there's anything wrong with what you said. It's just that these threads are always full of posts about how picky women are, and that men aren't fussy.

The statistics pretty much prove that women are far more picky on dating sites.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 568 ✭✭✭NewMan1982

BurnUp78 wrote: »
    The statistics pretty much prove that women are far more picky on dating sites.

I’d imagine they are dealing with a lot more matches than men everyday so that’s how they get to be so choosey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

My point still stands. God help a woman who posted what NewMan1982 posted.

And as this thread demonstrates, men can of course be rigid about their type.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

I'm a man and I'm fairly picky about a type and I have my deal-breakers.

It goes both ways, you like what you like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 331 ✭✭S.G.M.

Raconteuse wrote:
    And as this thread demonstrates, men can of course be rigid about their type.

Of course us guys have types. We don't just fancy every woman that we see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 MrFaul

S.G.M. wrote: »

But the thing about it is - I find anyway - is that on dating apps you end up messaging women you're not really interested in because there's not enough selection in your area, so you say to yourself, 'sure I might as well, there's not much to choose from.' haha. It's great living in a city on a dating app with millions of people. I remember living abroad in some cities and having a lot of choice and not having to move outside my own area, it was very convenient.

Now I've got slim-pickens haha :/

I do get dates, but just here and there. I just can't date as frequently as I want.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,741 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Well I'm picky af and I would hope most people are for their own sakes. It's so hard to meet someone who does it for you physically and personality wise and if someone isn't ticking all the boxes I just wouldn't be bothered these days as it wouldn't work for me.
    I would imagine most people are the same.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭Feisar

MrFaul wrote: »
    But the thing about it is - I find anyway - is that on dating apps you end up messaging women you're not really interested in because there's not enough selection in your area, so you say to yourself, 'sure I might as well, there's not much to choose from.' haha. It's great living in a city on a dating app with millions of people. I remember living abroad in some cities and having a lot of choice and not having to move outside my own area, it was very convenient.

Now I've got slim-pickens haha :/

Jaysus I'd hate to be someones "I might as well".

Unless that is, it involved me getting a blowjob.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 537 ✭✭✭rgmmg

I don't think apps are the be all and end all, but they should compliment any offline search - they're not intended to wholly replace it.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,421 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Does everyone wait for Bertie to post second on new threads or what's the craic? Is it in some charter somewhere?

He deleted his post🀣🀣

This reminds me of that guy in mass who made a thing out of being the first to stand up and the last to sit down.

I think he was missing a chromosome.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

S.G.M. wrote: »
    Well I'm picky af and I would hope most people are for their own sakes. It's so hard to meet someone who does it for you physically and personality wise and if someone isn't ticking all the boxes I just wouldn't be bothered these days as it wouldn't work for me.
    I would imagine most people are the same.
    And I'm not saying there's anything wrong with it.

Raconteuse wrote:
    And I'm not saying there's anything wrong with it.

No, I know you're not. Just curious as to how you felt that the narrative was that we will go for any woman we see.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

Genuine question - do people find POF better than Tinder ? I found alot of the same people were on both

The messages I got on POF were absolutely vile, so crude and disrespectful. I actually posted some screenshots on an older thread a few months ago, I'll see if I can find them now.

I met my last boyfriend, who I was with for a number of years and lived with, on tinder. Haven't had much luck this time round (probably to do with me being overly picky) but haven't come across any assh*les on it, in comparison to POF.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭Tchaikovsky

I met my girlfriend on POF 6 and a half years ago - what's it like these days? Is it still full of profiles with 'Hello, is it me your lookin for' and 'I like staying in and going out with my girlies lol'?

SusieBlue wrote:
    The messages I got on POF were absolutely vile, so crude and disrespectful. I actually posted some screenshots on an older thread a few months ago, I'll see if I can find them now.
    Women get some awful messages on dating sites. At least with tinder, you can control who talks to you.

Fantastic tbh.
    But if you can't swim or have access to a pool (or your local pool is closed) etc a swimming app won't help you either tbh.

I met my girlfriend on POF 6 and a half years ago - what's it like these days? Is it still full of profiles with 'Hello, is it me your lookin for' and 'I like staying in and going out with my girlies lol'?

Ye there's still a lot of them and also 'looking for a genuine guy' and also 'looks like rain ted' hahaha...

Also you'll find women with '???' in their description. Probably similar with some guys.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭tonycascarino

I used to find that most of the women on these apps were looking for a reality tv type, fake tanned, no socks look, muscular, brain dead guy. Then there are women in their mid to late 30's who would have 20-25 as the set age of a guy they are looking to have a long term relationship with.. The expectations of women on these apps are unrealistic and makes me think, 'no wonder you will be left on the shelf.'

• Registered Users Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

^I find it hard to believe that lots of women in their mid to late 30's are chasing 20 year olds.
    I'm 28, and I have my preferences set from 27-35. A 20 year old would be a child to me, we'd be at totally different life stages.
    Apart from exceptional circumstances, I don't think its overly common, let alone that there are loads middle aged women are actively seeking relationships with lads barely out of their teenage years.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,804 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

SusieBlue wrote: »
    ^I find it hard to believe that lots of women in their mid to late 30's are chasing 20 year olds.
    I'm 28, and I have my preferences set from 27-35. A 20 year old would be a child to me, we'd be at totally different life stages.
    Apart from exceptional circumstances, I don't think its overly common, let alone that there are loads middle aged women are actively seeking relationships with lads barely out of their teenage years.

I find that odd, is there an app specifically for that ? Auld ones alive ? Or something ? Ahhhhh silver singles apparently :P

• Registered Users Posts: 17,652 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Ah lads don't lose hope, I met my wife on tinder 4 years ago!

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭ArchXStanton

I've noticed it among a few of my female friends... It normally drastically ends in tears

• Closed Accounts Posts: 568 ✭✭✭NewMan1982

Push that age range up to 37 :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

these apps are grand for younger lot in big cities.

i find as i got older these things became an annoyance. as i grew older and i realised its not just about a nice set of tits . you get bored of those. i find myself open to all sizes now and more interested in a good personality and a bit of drive. even as i got older i have become alot more confident. no probs in chatting to anyone.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Specialun wrote: »
    . as i grew older and i realised its not just about a nice set of tits . you get bored of those.

You ok, dude?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,203 ✭✭✭TheDavester

Genuine question - do people find POF better than Tinder ? I found alot of the same people were on both

lot similar but i found POF to be more filled with spam accounts and pickier than other...got more dates off tinder and bumble(bumbles problem is theres a lack of a distance filter -im down in cork but i keep getting matches up in Galway/Donegal)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

You ok, dude?

aye johnny. you ok mate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Ah lads don't lose hope, I met my wife on tinder 4 years ago!

Just deleted it. **** it. For me Bumble is 10x better anyway. The women seem more genuine.