Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Dairy Farming General

• Registered Users Posts: 4,843 ✭✭✭mf240

I need rain

Ah for fcuk sake.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,056 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

I know the feeling. Tired here too. Haven't been anywhere in weeks except the yard!
    we have a countdown on here till we are going on holidays cant wait

• Registered Users Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭Viewtodiefor

Cows bulling well here at the min 2 or 3 a day. 80% bulling so far.
    Sweat feck all grass growing with all the N I have out and phos and I can't measure because I haven't paid my agrinet fee :(
    And reseeding not done yet.
    Going to run very tight on grass at end of the week.

I need rain

Tis coming Monday I hope u drown in it :-)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

whelan2 wrote: »
    we have a countdown on here till we are going on holidays cant wait

9 weeks to go.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,056 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

9 weeks to go.

Same here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 464 ✭✭case 956

9 weeks to go.

last week july heading off for two weeks cant fricken wait, heifers bulling mad on far end of farm today very tempted ta put gun in them this evening but then again I keep telling myself to take this weekend easy, decisions decisions:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭milkprofit

Delv is there any chance of keeping threads in line with subject eg calf prices -prices only not economic of rearing
    Milk price comments about price or actual prices not about expansion or quota have separate thread for them

Lot of time lost reading things of no interest in mixed up threads

• Registered Users Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭C0N0R

Cows bulling well here at the min 2 or 3 a day. 80% bulling so far.
    Sweat feck all grass growing with all the N I have out and phos and I can't measure because I haven't paid my agrinet fee :(
    And reseeding not done yet.
    Going to run very tight on grass at end of the week.

I need rain

How much do you want? I'll send you some for free! It's mad I was talking to the auld lad and he was saying he is still very wet, massive difference for a small country

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

C0N0R wrote: »
    How much do you want? I'll send you some for free! It's mad I was talking to the auld lad and he was saying he is still very wet, massive difference for a small country

Ah well contractor will be here sat to reseed. It can wait till then

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭sheebadog

Dead calf last night.
    Deformed. Schmallenberg virus. :(
    4 dead calves from that virus now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

sheebadog wrote: »
    Dead calf last night.
    Deformed. Schmallenberg virus. :(
    4 dead calves from that virus now.

How is cow that was trod on?

Phucked. :(:(

• Registered Users Posts: 11,058 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Phucked. :(:(

Something like that would never happen to a Cnut of a yoke!!.always a good one .

1397792801545.jpg

At least the rain has it advantages, 250 out of 330 cows milked and backing gate not touched

Apologies for sideways photos.

Had bucket loads of rain here but ground is holding up surprisingly well at the moment and utilisation of grass is still good, was surprised this morning, thought they would have the place tramped into sh*te. A lot of standing water though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

1397792801545.jpg

At least the rain has it advantages, 250 out of 330 cows milked and backing gate not touched

Apologies for sideways photos.

Had bucket loads of rain here but ground is holding up surprisingly well at the moment and utilisation of grass is still good, was surprised this morning, thought they would have the place tramped into sh*te. A lot of standing water though.

Are ye far from dry off?

Lads keep telling us here that it doesn't rain in NZðŸ„

Are ye far from dry off?

Be God it does. Rained soils for 2 months when I was there.
    Worst winter in 20yrs or something they said

Are ye far from dry off?

About five weeks, I'll be gone by that stage thankfully! Dried 30 low bcs early callers about three weeks ago to.

It can rain rather persistently here, but got up this morning and it was a clear night stars out and the sun in shinning through so hopefully that's the rain finished for a few days. Very impressed with how well ground has held up.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,535 ✭✭✭trixi2011

About five weeks, I'll be gone by that stage thankfully! Dried 30 low bcs early callers about three weeks ago to.

It can rain rather persistently here, but got up this morning and it was a clear night stars out and the sun in shinning through so hopefully that's the rain finished for a few days. Very impressed with how well ground has held up.
    Yes after the amount of rain we had in the last few days its very surprising how well the ground has held up, very little damage done but wasted a bit of grass tho.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,535 ✭✭✭trixi2011

Be God it does. Rained soils for 2 months when I was there.
    Worst winter in 20yrs or something they said
    Were you here for the calving in 2012?

Starting breeding today.
    Week earlier than I planned but I've held off the father for long enough..
    Won't start heifers till next week

• Registered Users Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

Starting breeding today.
    Week earlier than I planned but "I've held off the father for long enough.."
    Won't start heifers till next week

DIY AI ????? ;-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

td5man wrote: »
    DIY AI ????? ;-)

The "shortest gestation bull ever" then when they start calving :D

td5man wrote: »
    DIY AI ????? ;-)

Nope. Haven't bought a flask yet. I'll have to go do the course again when I do start

Breaking a new bit of ground for grain maize.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,353 ✭✭✭stanflt

At maize too

stanflt wrote: »
    At maize too

Got the land on an 18 year lease and the paperwork didn't come through till yesterday. 56 hectares to be planted for end of next week!

Feck me. Can I have some. Never get land on a lease like that around here

That's the way it's done here, actually 9 year lease is the smallest you can go.
    It's an 18 year revolving lease so the owner can never throw you out. Unless you don't pay of course!!

That's the way it's done here, actually 9 year lease is the smallest you can go.
    It's an 18 year revolving lease so the owner can never throw you out. Unless you don't pay of course!!

That's a proper way of dealing.
    If I ever gotbthe chance I'd try set up another place in england or france

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

That's a proper way of dealing.
    If I ever gotbthe chance I'd try set up another place in england or france

Would you want to be living there though ? The father always said it would be the right job to sell up and move where the weather and land could make farming enjoyable