Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Cruciate ligament injury in older dog

• 23-01-2021 3:12am
    Registered Users Posts: 27

Hi All
    Looking for some advice please. My 11 year old Westie started holding her back leg up days before Xmas. This is the same leg she often held up randomly since she was a puppy. My vet has said she has cruciate ligament injury. I don't know how this happened, didn't witness her injuring herself. She has been on pain relief for past 3 weeks, I now have to decide if I'm going to put her through having surgery. She is finished the pain meds 5 days. Over the last 3 weeks she is eating, in great form, played with my other dog etc, has not whined in pain at any time while playing or when I picked her up or the few times she jumped off the couch before I could get to her to stop her from jumping off. I have concerns about putting her through the surgery, she is 11, has enlarged heart ( on steroids on / off for the heart) and the recovery time is so long. I know she will be miserable being confined to a dog crate for resting and to prevent her from playing with the other dog.

Is the surgery a necessity? Is she in pain but doesn't show it? Anyone been in a similar situation with same injury in a older small / medium size dog. She is within the recommended weight range for a Westie.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,020 ✭✭✭✭tk123

Bailey (retriever) had his done a year ago this week - he was 10 at the time. For us it was an on-going issue, we'd rest it up and inevitably tear it some more and he'd be in pain again. I made the decision to just get the surgery done and out of the way rather than waste any more time resting, trying different pain relief etc etc - it was really a quality of life decision for us at the end of the day. He was/is otherwise fit and healthy, perfect bloods etc so the vet said he was fine to go ahead with it at 10. When they opened the knee up there was pieces of broken ligament inside too so definitely the right decision for our situation.

We didn't crate him but restricted him to one room at a time - I basically lived in the sitting room with him for 3 weeks lol. Recovery time is 12 weeks all going well. Like it's doable - stressful at the time but so worth it for us as he's not in pain from it tearing bit by bit and I don't have to worry about it blowing out on a walk(!)

Be mindful that it's never going to heal - you'll see an improvement like that as you rest and build up some scar tissue.. then they'll run/turn the wrong way/tweak it and will be in pain again until it settles. So you'll need to manage it to prevent destroying the joint. You can get braces so might be an option in your situation with her heart? Make sure you have pain relief too if you're not going for surgery - and proper pain relief not just supplements that may or may not be helping. They do adjust to their level of pain and hide it very well - so yes she could be tricking you. And I know what you mean about the couch lol - i had ours barricaded so he couldn't get up - first night he was standing like "here will you get this crap off the couch so i can jump up" - like he'd only had the surgery that afternoon!!! :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 27 Hello2021

Hi tk123. Thank you so much for your reply and the details you gave. Do you think I can assume my Westie is in pain even though she doesn't yelp when she walks or plays with the other dog. I suppose if she wasn't in good form, stopped eating and yelped on movement the decision to do the operation would be so easy. She is on no pain medication for almost a week now and there has been no change in her behaviour. I am really struggling to make the decision about the operation. She can be incontinent as well at times, she passes urine in her sleep without realising it. It happens randomly. I can't have her on steroids for her heart either when she is on the pain medication.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭aonb

Has she had an xray to see what the actual damage is OP?

If she has torn her cruciate, she wont be putting any weight on that leg

You have two options - surgery, or hope that by *RESTING* it she will build up enough scar tissue to help keep the knee in place and have some sort of recovery

Our not so young dog had the surgery. The recovery wasnt bad - just the first week of keeping him very restrained (we sectioned off a section of the family room) - after that it was very small walks for toilet and just to keep his head sane.

I would worry that by not having surgery, and if she is still playing with your other dog, that she is not going to let it recover, and might have issues later. My dog didnt have heart issues, so I didnt have to worry from that point of view. Worth getting a second opinion though? Or maybe talk some more to your vet?

• Registered Users Posts: 336 ✭✭firstlight

Had same issue with a jack russell during summer
    Vet told me cruciate gone in one of rear hind legs
    Hes 9 and a little heavy
    We have rested him for several months and the muscle has began to build again
    He showed no sign of pain
    Just randomly hopped an odd time on the offending leg
    Anyway he is back to normal
    Likes his sleep so that probably helped ðŸ‘

Bailey never yelped with his - even a few hours after the operation when he walked out to the car. Hopefully it’s settled and she’s ok. With Bailey he didn’t show any signs of pain being examined normally but under sedation he lifted off the table in pain :(. I think with a bigger dog it’s more obvious when something is wrong.. smaller dogs I find people either don’t notice/dismiss them hopping as you see so many small dogs with hoppy legs. (Hoping for me would be a sign of pain)

• Registered Users Posts: 336 ✭✭firstlight

tk123 wrote: »
    Bailey never yelped with his - even a few hours after the operation when he walked out to the car. Hopefully it’s settled and she’s ok. With Bailey he didn’t show any signs of pain being examined normally but under sedation he lifted off the table in pain :(. I think with a bigger dog it’s more obvious when something is wrong.. smaller dogs I find people either don’t notice/dismiss them hopping as you see so many small dogs with hoppy legs. (Hoping for me would be a sign of pain)

I agree.
    The big dogs find it harder to recover
    My jacker doesnt limp anymore
    I just keep him on the lead now and stop him chasing everything
    Its very hard to stop them completely though ha

• Registered Users Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭omerin

I had a westie who had the same issue, was running and pulled up yelping. He was a bit younger when it happened then yours but imo you should get it done, they can live 14+ years. About 6 wks in a cage with possibility of hydro therapy which i didnt avail of but should have. My biggest issue and i have mentioned it on another similar thread, is that all of the pain relief and anti inflammatory meds i believe damaged his kidneys and a few years later it was the reason i had to put him to sleep.

For me its a no brainer, do it,

• Registered Users Posts: 303 ✭✭misschoo

Hi I had cruciate ligament surgery done on my then 6 year old Westie nearly four years ago. She has congestive heart failure but I had to take the risk to put her under anaesthetic for the surgery. My vet did the nylon suture technique which was more affordable at the time. She had 6 weeks recovery with no walks etc - crating her wasn’t an option as she is a rescue and spent time in the pound and hated being locked in so I made sure her bed etc was flat on the floor.if I had to go out I lifted the cushions on the couch so she couldn’t try to jump. I also put a baby gate up at the stairs so she couldn’t get up/down them. I carried her up and down steps/stairs to go out and there was no walking. After her stitches cam out I did hydro therapy with her weekly for 10 weeks. I will add that I has insurance for her so all of this was covered by her insurance. Four years later she’s going great!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,334 ✭✭✭Zak Flaps

My Westie is 13 (14 in April). He had surgery for stomach issues just before Christmas.
    I was worried about his age.
    Recovery was a bit slow but no too long. He's been fine for weeks now. Back to his old self.
    It just shows that they can get through surgery at that age, so 11 is not too old.
    As regards her medical condition, obviously the vet is the best person to ask re surgery etc.
    I wish you and your dog the best!

Thanks everyone for all the replies. I really appreciate you taking the time to tell me about your experiences. I have a big decision to make but am leaning on the side of having the operation. Thanks again

Ideally they should be taking her in and checking under sedation to be sure - it’s called the drawer test. Bailey also got a joint tap last year too and the vet knew by that the ligament was tearing bit by bit. I was very lucky that I just decided to go ahead with it - we just missed the restrictions kicking in with his checkups.

It’s daunting but don’t worry - you’ll all get through it. There’s plenty of people here who’ve been through it too (this was Baileys 4th surgery - 2 x ankles and 2 x knee) who can offer advise and support.

Hello2021 wrote: »
    Thanks everyone for all the replies. I really appreciate you taking the time to tell me about your experiences. I have a big decision to make but am leaning on the side of having the operation. Thanks again

Let us know how it all goes.

• Registered Users Posts: 211 ✭✭florawest

Please do, good luck, we are all rooting for ye ðŸ‘

• Registered Users Posts: 728 ✭✭✭bertiebomber

my bernese mountain dog is 11 years old they have a life expectancy of 9 years she had a tumour removed 2 weeks ago all 50 kg of her. i was resigned to her maybe not coming out of the anesthetic as a 50kg dog requires a lot and had prepared myself. My vet used gas and a littlle sedative & guess what she's sprightly and happy this morning 2 weeks after her op. There are always possibilities for older loyal dogs. i am waiting for the histology report and i do know her time will come but i reckon she will have another summer.

• Registered Users Posts: 267 ✭✭coathanger

My 13 year old Jack has this last year & I joined this Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/groups/caninecruciatestories/?ref=share

Found it very helpful, we decided against the surgery as he has other health issues . He was never a huge walker anyway but is back doing little walks. We took steps in the house to make him comfortable & stop him from running all over the place & making it worse. Feel free to pm me if you have any questions.

Thanks for all replies, she is booked in for Feb 16th it's the earliest she can be done & ties in with my work rota so I have time off to be home to care for her. Might check back in here in a few months to give feedback how she is getting on & might help someone in similar position.

• Registered Users Posts: 22 Olaf52

My lad is 12 in July and he ruptured his cruciate ligament had the surgery and now they’re looking to take the plate back out.

He will use his leg when playing, walking on stones, scratching himself and on the beach he will take 2-4 steps then lift but he just will not use it after that 🀷*♀️ I don’t know what to do with him

• Registered Users Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Antares35

Our jacker had hers done albeit she was six at the time. The recovery is long and involved and requires a lot of time and attention but IMO can be a wonderful result for the dog. Ours has never had a problem with hers since thank god. She does occasionally hop on the other which I thought for a while was the cruciate going on that side but it turned out to be the floating kneecap which is common to the breed. There are different types of surgeries depending on breed, if you do opt for it, and my understanding is the smaller breeds can have a high success rate with the more straightforward surgeries, IIRC.

Best of luck whatever you decide, it isn't easy.

I found the recovery time with ours fine - he was out on short walks at week 2. At one stage we had to increase from whatever was the standard for the week we were at because he was going mad playing with his footballs on the house lol :pac: I was uber uber careful with him though. From FB groups - the suture and tplo methods seem to have complications... but at the same time you see people doing crazy amounts of exercise/the dog is running around off lead days after surgery or they’re obese. My vet said he’s never had one fail yet (tta-rapid).

its all do able and the dog will benefit - if you pay for an operation & the dog does well, the aftercare is joyful. Good luck on the 16th

The first time you see them run afterwards is both terrifying and joyous lol!

Sad update on my Bernese mountain dog her lump is a non encapsulated neoplasm ( a melanoma). A very bad histology result she has 6 months if i am lucky have to examine her daily for mestastasis to her lymph node & /or lungs ( listen for coughing ) . Such a good dog too. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Antares35

Sad update on my Bernese mountain dog her lump is a non encapsulated neoplasm ( a melanoma). A very bad histology result she has 6 months if i am lucky have to examine her daily for mestastasis to her lymph node & /or lungs ( listen for coughing ) . Such a good dog too. :(

Ah really sorry to read that :(

oh no :( i'm so sorry to hear that.

So sorry to hear that. Please spoil her for the rest of her life.

Oh devastating!
    My springer was diagnosed last September with a cancer tumour in his lung, I thought he wouldn't see xmas. He had a cough for at least 3/4 months before that.
    Anyway, he's still here! 13 next month & still doing well, eating walking & sleeping.
    He is more spoilt than ever!
    Hope you have lots of quality time left together

on the cruciate ligament, he tore both his when he was younger but we never got anything done with them, just tried to make him rest as much as we could. He was grand :)

• Registered Users Posts: 8 Dory Knows

My lab x collie tore her cruciate 18 months ago, at age 13.5yrs. We went to specialist ortho vet and he advised conservative management given her age. She recovered really well, and to be honest didn't think she would still be with us now but she is, almost 15, walking, jumping on couch, upstairs, even manages to climb onto kitchen table via the chair when she wants to be really bold . I used to work in a vets and have seen many dogs come through cruciate surgery. For a website, at 11, I would assess other health issues and ask vets opinion. Post op recovery and conservative management are similar. I didn't even need to create my girl, just house confined for a few weeks before building up shirt walks. She's off pain killers now due to gastro issues but is actually flying without them. Not lame, stiff at times , but...15....She started another painkiller recently as an anti seizure medication so that should cover her for pain if there is any. Goodluck on 16th!

• Registered Users Posts: 8 Dory Knows

Sorry @bertiebomber. Hard news. Great age for a Bermie you did a great job :) spoil and cuddle

So sorry to hear your very sad news. Hope you & family are doing OK.