Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Changes in the GAA - super thread

• Registered Users Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

We're left with two choices. Either scrap the provincials or retain them as part of the All-Ireland structure. There's no point in trying to find middle ground.

Provincial championships are really only working in two provinces,

Leinster was strong enough for a few years but historically for a championship with so many teams, the roll of honour is very lobsided

• Closed Accounts Posts: 325 ✭✭Hawkeye9212

Provincial championships are really only working in two provinces,

Leinster was strong enough for a few years but historically for a championship with so many teams, the roll of honour is very lobsided

Agreed. I'd love to keep the provincial championships. I was born and raised in London but some of my fondest memories are attending games in Ulster with my family from Donegal. Ulster is still viable but the others aren't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 336 ✭✭Banner2theend

• Registered Users Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭emergingstar

Club players are gonna get screwed again

Looks like we'll be stuck with Horan's format for the foreseeable future.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,381 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Discussion about Dublin dominance goes in the appropriate thread. I've moved all recent posts about this subject.

The two proposals which I've would like to see implemented.

1)

All-Ireland Champions + Tier Two Champions + top 14 teams in the League go into Tier 1. The League would have to be reduced to three divisions. Otherwise, the transition between Divisions 2 and 3 is awkward. Provincials are still an option under this format.

The group stage contains four groups of four. The top placed teams go into the quarter-finals. The second and third placed teams go into the preliminary quarter-finals. This prevents dead rubber games.

2) Same format used by most counties for club championships. Two tiers with 4 groups of 4 each. The initial seedings would be based on the League. It will then be divorced from the League and run separately. Tier 2 Champions win promotion to Tier 1. They are replaced by the relegated team from Tier 1.

Champions Shield between the champions of Division 1 and Tier 1 Championship to be played on At Patrick's weekend. The Tier Two Champions head over to play New York. All proceeds are divided among the two counties.

A lot of discussion recently about the masters fixtures calendar, and the demands been put on players, in particular U20 players by management of teams like clubs, U20 and senior inter-county, 2nd and 3rd level college teams etc. This has got me thinking, what will an alternative fixtures calendar that would have the backing of club, inter-county players alike. Starting from January 1st 2021 this is what my own Gaa fixture calendar should look like

January - Inter-county training commences for all inter-county teams, both senior, U20 teams. For inter-county that break this rule then penalties ranging from concession of home venues in the championship to fines for county boards are on the agenda.

February - Start the inter-county pre-season competitions no earlier than the first weekend of February. Complete them by the end of the month, if not then the rest of the competitions shall be null and void.

March - club month, where clubs get first choice on inter-county players from March 1st to March 29th inclusive. Play the respective club leagues rather than county championship as the number one priority.

April - Start the inter-county All-Ireland senior hurling and football championships on the 3rd weekend of April. Scrap the leagues for the following formats. So for hurling you have the Munster and Leinster Championships with both having 5 teams in it. The rest of the tiered hurling championships will remain the same like in 2020. In other words the status quo remains like in GAA hurling championship 2020

In football I would replace the provincials with this format. The 4 provincial champions in 2020 along with the All-Ireland winner, if not exempt already will be part of the the main All-Ireland football championship 5 team "group of death". If the All-Ireland winner was a provincial champion, then that place will be taken up by the leading team in the 2020 Division one League. I would have 4 groups of 5 teams in the All-Ireland senior football championship from 2021 onwards. The 2 relegated teams from Division 2 and the bottom 3 teams in Div. 3 along with 7 teams in Division 4 of the 2020 league except for the winner of the Division 4 league who would qualify for the All-Ireland senior championship, will make up the tier 2 championship.

May to August bank holiday weekend - Senior Championship continues in May. For the minor (U17 grade) I would make it a developmental championship, a bit like what's in situ with the likes of the Tony Forrestial, Arrabawn tournaments etc. I don't like the idea of "win at all costs" attitude I've seen with managers and coaches involved in the U17 inter-county management teams, since the inter-county minor grade was changed to U17. These young lads have enough to be worried about re leaving cert exams etc. In mid June once the Leaving Cert is complete I would commence both the U20 provincial inter-county hurling and football championships.

Eligibility for U20 grade would be for players who turned 18 on the 1st of January of this year or later. The championship itself will be run on a knock-out basis, like what's currently in place. While all U20 players will only be allowed to chose one code for the duration of the championship. U20 players cannot play both senior and U20 inter-county championship in their preferred code while a county still involved in both senior and U20 championships. One code, one competition will be the rule there.

July - The top 3 teams in Div 1 of the All-Ireland senior football championship would qualify for the 1/4 finals, along with the winners of Div 2, 3 and 4. The winner of the tier 2 championship (which will be a knock-out championship) will take on the 4th place team in Div 1 to see who will be the final quarter-finalist. These 1/4 finals will be played on the first week of July, with semi-finals a week later with the Sam Maguire winner to be confirmed on the Sunday of the August bank holiday weekend. No replays in any knock-out championship games in both hurling and football. The Liam McCarthy winner will be confirmed on the Saturday of the August bank holiday weekend. I would also play the U20 championship finals to be held as curtain raisers to the respective All-Ireland senior hurling and football finals respectively.

2nd weekend of August to the end of November - Club championships commence in all counties. Any county that sees its inter-county championship end before the August bank holiday extravaganza can certainly begin all club activities before that date. Complete the club championships, both county, provincial and All-Ireland chamionships by the last weekend of November with the finals in Croke Park, in all grades and codes. I would also begin the Sigerson, Fitzgibbon and other third level GAA championships like freshers etc, in the last weekend of September and ending on the October bank holiday weekend, with all third level college GAA competitions finals to be held in Croke Park by that time. I would also dissolve the respective 3rd level GAA league competitions as I believe that is also something that players can do without for player welfare reasons.

December - No GAA activity of any kind. No collective training, no meaningless GAA matches. December should be "free month" for all Gaa players from any GAA activity. Any team that violates this rule, would face explusion from their respective championship or other GAA competition for the following year, 2022

I look forward to what other posters think about this schedule. It would be of huge benefit to club players in particular and I feel that this calendar can form a basis to solve the huge crisis that I mentioned in the above in relation to our great GAA sports.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,327 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

Stop third level players being on county senior and U20 panels until they are knocked out of sigerson or Fitzgibbon

They might finally move those competitions towards the end of the season in October and November

Very simple solution to burn out

Intercounty season is too long. Limit the intercounty season to 5 months (March to August). January should be designated a rest month. That leaves us with 6 months exclusively for the clubs.

The League should adopt a format similar to the one which will be used UEFA's Nations League this year. Each division has 8 teams split into 2 groups of 4. Double round-robin so each team gets an equal number of home and away games. The top teams in each group in Division 1 go into the NFL finals. The 1st placed teams in each group in Divisions 2, 3, and 4 are promoted. The 4th placed teams in each group are relegated.

Min no. of games = 6
    Max no. of games = 6 (7 for NFL finalists)

The League is then followed by a two tier championship. Each tier has 16 teams split into 4 groups of 4. Each team get a home game and an away game. The other game is played in a neutral venue.

Min no. of games = 3
    Max no. of games = 6

Every county gets 9-12 games in the season.

Or retain the current league structure. That would give every team a minimum of 10 games and a max of 13 or 14 games.

The Provincials should be scrapped at senior level but retained for club and underage competitions. The provincial councils should focus solely on development of Gaelic games. Let the GAA worry about running senior intercounty competitions.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,967 ✭✭✭✭The Lost Sheep

Intercounty season is too long. Limit the intercounty season to 5 months (March to August). January should be designated a rest month. That leaves us with 6 months exclusively for the clubs.

The League should adopt a format similar to the one which will be used UEFA's Nations League this year. Each division has 8 teams split into 2 groups of 4. Double round-robin so each team gets an equal number of home and away games. The top teams in each group in Division 1 go into the NFL finals. The 1st placed teams in each group in Divisions 2, 3, and 4 are promoted. The 4th placed teams in each group are relegated.

Min no. of games = 6
    Max no. of games = 6 (7 for NFL finalists)

The League is then followed by a two tier championship. Each tier has 16 teams split into 4 groups of 4. Each team get a home game and an away game. The other game is played in a neutral venue.

Min no. of games = 3
    Max no. of games = 6

Every county gets 9-12 games in the season.

Or retain the current league structure. That would give every team a minimum of 10 games and a max of 13 or 14 games.

The Provincials should be scrapped at senior level but retained for club and underage competitions. The provincial councils should focus solely on development of Gaelic games. Let the GAA worry about running senior intercounty competitions.
    why does nearly every format proposal have league completed before championship starts? Why not do like other sports and have the various competitions intertwine through the season? I dont see why provincial competitions should be scrapped just dont have replays and finish them on day so they take at max 3/4 weeks.

Both formats are fine. Provincials can be played in the preseason but they shouldn't form a part of the All-Ireland Championship anymore. Every team should start in the same position.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,967 ✭✭✭✭The Lost Sheep

Both formats are fine. Provincials can be played in the preseason but they shouldn't form a part of the All-Ireland Championship anymore. Every team should start in the same position.
    why play them in pre season?
    Pre season dorsnt need to have competitions in it. Play provincial competitions in breaks between league or all Ireland whatever format that's chosen.

why play them in pre season?
    Pre season dorsnt need to have competitions in it. Play provincial competitions in breaks between league or all Ireland whatever format that's chosen.

That would be fine as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,567 ✭✭✭roadmaster

After last years messing with new bridge or knowwhere is it time the gaa gave guidance for a minimum size ground especially for the smaller county’s so when the upgrade works which many county’s need they won’t go mental and try and build big stadiums . I can see another new bridge or knowhere happening with Westmeath and Dublin later this year

https://twitter.com/mcenteejohn/status/1219739793996816384

https://twitter.com/mcenteejohn/status/1219739796349779968

https://twitter.com/mcenteejohn/status/1219739798392516610

The last tweet in the above 3 links relates to the McRory Cup final, which is due to take place the same day (Paddy's Day) as the All-Ireland U20 Football semi-finals!!!

This blatant disregard for player welfare, regarding the scheduling of the 2020 Provincial and All-Ireland U20 Football Championship, is there for all to see. John Horan is officially the worst GAA president ever IMO. Out of touch he is indeed with the grassroots and disconnected with the GAA club and inter-county player. He seems like a provocative figure too, in other words, its his way and that's it. No compromise it seems! It's only the well being of Dublin GAA, rather than what's best for the rest of the 31 counties, that matters to the Na Fianna clubman.

Finally why is it that only the Irish Examiner, are the only national media outlet that are calling out for what is re Horan? Fair play to them but it's utter shame on the other national print and broadcast media, for their failings in holding the GAA top brass to account re Tommy Murphy Cup 2.0 the prime example.

The last tweet in the above 3 links relates to the McRory Cup final, which is due to take place the same day (Paddy's Day) as the All-Ireland U20 Football semi-finals!!!

This blatant disregard for player welfare, regarding the scheduling of the 2020 Provincial and All-Ireland U20 Football Championship, is there for all to see. John Horan is officially the worst GAA president ever IMO. Out of touch he is indeed with the grassroots and disconnected with the GAA club and inter-county player. He seems like a provocative figure too, in other words, its his way and that's it. No compromise it seems! It's only the well being of Dublin GAA, rather than what's best for the rest of the 31 counties, that matters to the Na Fianna clubman.

Finally why is it that only the Irish Examiner, are the only national media outlet that are calling out for what is re Horan? Fair play to them but it's utter shame on the other national print and broadcast media, for their failings in holding the GAA top brass to account re Tommy Murphy Cup 2.0 the prime example.

Seems like the U20s should be played in the summer when players have time off school/college. Horan says the situation can't be solved. An useless president backed up by a bunch of yes men. The GAA's governing body is no longer fit for purpose.

• Registered Users Posts: 37,699 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

The GAA need to invest in a live score type app. Both the Hoganstand and GAA apps are ****e but could be the bad 3G/4G in the grounds too

• Registered Users Posts: 480 ✭✭GreenandRed

PTH2009 wrote: »
    The GAA need to invest in a live score type app. Both the Hoganstand and GAA apps are ****e but could be the bad 3G/4G in the grounds too

Checkout What's the Scór app on Google play store. Club and county, mighty yoke.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,516 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

Obviously the problem in Leinster is Dublin who have no place in this provincial competition. They'd beat the combined team from the other 10 counties easily.

The 10 in a row hammering today will as usual lead to calls for the end of the provincial system. However you've got a new winner in munster and connaught this year for over 5 and 8 years respectively.

Donegal will probably beat cavan but they've not actually won ulster that much.

If they change it to a tiered championship with groups. Instead of Dublin winning the all Ireland/leinster and 3 other teams earning provincial silverware every year you'll have just have 1 piece of silverware going to dublin during the championship annually.

These changes only make sense if one team isn't dominating.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,310 ✭✭✭dunnerc

Ah welcome back Jack_Goff
    Again try sending a letter of complaint to the Meath County Board and the Leinster Council

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

breezy1985 wrote: »
    Well those counties let hurling rot so football could thrive so it's only fair game they also do nothing if it swings the other way

That's weird, I could have sworn Kildare were playing in the Christy Ring Cup final against Down today.

Must have been a dream.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,225 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Lundstram wrote: »
    There's a €14 million over 5 years sized excuse. Kildare and Meath got about €2 million between them. Not about the money though, or that's what the Dubs will tell you anyway.

Sorry we don't get to play all our games at home. Suppose thats our fault too? Remember Kildare had to fight tooth and nail just to get a qualifier against Mayo played in Newbridge a few years ago. Sorry about wanting to play a home draw.. you know.. at home.

Also sorry our county doesn't have over 1,000,000 people to pick from, 220,000 isn't much in comparison and I'd guess 20% of that are Dubs. Sorry again.

It's all Kildare's and Meath's fault. Sorry.

Is it Dublin or anyone elses fault the Kildare's stadium was a kip?

And your own county boards are happy to take the big gates from CP. If this all really was a big issue ye should all just pull out of Leinster in protest

• Registered Users Posts: 24,225 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Lundstram wrote: »
    That's weird, I could have sworn Kildare were playing in the Christy Ring Cup final against Down today.

Must have been a dream.

That's weird. Im sure I said let rot not didn't exist.

Must have been a dream

• Closed Accounts Posts: 315 ✭✭Akesh

Girly Gal wrote: »
    Meath and Kildare really have no excuse, they are footballing counties with decent size populations and very little hurling. Neither of them have won a Leinster title in almost 20 years (not counting Meath's 2010 Leinster as Louth were absolutely robbed of that title). It's really only in the last 10 years that Dublin have become a force and counties outside of Leinster have at least been more competitive in that time than Meath and Kildare. Neither of them have even closed the gap, if anything the gap is getting bigger, in the last decade both counties have struggled to stay in division 1 for any length of time and have even struggled to stay in division 2 at times. They both really should be playing at a higher level.

Absolute nonsense. The gap is getting bigger because it's getting more difficult to get players to commit to receive a hiding in Croke Park. Dublin winning is a result of funding and population. Dublin's success has coincided with a major decline in Leinster GAA.

The new Dublin fans are deluded if they think Dublin are just better than everyone else because they try harder.

It is a complete failure if Dublin don't win the AI every year because they have much more resources than anyone else. Great achievement, huh?

It won't matter anyway as football is being brought to its death thanks to attitudes like yours.

• Registered Users Posts: 879 ✭✭✭risteard7

The Christy Ring is a Mickey mouse competition to give the weaker counties a trophy to play for

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

breezy1985 wrote: »
    Is it Dublin or anyone elses fault the Kildare's stadium was a kip?

And your own county boards are happy to take the big gates from CP. If this all really was a big issue ye should all just pull out of Leinster in protest

Maybe our stadium is a kip because we weren't handed Croke Park free of charge like the Dubs were? But I guess "DuBs HoMe StAdIuM iS pArNeLl PaRk".

Navan is a kip too. As is Drogheda, Aughrim, Mullingar? Guess why. Those counties have to fund stadiums themselves.

You are utterly deluded or misinformed, probably both.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭Girly Gal

Akesh wrote: »
    Absolute nonsense. The gap is getting bigger because it's getting more difficult to get players to commit to receive a hiding in Croke Park. Dublin winning is a result of funding and population. Dublin's success has coincided with a major decline in Leinster GAA.

The new Dublin fans are deluded if they think Dublin are just better than everyone else because they try harder.

It is a complete failure if Dublin don't win the AI every year because they have much more resources than anyone else. Great achievement, huh?

It won't matter anyway as football is being brought to its death thanks to attitudes like yours.

I'm not expecting Meath or Kildare to beat Dublin, but, they should be more competitive, certainly in the all Ireland series against teams other than Dublin. I agree that Dublin have too many advantages from money, population and home advantage, etc, but, it doesn't excuse Meath's and Kildare's lack of competitiveness outside of Leinster and even in the league.
    The Gaa do need to look at Dublin's dominance, reduce their funding, make them play away from Croke Park, the other Leinster counties should insist on playing their matches at home instead of playing games in Croke Park. That would at least level the playing field somewhat. There's not much that can be done regarding the population advantage Dublin have, only splitting into north and south Dublin which won't happen.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,457 ✭✭✭dobman88

risteard7 wrote: »
    The Christy Ring is a Mickey mouse competition to give the weaker counties a trophy to play for

So its wrong for counties who havent a hope of winning the top prize to compete against teams of a similar standard for a trophy?

I guarantee you any player winning an all Ireland medal, regardless of what grade it's at, would be absolutely delighted.