Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Beggars knocking on front doors

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

I was recently asked for a " fiver or so ".

The days of a " a bit of coin " or " a penny for the baba " are over.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,712 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Do you still get wandering tramps of the Johnny Fortycoats variety or are they a thing of the past?

Years ago they called those sorts of lads "characters", which was code for people with mental health issues.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭El Tarangu

"This week, on things that never happened..."
    Sometime in the 50s my grandfather opened the door to a tramp who begged for money and was being fairly smart about it, my grandfather replied with "wait a minute" and went back inside to bring out his Lee Enfield from his time in the IRA during the Tan war, cocked it and then let out a volley of shots over the tramps head, reckoned he never say a man run as fast in his life before.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Edgware

Sometime in the 50s my grandfather opened the door to a tramp who begged for money and was being fairly smart about it, my grandfather replied with "wait a minute" and went back inside to bring out his Lee Enfield from his time in the IRA during the Tan war, cocked it and then let out a volley of shots over the tramps head, reckoned he never say a man run as fast in his life before.

I miss my grandad.

Reference to "the Tan War" is the giveaway. Usual bar stool Provo bull ****

• Registered Users Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭Irish Praetorian

PARlance wrote: »
    Saying that, we had 8 cows break into the back garden last month.

Shocking! I hope you made mincemeat out of them!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭Feisar

Edgware wrote: »

I'd never heard that one, does have a good ring to it though.

First they came for the socialists...

mikemac2 wrote: »
    You had 0% chance there ;) Even if you converted for her she would choose a long time pioneer/missionary over you

Firstly I'm married so no, hadn't crossed my mind. Well maybe fleetingly. Before meeting my wife I'd take the Pepsi challenge with any lady however I got the strong feeling that was a shut shop.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,092 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

El Tarangu wrote: »
    "This week, on things that never happened..."

Reminds me of a similar story though from about 25 years ago.

Our neighbour, who owns a business beside their home (and would have had lots of cash on hand) was awoken one night at about 3am. Someone was trying to break in via their back door. He jumps out of bed and grabs the shotgun, rushes to the back door and sees the silhouette of the robbery backing away. Neighbour opens door, lets out a roar and cocks the gun...

Before a trigger was pulled, the robber falls dead weight to the ground. He approached the robber and it turns out it was his other neighbour, a very elderly man who had been beginning to lose it, and had gotten the wrong house.

The feed of pints after a lock in at the local hadn't helped matters.

The neighbour with the gun was very shook up after it. Fight or flight had kicked in and he was very close to pulling the trigger. Only for the old man falling over, he thinks he would have.

1874 wrote: »
    so just leave it unlocked and wide open?

Not at all, I always lock the door. It is only an illusion of safety though. Unless one has bars on the windows and a steel door.

Reminds me of a similar story though from about 25 years ago.

Our neighbour, who owns a business beside their home (and would have had lots of cash on hand) was awoken one night at about 3am. Someone was trying to break in via their back door. He jumps out of bed and grabs the shotgun, rushes to the back door and sees the silhouette of the robbery backing away. Neighbour opens door, lets out a roar and cocks the gun...

Before a trigger was pulled, the robber falls dead weight to the ground. He approached the robber and it turns out it was his other neighbour, a very elderly man who had been beginning to lose it, and had gotten the wrong house.

The feed of pints after a lock in at the local hadn't helped matters.

The neighbour with the gun was very shook up after it. Fight or flight had kicked in and he was very close to pulling the trigger. Only for the old man falling over, he thinks he would have.

You can't cock a shotgun.

denartha wrote: »

Semi or pump you can.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,092 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

I wouldn't know the terminology. It was probably a hunting rifle as well. The general jist is that he opened the back door and did whatever you do in preparation for a shot.

Thinly veiled tongue twister.

How much cock could a shot gun.....

• Registered Users Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Edgware

I wouldn't know the terminology. It was probably a hunting rifle as well. The general jist is that he opened the back door and did whatever you do in preparation for a shot.
    Probably raised it to the shoulder in preparation to pull the trigger.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

I think maybe 30 per cent of house,s have alarms,
    Some places in area,s are too far from the exchange to get a basic phone line installed .
    they have no broadband .
    if they had an alarm no one would here it, eg the nearest house is 500 yards away.i do not know anyone living in an apartment who has an alarm installed .
    Is it worth having an alarm installed if all you have in the house is an old tv and
    a cable tv reciever ?
    not everyone over 50 has expensive laptops ,pcs or tablets in the house .
    if someone has an alarm theres usually an alarm box on the wall with a
    bell inside.
    Which can be seen by a potential burglar .

• Registered Users Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

riclad wrote: »
    Some places in area,s are too far from the exchange to get a basic phone line installed .
    they have no broadband .
    if they had an alarm no one would here it, eg the nearest house is 500 yards away.i do not know anyone living in an apartment who has an alarm installed .
    Is it worth having an alarm installed if all you have in the house is an old tv and
    a cable tv reciever ?
    bell inside.
    Ah yes, but how many are real and how many are dummys ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 11,853 ✭✭✭✭anewme

riclad wrote: »
    they have no broadband .
    a cable tv reciever ?
    bell inside.

5 out of 25 houses on my road don't have an alarm.

I am looking into upgrading mine - mine is one that rings off and not to my phone, so I want the one like what Stumms is saying.

Personally, I think anyone is crazy if they dont have an alarm on the property. I priced up the CCTV and what I was told was, if they want to get in, they will get in, but everything is a deterrent.

What I was advised if I do get the CCTV is to consider getting a camera in the landing - they may come to the door with their faces covered, but are likely to take off the cover if they get in - so that is where the camera is likely to get them.

Its not just what they can take, it is the fact that someone was in your home when you were not there and that can be traumatic for people. Plus they could wreck the place if they find nothing.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,415 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

Watch out for chalk marks on the trees or lamposts outside.

A tactic is to call round during the day on a recon mission, ask for change, scope out the gaff, then mark the houses that are doable and then the burglar crew get busy at night. Happens a bit in my area where there are older people living alone.

The Nal wrote: »

A tactic is to call round during the day on a recon mission, ask for change, scope out the gaff, then mark the houses that are doable and then the burglar crew get busy at night. Happens a bit in my area where there are older people living alone.

Do they use infra-red chalk, or how are they supposed to see these tiny chalk marks at night?

It seems to me that it would be a lot easier to say: "Hai, John-Joe, go burgle number 41, 43 and 47 "

Feisar wrote: »
    Two Mormons rocked up to my door one time. “I bet you never seen two guys like us before”. Actually yes I have ye must all come out of the same mould. I offered them tea but they declined.

Mormons don't consume caffeine (so, it wasn't that they were being impolite or anything).

El Tarangu wrote: »
    Mormons don't consume caffeine (so, it wasn't that they were being impolite or anything).

Ya learn something new every day.

The Nal wrote: »

Sounds like something out of a John Le Carré novel. I am calling BS right there.

Since when have cream crackers started utilising advanced Cold War espionage techniques as a form of clandestine communication?

No sale.

The phuckers might seem cute enough , but.....

• Registered Users Posts: 3,610 ✭✭✭stoneill

There is an old story about a father and son walking down the street.
    A disheveled looking man approaches them and asks for €50 for an operation for his boy.
    The dad takes out €50 from his wallet and gives it to the beggar.
    His son asks why did he do that? He could just go spend it on booze.
    The dad says that if he used a sick boy for an excuse just to buy booze, then that is a reflection on his character.
    But if I had refused when I could help someone in need while I had the means, then that is a reflection on my character.

Anyway, I wouldn't give, they are only scroungers.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,415 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    Sounds like something out of a John Le Carré novel. I am calling BS right there.

Since when have cream crackers started utilising advanced Cold War espionage techniques as a form of clandestine communication?

No sale.

The phuckers might seem cute enough , but.....

I've seen it happen. Wooden comms poles with chalk on it. Garda who called in when someone tried to break into my house told me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

IAMAMORON wrote: »

Yeah it immediately reminded me of Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy, for some reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,816 ✭✭✭skooterblue2

I miss my grandad.

Alot of those "Tramps" were men who never recovered fully from the first and second world wars. They were shelled in the trenches daily and gassed. They used flamethrowers on them. There is no way you would be right in the head after that. Of course now we call it PTSD but we are no closer to cure.

The last "tramp" I ever saw was in the early 1980's and my mother wanted to hunt him from the house. My father was in England in the 1960's and knew his medals. Now we were poor at the time but my father said he could sleep in the barn and my mother was to make him a full tea and sandwiches in the morning. My father said he had medals on his chest and I have never seen him sympathetic to any homeless person or traveller like that before and after.

Edgware wrote: »

Volley of shots..... that is also BS as well. No one in the RA would let off a volley of shots, one because they didnt have them and two because that would attract attention. I am calling BS on the story too.

Alot of those "Tramps" were men who never recovered fully from the first and second world wars. They were shelled in the trenches daily and gassed. They used flamethrowers on them. There is no way you would be right in the head after that. Of course now we call it PTSD but we are no closer to cure.

The last "tramp" I ever saw was in the early 1980's and my mother wanted to hunt him from the house. My father was in England in the 1960's and knew his medals. Now we were poor at the time but my father said he could sleep in the barn and my mother was to make him a full tea and sandwiches in the morning. My father said he had medals on his chest and I have never seen him sympathetic to any homeless person or traveller like that before and after.

My Dad would talk about various knights of the road from when he was little. Like yerselves Dad would have come from a poor enough house but there'd be a bed of straw made up and a hot meal for them.
    The wars were never mentioned however what you say makes sense. He'd have said they're was no harm in any of them just lads that didn't seem to be able to cope in the world.

My Dad would talk about various knights of the road from when he was little. Like yerselves Dad would have come from a poor enough house but there'd be a bed of straw made up and a hot meal for them.
    The wars were never mentioned however what you say makes sense. He'd have said they're was no harm in any of them just lads that didn't seem to be able to cope in the world.

Real men who were in those wars never talked about them.... They were men whose souls had left but their bodies hadnt died yet. We also had a neighbour (Long before I was born), while return to England injured had his ship torpedoed in the first world war. He seriously damaged his back. The British legion looked after him properly, he spent his life in a specially made chair and drank whiskey every day to numb the pain. He would never talk about the war but late at night when the whiskey had its full effect he would tell terrible stories of being shelled, swamps of mud and rats. "Shure we were only cannon fodder".

How could you be right in the head after that?

Two Mormons rocked up to my door one time. “I bet you never seen two guys like us before”. Actually yes I have ye must all come out of the same mould. I offered them tea but they declined.

I also had a Jehovah’s Witness. Although I called her Jehovah Fitness. The wife was not impressed when she came home from town and I was talking shíte with her.

I invited female Jehovas Witnesses in before they delined, granted I was in my dressing gown, looked disheveled and was coming of a shift of nights....

.... they never called back. Sometimes when the wind whistles through the trees, I wonder was it my two odd socks or my brand of toothpaste that is why they declined???