Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Storage Wars is Fake, Dave Hester Fired.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

Does anyone remember when he History Channel showed history?

Was that back when MTV showed music?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

Storage wars is great fun and barry is a ledgend.if you look at Brandi in the first few episodes,not so hot,but a bit of investment from the show on good make up and the money the show ponyed up or her boob job turns her out pretty hot and she delivers her put downs of Jarrod pretty wittily.
    Barrys family firm was supposed to have made their fortune on importing fruit and veg and he was a friend of the producer,i think he has become the hollywood star out of it.

Rick is the main man and the one who set up the pawn shop gold & silver.
    It drives me mad a bit when someone comes in with something mad and they start giving dates and info like they know all about it, but sounds like they are reading it.I dont thik a pawn shop would last to long if they had to bring in appraisers for every third item,but its fun if you dont take it to seriously.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,170 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

... and people slag wrestling for being fake ;)

Which grinds my gears lol. Take WWE wrestlers for example, they openly talk about it being fake (just a production no different than a tv show) in interviews outside of wwe.

Yet in interviews reality stars shit on so much about how the show is real :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

... and people slag wrestling for being fake ;)

Which grinds my gears lol. Take WWE wrestlers for example, they openly talk about it being fake (just a production no different than a tv show) in interviews outside of wwe.

Yet in interviews reality stars shit on so much about how the show is real :rolleyes:

its probaly in the contracts they sign.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

I've watched the show from time to time after IRT, i think i read somewhere that Dave Hester is reportedly getting $25000 per episode, more than i imagine he gets in his dayjob & then complains, must have been muscling for money maybe?

Everytime before an ad break they do that:p & nothing comes off it! I saw in one of the episodes it gets as low as -50F afaik thats about -15C (someone told me) :D

yup....they make it seem the the truck is gonna crash, and then nothing happens....:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

I enjoy Pawn stars, Auction Hunters and Storage wars, yes its all fake but i enjoy seeing the antiques (nick nacks) and hearing how much their worth. Doesn't mater if it was taken out of someone's collection, its still interesting. Otherwise its just another Antiques Roadshow program and that IS boring.

I hate Ice road truckers etc, these shows desperately try and add excitement when nothing exciting is happening. The cut off's before the adverts in these shows are ridiculous, someone shouting and a dramatic snap shot of a wheel sliding, then after the break the whole incident is a 6 inch slide on a straight road and even that was probably staged.

Loggers;guaranteed every 15 minutes theres a big roar,LOOK OUT,and shaky camera.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,563 ✭✭✭✭peteeeed

its an enjoyable show but it was kind of obvious that it was a bit rigged . i think there are very few of these shows that aren't

• Registered Users Posts: 665 ✭✭✭johnwest288

When will we make our version of "LEPRECHAUNS"

• Registered Users Posts: 24,800 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Would it surprise anyone if the whole idea of Hester and his lawsuit wasn't part of some script or ratings grabber ?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭ScrubsfanChris

To a lesser extent, Pawn Stars is the same...

Rick and the boys don't really do any work off-camera anymore.
    Some of the people that supposedly walk in off the street are contacted my researches for the show.

But I still watch it :D

I enjoyed Deadliest Catch, Ice Pilots & Flying Wild Alaska as I think there has to be a genuineness to the shows grounded in the seriousness and regulation of the industry portrayed. Pawn Stars is fun, Storage Wars ditto as long as you take them with a very large pinch of salt. Storage Wars texas is just unwatchable because of the characters.. that Lesa woman.. her voice alone just drives me ****in nuts, aghhhhhh

• Registered Users Posts: 54 ✭✭M44B19

I love all those shows,
    Hardcore pawn seems genuine enough business and Les has built it up himself.

Pawn Stars just show the interesting items which normally need appraisal, So scripted.

American Pickers, Seems genuine as they'll dig through places and get dirty. (Danni is a dancer, Google for pics. ;) )

Ricks Restorations, Seems genuine again..... You cant really fake showing a piece of **** and then making it look new. And Rick seems really interested in his work.

Another one I love is Fast N Loud, They seem genuine guys, He sometimes looses big at auction, Sometimes makes a killing.

• Registered Users Posts: 53,833 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

How can anyone like Hardcore Pawn, I thought I never say this but I rather watch that honey bo bo (what ever she's called).

One late night I thought I saw hardcore and thought it was hardcore porn and was like wtf and man I was gutted to see old bastard and he's fake feuding siblings

M44B19 wrote: »
    I love all those shows,
    Hardcore pawn seems genuine enough business and Les has built it up himself.

Pawn Stars just show the interesting items which normally need appraisal, So scripted.

American Pickers, Seems genuine as they'll dig through places and get dirty. (Danni is a dancer, Google for pics. ;) )

Ricks Restorations, Seems genuine again..... You cant really fake showing a piece of **** and then making it look new. And Rick seems really interested in his work.

Another one I love is Fast N Loud, They seem genuine guys, He sometimes looses big at auction, Sometimes makes a killing.

what ****s me off about Rick's Restorations is like its 2 items or whatever in the show, you get 30 seconds of how the restore them the rest is the bickering between emplyees, Rick chewing out his dumb ass kids etc. and its totally scipted in that sense as Rick is a shockingly bad actor its as transparent as hell haha.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

The astronomical valuation of the things they find in any of these shows is the most fake. Experts they take things to nearly always seem to hugely over value.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭ScrubsfanChris

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 246 ✭✭mrbrown69

Senna wrote: »

I hate Ice road truckers etc, these shows desperately try and add excitement when nothing exciting is happening. The cut off's before the adverts in these shows are ridiculous, someone shouting and a dramatic snap shot of a wheel sliding, then after the break the whole incident is a 6 inch slide on a straight road and even that was probably staged.

IRT deadliest roads was a different story, there was some real life or death situations in there that all the back up crews, vehicles and overhead helicopter cameras would not have been able to help when you're literally inches from plunging off the side of a cliff......this was real, IRT is real too in the sense it's a real job but extremely monotonous and "sexed" up for tv...I mean 10 tonnes+ of heavy truck can handle ice and snow much different to a family hatchback, it's nowhere near as dangerous as made out and no traffic or very little to contend with

• Registered Users Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

I had always assumed they were told who was to bid for each locker. Whenever I watched it seemed to always be between two, maybe three people. Not shocked to find out that it is much faker overall.
    lotusm wrote: »
    I watch show because of Barry Weiss. He comes out some great one liners... He takes the piss out of everyone, including the show... Also how did Jarrel get a woman like brandi... shes another reason to watch it:rolleyes:

She never seemed the smartest to me, but I didnt watch very often.

• Registered Users Posts: 55,450 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Bookending my original post, it looks like Dave Hester is back. :)

http://www.ibtimes.com/dave-hester-returns-aes-storage-wars-after-lawsuit-drama-1631766

Now bring back Barry, get rid of those eejits Rene and Casey and I'll be happy.

In other SW news, Dan Dotson (the auctioneer) suffered a double brain aneurysm recently.... here's hoping for a speedy recovery.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭Technocentral

Mr E wrote: »
    I know there are fans in this forum (yeah, me included), but yuuuuuuuuuuuup, the show is allegedly scripted, rigged and totally fake. Dave Hester just got fired for confronting the show runners about it.

Lots more here:
    http://www.radaronline.com/exclusives/2012/12/storage-wars-sued-dave-hester-show-faked

That means Storage Wars Texas is almost certainly guilty of the same crime, and it must definitely throw doubt on Auction Hunters too. Yikes.

Really! And there was me thinking that people abandoned lockers worth potentially hundreds of thousands of dollars for the sake of a couple of hundred dollars in rent that they could have funded by selling a few of the valuables contained within.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,170 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Strange choice to bring him back.
    He did blast the show and reveal it was fake.. of course as Technocentral says it wasn't a hard thing to spot :pac:

But why bring him back? even if he brings ratings with him. Best to just move forward.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

i dunno i love the darrell sheets vs dave hester rivalry. they genuinely despise each other. i actually quite like renee but ivy is terrible.

Barrys new show is quite good

• Registered Users Posts: 8,699 ✭✭✭Nuts102

What about those twins who never shut up and i never seen buy a locker. I really don't see why they are there and Ivy is also quite annoying. Keep Rene just to look at his lack.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,791 ✭✭✭sweetie

not mad on barry'd treasure . barter kings is my fave

How can dave Hester come back after all he said/revealed about the show,are there going to be no more plants?,is dave producing and directing the show to make sure of this and is hardly likely to object to the planting if they do now he is back in the fold and knows which side the grass is greener.Could be an out of court settlement between the two to drop their respective lawsuits.

Was Darrells €1m art find planted and given back after the show?

Agree that Darrells and Barrys dislike for each other is genuine and would love to see them going at each other but I don't think bringing dave back is going to improve ratings.
    Looks like the producer thought he was after getting another good civilian find from his quirky friends like Barry with the twins but they are just boring and clueless.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,790 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

Only started watching this fairly recently. Originally with New York. Found it too much of a coincidence that they always found at least one item they have to get chacked out. And they always seem to know someone who can value it. I always remember Candy and Courtney finding an old toilet unblocker and their apartment building's plumber knew exactly what it was and roughly what it would be worth.

Another of these shows I used to watch was Hollywood Treasure

tipptom wrote: »
    How can dave Hester come back after all he said/revealed about the show

• Registered Users Posts: 60,279 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

I was always waiting for them to find the mob locker with dead bodies in it.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,790 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

Series finale - they all go to Davy Jones' locker