Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Gambling sites

• 06-07-2006 8:14pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭

So what are the ones everyone uses?

i am still old school and stroll down to the local bookies(paddypower) since i dont have a c/c(fixed in the next few days) so i cant recommend online ones.

However the best i have come across from checking odds have been..

www.betfair.co.uk
    www.paddypower.ie

Betfair has the best odds, but the layout is shocking. I hate it. Paddypower's odds arent as good but its so much easier to use.

Cant say i have tried any other ones. They any use?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭wb

I almost always use betfair because of the value. I place the odd multiple bet with Victor Chandler, and they pay any (ocasional) winnings into my bank very promptly. I don't like ladcrooks. They don't have much regarding specials, and dont payout e/w on 5th at some of the big meetings, where paddypower often do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭Royale

yeah betfair rock exept for the minimum of ten euro deposit, and moreso the min 4 euro bet,
    but maybee that's just me being a cheapskate!
    I have such a tendencie at times.

Just getting into the new muse album now, seems good.

Royale wrote:
    yeah betfair rock exept for the minimum of ten euro deposit, and moreso the min 4 euro bet,

Check out the 'Betfair Explained' Sticky in the Horse racing forum to get around the €4 minimum.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Mezcita

Ahem. Robbed this list from another site. Plenty to choose from though!

3BWin.com
    astrabet.com
    bestbetjohn (0800-587-7086)
    betandgame.com
    bet-at-home.com
    Bet1128 aka ParadiseBet
    bet24.com
    bet365.com
    betandwin.com
    Betbet
    betbutler.com
    betclic.com
    betdaq.co.uk
    betdaq.com
    betdirect (0800-211-222)
    betdirect.net
    betfair.com
    Betfred.com
    betinternet.com
    betjamaica.com
    betoddoreven.com
    betonbet.com
    betonmarkets.co.uk
    betonsports.com
    betonusa.com
    betoto.com
    Betsafe.com
    Betsson
    bettingstar24.com
    betuk.com
    Betway.com
    betwwts.com
    binarybet.com
    bluesq.com
    bodog.com
    Boylesports.com
    canbet.com
    cantor.spreadfair.com
    Cantorodds.co.uk
    Caribsports.com
    centrebet.com
    chronicle bet (0800-389-4651)
    coral (0800-242-232)
    coral deposit (0800-123-777)
    coral.co.uk
    eastwoods (02890-890-000)
    eurobet.com
    expekt.com
    extrabet.com
    gamebookers.com
    gamingclubsportsbook.com
    globet.co.uk
    golfinggods.com
    hollywoodsportsbook.com
    iasbet.com
    ibetx.com
    igsport.com
    intertops.com
    interwetten.com
    jenningsbet (0500-521421)
    jenningsbet.com
    ladbrokes
    ladbrokes.com
    Livebetting
    manny bernstein
    mansion.com
    omnibet.com
    paddypower.com
    pagebet
    Panbet
    ParadiseBet aka Bet1128
    parbet.com
    pinnaclesports.com
    playboysportsbook.com
    premierbet.com
    racebook.com
    samvo.com
    Seangraham.com
    skybet.com
    skybook.com
    sportbet.com
    sportingbet.com
    sportingindex.com
    sportingodds.com
    stanjames.com
    stanjamesuk.com
    Sunderlands
    Supporterbet
    terry rogers
    thegreek.com
    totalbet.com
    totesport
    totesport credit
    totesport.com
    tradesports.com
    ubet2win.co.uk
    Unibet
    ukbetting.com
    vcbet.com
    victorchandler.co.uk
    vipsports.com
    willhill.com
    william hill
    winamax.com
    winunited.com

• Registered Users Posts: 1,636 ✭✭✭henbane

http://www.overbrokes.co.uk/menu.htm A good site for figuring out if you can screw the bookies or at least fiddle the betting exchanges properly.

http://wizardofodds.com/ Site with odds of various table games and some gambling site reviews.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 10,501 Mod ✭✭✭✭ecksor

Sorry nicK, I deleted all of his posts :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭[nicK]

www.oddschecker.com - hasn't been mentioned on this thread.. decent resource for comparing odds..

• Registered Users Posts: 6,220 ✭✭✭20 Times 20 Times

• Registered Users Posts: 4,818 ✭✭✭Bateman

www.footballox.com seems to be coming along nicely, and it is due a major relaunch for the new English/European season as well. Seems to be a fair bit of scope for expansion as well.

I use odds-checker and OLBG as well, the imaginary money game on OLBG is a bit of craic, when you've had a big loss in real life you can always fritter away 3 grand on it. :D

Have to admit my jaw dropped when someone mentioned the navigation on betfair being hard to use. On the left, "All Markets", "Soccer - Fixtures", "Soccer Fixtures - [Date]" is the by far the best way of navigating different markets that I have seen on any website, and that goes for other sports too. Once you get seriously into betfair, the likes of Paddy Powers' site begin to look amateurish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭gamblingIRE

Sarge wrote:
    lmao.
    content to come. Under devlopment. Plugging early - I wonder if that site is anything to do with you sarge ? :)

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 10,501 Mod ✭✭✭✭ecksor

Hm, potentially a shill.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,937 ✭✭✭fade2black

ecksor wrote:
    Hm, potentially a shill.

which one?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Bateman wrote:

Have to admit my jaw dropped when someone mentioned the navigation on betfair being hard to use. On the left, "All Markets", "Soccer - Fixtures", "Soccer Fixtures - [Date]" is the by far the best way of navigating different markets that I have seen on any website, and that goes for other sports too. Once you get seriously into betfair, the likes of Paddy Powers' site begin to look amateurish.

that was me. honestly i dont understand it. Havent gotten into betfair yet. Seems very confusing, must spend a bit of time on it.

http://forum.bettingadvice.com/index

the daddy of betting forums.

Gotta give the sister gambling forum a plug. It is only up and running a small while, but plenty of activity already:

www.wannabet.ie/boards

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

a few of us (myself included) are involved with Wannabet but its not a sister site to Boards, it just shares a common administrator.

DeV.

DeVore wrote:
    a few of us (myself included) are involved with Wannabet but its not a sister site to Boards, it just shares a common administrator.

DeV.

Cool stuff Dev, tis going well anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,282 ✭✭✭westtip

[nicK] wrote:
    www.oddschecker.com - hasn't been mentioned on this thread.. decent resource for comparing odds..
    www.Betbrain.com shows a far wider range of bookies odds and has links to far more bookies - generally the exchanges still offer best value, and betfair has best liquidity. When it comes to bookies I reckon between 15 -20 accounts is sufficient to ensure you always get the best price - when it comes to favourite bookmaker - I have no such thing I just use the one offering the best price and always withdraw winnings after the event. I tend to avoid some of the new names appearing on the internet and offering very generours prices (Luvbet experience) and also avoid any who charge for withdrawals (Gamebookers do this after the first withdrawal each month.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 wantToScore

i use www.sportsinteraction.com a good range of sports, good layout and simple to use - my payouts have been swift!(which is important)
    They also offer excellent odds for the NFL which is only a week away....

• Registered Users Posts: 4,282 ✭✭✭westtip

oddschecker.com is one of the leading odds comparison sites, they have put a very handy new tool on the site, effectively you can select a number of matches, select your result (win win or draw) in a number of matches and when you press to view odds - it not only gives you a cross comparison table showing the best odds by bookmaker/xchg individually but also shows you the best multiple odds for an acca with each bookmaker on those selectons: eg say you select three matches at 1.33, 1.20, 1.25 the same matches are 1.38, 1.22, 1.22 obviously if you are doing singles you pick out best prices for each bookmaker - the two trebles come out at 1.91 with bookie 1 and 2.05 with bookie 2. The great thing about this tool is that it does it for you straight away. In the case of this treble you ar getting 0.015 extra on your odds with bookie 2, may not seem much but it adds up over time Worth looking at - over a season it could make a difference of 4 or 5 points profit for very little effort, the example I have shown gives an extra 1.5% on your turnover for this bet.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭green123

bookiebusters

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 snookerman

the net is great for betting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 robjones

Hi Guys

some sites I use every day

http://myirishfootballblog.blogspot.com/ - I know this guy - he is involved with odds compilation for a few overseas bookies and knows his stuff

www.goonersguide.com - good game previews from experienced bettors plus a v good forum that even has a gaa thread!

www.extremepicks.info - new enough site set up by a few lads who work in the betting industry and are betting nuts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 404 ✭✭Bernard Hopkins

snookerman wrote:
    the net is great for betting.

quite a revelation ,... the net is great for everything.
    literally leaving no stone unturned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 redneckathlete

noblepoker.com
    gamblingtheives.com

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 Skobyonekenobi

Gambling is for mugs.

The odds of winning are minute.

Online poker is the worst rip off going

My advice is stay out of the bookies as you have nothing to gain.

• Registered Users Posts: 289 ✭✭Kinda32

Gambling is for mugs.

Thanks for adding that piece of priceless info to the gambling forum.. i never knew anything about it being a rip off till now!!!:rolleyes:

Gambling is for mugs.

Someone had a bad Cheltenham;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 PRICEWISE2008

Bateman wrote: »
    www.footballox.com seems to be coming along nicely, and it is due a major relaunch for the new English/European season as well. Seems to be a fair bit of scope for expansion as well.

I use odds-checker and OLBG as well, the imaginary money game on OLBG is a bit of craic, when you've had a big loss in real life you can always fritter away 3 grand on it. :D

I'd have to echo those sentiments Bateman..Betfair is in a different league to your run of the mill betting sites..Possibly some people can find it quite daunting initially, but one you master the basics it's a superb site for sports gambling.

• Registered Users Posts: 43 Californeeway

I'd have to echo those sentiments Bateman..Betfair is in a different league to your run of the mill betting sites..Possibly some people can find it quite daunting initially, but one you master the basics it's a superb site for sports gambling.

Yeah its probably the best considering what web technology can offer right now (HTML and AJAX). Though I find it a bit off-putting that they seem to have whole 'football' and 'horseracing' sections where they try and make things easier - but only manage slow things down.

The problem with Betfair is that I'd say 90% of markets on there aren't liquid enough to have a proper bet. You could spend five minutes navigating to a specific market only to find that theres about 8 quid in unmatched bets!

• Registered Users Posts: 265 ✭✭The Gambler 101

Gambling is for mugs.

TOTALLY AGREE WITH YOU, YOU CANT NOT WALK INTO A BOOKIES/BET ONLINE AND BET 10 WINNERS IN A ROW, IF YOU ARE A PERSON WHO SPENDS HOURS UPON HOURS BETTING IN ALMOST EVERY RACES YOU WILL END UP BROKE!

ONLY WAY YOU HAVE A CHANCE IS IF YOU KNOW YOUR STUFF(OR INSIDE INFO) AND YOU PLACE THE ODD BET, CHANCES ARE YOU LL BEAT THE BOOKIE! BUT AS SOON AS THEY SEE YOU HAVE A GOOD STRIKE RATE, YOU LL GET THE RED CARD OFF THEM!

I GOT A NICE BET UP ONE DAY, VERY LUCKY I MUST SAY, WHEN I WENT TO COLLECT I WAS TOLD THEY WOULD NOT BE LAYING ME ANY MORE!

BOOKIES DO NOT GIVE YOU A CHANCE!