Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
09-01-2019, 11:22   #31
deadl0ck
Registered User
 
deadl0ck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3,304
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr Bob View Post
ah good stuff! . Is that the 2015 commando remake by the way or the original one?
The original
deadl0ck is offline  
Advertisement
09-01-2019, 21:31   #32
deadl0ck
Registered User
 
deadl0ck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3,304
So after discovering the problem is with my tape drive I went back at it.

I cleaned the heads a lot more with WD40 Contact Cleaner (It specifically says it can be used for tape heads) and I visually aligned the head as I can't run a program to do so initially.

I managed to get it to read something (Stuff like - "FOUND xCa" etc)
I played around with the alignment and eventually go it to read "COMMANDO" ( the tape I was loading) but it didn't get far past the "FOUND" part....

I then re-entered the alignment program and it makes the screen flash a bit and a few times, for a split second, I could see that dots you are supposed to use to align, but they are all over the place (not in rows)
I'll keep fiddling with it, but I suspect the head is not good.

Someone over on Lemon64 suggested it could be magnetised.

I'm reluctant to spend money on a demagnetiser as there's no guarantee that's the issue.

I'm currently looking at videos on how to make one - but I'll need a 12VAC (or around 12V) power adapter which I'm not sure I have (lots of regular DC adapters, no AC)

I don't suppose anybody round here has one they can lend me ??

BTW - here's the head, which I think looks as clean as I'll get it:
deadl0ck is offline  
15-01-2019, 14:40   #33
eddhorse
Registered User
 
eddhorse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 4,798
Send a message via ICQ to eddhorse
My take on this is that your time is worth money, how much does another tape deck cost?
eddhorse is offline  
15-01-2019, 14:54   #34
deadl0ck
Registered User
 
deadl0ck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3,304
Quote:
Originally Posted by eddhorse View Post
My take on this is that your time is worth money, how much does another tape deck cost?
Yeah - I hear you.

Apparently there's a deguasser in work and I might be able to use it. I'm looking into it.
At this point it's pointless as I've ordered an SD2IEC anyhow.

That being said, I just want to make it work as it was MY tape drive back in the day - does that make any sense ?
deadl0ck is offline  
Thanks from:
16-01-2019, 07:54   #35
The Last Bandit
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3,183
The C64 power supply has 9V AC output (NES is also 9V AC), that may be enough to generate a weak magnetic field.
The Last Bandit is offline  
Thanks from:
Advertisement
16-01-2019, 20:43   #36
Tom Mann Centuria
Forty - Twenty
 
Tom Mann Centuria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 5,600
Is the c64 affected by the chutney field? Worth considering.
Tom Mann Centuria is offline  
16-01-2019, 21:11   #37
nuac
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 5,496
Just came across this thread.
Remember the VIC 20 and then the COmmodore 84 when they first came out.
Altho I had no technical nor computing knowledge was able to dive in and experiment.
Recall entering a database of 700 records on the Vic and being able to search is sequentially on the tape.
They were great machines
nuac is offline  
Thanks from:
16-01-2019, 22:15   #38
deadl0ck
Registered User
 
deadl0ck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3,304
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Mann Centuria View Post
Is the c64 affected by the chutney field? Worth considering.
The what now ?
deadl0ck is offline  
17-01-2019, 09:38   #39
Tom Mann Centuria
Forty - Twenty
 
Tom Mann Centuria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 5,600
Quote:
Originally Posted by deadl0ck View Post
The what now ?
Or chuntey field.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.urb...untey&amp=true
Tom Mann Centuria is offline  
Thanks from:
Advertisement
17-01-2019, 09:42   #40
deadl0ck
Registered User
 
deadl0ck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3,304
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Mann Centuria View Post
LOL - I hadn't heard that one before
deadl0ck is offline  
17-01-2019, 10:23   #41
Dr Bob
Shh.. Not a Doctor.
 
Dr Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,781
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Mann Centuria View Post
I'll relish reading about this ...
Dr Bob is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet