Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x

14-11-2007, 01:59   #1
MathsManiac

Maths jokes!

I don't know how to make a sticky - is it only moderators can do that?
[edit: posted back when I was a relative newb!]

Anyway, I think a sticky for maths jokes would be good.

Here's one to start, (an oldie but goodie!)

There are 10 kinds of people in this world: those who know binary and those who don't.

Last edited by MathsManiac; 22-07-2012 at 17:27.
(3) thanks from:
Advertisement
14-11-2007, 07:16   #2
Pherekydes

Good Idea

Howzat?

Here's won :

Mathematics is made of 50 percent formulas, 50 percent proofs, and 50 percent imagination.
Thanks from:
14-11-2007, 09:58   #3
ZorbaTehZ

Off the top of my head, my 2 favourite:

A Physicist, a Chemist and a Mathematician are given a task by a professor. Each is given a closed tin can with liquid inside and placed in separate rooms with the objective of opening the cans using nothing but their knowledge of their chosen science.

6 hours later the professor returns to check on each of the scientists.

He opens the cubicle with the Physicist inside and sees him sitting contently by the side of the room, with a broken can and liquid strewn across the opposite wall. "I examined the can and determined its major stress points. Then by applying pressure appropriately, I managed to force the can open"

Impressed, the professor then opens the chemists cubicle and sees pretty much the same seen as previous. "Using my knowledge of the structure of atoms and thermal expansion, I was able to open the can" the Chemist told the professor.