Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Haven't touched a drop in...

• Registered Users Posts: 54 ✭✭Dean3y

Ten months to the day. I have achieved a lot since my last drink.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,534 ✭✭✭Chalk McHugh

Dean3y wrote: »
    Ten months to the day. I have achieved a lot since my last drink.

Well done, sir.

• Registered Users Posts: 537 ✭✭✭Etc

I've just hit one month, I've had a couple of cravings in the last week, was convincing myself to buy a bottle of wine "just to have, not to drink" as I went to the supermarket on Tuesday but when I got in there I looked at the wine section and my rational brain kicked in and I walked by.

It never ceases to amaze me how insidious drink and how it can get under my skin out of the blue.

Feeling strong now and ready for the month ahead. Reading this forum helps a lot so thank you all for sharing your stories.

• Registered Users Posts: 307 ✭✭cizolin

2 wks, was off it for 3 months from Dec 19 to Mar 20 after reading Annie Graces book.
    Its lost its appeal a great deal to me. The hangovers just ain't worth it and I just don't get the same buzz I used to...Best of luck on yer alcohol free journies

• Registered Users Posts: 2,557 ✭✭✭Fingers Mcginty

3 months today. Getting older , the hangovers and the anxiety were just getting worse.
    Now that I'm free, life suddenly isn't bliss but I'm definitely better equipped to cope with the ups and downs.
    I'd recommend "Alcohol explained" Best book I've read on the subject so far.

3 months today. Getting older , the hangovers and the anxiety were just getting worse.
    Now that I'm free, life suddenly isn't bliss but I'm definitely better equipped to cope with the ups and downs.
    I'd recommend "Alcohol explained" Best book I've read on the subject so far.

Well done man.. fair play..

Yeah, life doesn't become instantly blissful, and the kind of initial honeymoon period can be dangerous when it wears off..

Whatever happens though, things stop getting worse..

Best of luck with it anyway..

• Registered Users Posts: 85 ✭✭BK92

Approaching the 100 day mark and I passed my first big test. Everyone around me was gearing up for the big day, the day pubs could re-open. I just carried on as normal. Forgot they were even going to open until someone made a joke about going for a liquid lunch.

100 days will be a significant milestone for sure. But not even getting a reminder from my subconscious about going back to the pub, now I know my brain has started to completely re-wire itself. And that's a powerful realisation.

• Registered Users Posts: 224 ✭✭Tinwhistle*

Two years today and it’s flown! I’m so much happier now that I’m sober. I’m not consumed with alcohol and all the problems that comes with it. Drinking has no benefits whatsoever. Keep going guys, one day at a time x

• Registered Users Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Sigma Force

Two years today and it’s flown! I’m so much happier now that I’m sober. I’m not consumed with alcohol and all the problems that comes with it. Drinking has no benefits whatsoever. Keep going guys, one day at a time x

That’s fab! My OH is three years sober now and his life has changed so much for the better. Still has work to do on himself but doesn’t everyone even non drinkers. He would never talk about the future he was obsessed with the passed the ‘good old days’ which were t good for the people around him. He still gets nostalgic but he’s started to make small plans for himself and is realising that it’s much healthier to look forward not back.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭CBear1993

Hi all, I’ve a Few Questions for all the people who’ve stopped drinking (or maybe never did) if you don’t mind:

- do you still to on stag/hen nights or weekends? Or girls/lads nights out where they all drink
    - do you ever get times that you miss it, If so how do you cope. Eg: if you are on holidays or you visit a pub for a sports event etc and meet up with a few people you haven’t seen in a while
    - work - if you’re asked to go for a drink do you turn it down now or go anyway and just stick to non alcoholic?
    - weddings, other social situations, after a sports event, grand?

I know there is always going to be some strange looks and people who can’t accept the fact you aren’t drinking tonight or at the minute, just the way some Irish people are.

I’m 27 and alcohol negatively affects my mental health. My whole week last week was crap because of it. I didn’t go to the gym once or football training and my diet went out the window , when I usually would have a good routine and diet. All because I went out with some old friends in my home county 2 nights in a row last weekend. I wasn’t even overly drunk, just 2 nights in a row on the pints took its toll. I had zero interest in work all week.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,804 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

I haven’t touched a drop since August ‘16..

I had a pretty fûcked up health issue and with the need for focusing on recovery, which was in the main physical, I never had the want, energy or desire to resume drinking. I don’t actually miss it, well I miss the actual pub and the craic, the social part, but I find these days, well prior to covid that the pub for some chow and to meet friends is a grand way to spend a couple of hours... but I don’t miss alcohol... it’s fun drinking but hangovers... I love waking up and feeling from the second I open my eyes that I’m ready to go and face any challenge going with vigor and energy... in my drinking days the morning after could be a write off, I don’t miss that.

Strumms wrote: »
    I haven’t touched a drop since August ‘16..

I had a pretty fûcked up health issue and with the need for focusing on recovery, which was in the main physical, I never had the want, energy or desire to resume drinking. I don’t actually miss it, well I miss the actual pub and the craic, the social part, but I find these days, well prior to covid that the pub for some chow and to meet friends is a grand way to spend a couple of hours... but I don’t miss alcohol... it’s fun drinking but hangovers... I love waking up and feeling from the second I open my eyes that I’m ready to go and face any challenge going with vigor and energy... in my drinking days the morning after could be a write off, I don’t miss that.

Yep, I basically could never have more than 5/6 drinks on a work night, especially Sunday’s when it was a big night for after a GAA game we’d play to go on the beer.

The amount of days I missed or almost missed while the rest of my friends would have no problem going into work (still drunk). I just couldn’t face the day!!

- do you still to on stag/hen nights or weekends? Or girls/lads nights out where they all drink

Yep, been to christenings, birthdays, family get togethers, all enjoyable and fun.

- do you ever get times that you miss it, If so how do you cope. Eg: if you are on holidays or you visit a pub for a sports event etc and meet up with a few people you haven’t seen in a while

The odd night I’d miss the social aspect and the not giving a shît madness but it’s a rare feeling.

- work - if you’re asked to go for a drink do you turn it down now or go anyway and just stick to non alcoholic?

Just go, not drinking is no reason not to socialize l

Grand, the only not grand part is for the 18th time people mentioning your abstinence. Can get boring. :pac: “fair play for not drinking” me : “what’s fair play about it ? I’m fine with it, until it’s brought up like I’m building a city with my toes it’s that big an achievement, it isn’t really” :P

Strumms wrote: »

Yep, been to christenings, birthdays, family get togethers, all enjoyable and fun.

The odd night I’d miss the social aspect and the not giving a shît madness but it’s a rare feeling.

Just go, not drinking is no reason not to socialize l

Grand, the only not grand part is for the 18th time people mentioning your abstinence. Can get boring. :pac: “fair play for not drinking” me : “what’s fair play about it ? I’m fine with it, until it’s brought up like I’m building a city with my toes it’s that big an achievement, it isn’t really” :P

Good to hear, encouraging!

Did you take up any new hobbies after it or how do you unwind now, do you have any new found vices :D:D I would usually turn to alcohol in good weather, when a big sports even is on, or if I had a stressful week at work.

CBear1993 wrote: »
    Yep, I basically could never have more than 5/6 drinks on a work night, especially Sunday’s when it was a big night for after a GAA game we’d play to go on the beer.

The amount of days I missed or almost missed while the rest of my friends would have no problem going into work (still drunk). I just couldn’t face the day!!

going into work drunk is ok for about the first hour, then as lunchtime approaches the hangover kicks in and you find yourself getting the head-spins at the deli counter in the spar waiting for your chicken fillet roll, you get back to your desk as you can’t face the canteen and wish to smash yourself in the face with the non appealing roll which you wish was a breakfast one but you forgot,

CBear1993 wrote: »
    Good to hear, encouraging!

Did you take up any new hobbies after it or how do you unwind now, do you have any new found vices :D:D I would usually turn to alcohol in good weather, when a big sports even is on, or if I had a stressful week at work.

I started going to the gym, swimming, just being more fit, health conscious . sociable and having a lot of cash to travel and treat myself and loved ones with nice things rather then donate my cash to a business in return for a glass of liquid.

Like you if I wanted to de-stress , alcohol, or more the pub was a nice little way of doing that. It ended up being a stress fest of a job so yeah. It was a sleep aid too. I’ve always been a terrible insomniac, but quitting alcohol and a stress fest of a job has alleviated that for the most part.

No new vices, yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 anniewilkes

Relapsed after 117 days - it was very easy to slip back into old habits. It lasted only a day so that's good. The hangover was not.

Have not touched a drop in 23 days - not feeling as motivated this time around. Very down most of the time, but getting through it. The loneliness is the worst. Only socialising in work. No sober friends at all so very difficult. Have had to let a few go as I just can't be around them anymore.

Made it to 139 days before i succumbed to its temptations. Have hit it hard for last month. Suffering for it now. Was a long way off making my goal of one year sober. Gonna try again from today.

• Registered Users Posts: 215 ✭✭2018na

Made it to 139 days before i succumbed to its temptations. Have hit it hard for last month. Suffering for it now. Was a long way off making my goal of one year sober. Gonna try again from today.
    It’s mad how the first days drinking leads to repeat after repeat it becomes a runaway train. You were doing really well and hopefully you can get another dry run going. Best of luck with it anyway

• Registered Users Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭tinpib

Hey Chalk.

My first 3 times giving up "permanently" all lasted around 4 ½ months. The first time was horrible, really difficult, I was not "living sober" I was "not drinking". I was white-knuckling it the whole way, I was absolutely miserable at the end.

I figured, and it was the truth, that no matter how bad my drinking was it was better than being as miserable as this sober, so I started drinking again with no regrets. Then after a few years I had a catastrophic night out drinking, gave up for another 4 ½ months, maybe it was slightly easier but it didn’t feel too much like it at the time. After 4 ½ months of drinking I felt the same as the first time I just thought fupp this I’m going back drinking.

But then only about 4months after that I had another disastrous night drinking and I gave it up again, and this was maybe a little bit easier, I was still a bit bored. I took up running but those first two times sober were a good experience when you have that behind you it’s easier to give up, but I wasn't bursting with happiness 24/7 like I thought and expected.

Then after 4 ½ months sober I thought to myself well maybe this is the way I will go, I’ll just have a bad time drinking, give it up for a few months ,then go back drinking.

I’m drinking for the rest of that year, I was thinking, "God could I give it up? is it better to give it up? I can’t really" I had a holiday booked and there were a couple of nights where I did way stupider things in my mid 30s then I was at 18.

I went on holiday that year even though I had 4 ½ months sober earlier in the year I realised I didn’t achieve anything and I wasn’t making progress towards my goals. I just realised that by drinking I’m never going to achieve my goals and first I had to make them!. Where I wanted to be in one years time, so I was thinking more about the future and I just couldn’t see any benefits in drinking.

I posted here a few pages back that I had realised that drinking wasn’t fun anymore, so it all "clicked" is the best way to describe it. Other drinkers will say the same thing, so I think that the 4 ½ months you did is huge I think most of my drinking friends would find the damn near impossible to do.

Even though you went back drinking you’re on the wagon now, it will be a lot easier, at the minimum it will be a tiny bit easier this time even if you don’t realise it. The longer you are sober the more you get used to sobriety but it just takes time and right now 4 ½ years later, of being sober I’m so glad I gave up because the good times drinking are gone. I know how I feel now at 40, I’m so glad I’m not punishing my body with your standard Irish binge drinking that people do, so I say good luck to you and everyone on here.

Relapsed after 117 days - it was very easy to slip back into old habits. It lasted only a day so that's good. The hangover was not.

Have not touched a drop in 23 days - not feeling as motivated this time around. Very down most of the time, but getting through it. The loneliness is the worst. Only socialising in work. No sober friends at all so very difficult. Have had to let a few go as I just can't be around them anymore.

As soon as you feel up to it try joining some social groups wether it’s an exercise class, book club ..anything that will get you meeting new people. You don’t have to love it but if you can enjoy it a bit and it’ll build up the confidence to try new things and meet more people socially.

Failed again, going forward I will need to rethink how I've been approaching things.

tinpib wrote: »
    Hey Chalk.

My first 3 times giving up "permanently" all lasted around 4 ½ months. The first time was horrible, really difficult, I was not "living sober" I was "not drinking". I was white-knuckling it the whole way, I was absolutely miserable at the end.

I figured, and it was the truth, that no matter how bad my drinking was it was better than being as miserable as this sober, so I started drinking again with no regrets. Then after a few years I had a catastrophic night out drinking, gave up for another 4 ½ months, maybe it was slightly easier but it didn’t feel too much like it at the time. After 4 ½ months of drinking I felt the same as the first time I just thought fupp this I’m going back drinking.

But then only about 4months after that I had another disastrous night drinking and I gave it up again, and this was maybe a little bit easier, I was still a bit bored. I took up running but those first two times sober were a good experience when you have that behind you it’s easier to give up, but I wasn't bursting with happiness 24/7 like I thought and expected.

Then after 4 ½ months sober I thought to myself well maybe this is the way I will go, I’ll just have a bad time drinking, give it up for a few months ,then go back drinking.

I’m drinking for the rest of that year, I was thinking, "God could I give it up? is it better to give it up? I can’t really" I had a holiday booked and there were a couple of nights where I did way stupider things in my mid 30s then I was at 18.

I went on holiday that year even though I had 4 ½ months sober earlier in the year I realised I didn’t achieve anything and I wasn’t making progress towards my goals. I just realised that by drinking I’m never going to achieve my goals and first I had to make them!. Where I wanted to be in one years time, so I was thinking more about the future and I just couldn’t see any benefits in drinking.

I posted here a few pages back that I had realised that drinking wasn’t fun anymore, so it all "clicked" is the best way to describe it. Other drinkers will say the same thing, so I think that the 4 ½ months you did is huge I think most of my drinking friends would find the damn near impossible to do.

Even though you went back drinking you’re on the wagon now, it will be a lot easier, at the minimum it will be a tiny bit easier this time even if you don’t realise it. The longer you are sober the more you get used to sobriety but it just takes time and right now 4 ½ years later, of being sober I’m so glad I gave up because the good times drinking are gone. I know how I feel now at 40, I’m so glad I’m not punishing my body with your standard Irish binge drinking that people do, so I say good luck to you and everyone on here.

Great post. Thanks. Makes a lot of sense.

Failed again, going forward I will need to rethink how I've been approaching things.

Have you access to any meetings at all at the minute?..

There are some online that I'll check out!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,557 ✭✭✭Fingers Mcginty

Im at the 4 months stage myself now. Previous attempts lasted 4 months, 3 months and an awful lot of weekly stints down through the years.
    This time feels different though. I think the earlier attempts have helped me gain an understanding of my previous fails.
    My attitude to drink has changed. Don't feel like I'm missing out on anything this time around...just glad to be free of it all.
    Best of luck to you all.

Keep trying you can do it, not sure if rehabs are open yet but it might be something to consider when they do. Three months isn’t long compared to the difference it can make to the rest of your life.

Absolutely, I mean the difference in those months was great but would like to get further!

Therapy & In person meetings will be on the cards once they open again.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,927 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hannibal_Smith

2 days... I can't believe where I got to that I'm proud of 2 days.

• Registered Users Posts: 326 ✭✭notfromhere

Well done.