Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Pregnancy out of wedlock and perception of disgrace.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,734 ✭✭✭saabsaab

Gruffalux wrote: »
    My interpretation - and could be completely wrong ! - is that he was just describing an attitude or the way it was back then. And it pretty much was like that in many cases. Most people will behave according to the mores of the time they live in - they won't give things too much thought, unfortunately. I mean, as an example, many parents in the 1960s would leather the crap out of their kids to make them behave because it was the done thing - it is hard to believe now that people would do that to their own children!

You interpreted it correctly. Not pretty but that's the way it was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Gruffalux

saabsaab wrote: »
    You interpreted it correctly. Not pretty but that's the way it was.

In fairness it was not everyone. There were always people far ahead of their time because they used their intelligence.

Gruffalux wrote: »
    In fairness it was not everyone. There were always people far ahead of their time because they used their intelligence.

In my experience it was most even the most qualified men.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

In my experience it was most even the most qualified men.

How far back are you talking?

eviltwin wrote: »
    How far back are you talking?

80's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,816 ✭✭✭skooterblue2

BloodBath wrote: »
    We do, you have no memory or knowledge of recent history or anything before that if you disagree with that statement.

I never said it was perfect, I said it was better. We still have a long way to go.

Well I am in my 40's, I never said the Catholic Church was perfect either but neither are the secular power. Lets recall the horror of what was set upon Garda Sergeant Maurice McCabe. It was rubber stamped by a psychologist and social worker, who in the eyes of the law are seen to be beyond reproach. Same people different uniforms.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,418 ✭✭✭political analyst

They probably had more respect for themselves than the married men appear to have had for their wives.

Why put themselves in the position of being accused of wrecking marriages (an unjust accusation but the reality is that's what would have been done to them back then)?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,418 ✭✭✭political analyst

Well I am in my 40's, I never said the Catholic Church was perfect either but neither are the secular power. Lets recall the horror of what was set upon Garda Sergeant Maurice McCabe. It was rubber stamped by a psychologist and social worker, who in the eyes of the law are seen to be beyond reproach. Same people different uniforms.

That was a dodgy commissioner's doing. An office error at Tusla meant that McCabe's details were wrongly applied to another child's case files.

• Registered Users Posts: 45 Helgagirl

All the people commenting on here blaming the Church for the way pregnant girls were treated badly when they weren't married could take a look at some of the comments on other threads where single mothers are complained about because they are being taken care of by society given homes, allowances etc. Have people in Irelands opinions really changed that much, there is still a looking down their noses at times, but just acted upon differently. (Why is this being paid for with my taxes attitude!)

That was a dodgy commissioner's doing. An office error at Tusla meant that McCabe's details were wrongly applied to another child's case files.

?

yeah.....sure. A bit like Dr. Michael Neery, He couldnt have done it all by himself. Someone else had to be covering his tracks after him. The only thing worse than doing something wrong is cover for the person who did the wrong. Happened in the Church before and it is happening in the secular power so to speak.

Helgagirl wrote: »
    All the people commenting on here blaming the Church for the way pregnant girls were treated badly when they weren't married could take a look at some of the comments on other threads where single mothers are complained about because they are being taken care of by society given homes, allowances etc. Have people in Irelands opinions really changed that much, there is still a looking down their noses at times, but just acted upon differently. (Why is this being paid for with my taxes attitude!)

Theres a difference between someone in need of help, and someone playing the system, as a deliberate "career" choice.

Yes there were girls treated brutally by their family, the church the state. People should be held to account.

There are also multi generational welfare dependants who have no intention of ever providing for themselves, but no such reticence when it comes to reproduction.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

yeah.....sure. A bit like Dr. Michael Neery, He couldnt have done it all by himself. Someone else had to be covering his tracks after him. The only thing worse than doing something wrong is cover for the person who did the wrong. Happened in the Church before and it is happening in the secular power so to speak.

I don't get it. We should give the church a pass on their decades of evil because there are bastards elsewhere too?

Fair enough.

I don't get it. We should give the church a pass on their decades of evil because there are bastards elsewhere too?

Fair enough.

No one said that but there seem to be no learning or checks and balances with the state. The State is just as culpable at RRC. The RRC is no different to any organisation with power. There just seems to be keep these people out. They are attracted to every part of society where there is power. Banking, Medicine, Law, Finance, Politics. We are very much at risk focusing exclusively on the past when we have wolves in sheeps clothing in our midst.

There are also multi generational welfare dependants who have no intention of ever providing for themselves, but no such reticence when it comes to reproduction.

Too true. It is also near impossible to break out of the poverty mindset when you are raised in it as a child. I am there trying to explain to my 85 year old father about "Rich Dad, Poor Dad" and he is saying sure didnt we have enough in the Credit Union, wtf?!?!.

It goes back to the dinner table and your father came home and found out what his kids learned at school that day and how your father had a problem at work and how he solved it. Now kids come home and eat in front of the TV or have their phones at the dinner table if the family even eat together.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,803 ✭✭✭irishproduce

No such thing as a fatherless child @irishproduce.

There's an awful lot of shock & discussion now from the report released yesterday. Everyone is talking about the role of those who ran mother & baby homes, how the government didn't provide care or help & the attitudes of families and society at the time.

yes they all failed & it is truly horrific what happened & so upsetting to hear all of the terrible stories.

but there is a deafening silence about the men who fathered those babies.

Why did so many men abandon their children? Why did they think it was ok to walk away from the mothers & their responsibilities?

I don't know the answer to that but it is still happening today. Even though women have more options today, many still find themselves abandoned & alone. We can't blame the church or societal attitudes now.

Shame on every one of those fathers who walk away.

Yeah I agree with you.

Also I should have said "dadless" children.

80's

Yup sure and I can attest to that, but it saved me from other things later in life and I had respect for my parents, my community and elders.
    I have an nephew who is a right so and so. No respect for education or his parent and elders, up and coming independent pharmaceutical sales man specialising in 'Erbal remedies and Colombias finest. One of his pals in the 'Joy finishing school and the other has a full time in Ballyboden cemetery for related activities.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,650 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

The only way discussion forums like this work, is if people are taken at face value for their contributions.

That’s not a discussion though, that’s just an echo chamber. If people are going to offer testimonies of their own volition, they should expect to be questioned rather than their testimonies being taken at face value. That’s how a discussion works.

BloodBath wrote: »
    Power as in controlling state apparatus like education and healthcare which they still have a strong hold of.

Maybe we can evolve more before it's too late. Removing power from the RCC was a big stepping stone in that direction.

If your first statement is true, then your second statement can’t be true. In any case, the State simply doesn’t have the power to remove power from the Church. The Church has a strong hold on education, healthcare, welfare and culture in this country because it was given to them by Irish society and is still given to them by Irish society and there is no apparent will in Irish society to deprive Church Institutions of that power. It could easily happen again in a heartbeat because the Church is more than just the Hierarchy, it is largely perpetuated by it’s congregation and moulds itself to their moral standards and values. That’s how the State was formed after Ireland gained Independence from the British Government - the State hadn’t a pot to piss in, and Irish society generally had no issues with religious orders doing their dirty work in ridding Irish society of ‘undesirables’. Irish society wasn’t quite as backwards as some people’s romanticised notions that Irish society were in thrall to the RCC.

Theres a difference between someone in need of help, and someone playing the system, as a deliberate "career" choice.

Yes there were girls treated brutally by their family, the church the state. People should be held to account.

I think that’s exactly the point the poster is making - it’s exactly that sort of attitude which is just as prevalent today as it was then, that led to the institution in Ireland of the Poor Laws, the Workhouses and the Bastardy Act -

A sexual revolution in the west of Ireland

The Amendment of the Law in Ireland as to Maintenance of Illegitimate Children

The Government at the time didn’t particularly care for the poor or impoverished in the same way Irish society didn’t particularly care for them then either, but 100 years later the RCC becomes something of a scapegoat when they were doing society’s dirty work, and it’s obviously not for nothing they were doing it either, but people at the time didn’t care - “out of sight, out of mind”, pretty much the same as it is today.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,356 ✭✭✭✭mariaalice

It precisely that attitude that leads to a woman going into a mother and baby home or giving up her baby.

Its amazing going right back to the invention of written communication, you will find evidence of pamphlets and written records ranting and raving about the 'poor'.and how much they cost.

https://www.open.edu/openlearn/society/short-history-misrepresenting-poverty

Anti-poor language and constructing important sections of ‘the poor’ as a distinctive and pathological underclass carries with it anti working class prejudices and it is also highly gendered in its construction of particular groups of disadvantaged women as particularly culpable in the reproduction of disadvantaged populations (single parents, illegitimacy, family breakdown and so on).

• Registered Users Posts: 578 ✭✭✭VillageIdiot71

mariaalice wrote: »
    It precisely that attitude that leads to a woman going into a mother and baby home or giving up her baby.

Its amazing going right back to the invention of written communication, you will find evidence of pamphlets and written records ranting and raving about the 'poor'.and how much they cost.

https://www.open.edu/openlearn/society/short-history-misrepresenting-poverty

Anti-poor language and constructing important sections of ‘the poor’ as a distinctive and pathological underclass carries with it anti working class prejudices and it is also highly gendered in its construction of particular groups of disadvantaged women as particularly culpable in the reproduction of disadvantaged populations (single parents, illegitimacy, family breakdown and so on).
    Grand, so far as it goes, but what's your point?

Certain behaviours are unsustainable. Men are equal partners in the creation of children.

Where does that leave us? What alternative actions do you envisage, or think should have been envisaged?

Certain behaviours are unsustainable. Men are equal partners in the creation of children.

Where does that leave us? What alternative actions do you envisage, or think should have been envisaged?

I pay an enormous amount of income tax, however, the way I see it is that it is the price we pay for living in a decent society where people are not left to their own devices and told to fend for themselves.

Are there people scamming the system absolutely there are, no system is perfect.

There's lots of things we could do. Better interventions for families who are struggling - often the young parent is from an unstable background and it shouldn't be too hard to identify those families when their kids are young and give them support.

We could have more direct support where its needed. Speaking from my own experience as a teenager with a child, going to full time education was almost impossible. I got the grant, I got my fees paid but childcare wasn't available so I had to rely on a family member. Only for that family member I wouldn't have been able to go and would have been stuck in the welfare system. Childcare in Ireland is one of the most expensive in the world and only fits a 9-5 workday model. If a young parent wants to go to college or has a low paying job or one outside normal hours lack of childcare options makes it very hard for them.

Better sex education, more access to contraception, more empowerment of young people so they don't see sex as something they have to do. Sexual education is still very much focused on the biology of sex, how a baby is made and not so much on the emotional side of it or the impact of it mentally.

We will always have people who have no desire to support themselves and that's never going to change. We could start helping the people who want to better themselves. If a girl of 19 has a child and has dropped out of school and is now living at home with her baby but wants to return to education, maybe go to college and start working but doesn't have a support network she has very little options and that has to change.

• Registered Users Posts: 940 ✭✭✭Fred Cryton

Helgagirl wrote: »

The last taboo in ireland is to question the accommodation by the State of single mothers to the point where they don't have to work. Whether you like it or not single motherhood is at the very core of almost ALL social problems in ireland - anti-social behaviour, crime, low education attainment...the list goes on.

Instead of rewarding women with a free house if they get pregnant early, how about building their self esteem and preventing them from going down the poverty path and the looking for a handout route in the first place.

There's lots of things we could do. Better interventions for families who are struggling - often the young parent is from an unstable background and it shouldn't be too hard to identify those families when their kids are young and give them support.

We could have more direct support where its needed. Speaking from my own experience as a teenager with a child, going to full time education was almost impossible. I got the grant, I got my fees paid but childcare wasn't available so I had to rely on a family member. Only for that family member I wouldn't have been able to go and would have been stuck in the welfare system. Childcare in Ireland is one of the most expensive in the world and only fits a 9-5 workday model. If a young parent wants to go to college or has a low paying job or one outside normal hours lack of childcare options makes it very hard for them.

Better sex education, more access to contraception, more empowerment of young people so they don't see sex as something they have to do. Sexual education is still very much focused on the biology of sex, how a baby is made and not so much on the emotional side of it or the impact of it mentally.

We will always have people who have no desire to support themselves and that's never going to change. We could start helping the people who want to better themselves. If a girl of 19 has a child and has dropped out of school and is now living at home with her baby but wants to return to education, maybe go to college and start working but doesn't have a support network she has very little options and that has to change.

Even with all that, there would still be people who take a different path because the cultural milieu around them supports that path. There has been a huge drop in teenage pregnancies and it is only minorly because access to contraception is there, it has come about because of cultural changes in society.

The last taboo in ireland is to question the accommodation by the State of single mothers to the point where they don't have to work. Whether you like it or not single motherhood is at the very core of almost ALL social problems in ireland - anti-social behaviour, crime, low education attainment...the list goes on.

Instead of rewarding women with a free house if they get pregnant early, how about building their self esteem and preventing them from going down the poverty path and the looking for a handout route in the first place.

You can't externally build self-esteem, most lone parents work even part-time. The only thing that works is seeing and experiencing other achievable options and the option not to have children seen as valid.

I don't think it necessarily down to single mothers, probably those things you describe have a root in poverty as well and parental alienation. Its a lot easier to parent when you have another person sharing the role. People who blame single mothers for everything wrong with society forget that there is also a father in the mix and if he isn't involved we need to look at that too.

You can also make support conditional. Give accommodation to those who are willing to engage in education or training so they can eventually get out off welfare.

I don't think it's quite the last taboo, and we may be in the process of creating a few new taboos!

It's probably extreme to say "almost ALL" social problems can be brought back to one cause - I think these forums tend to make us express ourselves in extremes. But I think you are right to suggest a pause for thought.

Isn't it a case of trying to find the right balance. In current times, we're unlikely to think that it should be strongly suggested to every unmarried pregnant woman that she put herself into the care of another bunch of women, distinguished by the fact that they've all taken a solemn vow never to have sex (which a bad-minded person might say suggests they're struggling with some deep issues of their own). At the same time, folk need to avoid bad choices.

And, talking loosely, it's not like the idea of a boot camp is entirely unappealing. "OK, you've made some bad choices. But we're going to help you turn that around. Put that baby down for a minute, and I'll show you how to plaster a wall as we need to encourage more women into the Wet Trades."

People who blame single mothers for everything wrong with society forget that there is also a father in the mix and if he isn't involved we need to look at that too.
    I think you are making a sound point there, one that many are making in relation to the Mother and Baby Homes Report.

It's like the path of responsibility goes to the mother initially, then to be passed on to the nuns, then to State, then to society in general.

Without much of a pause for "hang on, was no-one else involved"?

• Registered Users Posts: 363 ✭✭fantaiscool

I don't think it necessarily down to single mothers, probably those things you describe have a root in poverty as well and parental alienation. Its a lot easier to parent when you have another person sharing the role. People who blame single mothers for everything wrong with society forget that there is also a father in the mix and if he isn't involved we need to look at that too.

You can also make support conditional. Give accommodation to those who are willing to engage in education or training so they can eventually get out off welfare.

The single mother is the one who chose to procreate with the "deadbeat" father at the end of the day. That was a bad decision on her part which probably wouldn't have been made had the supports not been there. I know a few girls who had kids with guys who were very clearly not going to be good fathers.

• Registered Users Posts: 54,557 ✭✭✭✭walshb

The single mother is the one who chose to procreate with the "deadbeat" father at the end of the day. That was a bad decision on her part which probably wouldn't have been made had the supports not been there. I know a few girls who had kids with guys who were very clearly not going to be good fathers.

That's all well and good

But don't you know, personal responsibility is a no no these days....

It's always society as a whole that is at fault....

Or the daddy's fault......