Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

R Kings and other car raffles

• Registered Users Posts: 3,888 ✭✭✭selectamatic

They may be legit in the sense that the raffle really happens, but afaik they are actually illegal, as you need approval from the District Court to run them for that sort of value (and the value of District Court raffles tops out at 25 or 30k), and should be some element of charity to them.

Makes no odds as there's no real will from the Gardaí or Revenue to prosecute whoever is running them.

They're based in the north though.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,871 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Honestly I reckon if they were doing something wrong they wouldn’t have been allowed to get as big as they have gotten.

Plenty of ponzi schemes and boiler rooms got big.

Sometimes it takes authorities a while to catch up with illegal activity, the fact that they're illegal in Ireland but still operating here is a perfect example.

Edit

Looks like they are illegal in the UK also

https://www.gamblingcommission.gov.uk/for-the-public/Fundraising-and-promotions/Advertising-and-promoting.aspx

• Registered Users Posts: 23,259 ✭✭✭✭ted1

To be fair, most of the stuff is high enough value. They've done Escort Cosworths, R35 Skylines, an i8, loads of f10 5 series and new model A6's. Evo's, AE86's etc.

If they do raffle a low value car, there's usually a couple of grand cash or a holiday lumped in.

They are old things the pick up for cheap through trade our auctions and valet them

They're based in the north though.

Might well make a difference but I think UK's betting and licensing laws are stricter than the ones here.

I haven't worked in this area for a long time but I had to look into it years ago. I was asked by a sports club about raffling a house. In the end we couldn't raffle a house as the Court didn't have the power to grant a licence for something of that value and the club didn't want to risk it. We had a long debate with the Clerk (who was on our side to some degree) that if the act didn't strictly prohibit it, could a higher Court grant it etc.

Famously a house was raffled back in the 1980's by Barney Curley and he was prosecuted for holding an illegal raffle. He was fined 5,000 to the poor box, which he (to be fair to him) voluntarily doubled, iirc.

I see house raffles and high end car raffles seem to be more popular these days but the law hasn't been changed (afaik). I don't know of any cases being brought for it though.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

ted1 wrote: »
    They are old things the pick up for cheap through trade our auctions and valet them

Will you let me know where they are picking up stuff like that on the cheap so?

Wouldnt mind picking up a few cheap trade sale Escort Cossies.

• Registered Users Posts: 37,295 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

https://www.rkingscompetitions.com/about
    R Kings Competitions are an Northern Irish business
    Del2005 wrote: »
    From the link you posted;
    Lotteries in Great Britain

I'd hate to win one and get stuck with VRT!
    Regarding a competition for a "Mercedes E220 Sport AMG Line";
    Includes £2,000 to put towards VRT, Insurance or just to treat yourself

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

Seems like a clever idea and they are making lots of money

Hope it's still going after CORVID; I'd be afraid of winning it whilst the lockdown is in effect.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,074 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

ted1 wrote: »

The Evo they had recently was bought from Deane Motors

I thought Deane's would be married to that yoke, it was a bit tasteless.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,074 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

I thought Deane's would be married to that yoke, it was a bit tasteless.

It was up for 26k or 28k. R.Kings ended up getting it and put it up at £22 for 995 tickets, that’s £21,890 and I’d say they made sure there was a nice tidy profit in it for them at that.

I think R Kings know their target audience very well

They certainly do yeah. Lots of yokes you'd traditionally consider high end 'felt spec. German diesel saloons with big replica wheels, slammed with lip kits. Old Scania trucks and mid 90's agri tractors.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,696 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

The white chaser that went two weeks ago, that was my mates. They're no bull buying, gave an offer and took the car. Whoever it is running the show landed on a gold mine.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

Was it the first comapny doing it here?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,968 ✭✭✭blindside88

They are running a very successful business model, once they don’t get too greedy they’re on to a winner. They sell out so quickly they could realistically be putting 10% profit on each car and still be making a mint. Selling 2-3 cars a day, clearing 4 or 5k a day and not having to stand over any warranty or anything like that.

I was sceptical like some but have known a few winners as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

But it is only a matter of time before they are shutdown.

How have they even survived this long when they ignore UK raffle laws?
    Perhaps the UK equivalent of CAB will wait until they make more money then take everything.

Just because someone gets drugs when they pay for drugs doesn't mean all will work out well for the dealer.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,358 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

I believe it's because you have to answer a question when you buy a ticket so technically it is a game of skill and not a raffle.

May also be a loophole, as they are a NI registered company and the UK laws seem to apply to GB only.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,871 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

the_syco wrote: »

So what's the legislation for Northern Ireland?

Del2005 wrote: »
    So what's the legislation for Northern Ireland?
    Prize draws in Northern Ireland

Under the Order, it is unlawful to conduct in Northern Ireland any competition which offers prizes, where success does not depend to a
    substantial degree on the exercise of skill. The effect of the Order is also that pure chance prize draws (as opposed to competitions where some effort or skill is needed to win) will only be legal if they are free to enter or provide a genuine alternative free entry route.

In the current draw they are asking people if you use a knife or spoon to eat soup. Would answering that require a substantial deal of skill?

It's also against facebook rules so I've no idea how it got so big without them noticing. They even run adverts for the raffles.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭Kevwoody

tuxy wrote:
    In the current draw they are asking people if you using a knife or spoon to eat soup. Would answering that require a substantial deal of skill?

tuxy wrote:
    It's also against facebook rules so I've no idea how it got so big without them noticing. They even run adverts for the raffles.

Maybe, just maybe, it's actually legal and above board? Lots of experts in Irish and English legislation on here.

Kevwoody wrote: »
    Maybe, just maybe, it's actually legal and above board? Lots of experts in Irish and English legislation on here.

I'm far from an expert.
    I'm just posting the legal information that is made available online.

They've just bought another friend of mines car, blue over grey PS13. Bank transfer there and then, didn't even look at the car and with the price of a ticket they'll be making over 4k on it. It stands them the fuel they used to get down to Dublin. Unbelievable :shocked:

Did they seem legitimate?
    Like the kind of guys that would be declaring everything to revenue and all that?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭homingbird

You are still going to be done for a nice vrt bill.

• Registered Users Posts: 135 ✭✭Eamonn8448

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pZqvL4LUOiI

wonder are they anything to this lot , knew it sounded familiar

homingbird wrote: »
    You are still going to be done for a nice vrt bill.

Some of the cars they buy are on Irish plates so are you sure?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Heres Johnny

But do they offer a warranty 😊

But do they offer a warranty ��

Why would they the cars are not new.

tuxy wrote: »
    Did they seem legitimate?
    Like the kind of guys that would be declaring everything to revenue and all that?

Money matters, not the legitimacy of the lad giving that money :P