Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

How many cars have you owned?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,509 ✭✭✭Purgative

Ford Cortina (cost £70 - stolen)
    Ford Capri (took to the safari park in Windsor and the fecking monkeys ripped the vinyl roof off)
    Ford Granada (mid 80s. Probably the best car I ever had. 2.8i it was the nutz)
    Cavalier
    Cavalier
    Peugeot 405
    2x 406s
    Honda Civic (hated it)
    Hilux (current)
    Auris (current)

Years are car reg years, not when I bought.

94 1.4 Rover 414i (i very important :) ). Bought in 1997, first car.
    97 1.6 Audi A4
    98 1.8t Audi A6
    97 Toyota Avensis (someone crashed into the A6 and I had to get the A6 repaired, took some months and I bought a temp car in the mean time - then sold)
    04 2.0t Saab Vector 9-3 (best pound for pound car I owned - adored the sound of the engine)
    08 2.4L JTDM Alfa Romeo 159 First new car, first Diesel. Kept this car for nearly 10 years.
    171 2.0 Audi TT Quattro (happy to be back in petrol)

Might be getting a new car, and might keep the TT. Would be interested in hearing how others are insuring multiple cars what with the ridiculous one NCB per insured car. PM if we don't want to go off topic on this thread. Thanks.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭passatman86

Flinty997 wrote: »
    I assume some people are listing their partners cars. I'm actually struggling to remember which were mine. Over 35 yrs. While I got my full licence at 17yrs, a lot of the time I've not needed a car. So most of the time my car was the 2nd car, the cheap runabout. I don't think I've ever done more than 8k a year and often the car goes weeks without being driven.

MK1 Seat Ibiza
    MK2 Golf GTI
    Mk2 CRX
    K11 Micra
    Golf Sport

We've mostly had MPVs the other other interesting thing was a P11 Primera GT.

Ohhh primera gt... I want one... Any pics
    I had the almera gti

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Eight. Starting from 1992.

• Registered Users Posts: 887 ✭✭✭morritty

03 Opel Astra 1.4
    03 Suzuki Jimny 1.3
    05 Hyundai Coupe 1.6
    07 Mazda 3 1.4
    08 Mazda 6 1.8
    12 Skoda Superb 1.4 tsi
    161 Hyundai Tuscon 1.7 diesel

• Registered Users Posts: 11,489 ✭✭✭✭Flinty997

Ohhh primera gt... I want one... Any pics
    I had the almera gti

Almera gti I test a few back in the day. Liked it. Just needed something bigger.

Sure

https://ibb.co/gTv48P2
    https://ibb.co/56pWKpH

Almera gti I test a few back in the day. Liked it. Just needed something bigger.

Sure

https://ibb.co/gTv48P2
    https://ibb.co/56pWKpH

Nice
    Hard to get gt or a gti now
    Would like a primera gt - my first car ever was a 99 primera sri id nearly have another one of them lol

• Registered Users Posts: 2,509 ✭✭✭Purgative

Years are car reg years, not when I bought.

Might be getting a new car, and might keep the TT. Would be interested in hearing how others are insuring multiple cars what with the ridiculous one NCB per insured car. PM if we don't want to go off topic on this thread. Thanks.

Hi CW, when we added the Auris (herself likes it) FBD haggled and haggled until I said, I can get that anywhere ( meaning the year 1 discount etc.) eventually they allowed full NCB on both cars.

If you have a relationship with an insurer or broker exploit it.

Purgative wrote: »
    Hi CW, when we added the Auris (herself likes it) FBD haggled and haggled until I said, I can get that anywhere ( meaning the year 1 discount etc.) eventually they allowed full NCB on both cars.

If you have a relationship with an insurer or broker exploit it.

Interesting. Thanks.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,629 ✭✭✭Wildly Boaring

18 in 18 years.
    Probably change this one in January.

Longest was a 330d for over 3 years
    Shortest a Clio for about 5 weeks
    Current car, Leon FR, 18 months

Edit, oh 4 were company cars/vans
    So 14+4

18 in 18 years.
    Probably change this one in January.

Longest was a 330d for over 3 years
    Shortest a Clio for about 5 weeks
    Current car, Leon FR, 18 months

Edit, oh 4 were company cars/vans
    So 14+4

Didn't add a company car I had. 191 Opel Astra van. For BIK reasons - the largest thing it ever 'vaned' was my lunch. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

I can't list them all but around 10.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 424 ✭✭Cerveza

Dacia Duster,
    Dacia Duster.

• Registered Users Posts: 446 ✭✭ec_pc

1990 Nissan Micra Van
    1993 Mitsubishi Lancer Hatchback
    1998 Mistubishi Lancer
    2001 Nissan Primera
    2004 Nissan Primera
    2006 Alfa Romeo GT
    2006 Alfa Romeo GT (2nd one from 2006, still have)
    2008 Alfa Romeo GT
    2009 Alfa Romeo 159 Sportwagon
    2013 Ford Focus (still have)

Mrs ec_pc :
    Various 90's Charades / Micra's and ex post vans
    6 years of free cars from working in a garage. Had all types. Rover 25 MG is the all time favourite
    1999 Nissan Micra
    2008 Hyundai Tuscon
    2013 Kia Sportage
    2016 Kia Sportage
    2018 Kia Sorento (still have)

• Registered Users Posts: 335 ✭✭Redderneck

12 in 29 years. Not a lot really and 5 were company units.

Honda Civic (co car), always love your first motor. Bulletproof and nippy. Perfect.
    Mitsubishi Galant (co car). A turd.
    BMW 320i. If I had to have one back, this would be the 'single me' one. Cracker.
    Lada Niva (co car). Sadolin. Most reliable motor I ever had, considering the environment I was running it in. Loved it.
    Toyota Celica, liked it. Just a car well-suited to Irish roads. Surprisingly spacious if kids are very young.
    Honda HRV, herself's, ran for 15+ yrs. Would. Not. Die. Annoyed when journos say something else created the crossover segment. They did in their hole.
    Land Rover Freelander (co car), unmitigated slopbucket into which a stag night have taken post-curry dumps. Made Galant seem good.
    VW Touareg 3.2 (co car), great allrounder. Needed the company fuel card. My family bus choice if I had to go back and pick one.
    Alfa 166 2.0, loved it to bits. Of which there were many. Regret nada. Wish I'd had the cashflow to go 3.0l but it would have broken me.
    Hyundai Santa Fe, family bus for 10+ years. Love-Hate relationship. Same for the car.
    Saab 9-5, first attempt at shrugging off the family bus schtick. Heartbreakingly unreliable moneypit,and people talk down Alfas???
    Merc B-200 CDi, skulked back into (smaller) family bus now that 50% of the kids have flown the coop. Reliable/serviceable. Meh. I'm plotting herself inheriting it, and the next motor will be the MX-5 I've longed for since first seeing one in 1990. That or will go EV route and only run one car. Kia or Skoda if was pulling trigger tomorrow, but happy to wait a year or maybe two to see market develop.

Nothing too hectic there.

Cerveza wrote: »
    Dacia Duster,
    Dacia Duster.

Two taps on the horn if someone has a gun to your head. We're here for you

• Registered Users Posts: 1,244 ✭✭✭MrCostington

If I can start with bikes:

Yamaha 50 stepthru
    Yamaha 50 FS1E
    Kawasaki AR80
    Yamaha RD125LC (only ever new vehicle)
    Honda CD175 "noddy" (project bike)
    Yamaha RD350 YPVS

Cars

Renault 5
    Escort mk3
    Fiat Ritmo
    Ford Sierra 1.6L
    Honda Accord
    Sierra Cosworth (saloon 2wd)
    Audi 80
    Mercedes C230K (W202)
    Mazda 323

Current:
    Audi A4
    Mercedes 280CE (W123)

• Registered Users Posts: 899 ✭✭✭Tazium

1997 VW Golf Mark 4 (New)
    2000 VW Bora (New)
    2001 VW Passat (New)
    2003 VW Passat (New)
    2004 Kia Sorrento (Used)
    2008 Ford Focus (Used)
    2005 Seat Toledo (Used)
    2012 Audi A5 (Used)
    2019 BMW i3s (New - company car)
    2016 Audi A3 Saloon (Used)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭bladespin

Dozens of company cars but only really owned 4 cars since I started driving:

Fiat Punto sporting (Yellow - of course), loved it, a lovely fun little car.
    Alfa Romeo 156JTDM (Graphite), loved that too, went like a good thing, best ice/snow car ever pity some clown in a 4x4 decided to kill it (and nearly me).
    Ford Mondeo TDCi Great engine until the injectors went, comfy money pit.
    Golf TDI -bought to hold my NCB, drove it once.

Bikes (are we allowed lol?)
    RD125lc
    RD350LC
    VFR400
    GSXR750
    GSXR7/11
    GS
    Fireblade
    ZXR750
    Fireblade

• Registered Users Posts: 58 ✭✭Whatcar212

8 in 13 years. (from 17-30)

1997 Peugeot 306 (used)
    2002 Rover 25 (used)
    2002 Toyota Corolla (used)
    2000 Peugeot 408 (used)
    2015 Dacia Sandero Stepway (new)
    2006 Mazda MX5 (used) [2nd car, still have this]
    2018 Mazda CX3 (new)
    2021 Toyota Rav4 (new)

Edit:
    Current company car is a 2020 Ford Mondeo
    And if counting bikes too: 2020 Vespa Primevera

• Registered Users Posts: 1,244 ✭✭✭MrCostington

bladespin wrote: »
    Bikes (are we allowed lol?)
    RD125lc
    RD350LC

Snap!!

• Registered Users Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭wonski

That's 9 cars in 13 years.

2000 Seicento 1.1
    2000 Seicento Sporting 1.1
    1998 Ford Fiesta 1.3
    2000 Fiat Bravo 1.2
    2001 Renault Scenic 1.4
    2001 Mercedes CLK 2.0 kompressor
    2005 Volvo s40 1.8
    2006 Alfa Gt 1.7
    2019 Ford Fiesta 1.1

All petrol.

Renault was the most reliable from the list above, had it for almost 5 years.
    Merc was the fastest most comfortable, Alfa most beautiful.

After driving bangers for 13 years I pulled the trigger on newish car and got the Fiesta last week.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭MightyMunster

Have had 4 myself as well as driving 4 of my wife's regularly.

97 Opel Corsa, fine starter car. Died and scrapped in 2008

05 VW Golf 1.9TDI. lasted up to 300k before being scrapped. Had to replace turbo, timing chains etc very handy for moving house, loading in dishwashers, washing machines, Christmas trees etc over the 10 years I had it.

2019 Hyundai Ioniq BEV (New) big step up in technology from the Golf, much quicker etc... Loved it but has a fatal security flaw for relay attack and was stolen after 10 months :(

2020 Tesla Model 3 SR+ (New) another big step up in tech, amazing car and hate driving my wife's 3 series now. Hard to fault it and couldn't see myself going back to petrol, diesel or gears. Used as the main family car now.

Wife's cars:

03 Mini One Never really drove the Minis regularly, didn't find them too comfortable, probably to do with the setup for my wife.
    08 Mini One

2013 BMW 318i Petrol Drove this all the time at weekends etc. Liked it and found it a grand family cruiser. much better than the old Golf!

2017 BMW 318i M Sport Nicer than the previous one with leather seats, ambient lighting etc.. having been driving BEVs for a year before she got this one I rarely drive it and always take the BEV. Seems stoneage now in comparison to the Tesla. Has a better turning circle and softer suspension though.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,426 ✭✭✭ILikeBoats

2001 Fiat Punto Sporting - Broom yellow. 17" alloys. Loved it. Sold it to go to Australia (2007-2008)
    2003 Ford Fiesta - Hand me down from my Dad so I could get to work (2009 - 2011)
    2006 Ford Fiesta - "Upgraded" to a 3 door. Great little car (2011 - 2017)
    2016 Hyundai i20 - Always liked the look of them, still do, had a baby so thought something more modern was in order (2017 - 2018)
    2016 Ford Focus ST - figured I could do better than i20. First taste of hot hatchery even if it was diesel. Had zero issues in 18 months, great car (2018 - 2019)
    2016 VW Golf GTI PP - nice car, lots of little issues (2019 - 2021)
    2018 VW Golf R - loving it so far (2021...)

• Registered Users Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭wonski

Was thinking the other day ive had 20 cars.
    Handy for me to make a list cause id like to know to be honest

Primera sri
    Levin bzr
    Civic sir ek
    Passat
    Hyundai elantra "worst car ever"
    Bora tdi
    Golf gti
    Aygo
    Almera 1.5
    White civic ek
    White civic ej
    Avensis verso
    Celica vvtli
    Green civic ej
    Purple civic ek
    Silver civic ej saloon
    Silver civic ej standard
    Silver civic ej white
    Almera gti sr20
    Avensis d4d t27 "current car"

You should change your username to civicsman, passatman :)

wonski wrote: »
    You should change your username to civicsman, passatman :)

Yeah, civic are my go to car if i want a project and something to get the tools out on.
    I had my passat many moons ago joining here - a civic would have been more namely lol

Nice
    Hard to get gt or a gti now
    Would like a primera gt - my first car ever was a 99 primera sri id nearly have another one of them lol

GT is fantastic chassis. Lovely on a B road or long run. Nice seats etc. But its not fast in stock form, and I found it expensive to run. 15~23MPG around town (95% of our driving was in town) 40mpg on a long run only. Top links lasted no time on it. Rear seat belts a PITA. I wasn't using it as intended, so I only had it a few years.

Only had my primera sri a year never see them on the road anymore. The almera gti sr20 i had would be the same engine as your primera gt. My almera had a fair bit of work done to it - lightened flywheel, vzr gearbox, racing clutch, straight through exhaust. But rust rust rust got the rear arches - last i heard it was a track car about a year ago

Was thinking the other day ive had 20 cars.
    Handy for me to make a list cause id like to know to be honest

Primera sri
    Levin bzr
    Civic sir ek
    Passat
    Hyundai elantra "worst car ever"
    Bora tdi
    Golf gti
    Aygo
    Almera 1.5
    White civic ek
    White civic ej
    Avensis verso
    Celica vvtli
    Green civic ej
    Purple civic ek
    Silver civic ej saloon
    Silver civic ej standard
    Silver civic ej white
    Almera gti sr20
    Avensis d4d t27 "current car"

Great idea for a thread.

A man who likes his Jap hot hatches. I've driven a couple of those SiRs Mental. So close to buying one, but never did.

Redderneck wrote: »
    ...skulked back into (smaller) family bus now that 50% of the kids have flown the coop. Reliable/serviceable. Meh. I'm plotting herself inheriting it, and the next motor will be the MX-5 I've longed for since first seeing one in 1990. That or will go EV route and only run one car. Kia or Skoda if was pulling trigger tomorrow, but happy to wait a year or maybe two to see market develop...

Much the same here. Just gave up and went MPV route. Which in fairness I've really liked.

Much the same I'm looking at replacing the 2nd car, with something a little more interesting, but cheap to run, especially if left on the drive most of the time. MX5, Up GTI. In no rush either.