Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Japan

• 08-04-2020 8:51pm
    Registered Users Posts: 790 ✭✭✭

Hi folks there was a site mentioned on some thread about jdm watches? Can some one please let me know the site?
    Many thanks and hope ye are all keeping safe!!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 832 ✭✭✭funkyouup

https://www.seiyajapan.com/

Some nice JDM ones on here.

Seen this site mentioned but dont know much else about them -

https://www.japan-onlinestore.com/

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,617 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Could have been yahoo Japan auctions?

https://buyee.jp/yahoo/auction?lang=en

No experience with it though.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,226 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

These guys are supposed to be good for vintage

https://www.ikigai-watches.com/

• Registered Users Posts: 6,068 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

I bought my speedie from these guys and recommend.

https://mall.elady.com/products/watches

Beware of the customs on high value watches though. You need to get customs agent to clear the goods for you.

• Registered Users Posts: 456 ✭✭oxocube

Beware of the customs on high value watches though. You need to get customs agent to clear the goods for you.

Ahh FFS. A CJF2110 in black with papers and no box for €787. Don't temp me :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 790 ✭✭✭Roycropper63

Many thanks for replies. Plenty to go on

• Registered Users Posts: 731 ✭✭✭bbbbb

is that still the case since the eu japan trade deal last year?
    you still have vat, but no duties as i understand it.

• Registered Users Posts: 64,774 ✭✭✭✭unkel

There's no duty on watches from anywhere. VAT is the big bummer :D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,068 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

bbbbb wrote: »
    is that still the case since the eu japan trade deal last year?
    you still have vat, but no duties as i understand it.

Good point. I bought mine in 2018.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,110 ✭✭✭Thirdfox

unkel wrote: »
    There's no duty on watches from anywhere. VAT is the big bummer :D

Tax lawyer hat on: There's a huge amount of duty on watches from 3rd party countries...4.5% of the value of goods
    but limited to 80c maximum per piece ;) :P
    /tax hat off. Btw - not sure if Japan/EU has any agreement on watches for duty.

Might even be worth shipping high value goods to a family member in the UK and pay the lower VAT there before shipping to Ireland - depending on value could save a bit of VAT 20% vs 23% - on a €3000 grand seiko that'd be €90 in difference. Not as good as when UK VAT was 17.5% (would have been a €165 tax savings).

As for the OP - rakuten is a good Japanese shopping site too - kinda like their Amazon or the Chinese's taobao/jd.com

• Registered Users Posts: 790 ✭✭✭Roycropper63

@thirdfox.
    Many thanks for that site. Am I correct in saying that jdm watches are only available in Japan? No euro/uk sites?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,110 ✭✭✭Thirdfox

@thirdfox.
    Many thanks for that site. Am I correct in saying that jdm watches are only available in Japan? No euro/uk sites?

JDM is an abbreviation for "Japanese Domestic Market" - so the hint is in the name :D - while they are only officially sold in Japan it doesn't stop people from buying them and reselling them elsewhere though.

It just means that you won't be buying any Seiko/Citizen JDM watches from a Seiko/Citizen authorised dealer in EU/UK.

I've heard (don't know if true or not) that the reason why JDM watches exist is that the local market is willing to pay more for the Citizen/Seiko brands whereas over in Europe people class them often in the 200 euro-ish range.

Asking 3-5,000 for a Grand Seiko will probably make the average watch buyer's eyes bug out "HOW much for a Seiko???" :p

Then you mention a Credor's price to them... :eek:

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 3,032 Mod ✭✭✭✭Black Sheep

I have dealt with both Seiya Japan and Higuchi Inc when purchasing JDM watches.

Higuchi Inc's website: http://www.higuchi-inc.com/english/

The standard of service with both was very high. In my experience this is typical of Japanese businesses, they are just a cut above.

With Higuchi I actually emailed looking for a watch that was not listed, and he did a bit of legwork himself to find it for me. It wasn't an overly expensive watch, but again, they really seem to want to deliver for the customer.