Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Overtook an unmarked car today

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 416 ✭✭Tommy Kelly

Tzardine wrote: »
    There are a few Toyota Landcruisers in the fleet too. Drug squad I believe, so not likely to be pulling you in for speeding anyway.

I know of a lad they pulled in for speed.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 14,891 Mod ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

My mam had a navy 1996 Ford Escort 4 door saloon, (similar to the Orion), and it looked very undercover Garda car like at the time!

Trouble was when my brother and his mate went off trying to buy hash, all the lads would scarper upon seeing this car slowly driving around and stopping near groups of young lads, especially with 2 quite tall lads in the front seats!!

He said it was a pain in the hole, even when lads they knew would see the car and suddenly disappear!!

Even for me when I started driving the same car a few years later, Guards would always wave & nod at me.

Ironically enough though it’s the only car I ever got caught speeding in - twice!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭pippip

Yeh since I bought my mondeo everyone slows beside me on the motorway.

They also have a new model hyundai tuscon, it even had some sort of roof rack on it. Never in a million years would I have coped ;) it. I reckon the more obscure cars mentioned here only break cover for serious bad driving.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,884 ✭✭✭Tzardine

I know of a lad they pulled in for speed.

In fairness he must have been flying if a drug squad officer went to the bother of pulling him.

I never overtook an unmarked car , but I DID overtake a regular white squad car with the Garda stripes and blue lights !

Then again this thread has now changed to a discussion on unmarked squad cars - is everyone here an 11 year old boy ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

I never overtook an unmarked car , but I DID overtake a regular white squad car with the Garda stripes and blue lights !

Then again this thread has now changed to a discussion on unmarked squad cars - is everyone here an 11 year old boy ??

Everyone that likes cars is an 11 year old boy? That's very small minded.

I lived in Kuwait for a bit about 10 years ago. The cops there did not give a monkeys about speed.

There was a speed limit of 120 or 130 on the main roads, but it was normal to do 250 plus (most cars big american v8s) while passing the cops. They would in fact get out of your way if you flashed them.

Funny enough, for a dry country they also had a massive drink driving problem. Cops completely ignored this too.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭italodisco

There are a few Toyota Landcruisers in the fleet too. Drug squad I believe, so not likely to be pulling you in for speeding anyway.

They pulled me in the land cruiser at 6am on a sunday morning on the finglas road juat to ask me where i was coming from, identified themselves as harcourt street. Carrying guns both of them.

Must have been a special crime unit all the way over in finglas in harcourt street

• Registered Users Posts: 2,968 ✭✭✭McCrack

Big difference between unmarked and undercover

The latter can be anything and everything and quite imaginative

• Registered Users Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

Generally they don’t have dealer stickers in rear window or reg plate surrounds either.

Another one to look out for is the plain white Opel Combo van (current shape), there’s a few unmarked going around Dublin at least.

I had the dealer stickers pulled off my focus saloon. Think I terrified a few people at times...

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Skoda kodiaq going around now also... Dealer stickers and all.... Wouldn't think it...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,075 ✭✭✭markc1184

There was a navy coloured Audi A4 pulling cars on the M50 this past 'Slow down Day'.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

I'd say what I've mentioned covers 95% plus, there will always be some off the grid stuff they will have though.

They're unmarked, not under cover.
    There’s a grey 161 Focus ST floating around Dublin, they pulled my old man last year for “speeding” but when they realized he wasn’t who they were looking for they told him out straight, they have better things to be doing than doing him for speeding :P ..or words to that effect

There was a documentary series recently on either Dave or Sky following customs and Gardaí, not one with that bloke in the airport, and they covered a chase down the motorway from midlands. I'm sure it was the ST that was the lead car and were after a BMW 5 series I think. Anyway the BMW didn't get away.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭italodisco

Hurrache wrote: »
    They're unmarked, not under cover.

There was a documentary series recently on either Dave or Sky following customs and Gardaí, not one with that bloke in the airport, and they covered a chase down the motorway from midlands. I'm sure it was the ST that was the lead car and were after a BMW 5 series I think. Anyway the BMW didn't get away.

Wonder does it have the stage 3 mountune upgrade :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 12,074 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Theres a video going around WhatsApp currently (since last night) of an unmarked 161 D Mk7 Golf R, anyone else see it?

A video of it just popped up on my Facebook stream. It is in the garage with all the lights flashing.

I swear Facebook showed it to me because I posted here earlier.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Blueshoe

In general they are D plates, tax disc only, saloon cars, no baby seats, no tow bar, poverty spec, Vectras/Focii/Hyundai i40 always approach these with care :D

I thought everyone knew this.
    You left out the most obvious one when you are behind a suspect car. Look at the windscreen between the front seats. The flashing lights are mounted on the bottom of the dash on the windscreen. Also look just below the headrests on both rear seats. Small square flashing lights are mounted here.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,053 ✭✭✭Sexual Chocolate

Theres a video going around WhatsApp currently (since last night) of an unmarked 161 D Mk7 Golf R, anyone else see it?

Seen it earlier. It looks well. 161 so probably a repossession?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,074 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Seen it earlier. It looks well. 161 so probably a repossession?

Apparently it was taken off Kinahan associates but that could well be bull****e. The reg on it in that video doesn’t exist anyway!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,933 ✭✭✭Tazzimus

Blueshoe wrote: »
    I thought everyone knew this.
    You left out the most obvious one when you are behind a suspect car. Look at the windscreen between the front seats. The flashing lights are mounted on the bottom of the dash on the windscreen. Also look just below the headrests on both rear seats. Small square flashing lights are mounted here.

Also the middle of the top brake light doesn't work in some as it'll be strobes as well.

Think the two Forrester's are STI's, seen one plough past me one day chasing someone.
    Place I had my car in was fitting nsx front brakes to an undercover turbo Ek civic coupe as well.

Most of the fleet are slow yokes but they have a few quick cars when needed.

Anyway.. some guards just don't like being overtaken. I overtook a marked car on the M4 one morning that was doing about 100kmh, I wasn't speeding btw, and the second I pulled back in the lights came on.
    Now that I think of it, it was a female guard, maybe that was the reason. I've yet to meet a non grumpy one.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

Just because people are curious, yes, I was slightly over the limit, doing under 120, got done 1km from the 120kph zone.

I actually didn't notice him because a van in the middle lane blocked him from my view, otherwise never would I risk going faster than a white Hyundai i40 Estate :pac:

But apparently he had to do 160 in order to catch up, which I found hilarious, but then, politeness works better in these situations.

Sure, I'll wait and see what I'll get in the post. First ticket since 2014, yay :pac:

So what was the limit?

• Registered Users Posts: 22,002 ✭✭✭✭Esel

In fairness he must have been flying if a drug squad officer went to the bother of pulling him.
    Whoosh! :)

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Subscribers Posts: 13,424 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Just because people are curious, yes, I was slightly over the limit, doing under 120, got done 1km from the 120kph zone.

I actually didn't notice him because a van in the middle lane blocked him from my view, otherwise never would I risk going faster than a white Hyundai i40 Estate :pac:

But apparently he had to do 160 in order to catch up, which I found hilarious, but then, politeness works better in these situations.

Sure, I'll wait and see what I'll get in the post. First ticket since 2014, yay :pac:

Was this a 3 laned motorway and you were in the very left lane?

• Registered Users Posts: 133 ✭✭JustARandomGuy

Limit was 100 kph, I was in the outside lane.

3 weeks later still haven’t received anything.

• Registered Users, Subscribers Posts: 13,424 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Limit was 100 kph, I was in the outside lane.

3 weeks later still haven’t received anything.

What speed were you doing?

• Registered Users Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

A bit of knowledge on the undercover fleet has saved me many points.

I find driving responsibly saves me many points, too.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,933 ✭✭✭Tazzimus

Zillah wrote: »
    I find driving responsibly saves me many points, too.
    Whats the weather like up there?