Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
30-06-2020, 23:46   #61
Trevord
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 771
Quote:
Originally Posted by bassy View Post
what movie apps are best
DM sent
Trevord is offline  
Thanks from:
Advertisement
01-07-2020, 09:25   #62
ablelocks
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,100
should I be using filelinked app versions rather than the pre installed apps?
ablelocks is offline  
01-07-2020, 17:23   #63
garyskeepers
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 282
Hey Guys.

I Bought a firestick but cant get amazon prime video to work. I have an amazon.co.uk prime account, but I live in Ireland, So my video actually comes from Amazon.com

How can I change this on the firestick to make it work ?>
garyskeepers is offline  
01-07-2020, 17:26   #64
Lucas Hood
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 5,961
Install prime app from Aptoide.
Lucas Hood is offline  
(3) thanks from:
01-07-2020, 21:04   #65
Trevord
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 771
Quote:
Originally Posted by ablelocks View Post
should I be using filelinked app versions rather than the pre installed apps?
If you have an Irish account then you will need Filelinked for the UK tv apps (they won't be available via the Amazon store).

You can also get an ad free version of RTE player on Filelinked that actually works quite well, once RTE servers aren't under pressure.

But for other apps on Amazon store that are not geoblocked on the store just install them from there.

Last edited by Trevord; 01-07-2020 at 23:11.
Trevord is offline  
Advertisement
02-07-2020, 00:51   #66
garyskeepers
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 282
Is it necessary to use a VPN?
garyskeepers is offline  
02-07-2020, 09:02   #67
Trevord
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 771
Quote:
Originally Posted by garyskeepers View Post
Is it necessary to use a VPN?
You won’t get access to BBC IPlayer from Ireland (or anything else that is geoblocked) without a VPN.

Even the good ones are fairly cheap (around €30 per year for NORD) and you can half that cost by sharing with someone.
Trevord is offline  
03-07-2020, 09:12   #68
Technique
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,129
Looks like Prime Day may now be in October.

https://www.trustedreviews.com/news/...ls-say-4039813

Bad news for those of you holding out for a cheaper Fire TV Stick.
Technique is offline  
04-07-2020, 19:12   #69
degsie
Registered User
 
degsie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 7,218
Anybody ever try to use FireTV stick to play local media with no internet connection? Going to holiday home with no internet and am planning to bring movies on usb stick/drive. Would this work?
degsie is offline  
Advertisement
04-07-2020, 19:17   #70
glen123
Registered User
 
glen123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by degsie View Post
Anybody ever try to use FireTV stick to play local media with no internet connection? Going to holiday home with no internet and am planning to bring movies on usb stick/drive. Would this work?
If TV you'll be using has HDMI port, it will have USB port too, so you can plug in your USB stick straight into TV and play your movies without any firestick at all.
glen123 is offline  
04-07-2020, 19:20   #71
glen123
Registered User
 
glen123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by garyskeepers View Post
Hey Guys.

I Bought a firestick but cant get amazon prime video to work. I have an amazon.co.uk prime account, but I live in Ireland, So my video actually comes from Amazon.com

How can I change this on the firestick to make it work ?>
Had the same problem. I got on to Amazon chat, told them where I bought my Firestick and that I was based in Ireland and they changed smth to get it to work on all my 3 firesticks at home.
glen123 is offline  
04-07-2020, 19:20   #72
degsie
Registered User
 
degsie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 7,218
Quote:
Originally Posted by glen123 View Post
If TV you'll be using has HDMI port, it will have USB port too, so you can plug in your USB stick straight into TV and play your movies without any firestick at all.
Possibly, but most of my movies are .h265 which only newer TVs could handle.
degsie is offline  
04-07-2020, 19:28   #73
glen123
Registered User
 
glen123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by degsie View Post
Possibly, but most of my movies are .h265 which only newer TVs could handle.
Then you probably need this:
https://www.amazon.co.uk/Rii-Compati...3887122&sr=8-4

The Q&A states:

Question:Would this allow me to add a memory stick as storage on my Firestick

Answer:Absolutely, but you need to configure the memory stick before connecting it to the fire stick. There is an online tutorial fit that though.
Check Troypoint's website for that

Then using VLC player you should be able to browse to the added storage and play your movies.
glen123 is offline  
04-07-2020, 19:30   #74
Trevord
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 771
Getting this error with prime all of a sudden. “Error code: PLR_PRS_CALL_FAILED.”

Fix suggested online was to clear cache, clear data and reboot, which did not resolve it.

Even a factory reset did not resolve it.

Any advice appreciated.
Trevord is offline  
04-07-2020, 20:36   #75
degsie
Registered User
 
degsie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 7,218
Quote:
Originally Posted by glen123 View Post
Then you probably need this:
https://www.amazon.co.uk/Rii-Compati...3887122&sr=8-4

The Q&A states:

Question:Would this allow me to add a memory stick as storage on my Firestick

Answer:Absolutely, but you need to configure the memory stick before connecting it to the fire stick. There is an online tutorial fit that though.
Check Troypoint's website for that

Then using VLC player you should be able to browse to the added storage and play your movies.
Cheers, that should work ok. The trick then is to bypass the home screen not available message when there is no internet connection.
degsie is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet