Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Strokestown **Mod Note in Post #4461**

• Registered Users Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Odelay

Ok, maybe you’re not aware but a security official within the state of Ireland needs a license(No problem you say he could have one) BUT to get one you need to reside in the state.

Where did you get that information? I don’t believe it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭jimwallace197

Surprised there was a court order given especially if it was their home. Judges are very reluctant to order reposessions of family homes in this country unless there is absolutely zero co-operation and payment from the party concerned which I assume was the case in this instance.

The bank is mainly at fault here, lending to an individual without more than likely doing a proper stress test on him first who operates in an industry that is notorious for acts like this. On top of this, sending a foreign security firm in to reposess the house whether they are British or not is all a major screw up by KBC and they have done serious harm to their reputation in this area (potentially nationwide). Very very naive.

They would have been much better off writing it off as a bad debt and forgetting about it.

Even though its not ok that people borrow money whether its for a house or something else & not pay it back, this is the reason why there are credit checks, stress tests and sectors of business that are considered high risk for financial institutions to lend to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Sycamore Tree

Crazy stuff. I bet SF are glad there is no election in 2019. Many questions will be asked about this.

Didn't Captain Boycott himself go north to recruit loyalists to do his bidding when the natives finally got off their knees and united following Parnell's now world-famous Ennis speech in 1880?

And isn't Strokestown home of the notorious Denis Mahon, who was deservedly assassinated in 1847 for evicting over 3,000 people in Strokestown and the surrounding area in 1847 alone?

Yeah, you don't need to be a genius to see the optics of this are ineffably awful. And I wouldn't be against evictions per se: there are times when it is only fair to evict somebody - e.g. a strategic defaulter.

• Registered Users Posts: 282 ✭✭Bubblegummers

Odelay wrote: »
    Where did you get that information? I don’t believe it.

It is 110% . pSA in republic, SIA in the north you need to be a resident in the state to apply. Try apply for a PSA with a northern address

• Closed Accounts Posts: 451 ✭✭hurler32

It seems like the Fine Gael government has lost all touch with rural Ireland . Big protest march in castlerea co rosscommon today against gardai beating up two men in that town last weekend . The guards working with the loyalist repossession gangs seems to have been the straw that broke the camels back in rosscommon this week .

• Registered Users Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

hurler32 wrote: »
    It seems like the Fine Gael government has lost all touch with rural Ireland .

Big protest march in castlerea co rosscommon today against gardai beating up two men in that town last weekend .

The guards working with the loyalist repossession gangs seems to have been the straw that broke the camels back in rosscommon this week .

https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/crime/garda-responding-burglary-call-roscommon-13730592

Garda responding to 'burglary' call in Roscommon 'forced to fight for his life after being attacked by two men'

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/garda%C3%AD-investigate-after-officer-assaulted-by-two-men-in-roscommon-1.3727346?mode=amp

• Registered Users Posts: 1,383 ✭✭✭h2005

gctest50 wrote: »
    https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/crime/garda-responding-burglary-call-roscommon-13730592

Garda responding to 'burglary' call in Roscommon 'forced to fight for his life after being attacked by two men'

There was a march in Castlerea today in support of the 2 men. Not sure that that report tells the whole story

• Registered Users Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Odelay

It is 110% . pSA in republic, SIA in the north you need to be a resident in the state to apply. Try apply for a PSA with a northern address

Where does it say that?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,268 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

How much did they owe? When did they last make payments?

That's the million dollar question that nobody seems to know the answer to.
    Nobody held a shotgun to someones head and made them take out a loan

Sheer f****ing greed on the part of those who took out loans they couldn't pay

By all accounts this appears to be three elderly people involved. The bank obviously loaned them the money, should have stress tested them for it but possibly encouraged them to take the loan. Without all the details then we're all just guessing here but IMO the bank is far from faultless here. It's up to them to protect their own money and that's why they have stress tests. Obviously their own systems let them down here.

Corporate Ireland Vs Traditional Rural Ireland and Rural Ireland just bit back.

Were KBC right ? I don't know, but evicting a third generation farm family is never going to go well. Bear in mind that if these people are elderly, and they are third generation, their family has probably lived there for in excess of 100 years. As far as they, and all their neighbours, are concerned this is 'their land' and taking a loan from a bank would never justify seizing that land from them.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,526 ✭✭✭Allinall

It seems like the Fine Gael government has lost all touch with rural Ireland . Big protest march in castlerea co rosscommon today against gardai beating up two men in that town last weekend . The guards working with the loyalist repossession gangs seems to have been the straw that broke the camels back in rosscommon this week .

What’s that got to do with Fine Gael?

• Registered Users Posts: 28,981 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

So Republican ones would have been fine, yeah?

Why not send a list of your approved security personnel to the banks so they can avoid offending you.

neither would be fine. security shouldn't be involved in the actual eviction. they should only be able to do the basic security job after the eviction is finished.
    evictions and similar should only be caried out by an arm of the gardai.

shut down alcohol action ireland now! end MUP today!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Topgear on Dave

neither would be fine. security shouldn't be involved in the actual eviction. they should only be able to do the basic security job after the eviction is finished.
    evictions and similar should only be caried out by an arm of the gardai.

Gardai don't do evictions.

By all accounts this appears to be three elderly people involved. The bank obviously loaned them the money, should have stress tested them for it but possibly encouraged them to take the loan. Without all the details then we're all just guessing here but IMO the bank is far from faultless here. It's up to them to protect their own money and that's why they have stress tests. Obviously their own systems let them down here.

Were KBC right ? I don't know, but evicting a third generation farm family is never going to go well. Bear in mind that if these people are elderly, and they are third generation, their family has probably lived there for in excess of 100 years. As far as they, and all their neighbours, are concerned this is 'their land' and taking a loan from a bank would never justify seizing that land from them.

All we know is - they borrowed a lot of money

Where is it ?

What was it spent on ? No mention of that ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

I get the sense the country is close to tipping point on many issues.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭piplip87

Fee things I've noticed.

1) Nowhere credible have I read that these men evicting are in any way linked to Loyalist Paramilitarys. It's seems that one of them said he was British on the recording. It is been used to stir up hatred towards them.

2) We have no detail about the loan in question, how much was taken and how much was owed and most importantly if/how long the owners buried Thier heads in the sand. That makes a massive difference. Massive difference between not paying or not contacting the bank for a year opposed to 5.

3) Nothing justifies violence from either party in this dispute.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,102 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

which just makes them and their neighbours naive fools.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 451 ✭✭hurler32

Allinall wrote: »
    What’s that got to do with Fine Gael?

Think it’s no secret Fine Gael are only concerned with what’s happening in Dublin . Locals of castlerea are very angry with whatever occurred last weekend in Castlerea . Meanwhile a few miles up the road the guards were proving back up to these Northern Ireland repossession firm lads . Fine Gael are the government who control the guards . None of the above carry on would be tolerated in South Dublin .

No sign of the guards when it comes to travellers robbing rural people but they can assist loyalists repossession firms ??

• Registered Users Posts: 489 ✭✭the world wonders

I decided to ask KBC myself what the story was and it got deleted for "trolling", what a joke. These are all sincere questions, I have a credit card with KBC and am considering a mortgage.

tHP4eFk.png

• Registered Users Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭paw patrol

Mod: Internet tough guys/keyboard warriors Makikomi and Patww79, don't post in this thread again

at least they aren't a wannabe tough guy impersonating somebody else ( i.e Mark Rippetoe) cos they've no personality of their own
    you absolute dope.

Mod: Banned

• Registered Users Posts: 7,770 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Think it’s no secret Fine Gael are only concerned with what’s happening in Dublin . Locals of castlerea are very angry with whatever occurred last weekend in Castlerea . Meanwhile a few miles up the road the guards were proving back up to these Northern Ireland repossession firm lads . Fine Gael are the government who control the guards . None of the above carry on would be tolerated in South Dublin .

No sign of the guards when it comes to travellers robbing rural people but they can assist loyalists repossession firms ??

No surprise really when you see where our new Garda chief comes from.

That's a lovely story.

Where is all the money they borrowed ?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

Maybe Irish people have finally woken up...!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 185 ✭✭keavebm

Watched the videos ****in scandalous wat their doing. They were old people in there seventies. Scumbags and thugs them and the banks. We bailed out the ****in banks and this is what we get

• Registered Users Posts: 7,770 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

keavebm wrote: »
    Watched the videos ****in scandalous wat their doing. They were old people in there seventies. Scumbags and thugs them and the banks. We bailed out the ****in banks and this is what we get

We didn't bail out Kbc if I recall correctly.

washman3 wrote:

To what exactly? It sure isn't personal responsibility.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 198 ✭✭0cp71eyxkb94qf

Good on them.

washman3 wrote: »

To the fact some rural people could borrow a few hundred thousand and never pay it back ?

because 3 generation/800 years/one guy said he was English

Where is the money they borrowed ?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,268 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

All we know is - they borrowed a lot of money

Where is it ?

What was it spent on ? No mention of that ?

We don't know if it was a 'lot of money' (relatively speaking ). We actually don't know anything about it. If we did know then peoples attitudes or sympathies may swing one way or the other.
    which just makes them and their neighbours naive fools.

You could say the same about the bank.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

I kind of wish the culprits were Muslim, or at least African. This thread is far too reasoned and hasn't even picked out a large chunk of society to dehumanise based on the actions of a small few yet.

AH, you're slipping.