Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Sayings.....Rural/Regional even Funny!

• 07-01-2012 11:14pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭

Over the years I've heard some very descriptive saying, and I should have been writing them down. Everyone got some, want to share?

I'll start off:

One you hear a bit to describe someone taking on something they have no clue about: "An Ass looking at a burning bush"

Another to describe someone daydreaming: "Standing there in a daze- Like a pig pissin' "

• Registered Users Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

Heard it on here a while back, ''Of all the birds in the sky, I hate rats!''

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

Heard it on here a while back, ''Of all the birds in the sky, I hate rats!''

´yer wan with him was cross....she had a face on her like a bulldog chewing a wasp!!¨

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

A lad standing idle and daydreaming is "standing with his gob open to catch swallows"

A person who is clueless at his job "hasn't hands fit to wash himself". So hands so useless he'd even mess up washing them in a sink

The department are "them bastards in white coats". Catch all phrase for people who work in labs

When in a tractor or jeep or anytime see your fellow farmers and neighbours thou must salute, just the rules
    If you get a reputation for ignoring people and not saluting you get known as "the lord mayor of <insert townland>" . Thinks they are too good for us, landed gentry

You judge a carpet by "would a dog even lay on it?". A cheap nasty carpet that was badly laid is so unacceptable that a tired dog would not even lay on it

There are unkind names for the VAT man when you owe money but they are kind names when he owes you money :D

• Registered Users Posts: 87 ✭✭warfie35

yer man is so safe he'd mind mice at a cross roads for ya

• Registered Users Posts: 281 ✭✭invicta

He wouldn't find his own arse with his two hands. or As sick as a small hospital. (from an uncle who has long since passed.) He had many more such as, being mentally, physicality, physiologically and financially fu**ed...

• Registered Users Posts: 404 ✭✭yessam

warfie35 wrote: »
    yer man is so safe he'd mind mice at a cross roads for ya
    i think that is it" he would mind white mice at a crossroads on a snowy night .

• Registered Users Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Figerty

"He so mean he wouldn't give you the steam of his pi*s!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

i'm as full as a butchers pup.
    He would steal the cross off an ass
    He hasnt hands to bless himself
    hes sound as a bell
    a closed mouth catches no flies
    id sleep on a harrow
    ask no questions and you'll hear no lies
    des kelly wouldnt even lay her
    he would put an arse in a cat
    he would put an eye in a goat
    he would peel an orange in his pocket

• Registered Users Posts: 129 ✭✭mantua

'If me aunty had balls she'd be me uncle'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭13spanner

The original and best...''How's she cuttin'?'' :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Tora Bora

Describing a small thin little fella! "The crator, has to stand twice, to make a shadow":P

• Registered Users Posts: 125 ✭✭Harrier1980

invicta wrote: »
    He wouldn't find his own arse with his two hands. or As sick as a small hospital. (from an uncle who has long since passed.) He had many more such as, being mentally, physicality, physiologically and financially fu**ed...

As sick as a small plane going to lourdes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

A big mouth is only good for cooling soup.

• Registered Users Posts: 13 Darragh3206

'If he had a brain he'd be dangerous'
    'If he had two brains he'd be twice as thick'
    'Jaysus id put a bag on my head in case hers fell off'

• Registered Users Posts: 975 ✭✭✭newman10

sound as a pound

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭dealerman

there are as scare as hens teeth
    if that fella had flies on him they would be paying rent

• Registered Users Posts: 949 ✭✭✭Dupont

if ya told that to a donkey he would kick ya
    yeah i know your one: long hair curly teeth
    you will be late for your own funeral
    he is that tight he wouldnt pay attention in class
    pressure is for tyres

• Registered Users Posts: 458 ✭✭kboc

somebody ugly; the tide wouldn't take her/him out

somebody getting fat; she/he is spreading like wet turf

an ugly woman/man; if it was raining cocks/fannies a fanny/cock would fall on her/him

excuse the foul language please!

the above i heard in the wee county

he is as lazy as shugh water

from the oak leaf county

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

you can pick your friends not your relations

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

In reference to a well-endowed lady "Jaysus, you could take yer wan to the creamery"

As healthy as a trout / flea

As full as a harvest frog

He's so mane he wouldn't even spend Christmas

As mane as a Cavanman atin' his dinner out of a drawer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭5live

For someone a bit tight with the cash
    He is so tight if you stuck a lump of coal up his a**e it would come down a diamond.

For a lad that likes a bit too much drink
    Tis a poor sign of a man that gets his personality out of a bottle

And for someone you dont like much(but mainly dept inspectors:))
    If he was on fire i wouldnt p**s on him
    Edit. Nearly never bulled a cow.
    He is as much use as a tit on a bull

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭Attie

You cant take knickers of a bare arse.
    you only get one chance at first impressions.
    As luckey as a wee girl with no nickers.
    attie

• Registered Users Posts: 5,057 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

your one has enough for two bull calves and still leave you a jug full for the house _ describing a well endowed lady

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

i remember one of the first ddmb info meetings i went to bill twomey was showcasing the bulls he was talking about a bull and said this bull is like myself "all belly and no arse!" still remember it 20 years later

• Registered Users Posts: 70 ✭✭cam1452

mean person?? wouldnt buy ice cream in july

• Registered Users Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

'She'd ate an apple through a letter box'

'A melter' - the annoying loud mouth 'C U Next Tuesday' that's in every local. If you don't think you have one in your pub, it's YOU!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Figerty

"He was so ugly that when he was a kid they had to tie meat to his ankles so the dog would play with him...."

A classic

• Registered Users Posts: 240 ✭✭stop thelights

If it has tits or wheels it will cost ya money:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

To describe a 'gamey' woman:

She'd hand it back to ya small.

A bad hangover..........As sick as a small hospital.

As full as an egg.
    As full as a poisoned pup.

As happy as a dog with two mickies.

Anyone hungry?.............I'd ate a nuns arse through a convent gate!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

For somebody waiting on an inheritance
    If your waiting on a dead mans trousers ya could be a long time with a bare arse

Opinions are like arseholes, everybody has one

I'd rather be tied to a cows tail and scuttered to death

My personal favourite, we all know the situation, a cute hoor has a lad not as clever under his wing and everybody is wondering why, 'sure I never saw a fox licking a lamb'

There are two things you should never lend, your wife or your chainsaw, either one will come back f****d