Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Welcome New Members/Old Members - Introduce yourself here!

• Registered Users Posts: 13 arsenalabu

Thanks Sheriff Buford, I'll get onto you as soon as I get my questions organised so you can have a look.

I went looking for a rules page on the F&F index, but a pair of glasses may be in order - even knowing the thread title, it took me a way too long to spot it in the list.

Looking through the rules page, specifically the vet advice section, jogged an old memory of mine from some book about horses. I remember reading that in the olden days, racehorses would have their ankles soaked in iodine to harden the skin, or something - it's been a while. Has anyone ever heard of this procedure being applied to cows? I'm not looking to do it myself, but I remember wondering when I was younger if it was ever tried on cattle?

I hope it's obvious I'm not condoning any old-timey folky remedies when actual real medicine is available, but I do find them interesting in a "eat the heart of a newt, and sleep under the full moon to cure impotence" sort of way.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

Christ I was trying to figure your name out for ages there as I read it as arsin-about. Then I seen it as arse-na-labu. You'd know i wasn't a football fan :o

• Registered Users Posts: 181 ✭✭KAMG

Hi all. First time poster but long time reader. And I had actually registered years ago but had forgotten. Only realized when I got an email saying my account was inactive for years and was gonna be deactivated. I'm a relatively young, recent entrant into farming and i'm sure ill have loads of questions for you guys. I always got loads of info here from just browsing so I look forward to plenty of interaction with ye all in the future.

• Registered Users Posts: 476 ✭✭Keep Sluicing

Hi all.
    Part time beef farmer. Returning after a hiatus

• Registered Users Posts: 10,937 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Hi all.
    Part time beef farmer. Returning after a hiatus

Save yourself. Run for the hills. :pac:

Welcome to the party. :D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 3 jrp7

Hi, first time post.
    Working full time and help out on family dairy farm.
    Looking to improve Breeding and Grass!
    Regards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 213 ✭✭270WIN

Lurking for years!! Part time beef farmer for my sins, Brilliant forum,,might ask a few questions now!!

• Registered Users Posts: 24,343 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

270WIN wrote: »
    Lurking for years!! Part time beef farmer for my sins, Brilliant forum,,might ask a few questions now!!

Don't be shy

• Registered Users Posts: 7 Donegal Hydro Harvesting

Hey all.
    I am new to the whole farming thing.

So new, that I am going to be farming algae.
    When ever I find a bit of land to rent up in north Inishowen peninsula.

Been on reading the form for awhile now.
    Only setting this up after reading a post that I can give an answer too.

hopefully be able to help out once and a while.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

Hey all.
    I am new to the whole farming thing.

So new, that I am going to be farming algae.

Just before I read your post, I had been looking up ways to prevent algal growth in JFC and concrete cattle troughs. If only the grass grew at the same speed as the algae in the water troughs.

I remember reading of algae being researched for bio fuel in the cement industry, in Canada or the USA.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,195 ✭✭✭Dunedin

Part time farmer here on 60 acres. All in one block and living on the farm which is a huge help. Keep circa 20 sucklers and finish all. Don’t buy in any. Early 40’s with 3 young boys so time is scarce probably just as well Offaly not doing that well as doesn’t take up much time following them!!
    Long term viewer and poster and only noticed this thread this evening.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,980 Mod ✭✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Dunedin wrote: »
    just as well Offaly not doing that well as doesn’t take up much time following them!!
    Long term viewer and poster and only noticed this thread this evening.

Welcome along.

Steady on there now. You do realise that Offaly footballers have a masterplan. We stopped Kerry going for 5 in a row and we're planning on a repeat performance for the Dubs this year.
    😀😀😀😀

Or I might be very very very wrong ! 😀😀😀

• Registered Users Posts: 2,195 ✭✭✭Dunedin

Welcome along.

Steady on there now. You do realise that Offaly footballers have a masterplan. We stopped Kerry going for 5 in a row and we're planning on a repeat performance for the Dubs this year.
    😀😀😀😀

Or I might be very very very wrong ! 😀😀😀

We’ll settle for a one point win Saturday evening

• Registered Users Posts: 10 hildywildy

Hi, I'm a new entrant dairy farmer, based in Meath. Cows are starting to calve in 2 weeks. I'm keen to get going now after all the work leading up to it.

I only started farming two years ago, and was sick of beef pretty quickly.

Any one looking for bulls calves?

• Registered Users Posts: 24,343 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

hildywildy wrote: »
    Hi, I'm a new entrant dairy farmer, based in Meath. Cows are starting to calve in 2 weeks. I'm keen to get going now after all the work leading up to it.

I only started farming two years ago, and was sick of beef pretty quickly.

Any one looking for bulls calves?

Welcome aboard.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭djmc

Id be under the members old category having been a member here around 14 years since 2006 so having never gotten around to introducing myself properly I am an ex pig farmer ex dairy farmer part time suckler farmer part time blogger and still learning new things every day last week I wrote a bit about myself https://www.thatsfarming.com/news/swapping-dairying-for-highland-and-belted-galloway-cattle if anyone wants to here the long version.
    boards has been a great way to communicate with other farmers and pick up new ideas over the years and i had many a good laugh at some of the rantings going on here.
    Iv only lately gotten more into other social media so between that and study I have not been on boards as much as i used to but still checking in from time to time.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,543 ✭✭✭mayota

djmc wrote: »
    Id be under the members old category having been a member here around 14 years since 2006 so having never gotten around to introducing myself properly I am an ex pig farmer ex dairy farmer part time suckler farmer part time blogger and still learning new things every day last week I wrote a bit about myself https://www.thatsfarming.com/news/swapping-dairying-for-highland-and-belted-galloway-cattle if anyone wants to here the long version.
    boards has been a great way to communicate with other farmers and pick up new ideas over the years and i had many a good laugh at some of the rantings going on here.
    Iv only lately gotten more into other social media so between that and study I have not been on boards as much as i used to but still checking in from time to time.

That’s great, good luck with everything.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭minerleague

full time suckler farmer here, long time reader joined up after filling up bps online. Low input low stocking rate in the last few years ( low output too unfortunately !) Farming 8 separate pieces of land ( some just 1 field ) so seem to spend most of my time on road. really enjoy gunthering
    + machinery threads on here

• Registered Users Posts: 3,926 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Changed my name from theemigrant as ive been moved home about 3 years at this stage lol

• Registered Users Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭I says

Kevhog1988 wrote: »
    Changed my name from theemigrant as ive been moved home about 3 years at this stage lol

Welcome again

• Registered Users Posts: 76 ✭✭F5500

How's it going lads. Returning poster here. Living in the West.

I'm 26 and a secondary teacher myself. The father's a full time suckler farmer. We calf 50 cows, mostly CH and LM crosses. We do a nice bit of baling locally during the summer and the odd small bit of slurry and hedges the rest of the year. I've 2 brothers who help out.

Long term plan is to stay teaching and feel our way with what kind of numbers we'll get to calf along with working full time, probably won't keep up at the 50. Keep the contracting going too and maybe drive it on a bit.

Looking forward to getting to know ye all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭NcdJd

Better introduce myself. Long time lurker on boards. Have a full time job but building up to go back into specialist vegetable variety production. Building up the infrastructure for the last couple of years, machinery finally sorted - irrigation infrastructure being my current headache! Most of the land will be rented as land is very expensive to purchase where I'm based and makes no sense to have large loans hanging over me . My father used to do this for a living but due to an illness in the family had to give it up. I can see the spark back in his eye and is out supervising :) Will make a go of it and see what happens as they say.

• Registered Users Posts: 59 ✭✭ESetter

Part time farmer with a few dry stock..looking for a few tips from you all. Thanks!

• Registered Users Posts: 16 Holly Tree Farm

Hi all, been living in Ireland now for 4 years, moved here from Manchester in the UK, after retiring to live the good life. So far we have sheep, pedigree Oxford Sandy and Black pigs, Aylesbury ducks, both for meat and the eggs and chickens. All providing us with meat and eggs for the year. Still learning the ropes and now applying for a herd number for cattle. Looking for a couple of Dexter heifers, once we get the herd number, suites the amount of land that we have compared to other cattle. Looking forward to gaining more knowledge from others on here!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,543 ✭✭✭mayota

Sounds good, welcome to the forum.

• Registered Users Posts: 1 Ifs buts and maybes

Hello all,

Long term lurker on Boards taking an odd look in on Farming ,Sports and Music forums mainly as those areas hold interest for me.

Farm part-time on a Suckler cow and sheep farm on marginal to reasonable quality land with too long of a winter housing period for my liking:)......but shur where would we be in the farming game if we weren't giving out about something!

Have picked up some useful tips from looking in here so intend on hoping to help others out by posting my two cents every now and again.

• Registered Users Posts: 142 ✭✭jaginsligo

Hi guys, longer term reader but never posted. Based in Sligo and been helping my uncle with farming duties for the last 10 years. Sadly he passed away in January and we have been named to inherit the farm. Its 30 acres 15 reasonable good 15 wet, needs a good bit of tidying up at this stage. Going to plague ye with questions for the next while

• Registered Users Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

jaginsligo wrote: »
    Hi guys, longer term reader but never posted. Based in Sligo and been helping my uncle with farming duties for the last 10 years. Sadly he passed away in January and we have been named to inherit the farm. Its 30 acres 15 reasonable good 15 wet, needs a good bit of tidying up at this stage. Going to plague ye with questions for the next while

Good man, much better to be inside the tent pissing out than outside pissing in.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,202 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

jaginsligo wrote: »

Hi and Welcome. Condolences on the passing of your uncle. It’s a great spot and a lot are willing to help. If I can help with my little bit of knowledge I have, I will.

• Registered Users Posts: 142 ✭✭jaginsligo

Hi and Welcome. Condolences on the passing of your uncle. It’s a great spot and a lot are willing to help. If I can help with my little bit of knowledge I have, I will.

Thanks guys