Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Strokestown **Mod Note in Post #4461**

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

A level head onto the bridge of the nose for those bastards would be a measured response IMO.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,353 ✭✭✭corner of hells

hurler32 wrote: »
    Many of the present government of Fine Gael .. Charlie Flanagan etc would identify themselves as British so where’s the big deal ?

Wha ?

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

A level head onto the bridge of the nose for those bastards would be a measured response IMO.

I appreciate good wordplay. Nice. A loaf to the mush is a bit different than chopping people up or hanging them from lamp posts though and maybe would be a measure response.

• Registered Users Posts: 876 ✭✭✭bb12

gctest50 wrote: »
    Nobody held a shotgun to someones head and made them take out a loan

Sheer f****ing greed on the part of those who took out loans they couldn't pay

missing the total point entirely. the government is the snake oil salesman in this scenario and made promises of secure future income then pulled the rug from under them by removing milk quotas and putting the beef industry on the floor.

sure you can always trust what your government is promising and telling you, can't you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Omackeral wrote: »
    I appreciate good wordplay. Nice. A loaf to the mush is a bit different than chopping people up or hanging them from lamp posts though!

....as they'd do unto you.

Patww79 wrote: »
    ....as they'd do unto you.

Sure ok Pat.

Omackeral wrote: »
    Sure ok Pat.

Not engaging with that any more. There's a few of you at that tactic here but you can all go and lie in your piss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 451 ✭✭hurler32

yeah, but 800 years

Country is partitioned for last 100 years thanks to Loyalists and their southern backers in Fine Gael

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,221 ✭✭✭pablo128

bb12 wrote: »
    missing the total point entirely. the government is the snake oil salesman in this scenario and made promises of secure future income then pulled the rug from under them by removing milk quotas and putting the beef industry on the floor.

sure you can always trust what your government is promising and telling you, can't you?

What about all the people buying houses and then the govt run the country into the ground and introduce property tax. Does that mean anyone who got into difficulty didn't have to pay their mortgage. Were they safe from eviction? Were they fcuk.

I have sympathy for these people who were evicted as it happens. I'm not a heartless bastard. The bills still have to be paid though.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,311 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

Can a bar hire bouncers from companies based outside Ireland to police their premises without the need to wear ID badges?

https://www.psa.gov.ie/en/PSA/Pages/id_badges

This.

If these 'private security contractors' are legit, let them follow the rule of law like everyone else. A heavy gang who on gbw original video can be seen clearly roughing up one individual in particular, while the attending garda can be heard to say 'it's on private property', nothing to do with me type thing.

It's interesting to note the reporting of this incident (in direct contrast to the non reporting of the incident on Tuesday, and the injuries received then). Reading RTE, these were poor innocent security guards who were set upon by a rabble of ne'r do Wells, rather than a hardened band of mercenary heavies who threw their weight around in the same location a couple of days ago.

A post above talks about greedy bastards borrowing too much and not being able to pay it back..... that description applies to banks more than anyone else in this country. There is a difference between the law and justice

• Registered Users Posts: 976 ✭✭✭greenfield21

you need to look at the bigger picture. the government along with all their agriculture agencies actively pushed farmers over the last few years to increase output to meet their 2020 goals. they actively encouraged farmers to go to their banks to get loans to modernise their farms to increase outputs and the banks were encouraged by the government to give away money. then the milk quotas were removed so the price of milk plummeted, the beef industry is monopolised by one beef baron so that market is also now on the floor and as a result of being led up the garden path by the government and all their advisors, farmers are now losing their farms.

the courts are not behaving the way they should be in these evictions and the rule of law is not being followed...but how does an elderly farmer from the middle of nowhere go up against this machine to obtain real justice? just look at what that guy on his farm beside intel in kildare has been put through.

there is a 21st century land grab happening right under our noses and yet most of you still bay for blood taking the bankers sides.

Where has the money gone that he has invested. Can he sell machinery livestock etc. This has nothing to do with farmers expanding. Farmers are in a great postion now, low interest rates asset appreciation, subsidys etc. I'd say it's a complete disregard for the banks that caused this.

Tell us what he owes and for how long etc. Then we'll get a better idea.

• Registered Users Posts: 282 ✭✭Bubblegummers

Not engaging with that any more. There's a few of you at that tactic here but you can all go and lie in your piss.

Sorry Wolfe tone. We will leave you to instigate a new border campaign with your followers- That be when you stop kneecapping youths up north and taxing drug dealers down south. Wherever do you find the time.

You sound like a reasonable chap.

Sorry Wolfe tone. We will leave you to instigate a new border campaign with your followers- That be when you stop kneecapping youths up north and taxing drug dealers down south. Wherever do you find the time.

That was nothing to do with you. It's the condescending tactic when there's nothing to add that I was referring to so run along and be offended elsewhere, you weren't being referenced at all.

Allinall wrote: »
    If they borrowed money against the house or land, then it was a mortgage, regardless of what generation they are.

The bank would have gone through a lengthy process to arrive at this point.

It was an inherently stupid move by the bank. Co. Roscommon has some of the lowest property and land valuations in the state. Local opinion will also insure that this house and land will never be sold, so the bank will make nothing from this repossession.

That was nothing to do with you. It's the condescending tactic when there's nothing to add that I was referring to so run along and be offended elsewhere, you weren't being referenced at all.

I asked you a question then you referenced a few of us here. I’ll ask again- is there any proof that these are loyalist paramilitaries.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,221 ✭✭✭pablo128

17-pdr wrote: »
    It was an inherently stupid move by the bank. Co. Roscommon has some of the lowest property and land valuations in the state. Local opinion will also insure that this house and land will never be sold, so the bank will make nothing from this repossession.

What would your solution have been?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,521 ✭✭✭Allinall

17-pdr wrote: »

What were the bank supposed to do?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,505 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

So you want the government to guarantee farmers conditions, since when were farmers public sector?

Not use loyalist terrorists in this state for a start anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,519 ✭✭✭Topgear on Dave

Looks professional, all wearing body cameras and they are fairly careful with the bucks they are throwing out.

Id love to know the back story on it, the guards say there is a court order in the video and yer man is denying it :pac:

I dont know why the banks still lend to farmers, this always happens when it goes bad.

*** Oh and I love it online when their is a repo down south and they blame security from "the north" as if being from the north is some kind of insult.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,140 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

Do you often lay in your own piss Pat?

No Ronan, I do not Ronan. Thank you for asking Ronan.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,519 ✭✭✭Topgear on Dave

1. Forget about the loan. :D

2. Dont lend to farmers.

Which they didn’t.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,140 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

No Ronan, I do not Ronan. Thank you for asking Ronan.

Thank you for clearing that up Pat.

What about republican terrorists? Have you any proof these are loyalist terrorists?

Which they didn’t.

Because RTÉ didn't say it was?

pablo128 wrote: »
    What would your solution have been?

Keep negotiating. Bringing in this crowd wasn't the way to do it. The bank haven't a hope of making a sale here. You do realise that?

What about republican terrorists? Have you any proof these are loyalist terrorists?

Of course he doesn’t.

Bigots never do.