Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Donegal Asylum Centre Torched

• Registered Users Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

CrankyHaus wrote: »
    Done well, a policy of dispersing refugees in small groups in rural towns with sufficient supports, community consultataion and employment opportunities may be an excellent idea.

Instead what the state seems to be doing is dumping groups into depressed towns with inadequate infrastructure and employment while putting in zero resourcing and community consultation. In fact it usually seems that well connected people whose hotel has hit the skids get a dig out from their buddies in government by filling it with refugees at taxpayers expense.

With the best will in the world from both the local community and the refugees such a policy is likely to result in future racial divisions and strife in many of these towns.

There sure doesn't seem to be a lot of the old community consultation going on.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

Geuze wrote: »
    Half of them have come from the UK.

Reading this ESRI report on AS, it seems that 50% of AS during 2015 were Indian and Pakistani men who arrived from the UK.

They were living in the UK, and went to Ireland to claim asylum.

Are these men fleeing persecution?

See section 3.4:

http://www.esri.ie/pubs/RS72.pdf

Ah the UK, that well known war zone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

Gravelly wrote: »
    That's a bit harsh, they're just trying to game the system by pretending to be fleeing a war zone, shure you can't blame them for trying it on.

Poor attempt.
    As you know, I meant the arsonists.
    Is arson all fine and dandy now?
    And again, a person was on the premises when the "heroes" started the fire.
    Scumbags.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

Anyone have any idea who is responsible for this? The police here are usually very good at getting to the bottom of this kind of thing, to be fair to them but given that it's a repeat occurrence, I suspect/fear that it's more than some local amateur scumbags.

• Registered Users Posts: 241 ✭✭MarkHenderson

Sir Oxman wrote: »
    Total ignorant scumbags.

That's a bit much? I don't blame the people it's the system that needs to change.

Gravelly wrote: »
    That's a bit harsh, they're just trying to game the system by pretending to be fleeing a war zone, shure you can't blame them for trying it on.

Sending them down to there is the perfect in that case. The locals down there are the creme de la creme when it comes to working the system.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

I'm ok with immigration and always have been, but as I've often said about many issues in recent years, the problem here is a total lack of tolerance for opposing views. If someone believes that we shouldn't allow any immigration into the country whatsoever for whatever reason, it's a view I'd disagree with personally but it's a perfectly legitimate political viewpoint. The problem is that people are not allowed to express that viewpoint, and there's no party or group of politicians who these people can vote for at election time if they want government policy to reflect those beliefs. That represents a fundamental democratic deficit, and in my view when that happens, incidents like this are the inevitable result - similar to how vigilantism is the inevitable result if the government is seen to either not enforce the law, or not outlaw things large proportions of the population want outlawed.

Ultimately it comes down to a lack of open, democratic debate around this issue. Nativism is a very widespread ideology which has come naturally to the human race since its earliest days. Forcing it under the surface and ostracising or punishing those who express views in favour of it is rather like creating a volcanic mantle plume - the ground above it might look calm and tranquil, but eventually the pressure of the plume will cause it to violently rupture.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 37,115 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

I'm ok with immigration and always have been, but as I've often said about many issues in recent years, the problem here is a total lack of tolerance for opposing views. If someone believes that we shouldn't allow any immigration into the country whatsoever for whatever reason, it's a view I'd disagree with personally but it's a perfectly legitimate political viewpoint. The problem is that people are not allowed to express that viewpoint, and there's no party or group of politicians who these people can vote for at election time if they want government policy to reflect those beliefs. That represents a fundamental democratic deficit, and in my view when that happens, incidents like this are the inevitable result - similar to how vigilantism is the inevitable result if the government is seen to either not enforce the law, or not outlaw things large proportions of the population want outlawed.

Ultimately it comes down to a lack of open, democratic debate around this issue. Nativism is a very widespread ideology which has come naturally to the human race since its earliest days. Forcing it under the surface and ostracising or punishing those who express views in favour of it is rather like creating a volcanic mantle plume - the ground above it might look calm and tranquil, but eventually the pressure of the plume will cause it to violently rupture.

I disagree completely. Threads on this site are overwhelmingly anti-immigrantion and there are anti-immigration parties all over Europe so there's no evidence of them being suppressed. Some of them are even in government.

You can't stop people expressing opinions. This "They call me racist" line is simply a fluff to hide the fact that they can't defend their opinions beyond repeating the same lines over and over again.

We sat again for an hour and a half discussing maps and figures and always getting back to that most damnable creation of the perverted ingenuity of man - the County of Tyrone.

H. H. Asquith

• Registered Users Posts: 2,669 ✭✭✭jay0109

Berserker wrote: »
    Ireland is paved with gold by world standards. Never knew they were expecting to be housed in a city. Any proof of this?

Did you see any of the news reports from Ballaghdereen over the past year or so? The Syrians bored out of their minds, saying they'd be there long enough and that they had expected they would be relocated to Dublin or other cities much quicker?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,983 ✭✭✭conorhal

https://m.independent.ie/entertainment/theatre-arts/no-irish-need-apply-theres-too-many-outsiders-in-top-arts-jobs-robert-ballagh-37701210.html

This article by Robert Ballagh made me laugh, the luvvies are revolting against 'all the furriners takin' der jerbs' in the arts and theatre, apparently the arts community is being swamped by an influx of forigners and it seems that no Irish need apply.
    If a taxi driver questions why he's competing with half of Pakistan or Nigeria however and he gets told to shut up.

It's another example of the left's 'rules for thee but not for me' hypocrisy.
    Perhaps we can solve this government disconnect by making it policy to site all new asylum centres next door to lefty luvvies like Ballagh, who is the artist BTW that designed that famous and iconic Che Guevara image that resides on the t-shirt of every numpty backing our daft asylum system.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭tretorn

Are we going to get hundreds of thousands of immigrants when Brexit goes through.

Will illegal immigrants want to stay in the uK if they wont have free travel in Europe eventually, ie stay long enough in the UK and you may be allowed to stay eventually and then travel wherever you like in the EU. I dont know anything about immigration laws in the UK but parts of London now have no white people at all, you can see some schools from the train from Holyhead to London and some of these schools have hundreds of pupils and they are all black. This doesnt sound like successful integration to me.

White Irish people will very quickly become a minority here if we allow anything like the numbers that the UK have allowed.

This would not be good for the native white irish person or their children and people have the right to hold onto to what they hold dear and for most people their Irish identity is important to them.

I really fear for the future.

ETA, I have no time for Irish travellers but to be fair there are some decent families waiting forever for the Government to provide them with accommodation. Its very unfair that young adult single men can climb on a rubber dinghy and attempt to break immigration laws and then some NGOS convince Governments to take these people and then they get better accommodation than Irish travellers. As far as I am concerned if Italy wont take these immigrants then let them stay on boats with NGOS in the Mediterranean for as long as it takes them to agree to go back where they came from. The other alternative is to tow them to Libya, taking them into Europe and dispersing them means you have another hundred encouraged to try their luck the next day.

tretorn wrote: »
    Are we going to get hundreds of thousands of immigrants when Brexit goes through.

No, the UK is going to continue to be a much desired destination for immigrants. Ireland is a very wealthy country and the welfare system is very generous, so it would be a desirable destination from that perspective but most asylums seekers are turned away from here. I could think of better places to go if I was an asylum seeker.
    White Irish people will very quickly become a minority here if we allow anything like the numbers that the UK have allowed.

This would not be good for the native white irish person or their children and people have the right to hold onto to what they hold dear and for most people their Irish identity is important to them.

It'd take a remarkable upsurge in the intake for Irish people to become the minority. Can you tell me what the Irish identity is? Also, who are these native white Irish people?

• Registered Users Posts: 15,727 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

I too would like to know how you qualify to be a 'native' Irish person? I assume Gaelic Irish and not one of those Anglo Norman blow-ins?

I am a native white Irish person descended from the vikings.

I have an allegiance to Ireland and no allegiance to Afghan, Somalia, Georgia, Nigeria or any North African country migrants are coming from.

Irish identity is to Irish way of life, Irish music, Irish authors, Irish Law, Irish constitution, other white Irish people with pale skin who look like me.

Ask any white European what their identity is and most will say it is their European values and way of life.

I dont know about remarkable upsurge, the official figures about the number of non nationals are a fallacy, are they taken from census figures.

You only have to go to West Dublin at school finishing time to see how many Africans are here, some Educate together primary schools in Tyrellstown are all black, the Whites have obviously taken flight to schools elsewhere. This is a total disaster and this part of Dublin will be like parts of Brussels and Paris in a few years.

The wealthy and influential in Dublin 4 dont care about that, they never have to visit West Dublin. Their main concern is making sure they keep their areas full of white wealthy people and their other concern is working out ways to keep their wealth in the family, ie how to buy houses in Dublin 4 for the children without the children being caught for inheritance tax.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭dav3

You're a blow-in. #vikingsnotwelcome

• Registered Users Posts: 3,557 ✭✭✭snotboogie

Will illegal immigrants want to stay in the uK if they wont have free travel in Europe eventually, ie stay long enough in the UK and you may be allowed to stay eventually and then travel wherever you like in the EU. I dont know anything about immigration laws in the UK but parts of London now have no white people at all, you can see some schools from the train from Holyhead to London and some of these schools have hundreds of pupils and they are all black. This doesnt sound like successful integration to me.

If there is a huge upsurge in immigration from the UK in the event of a no deal Brexit, it will likely be from EU nationals who's status will be under direct threat. I don't see why somebody from Pakistan or India would move from England to Ireland in the event of a no deal? The UK is a destination country, very few people go to the UK with the idea to move on to another EU country after they get citizenship.

• Registered Users Posts: 398 ✭✭DanMurphy

Feckin' Vikings. Hah, what did them hairy, horny, bearded feckers ever do for us?
    Came over here, took our wimmings, robbed our monks, plundered our willages and drowned our kings.
    Then, without a by-your-leave, mind, rowed away north - wards in their fjiord escorts.
    Vikings, hah...everyone knows that REAL irish are the horny feckin' tink.. tink... paavees...oops, ethnic travellers... in their fjiord transits.

The rest of us are just runners - in to the place and should stay very quiet....

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

dav3 wrote: »
    Why would some people think it’s locals who carry out these attacks?
    Probably a gang, not even Irish, certainly anti-Irish, running amok. Either that or it’s one of the poor mentally ill lads they send around the country making youtube videos of how terrible and scary asylum centres, refugees and non-whites are.

It's definitely the Amish.

I have an allegiance to Ireland and no allegiance to Afghan, Somalia, Georgia, Nigeria or any North African country migrants are coming from.

Irish identity is to Irish way of life, Irish music, Irish authors, Irish Law, Irish constitution, other white Irish people with pale skin who look like me.

Ask any white European what their identity is and most will say it is their European values and way of life.

I dont know about remarkable upsurge, the official figures about the number of non nationals are a fallacy, are they taken from census figures.

You only have to go to West Dublin at school finishing time to see how many Africans are here, some Educate together primary schools in Tyrellstown are all black, the Whites have obviously taken flight to schools elsewhere. This is a total disaster and this part of Dublin will be like parts of Brussels and Paris in a few years.

The wealthy and influential in Dublin 4 dont care about that, they never have to visit West Dublin. Their main concern is making sure they keep their areas full of white wealthy people and their other concern is working out ways to keep their wealth in the family, ie how to buy houses in Dublin 4 for the children without the children being caught for inheritance tax.

I've no issues talking about immigration policies but Jesus Christ you are caught up on colour fairly badly. I'd rather a sound brown fella than a close-minded ''pale white'' Irish wanker any day.

I identify as a white person and prefer to be around white people.

I am no different to black people or Asian people,they prefer to live among their own people too, hence big African populations in areas where there is lots of social housing or where housing is relatively cheap.

An acquaitance of mine is marrying a black woman and his ten year old niece told me she is disappointed he is marrying a white ugly woman,in the ten year old black childs eyes all white people are ugly, racism works both ways.

snotboogie wrote: »
    If there is a huge upsurge in immigration from the UK in the event of a no deal Brexit, it will likely be from EU nationals who's status will be under direct threat. I don't see why somebody from Pakistan or India would move from England to Ireland in the event of a no deal? The UK is a destination country, very few people go to the UK with the idea to move on to another EU country after they get citizenship.

The thought struck me a couple of months ago after hearing about a survey done in the UK, where 25 different constituencies conducted research to examine how Brexit will affect their areas. (please dont ask me for link, I heard it on BBC radio 2)

All the areas in question will suffer a large decrease in public services, and one area in particular reported that 70% of families from Eastern Europe have already returned to their home country.

The thought struck me that, for thousands of people, Ireland will look like an attractive alternative to having to stay in Brexit Britain, and many people will spill into this country, heaping more pressure on an already over-burdened health system etc.

EU's very existent borders = Silence

Trump's non-existent wall = Incoherent outrage

https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-46714553

I identify as a white person and prefer to be around white people.

There's a word for that. Everyone knows what is is but I'll refrain.

I love how you say you wanna be around whites only but then say;
    I am no different to black people or Asian people

The irony is lovely. Best is this though, when you speak for literally billions of people;
    they prefer to live among their own people too.

How can they simultaneously wanna only live among their own yet move away from their own country, which is presumably even more full of their own?! It's like Scrodinger's immigrant, stealing all our jobs but yet on welfare.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

LOL what is an Irish Way of life though. The majority in this country live in accommodation that is the same across the civiised world so it's not that. Can you elaborate what exactly you mean by this? Getting ratarsed in the pub at the weekend? Playing GAAball? What do you mean by "an Irish Way of Life"? Define it? It should be easy for you as you are so passionate about it.

Irish music, you are aware that there is a very strong train of thought that Irish music was heavily influenced by Arabic traders?

Irish Authors who write in English!

Irish Law & Constitution inherited from the Brits!

You see the only part of your whole rant that stands up is you are a insecure white bloke who judges people by appearances.

I grew up in Ireland of the 70's and 80's and it was a grim place. The majority who come to this country do so to improve their lives and they improve our society. We will always have issues and problems to get over but blaming immigrants or migrants for those problems is lazy and misplaced.

Blame our politicians and us for voting them in are to blame for the current Homelessness crisis. The health crisis is far more complex as you have to throw in the unions and everyone wanting full treatment options on their doorset as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,078 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Its a ridiculous idea sending refugees to places like this and the agency responsible do it because its a case of least resistance, well in their nice offices in Dublin they thought the locals would put up with it. They now know that foisting immigrants in rural backwaters won’t work ...

There is a hell of a lot to that statement.
    Berserker wrote: »
    Why is it ridiculous? Every time I hear people talking about rural Ireland, they come out with the same lines about rural Ireland dying and the need to draw people into these areas. Integrating these people into these communities is a great way to breathe new life into them.

So the solution is to dump 50-100 people from God knows where into a small village in the middle of nowhere with shag all future prospects of work or shag all current facilities.

How many people commenting here have actually been in Rooskey, bar driving past it on the bypass on the way to Sligo?

At this stage it almost looks like there is a concerted effort by state authorities to turn Roscommon into a refugee camp.
    Maybe it is the luvvie lefties revenge for the same sex marriage referendum vote. :rolleyes:

These locations have been chosen firstly because they have found some very willing hoteliers or more correctly ex hoteliers who want to make easy cash from their failed businesses and secondly because they are nowhere near a load of people of influence who will complain.

The sites are announced with no consultation with locals.

Now one can lambast the locals as being racists and the like, but then again maybe the locals have seen what has happened in some places in Germany, etc and maybe some of them don't want that for their locality.

Also maybe the locals have enough cop on to realise the local crumbling infrastructure and services can't even cope with their needs never mind the huge needs of people who have no existing natural local support infrastructure and who need supports to help them settle into a very foreign environment.

The lesson the state and the "refugee industry" (it is now very much an industry) should take out of this is you can't force stuff down people's throats without some backlashes.

Even if one looks at it from the "asylum seekers/refugees" viewpoint, what the fook are they expected to do in a small village in Roscommon ?
    Spend their days fishing on Shannon ?

I have come across the same thing in parts of Italy, where the state and "refugee industry" have dumped loads of people (primarily young males) in small towns and villages.
    They were either just hanging around, usually on mobiles which I couldn't understand how afforded them, or the more enterprising ones were hassling tourists selling tat.

Let me tell you there aren't that many tourists in Roscommon. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 241 ✭✭MarkHenderson

ETA, I have no time for Irish travellers but to be fair there are some decent families waiting forever for the Government to provide them with accommodation. Its very unfair that young adult single men can climb on a rubber dinghy and attempt to break immigration laws and then some NGOS convince Governments to take these people and then they get better accommodation than Irish travellers. As far as I am concerned if Italy wont take these immigrants then let them stay on boats with NGOS in the Mediterranean for as long as it takes them to agree to go back where they came from. The other alternative is to tow them to Libya, taking them into Europe and dispersing them means you have another hundred encouraged to try their luck the next day.

FG have already stated it's their policy to increase the population of the country by some 1 million people in a certain time frame. I think it's by 2040 but i am open to correction on that.

Native Irish people can not afford to have big families anymore. We are walking head first into a total disaster.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,423 ✭✭✭batgoat

FG have already stated it's their policy to increase the population of the country by some 1 million people in a certain time frame. I think it's by 2040 but i am open to correction on that.

Native Irish people can not afford to have big families anymore. We are walking head first into a total disaster.
    That's lower than the growth in the last 20 years....

Don't be under the illusion that its a FG policy thing. Canadian politicians have also announced their plans to expand their country's population, except in their case its triple the current population, 100 million by 2100 they reckon.
    Finance Minister’s key advisers want 100M Canadians by 2100

OTTAWA—Imagine Canada with a population of 100 million — roughly triple its current size.

For two of the most prominent voices inside the Trudeau government’s influential council of economic advisers, it’s much more than a passing fancy.

https://www.thestar.com/business/2016/10/23/finance-ministers-key-advisers-want-100m-canadians-by-2100.html

• Registered Users Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭chrissb8

Not in the current way now. There has to be reasonable action to intergrate communities. Events, workplaces etc. so each community can de mystify the other and find a balance of understanding.

Not shoved into a quaint rural community that is rightly to be aggreived that refugees are now on their door step. With no way to intergrate into the community because lack of housing, jobs and as a result the opportunity to be a part of a community.

Rural Ireland is dissapearing. You have the majority of young people getting out as soon as they can, half the village/town closed down or at least decent shops replaced by takeaways/bars/bookies. Let's not delude ourselves, there needs to be an injection of life and new blood in some places to shake things up.

I would be all for intergrating and reinvigorating these areas with much needed new blood. If people are worried about their way of life consider that they are still the outnumbered. And like most humans will want to understand and get on with having life in a new country.

After all we are a nation of emigration, it's in our history.

There are white people born here that would not be into Irish authors, music and the Irish way of life, whatever the later means. You appear to have an issue with skin colour. Most people who visit or live here abide by the law of the land. Not sure what that has to do with the national identity.
    jmayo wrote: »
    So the solution is to dump 50-100 people from God knows where into a small village in the middle of nowhere with shag all future prospects of work or shag all current facilities.

No, a possible solution is to send them to these locations, open up new business and facilities and revive these ghost towns.