Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Margaret Cash steals €300 worth of clothes from Penneys and aftermath/etc!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

You just do not want to the see the point I am making, that is all.
    As far as you are concerned there is nothing positive in the traveller culture at all they should all ape the settled community.
    Because the settled community is perfect.

I believe there is so much more overwhelmingly negative in the travelling community that pointing out the positives is pointless (the point I made above that went over your head). A "culture" that has so many negatives, leading to early death and widespread disablement and birth defects, as well as huge incarceration figures in it's own community, and terror and death in the settled community, is not worth praising. Traveller culture is simply family-based criminality. Your sentence about "aping" the settled community is telling - they need to "ape" our levels of employment and living within the law, or find a way to support themselves - why should we fund a lifestyle that leeches off us?

• Registered Users Posts: 18,218 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Basically, and stay with me here, its a load of sh*te.
    http://www.iprt.ie/restorative-justice

It does seem like a ticking the boxes exercise, in fairness.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,218 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Gravelly wrote: »
    Your sentence about "aping" the settled community is telling - they need to "ape" our levels of employment and living within the law, or find a way to support themselves - why should we fund a lifestyle that leeches off us?

It is up to the department of social welfare and law enforcement to find any fraud or criminality in any community.
    Like any disadvantaged socio-economic group the travellers mindset on education has to change.
    But as I said in another post if there is no real interaction between the communities that will take much longer to change.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,184 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

So you are going to ignore the last line. :D

Which shows all the 'typical's' and 'often's' to that was nothing but a smokescreen to the posters true beliefs.
    The mask slipped.
    It is not a virtue of the travaller culture to beat women.
    The is a view by the poster which is no other then a line routed purely in prejudice.
    Which is sad, for all the posters education (in comparison to the travellers generally) his/her prejudice wins out.

You are ignoring the reality of facts that have been posted numerous times on this and similar threads.

Young traveller girls are routinely taken out of education around the age of 12
    Young traveller girls are routinely married off to close relatives before the age of 18.
    Married traveller girls and women take up a hugely disproportionate share of places in womens' refuges
    Young traveller women are routinely turned into baby factories.

That isn't any kind of positive family culture or any acceptable cultural treatment of women. I accept that you admire that type of family culture and the way that traveller women are treated, that is your right. It is a harkening back to the type of Ireland where women knew their place, to the era of De Valera and Oliver J. Flanagan. Some men want that era to return and are nostalgic for it. You are entitled to share that nostalgia, the rest of us are entitled to be sickened by your nostalgia.

All of the above statements have been backed up with evidence from the CSO, from statistical reports, from independent information.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭xi5yvm0owc1s2b

It is up to the department of social welfare and law enforcement to find any fraud or criminality in any community.

It is first and foremost the public's responsibility to report suspected criminality or fraud to the authorities. The Guards can't sit outside everyone's house 24/7 in case someone breaks in. They rely on members of the public to inform them of suspicious activity.

This happens regularly in settled communities, through programmes such as Neighbourhood Watch and the like. But it rarely happens in Traveller communities, because there is a more widespread tolerance for criminality, fraud, and antisocial behavior in those communities.

Like any disadvantaged socio-economic group the travellers mindset on education has to change.
    But as I said in another post if there is no real interaction between the communities that will take much longer to change.

So the travelers have no responsibility themselves, no?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭dont bother

You just do not want to the see the point I am making, that is all.
    As far as you are concerned, there is nothing positive in the traveller culture at all they should all ape the settled community.
    Because the settled community modern lifestyle is perfect in your view.

But to me there are also aspects that the Traveller community have which are positive, which the settled community have lost. Many intangibles as I have already mentioned, as well as tangibles such as language (which I know a lot don't speak) but they created it.

so Gorm(less)....
    have you stopped for a second to think this:
    the reason the traveller mothers are at home and not working is because they are tax dodgers who dont have to work cos they get all their money free and possibly from other illegitimate sources.

do you not think there are people in the settled community that dont have to work due to being rich etc, that stay at home with their kids?

or how about everyone in the settled community just does what the tinkers do, and stop working, suck the states teat and rob people blind. would you think it's a "positive" of society if everyone was doing it? no you wouldnt, becuase it's not right that way.

the traveller mothers are not actually doing a good job either in my mind - they have a LOT of children and they coop them up inside shoddy caravans all day, all night, there's minimal facilities on site, and the kids are left to play with rubbish and fires and go out robbing, or whatever else to pass the time. that is not my idea of good parenting.

so all the guff you're giving about saying that it's a better way of raising children is a load of nonsense - if a settled person treated their kids the way that traveller parents do, they would have TUSLA knocking on the door in minutes.

just accept defeat. there Are NO redeming qualities to this so called "culture"

...the kids are left to play with rubbish and fires and go out robbing, or whatever else to pass the time.

Apparently that is better than children being left in the care of professional childminders while their career-obsessed parents are at work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭dont bother

Apparently that is better than children being left in the care of professional childminders while their career-obsessed parents are at work.

Apparently so - and sure arent ALL settled people part time parents who let their kids be minded by strangers - every last one of the "settled community"
    even childless people are part time parents - their settled people, so they must be.

Apparently so - and sure arent ALL settled people part time parents who let their kids be minded by strangers - every last one of the "settled community"
    even childless people are part time parents - their settled people, so they must be.

It's amusing that someone can make sweeping generalizations about the settled community -- with its "part-time" parents and its "manufactured" families -- and then complain in the same breath about the stereotyping of Travellers.

• Registered Users Posts: 882 ✭✭✭JPCN1

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    I loved the story recently where two lads brazenly having a fight just outside a major Garda Station

A mother gets her son to video it whilst she goes and threatens the other mother

The son is delighted with his Dad fighting and that he won't back down to no one.

whilst some other kids in the car are obviously distraught at the scene

https://www.thesun.ie/news/3341371/two-men-battering-galway-road/

"Gwan my daddy"

"My father will never give in for nobody. Never in his life will he give in."

"Yes, daddy. Go on, dad. Come on, my father.”

" Leave him for dead".

fantastic culture that has been passed onto that boy

What utter savagery. Enough of it but the Party of law and order has sadly become the party of ducking and diving.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭It wasnt me123

I'm not sure having Margaret Cash go into Pennys to apologise is going to work.

I can understand this working if the crime is committed against an individual or group of people - big department stores are seen as fair game against people who steal.

I like the idea though, make people confront the people they have done wrong to, listen to how that impacted the "victim/survivor" and acknowledge what they've done.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

We must introduce them to this trendy new fad called school.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,748 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

We must introduce them to this trendy new fad called school.

Would that not make those parents part-time parents too? Kids spending hours being looked after by teachers. Terrible parenting.

I neber schooled meself from day one and luck at uz now.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,619 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

I've tried to be all human and understanding but fail spectacularly where Margaret Cash is the individual concerned.

God she's an odious self entitled pig.

p.s. Would anyone ride her?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,748 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Strange things can happen after a few pints ;)

I've tried to be all human and understanding but fail spectacularly where Margaret Cash is the individual concerned.

God she's an odious self entitled pig.

Someone has at least 8 times. If you're a knacker that's just gotten out of the clink, she probably looks like Marilyn Monroe.

• Registered Users Posts: 719 ✭✭✭Gwen Cooper

Oh come on guys. Let’s judge her behavior here, not her looks.

It's not her looks though, it's the whole whining, screeching, thieving, self-entitled, nasty package.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,619 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

But isn't this place all about discussion?

Agreed. She's a perfectly attractive woman, physically speaking. But it's her behavior, attitude, and sense of entitlement that have her in the news, not her appearance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Yeah I actually think she’s a cracker. It’s everything else about her that’s vile and disgusting

• Registered Users Posts: 24,267 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Agreed. She's a perfectly attractive woman, physically speaking. But it's her behavior, attitude, and sense of entitlement that have her in the news, not her appearance.

waitwhat.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Also I nearly forgot the working parents educate thier children which is great.
    But it also cannot be ignored that many working parents treat thier educators as handy childminders while they are at work.

I wonder are these the same settled people that are often dumping their gick on Traveller sites.

Unreal. One of the most outlandish things I've read in some time.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,461 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Yeah I actually think she’s a cracker. It’s everything else about her that’s vile and disgusting

Calm down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Well some have at least 7 times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭gwalk

Her cousins

• Registered Users Posts: 6,032 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

careful folks don't want to get the thread shut down

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    careful folks don't want to get the thread shut down

So you're saying I shouldn't link to traveller fetish videos on pornhub?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,032 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

Probably not lol

I do think it's better to focus on her behavior, attitude, and sense of entitlement etc rather than looks