Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Catastrophic condition of roads in Cork city (pic heavy thread)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 772 ✭✭✭the dark phantom

Excellent photos, Well done..
    Traffic lights are the only road infrastructure that Cork City Council care about, If a light gets damaged or fails it will be repaired immediately. Corks road surfaces are woeful when I'm driving I feel like I'm on a safari with my car bouncing along Corks potholes.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,726 ✭✭✭Diabhalta

Satisfied rd., Wilton

They just keep filling the potholes and it leads nowhere. They overfill them and now it's just big bumps on the road. RESURFACE!

Screenshot_20180602-163856.png

• Registered Users Posts: 694 ✭✭✭jackrussel

they did those resurfacing patches on south douglas road road last year. pure ****ing disaster, up & down & up & down. outside centra on SDR is especially bad. the T junction into Nemo was in a terrible state but they seem to have fixed it somewhat. i must head out & get some pics for ye because they're in such bad condition around here.

Daily motorcyclist and cyclist here in Dublin. The state of the roads in the city is absolutely abysmal the past few years. Seems almost on par with what you have down in Cork. The overall quality is nowhere near good enough and some of the craters are just like in your first picture, inches deep and near lethal on two wheels.

I know! I was cycling a bit recently as the weather got better and it is actually dangerous! Few times I lost balance. Imagine falling when a car is passing you. I have to constantly watch the road slaloming around all the potholes and bumps.

I think now is the time to act! Let's go out there and take pictures and email them to the city council. Let's send them to Evening echo, Journal.ie etc. It's getting ridiculous!

• Registered Users Posts: 270 ✭✭shivermetimber

Diabhalta wrote: »
    I know! I was cycling a bit recently as the weather got better and it is actually dangerous! Few times I lost balance. Imagine falling when a car is passing you. I have to constantly watch the road slaloming around all the potholes and bumps.

Cycling can be tricky alright but I've even burst a fork seal and rear tyre on the motorbike here in the past year!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,336 ✭✭✭ofcork

Even one lane of the grand parade is gone bad.

ofcork wrote: »
    Even one lane of the grand parade is gone bad.

Oh the contrast of the brand new shiny shopping centre and the shi**y road just outside of it. They keep repairing it and it leads nowhere. Ridiculous.

• Registered Users Posts: 694 ✭✭✭jackrussel

https://imgur.com/a/e8tzFKZ

just easier to share an imgur link. these pics are taken of Cross douglas road, douglas road, Rosebank road & south douglas road block route. its 1.7km according to google - didn't realize it was that much.

• Registered Users Posts: 647 ✭✭✭corcaigh1

Diabhalta wrote: »
    You see the thing is that you shouldn't remember where all the potholes/cracks are. The roads should be 100% smooth everywhere. It's very expensive to run a car in Ireland at the moment so in return the roads should be excellent.

In central Europe (countries like Poland, Czech rep., Slovakia, Hungary) the motor tax is included in the petrol price. The roads are very good over there. Occasionally you might end up driving over a pothole but it's a rare occurrence. The busiest roads in bigger and smaller cities are perfect.

So when I compare roads in Cork city to those roads over there it seems like we are in Asia, not in Western Europe.

I don't understand how somebody spends thousands of euros on a brand new car and then drives it in Cork. That's just absurd.

Winning in lottery let's say €100M there's no way I would live here. Driving a brand new Lamborghini or Ferrari in Cork? Pffff hahaha :D:D lol that's just not possible. There are other places in Europe with much better infrastructure than Cork city.

Really, is that true??

I was driving through that Lee rd. X Western rd. junction recently and the expletives that came out of my mouth was no ones business, shocking...

It is absolutely disgraceful the cut of the roads in Cork and Ireland of late. I drive my car on the roads every day and im always vexed over the state of the roads in cork city & suburbs and I drive an early noughties car so I can only imagine driving a new Audi or BMW having to navigate around the fu*king mess...

Im also a biker but have been off the bikes the last few years. My biker mates have been giving out stink, one of them bought a brand new sports bike this year and is giving serious thought to selling it again such is the state of the roads in the countryside so its not just the city roads in ****e, its sickening really and serious pressure should be put on the councils and government over it...

• Registered Users Posts: 629 ✭✭✭Tommyboy40

I drive most of these roads daily. If a Garda was behind me he'd breathalyse me for swerving all over the road! That sickening crunch when you hit a pothole. I've just dropped €2,665 replacing a shock and a wheel bearing and pay €1850 tax. It seems that some roads are well looked after and others not at all

• Registered Users Posts: 647 ✭✭✭corcaigh1

Tommyboy40 wrote: »
    I drive most of these roads daily. If a Garda was behind me he'd breathalyse me for swerving all over the road! That sickening crunch when you hit a pothole. I've just dropped €2,665 replacing a shock and a wheel bearing and pay €1850 tax. It seems that some roads are well looked after and others not at all

€2.665!! wtf are you driving a rolls royce phantom!!?

Blarney street, outside Gala shop

20180604_202438.jpg

20180604_202501.jpg

20180604_202503.jpg

Heading to town on Blarney st., outside the school

20180604_150641.jpg

20180604_150746.jpg

20180604_150755.jpg

20180604_150758.jpg

20180604_150819.jpg

20180604_150919.jpg

20180604_150924.jpg

20180604_150956.jpg

one question. Why?

20180604_151039_0.jpg

20180604_151116.jpg

20180604_151124.jpg

20180604_151222.jpg

20180604_151244.jpg

20180604_151318.jpg

20180604_151325.jpg

No road markings?

20180604_151346.jpg

20180604_151411.jpg

20180604_151435.jpg

Cycling over this at 30kmh is certainly something extraordinary. Thanks Cork city council.

20180604_151450.jpg

20180604_151511.jpg

just mess...

20180604_151534.jpg

20180604_151558.jpg

20180604_151653.jpg

20180604_151810.jpg

junction with Upper Cattle Market st.

20180604_151843.jpg

Farren's Quay X Shandon st.

20180604_152106.jpg

Cycling lane on Farren's Quay, massive bumps right there..

20180604_152140.jpg

Cornmarket st.

This bit was lower then rest of the road after some roadworks. Then they went back and just didn't level it with the rest of the road:

20180604_152416.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭wally1990

You should see the absolute state of the road outside Blarney (the children’s park)
    Coming from
    Dublin pike direction into blarney and turn left at the park there

The whole road is in an absolutely awful condition ! Huge holes

Patrick street.

Resurfaced about 6 months ago?

20180604_160231.jpg

20180604_160153.jpg

wally1990 wrote: »
    You should see the absolute state of the road outside Blarney (the children’s park)
    Coming from
    Dublin pike direction into blarney and turn left at the park there

The whole road is in an absolutely awful condition ! Huge holes

Fella at work was actually telling me about it yesterday. Take some pics, email them to the council. I am sure it will be sorted out in no time, maybe next year.

Take a good look everyone.

Grand parade, Cork city:

20180604_160630.jpg

20180604_160628.jpg

20180604_160539.jpg

20180604_160617.jpg

20180604_160521.jpg

20180604_160755.jpg

20180604_160833.jpg