Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Gangland Shootings [Mod Note in Post #1]

• Registered Users Posts: 112 ✭✭LENNY86

It was choco

boombang wrote: »
    Policing DCH's funeral is going to be a serious challenge if the reports that this was an attempt on a Kinnehan gang member are correct. That would make things a tinderbox.

Crazy stuff. Can only imagine the Garda overtime bill.

Nothing to do with the Kinahan.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Not much of a life being in these notorious gangs, is it?
    I know the rationalization will be the moneys good, you don't have to get up early and work for dick head of a manager... That said you're not going to get shot for clocking in and out for Tesco.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭redarmy

LENNY86 wrote: »
    It was choco
    holic??

• Registered Users Posts: 11,215 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

It was choco

Lozano?

Suckit wrote: »

Well I can tell you 100% it's not.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,154 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Was it a proper gun used or some amateur shotgun attack?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭TallGlass

Two people shot in incident - one an innocent bystander

****ing morons, do the Garda not learn anything? What's the point in that ERU unit for Dublin, anytime I see them there are just cruising around having the crack, totally pointless. Money should have been invested in the front line Garda, they are going to be going in with nothing. All well and good telling them to wait around while some brain dead halfwit is running around with an uzi.

AGS is not fit for purpose on all levels at this stage. Yeah they have wins against them, but this just doesn't wash, public events and these lads gunning each other down, where are we living Colombia or something?

And just to add, as a tax payer I am sick of this crap. Government seriously need to deal with this now, and lock the lot of them up, border line domestic terrorism at this stage.

Was it a proper gun used or some amateur shotgun attack?

Sounds like a handgun used. Listening to Inurses. Shotgun hitting the wrist wouldn't be minor.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

It was choco

Choco b?

• Registered Users Posts: 28,391 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Shocked as this as a girl I work with is closely involved with a boxing club as her husband coaches and one of the club boxers is fighting in one of the finals tomorrow and she was going to watch.

She said jokingly that she was a little worried as a Hutch family member was also fighting.

Said he's know as a very nice lad, who just focuses on boxing is not involved in gangland crap but has to <snip> Poor lad is only 18/19.

Also said that undercover gardai do attend events he was involved with and the ARU unit have been at the National Stadium before.

A bit chilling to hear the news tonight after our chat today. Hopefully no bystanders are injured.

I also hate people saying 'let the scumbag just kill each other' as they are not all scumbags as any distant family member is now a target but also it would be very traumatising for people at tonight's event to witness a shooting, especially kids.

Sometihng has to be done to stop it.

• Registered Users Posts: 12 john_galt

So who was fighting tonight ?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭em_cat

anewme wrote: »
    Passed by that area at that time today. Grew up there. Probably missed it by less than 5 minutes.

Terrible for ordinary people trying to live amongst that ****.

Yes it is. But I’m not very ordinary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,360 ✭✭✭NollagShona

murpho999 wrote: »
    Shocked as this as a girl I work with is closely involved with a boxing club as her husband coaches and one of the club boxers is fighting in one of the finals tomorrow and she was going to watch.

She said jokingly that she was a little worried as a Hutch family member was also fighting.

Said he's know as a very nice lad, who just focuses on boxing is not involved in gangland crap but has to <snip>Poor lad is only 18/19.

Also said that undercover gardai do attend events he was involved with and the ARU unit have been at the National Stadium before.

A bit chilling to hear the news tonight after our chat today. Hopefully no bystanders are injured.

I also hate people saying 'let the scumbag just kill each other' as they are not all scumbags as any distant family member is now a target but also it would be very traumatising for people at tonight's event to witness a shooting, especially kids.

Should you be posting this information?

• Registered Users Posts: 398 ✭✭Panjandrums

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭Klinkhammer

Very ignorant and a poor attitude to have towards armed guards. The responsibility that they hold puts alot of strain on their lives, the least you could do is have some respect for them.

In fairness they just seem to drive up South William Street all night. It's not exactly a high risk area.

• Registered Users Posts: 252 ✭✭foxatron

In fairness they just seem to drive up South William Street all night. It's not exactly a high risk area.

In fairness, you mustnt get out much, ive seen them all over Dublin.

foxatron wrote: »
    In fairness, you mustnt get out much, ive seen them all over Dublin.

I spent every Friday night sitting on my hole outside Grogans for long enough to know that's their preferred route.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

murpho999 wrote: »

Said he's know as a very nice lad, who just focuses on boxing is not involved in gangland crap but has to <snip> Poor lad is only 18/19.

Mod note:Hi folks. Could I please ask that you take care posting potentially identifying information about individuals here? It can have serious consequences.

Thanks in advance,

Buford T. Justice

• Registered Users Posts: 4,937 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

I spent every Friday night sitting on my hole outside Grogans for long enough to know that's their preferred route.

Isn't it terrible that there is a regular Garda presence on a busy street with lots of bars on it on a Friday night.

Cool_CM wrote: »
    Isn't it terrible that there is a regular Garda presence on a busy street with lots of bars on it on a Friday night.

No, it's not terrible at all. Not sure why it's these lads though. I'd argue that it's probably the safest street in Dublin City centre so surely a couple of normal Garda on foot patrolling would suffice. I've never seen so much as a slap being dealt out in well over a decade drinking there.

• Registered Users Posts: 398 ✭✭Panjandrums

It's the most direct route to Harcourt Street where SDU CAB and other specialist units are based

If that's the reason that's fair enough.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,937 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

No, it's not terrible at all. Not sure why it's these lads though. I'd argue that it's probably the safest street in Dublin City centre so surely a couple of normal Garda on foot patrolling would suffice. I've never seen so much as a slap being dealt out in well over a decade drinking there.

Absolutely, but I would imagine that it is less to do with the prospect of some drunken brawl and more to do with things like this.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,362 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

By all accounts it looks like a totally amateur attempt? That is even more worrying for the safety of innocents.

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Registered Users Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Just part of life now apparently. Didn't even get a mention in the 10am news on RTE. !!

• Registered Users Posts: 141 ✭✭Thesomersarms

Hacks all over the place on this latest shooting, loads going around that it was a major playor in kinahan gang, not so, front of star has photo and names injured party

• Registered Users Posts: 28,391 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Should you be posting this information?
    Mod note:Hi folks. Could I please ask that you take care posting potentially identifying information about individuals here? It can have serious consequences.

Thanks in advance,

Buford T. Justice

Sorry, but I am saying nothing that has not already been reported in the national media as shown in these Irish Independent and Irish Times articles which states that a Hutch family member is fighting today.

I wouldn’t have posted if this info was not already out there.