Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ah, poor RTE is playing we have no money.....

• Registered Users Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Edgware

What about R.T.E.s Mission to Prey?
    Pure ****e where they jumped the gun, slandered a decent priest despite he offering to prove his innocence by doing a D.N.A. test.
    Typical R.T.E. arrogance ignored this and ended up paying hundreds of thousands in compensation and legal fees. The usual gob****es of licence fee payers footed the bill

• Registered Users Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Edgware

That was horrible. A real low point for Irish journalism. Their newsroom has always tended towards the gutter, but Vincent Browne's show was the sort of analytic (often to the point of being quite turgid) current affairs broadcasting that RTE should be doing, rather than anodyne shite like Claire Byrne Live and that awful Brendan O'Connor show.

Browne is another lefty rich **** all for John Connors and his clan but no Hiace pulled up outside his house while the driver and pals rip off senior citizens. And the ***** who think he is good are worse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

Edgware wrote: »
    Browne is another lefty rich **** all for John Connors and his clan but no Hiace pulled up outside his house while the driver and pals rip off senior citizens. And the ***** who think he is good are worse

Thanks for the random incoherent rant.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,459 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

howiya wrote: »
    in a couple of minutes times there'll be someone wheeled out to summarise the newspapers on morning Ireland. They'll return at 08:12 for another few minutes. Why can't Dobbo or one of the presenters do this segment. Far too many people working on one two hour long show.

You'll love this :rolleyes: they were (may still be) contracting someone on a daily rate for that segment.

• Registered Users Posts: 481 ✭✭mr.anonymous

Main evening news by State broadcaster:

RTE
    2 (opposite sex) news readers. 1 sports reader. Studio crew presumably. At least 4 ad breaks of ~5 mins. Repeat headlines after each break. Going live to reporters scattered around the country. Weather sponsored and provided by separate State body. 1 hour slot for 30 minutes work.

BBC
    1 news reader. Remote control cameras on rails in studio. 1 sports reader. Weatherman. No ads or sponsorship. Main evening news done in no more than 20 minutes (then regional news).

• Registered Users Posts: 17,912 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Why is the HQ on the most expensive real estate in Dublin? Sell that and relocate somewhere else it must be worth well north of 100 million.

Or just privatise it if there is any interested buyer.
    It's only the older generation watch it, it won't be missed if it went to the wall, not in this day and age where media is on demand.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Few things bring out the ire of mouth breathers more than the subject of RTÉ. A strong and independent state broadcaster is one of the strongest signals of a healthy democracy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Few things bring out the ire of mouth breathers more than the subject of RTÉ. A strong and independent state broadcaster is one of the strongest signals of a healthy democracy.

Do you actually think your attempt of provocation is relevant? It's a forum for comment , seriously what does your pathetic replies contribute?

• Registered Users Posts: 81,016 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

rob316 wrote: »
    Why is the HQ on the most expensive real estate in Dublin? Sell that and relocate somewhere else it must be worth well north of 100 million.

It's only the older generation watch it, it won't be missed if it went to the wall, not in this day and age where media is on demand.

Moving the HQ a half hour outside this might result in 'contractors' and 'lifer' staff having to spend an additional 20 minutes in their car going to their completely free and unsustainable parking place, the unions would block it like they do performing any actual work outside the news during summer school holidays.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,407 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

That was horrible. A real low point for Irish journalism. Their newsroom has always tended towards the gutter, but Vincent Browne's show was the sort of analytic (often to the point of being quite turgid) current affairs broadcasting that RTE should be doing, rather than anodyne shite like Claire Byrne Live and that awful Brendan O'Connor show.

Brown was an insufferable tyrant that abused his guests (unless he agreed with them).
    Asking the same question for ten minutes and obviously not getting an answer ain't analytical.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

They should stop paying the likes of Marian Finucane, Joe Duffy, Ryan Tubridy, Ray Darcy etc. astronomical wages. What do they do that is so important to justify their wages? Their jobs certainly don't warrant their salaries and the same applies to everyone else who works in RTE. Sort that out and then maybe that would be a start towards RTE saving money.
    Their wages should reflect their earning power. Tv stations make money on advertising. If your show pulls in enough viewers to pay your 400,000 a year salary, I've no problem with it. If it doesn't, off with you. They say they have to pay their "talent" top money otherwise they'll go elsewhere but that's sh!te. The ones like Graham Norton who can make it in the UK are few and far between. The rest of us peasants have to cut our cloth and RTE should be the same. Reduce the salaries and they wouldn't have to rely on license fees. Plenty of tv stations manage to run just fine without public assistance.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,461 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

A strong and independent state broadcaster is one of the strongest signals of a healthy democracy.

Yeah but this thread is about RTE.

• Registered Users Posts: 55 ✭✭Aceso

There are doctors getting paid less than Lottie Ryan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    Their wages should reflect their earning power. Tv stations make money on advertising. If your show pulls in enough viewers to pay your 400,000 a year salary, I've no problem with it. If it doesn't, off with you. They say they have to pay their "talent" top money otherwise they'll go elsewhere but that's sh!te. The ones like Graham Norton who can make it in the UK are few and far between. The rest of us peasants have to cut our cloth and RTE should be the same. Reduce the salaries and they wouldn't have to rely on license fees. Plenty of tv stations manage to run just fine without public assistance.

The Director General should lay it down very simply to the big names - Given RTE's budgetary constraints, we're cutting salaries by 50%.

That leaves you with three options:

1) Go to Virgin Media / Other Commercial entity - Enjoy lower production values, lower audience share, less support staff and considerably less job security.

2) Try your luck in Britain - Where many of the RTE talent would be fortunate to end up presenting the graveyard shift on BBC East Anglia & their performance will be subjected to far greater levels of scrutiny from station bosses, the press and public alike.

3) Agree a new contract with RTE and be thankful you're doing a cushy enough job, for many multiples of the average industrial wage.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,713 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

Aceso wrote: »
    There are doctors getting paid less than Lottie Ryan.

Yeah, but those doctors hadn’t a famous daddy who was well tied in to RTE

• Registered Users Posts: 10,905 ✭✭✭✭Bob24

I would say a strong, independent, and pluralist public broadcaster might be a good thing (being independent is nice and all, but if that independence leads to people who all think in the same way coopting each other and being allowed to have a publicly funded broadcaster only represent a small subset of opinions within the country in the name of that independence, I don’t call it public service and it is therefore not qualified to receive public funds anymore).

IMO RTÉ is neither independent nor pluralist, and might be beyond the point whereby the issues can be fixed. This is why even though I am in favour of having a public broadcaster in principle, I would be happy to have a referendum on scrapping RTÉ to apply maximal pressure on them and give them a last chance to reflect and change drastically before the vote, and I would not hesitate to vote to scrap it if I was not satisfied with the changes.

At the end of the day we are paying for RTÉ and if a majority of the country doesn’t think they are doing a good job, there is no reason to keep it.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,645 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

NIMAN wrote: »
    Wonder did Miriam feel any shame when the piece finished and it came back to her to finish the show?

I'd say not. She probably thinks she isn't being paid enough, what with being one of the nation's darlings.

She is a traitor to the planet for her contributions to overpopulation and over consumption.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

rob316 wrote: »

Thats a sensible idea. None of that talk allowed.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,706 ✭✭✭downtheroad

There was a competition on the Late Late show last night for a trip to New York, and the video promo for the competition had Tubridy at Dublin airport flying to New York just to stand outside a hotel and say you could stay here. They did the same with Marty Morrissey a couple of week ago during a GAA match. What a fierce waste of money, and no doubt they flew business class. Surely there's a green screen in Montrose that could have been used instead.

• Registered Users Posts: 992 ✭✭✭rightmove

Bob24 wrote: »
    IMO RTÉ is neither independent nor pluralist, and might be beyond the point whereby the issues can be fixed.

I agree with public broadcasting but think rte should be scrapped. Not sure we can really do it in this country tbh...2 words...lottie ryan

• Registered Users Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭The Tetrarch

There was a competition on the Late Late show last night for a trip to New York, and the video promo for the competition had Tubridy at Dublin airport flying to New York just to stand outside a hotel and say you could stay here. They did the same with Marty Morrissey a couple of week ago during a GAA match. What a fierce waste of money, and no doubt they flew business class. Surely there's a green screen in Montrose that could have been used instead.
    Are you saying they flew to New York?
    If so, was that to show the plebs that New York actually exists? :)

• Registered Users Posts: 992 ✭✭✭rightmove

They still haven't sent me the tickets to tir na og and the 5000 Schilling.....won the prize fairly. Told lottie to pull me out

Why is a television license paying for:

RTRadio One
    RTRaidi Gaeltachta
    RTLyric FM
    RTPerforming Groups
    Broadcasting Authority of Ireland levy
    BCI Sound and Vision fund
    Collection Costs from An Post/Communications and Social Protection Departments

Not to mention the orchestras!!!

Don't forget their ridiculous website that hoovers up all the Irish online advertising, annihilating any potential competition. I also dislike their reportonf style and the Mrs tells me there's loads of 'entertainment' news about shows on Virgin Media...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,706 ✭✭✭downtheroad

Oh yes, Ryan standing outside a hotel in Manhattan, a quick shot of Marty in Times Square. Sure whats 10 or 20 grand to RTE anyway, they'd be mad not to send the lads over to the big apple for a weekend.

randd1 wrote: »
    - Irish version of Takeshi's Castle/Wipeout, with genuinely funny and difficult obstacles, and without the bleeping for the cursing.
    - A series based on how alcohol affects you doing every day things. They do the thing normally first, then everyone has a feed drinks and then tries to them. Episodes would include driving (obviously on a race track and not at speed), 5 a side soccer, writing a business letter, making a dinner, riding a bike. A bit of a laugh and a bit educational too.
    - Satirical news show along the lines of Waterford Whispers.
    - Spoof comedy along the lines of Fr Ted based around a Sunday league team.
    - Simple question based game show where players start with 100 points and take points off each other until they eliminate each other.
    - For the sports enthusiast, a GAA magazine show during the summer. Talk to obscure clubs and players, local characters instead of the usual 10 or so people.
    - Visual programme about Irish wildlife/scenery. The TV3 drone over Ireland programme as a template.
    - Set aside 30 minutes a weekday evening for independently home produced programmes who are shown based on a competition. Meets the "assist Irish arts" criteria and costs them nothing bar a fraction of some of the higher ups wages in prize money.

Set up work experience programmes with various universities and IT's to take in a set number of media students every year to help run the programmes and cut costs. Can provide fresh blood/talent to the station as an aside

Some programmes and an idea for new blood/lower costs pulled out of my arse in the space of 5 minutes. Surely they can do actually better with a bit of planning.

These are all* great ideas. Get this man a job.

*Apart from the football comedy. I vaguely recall a BBC Scotland show along these lines

Our democracy is ****ed then

• Registered Users Posts: 537 ✭✭✭zeebre12

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    Yeah, but those doctors hadn’t a famous daddy who was well tied in to RTE

What is Lottie Ryan on?

zeebre12 wrote: »
    What is Lottie Ryan on?

I'm not sure I'm strong enough to resist this opening...

• Registered Users Posts: 55 ✭✭Aceso

What is Lottie Ryan on?

Erm....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

What is Lottie Ryan on?

For her sake, not what daddy was on.