Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No boozing on certain trains to the West

• 05-10-2018 12:50pm
    Registered Users Posts: 12,941 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

https://www.google.ie/amp/s/www.rte.ie/amp/1001158/

IE has banned the carriage on and purchase of alcohol on certain trains to Galway and Westport due to antisocial behaviour by a minority of people of these routes.
    They claim it's down to large groups on board at carts in times.
    I'm assuming it's stag and hen parties.
    Is this a step too far in a nanny state or justified when the majority of other passengers are inflicted with noise and general shenanigans of a drunken group?
    Personally I think no one should be allowed bring alcohol on board (no different to a plane) and that if you purchase alcohol on board,.there should be a designated area like the dining car to drink it and for over 18s only.

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

https://www.google.ie/amp/s/www.rte.ie/amp/1001158/

IE has banned the carriage on and purchase of alcohol on certain trains to Galway and Westport due to antisocial behaviour by a minority of people of these routes.
    They claim it's down to large groups on board at carts in times.
    I'm assuming it's stag and hen parties.
    Is this a step too far in a nanny state or justified when the majority of other passengers are inflicted with noise and general shenanigans of a drunken group?
    Personally I think no one should be allowed bring alcohol on board (no different to a plane) and that if you purchase alcohol on board,.there should be a designated area like the dining car to drink it and for over 18s only.

Totally justified.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Ever been on a 2.5hr journey with a group of pissed up fúckwits sat across the carriage from you, and them playing dance music though the speakers of their phone?

Torturous.

Not sure about banning it outright, but definitely have a designated carriage for it.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

It's always been a bit of a weird anomaly.

Allowing people in enclosed spaces on moving vehicles to consume as much alcohol as they like? Shure what could go wrong?

I've done it myself and it's a nice bit of craic, but not everyone can be trusted to be reasonable, and even sensible drinkers can be loud and annoying for everyone else after a few drinks.

I'm kind of surprised it took this long to be banned tbh.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

It's not fun for the other passengers and staff when drunks are on board.

I'd be inclined to agree with Irish Rail.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,017 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

That's a shame love sitting back on a train having a few cans enjoying the scenery

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

No problem with the ban. Nothing worse being stuck next to a group drinking on a bus/plane/train and the objective seems to be who can make the most grating, senseless loud noise possible.

• Registered Users Posts: 68 ✭✭Blahfool

Stag nights me hoop.
    as a regular on the 7.30pm to Galway on Fridays you can always tell the difference between a group of men / women in good spirits and a group that are going to be make the whole journey a cringe. And yes, what's up with the phone music? It's like an 8yr olds birthday party!
    must be a cultural thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,941 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

I don't do rail travel often.
    Maybe 3 times a year. Cork-Dubl8n route and always weekend travel.
    Never once have I experienced anyone drinking (bar a business person maybe unwinding with one wine) let alone drunk.
    I only once saw a hyper group of 30 something year old women gearing up for a Westlife concert but they were just chatting and giggling.
    I must be very lucky to have escaped the torture!

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users Posts: 14,082 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Better to deal with problem passengers rather than impose drink ban on the decent majority.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,340 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

Most people who cause trouble on these trains are already drunk before they get on. Probably would be smarter to adopt a policy like the airlines where if someone is drunk they don't get on train.

Banning all alcohol will likely mean people will smuggle the heavier stuff on board.

elperello wrote: »
    Better to deal with problem passengers rather than impose drink ban on the decent majority.
    Maybe Gardai should have a rail police unit.

rossie1977 wrote: »
    Most people who cause trouble on these trains are already drunk before they get on. Probably would be smarter to adopt a policy like the airlines where if someone is drunk they don't get on train.

Banning all alcohol will likely mean people will smuggle the heavier stuff on board.
    I've seen this in the UK after football games.

Loads of people get refused travel for being too drunk.

But they've an entire transport police network to enforce these rules.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,294 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Ever been on a 2.5hr journey with a group of pissed up fúckwits sat across the carriage from you, and them playing dance music though the speakers of their phone?

Torturous.

Not sure about banning it outright, but definitely have a designated carriage for it.

Not sure about a designated carriage for consumption of alcohol, but maybe the re introduction, and expansion of a quiet carriage.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,587 ✭✭✭Feisar

I used to work in Belfast, would get the trin up on a Sunday evening for the week. Ham and cheese sambo, packet of crisps and four bottle of stout. Stick a film on the laptop and happy days.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 436 ✭✭incentsitive

Nail on head. We need dedicated police on public transport, not mob rule which we currently have.

I have occasionally got the trains down west, generally on my own. The worst is when the music on the phone starts. That really grinds my gears.

It is a brave individual who will stand up and say anything to a group of p1ssed lads heading on a stag.

I did once take the train to Westport on a stag, we had a couple of cans and talked very quietly the whole way. Nobody batted an eyelid.

But if I know Irish Rail, they will bring in this law and nobody will police it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 29 greasy underpanse

Blahfool wrote: »
    Stag nights me hoop.
    as a regular on the 7.30pm to Galway on Fridays you can always tell the difference between a group of men / women in good spirits and a group that are going to be make the whole journey a cringe. And yes, what's up with the phone music? It's like an 8yr olds birthday party!
    must be a cultural thing.

yes i cannot understand this phone music either, local youths where i live hang around street corners and do it too, its very embarrassing on themselves
    its a pity they have to ban alcohol for those who want to enjoy a drink without ruining the journey for everyone but i agree with Irish Rail, its the only thing they can do to cut this out, there is nothing and i mean nothing worse than getting stuck beside a group of twits who cant handle their booze, it makes for a very very long journey, same goes for plane journeys as well.
    one time i was on the sligo line and a bunch of hooligans were drinking cans and the windows fogged up so one lad decided to pee his name on the window, awful stuff

here here, with the anti social behavior on the dublin lines its time this was put in place

There should also be plain clothes Transport Gardai (as well as the usual uniformed ones). I think things would improve significantly if this was the case. No point having a Garda with his yellow coat there!!!

• here here, with the anti social behavior on the dublin lines its time this was put in place

Lol..."Dublin lines"........What % of train lines in this country don't go to Dublin?
    That's a shame love sitting back on a train having a few cans enjoying the scenery

Few bottles/cans in the bag, Supermacs cup, fill it up in the jacks, sorted.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,928 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

the dry trains have been in a few years i believe. a couple of trains on the waterford route are dry trains as well. the services picked had quite the problems with drunken idiots apparently.
    a designated carriage for drinking and a quiet carriage would be nice but unfortunately the country doesn't have enough rolling stock to allow for them.

agreed.
    strangely enough though, the uk has dry trains as well and they have staff on board most of their trains and a transport police.

shut down alcohol action ireland now! end MUP today!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,082 ✭✭✭✭elperello

The idea that IE staff will be searching passengers to see if they are carrying drink is just profoundly depressing.
    It's just another example of our sad out of date attitude to drink.
    What if you have a nice bottle of duty free coming back from your holidays?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

I don't get the obsession with banning stuff rather than just dealing with problem behaviour.

This will achieve absolutely nothing but take away a little pleasure from the law abiding citizen. The people causing the actual issues will happily ignore this as it more likely than not won't be enforced and if it is enforced there will be little or no consequences for breaking the rules.

This is good. I have endured many an awful train journey due to drunken eejits. Most of these times the eejits were men in their thirties and forties. The worst is when the train is filled with GAA supporters. The whole carriage gets turned into Supermacs on Eyre Square at 2 am.

The music player crowd I don't mind as much because I just ask them if they wouldn't mind turning it down. I've no tolerance at all for annoying behaviour on public transport.

This is good. I have endured many an awful train journey due to drunken eejits. Most of these times the eejits were men in their thirties and forties. The worst is when the train is filled with GAA supporters. The whole carriage gets turned into Supermacs on Eyre Square at 2 am.

The music player crowd I don't mind as much because I just ask them if they wouldn't mind turning it down. I've no tolerance at all for annoying behaviour on public transport.

"The music player crowd I don't mind as much because I just ask them if they wouldn't mind turning it down"

Has that actually worked for you? you must be a body builder or something, any time i tried that I got the height of abuse!

"The music player crowd I don't mind as much because I just ask them if they wouldn't mind turning it down"

Has that actually worked for you? you must be a body builder or something, any time i tried that I got the height of abuse!

It has but I think its because I'm small and appear very nice and unassuming. So let's say a young wan is there with the music going, I say "do you mind maybe putting your earphones in? Its just that your music/show/whatever is a bit loud". This is said in a soft non-threatening manner. Of course what they don't realise is I am being deliberate in my approach because I know how charm can disarm :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭jack presley

Is this a step too far in a nanny state

Nanny state would imply it's been done to stop the drinkers doing damage to themselves which isn't the case here at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,277 ✭✭✭Your Face

Good.

Nothing worse than these ball-bags.

The idea that IE staff will be searching passengers to see if they are carrying drink is just profoundly depressing.
    It's just another example of our sad out of date attitude to drink.
    What if you have a nice bottle of duty free coming back from your holidays?

To be honest, I think it is a sad reflection of the lack of respect for fellow passengers and the problem on the train that they had to bring this in. Do you think they'd do it if they didn't have to?

I don't think they'll be literally searching customers.....

• Registered Users Posts: 10,198 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

I've been on 'dry' trains, sharing a bottle of wine with the missus. The ticket guy / whatever has never bat an eye lid... we're having a glass (or cup, tbh), munching on some crisps having a chat.... common sense has prevailed in my experiences.

That said, I could imagine nothing worse than being stuck in a carraige with a crowd of g0b****es that simply can't handle their drink.

For the rare time I use the train, if a total ban is introduced, i'll premix vodka / mixer... which ironically is more likely to get me smashed and start talking loudly than sipping on a bottle of wine.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,440 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Why does there need to be drinking allowed on any trains - seriously, what sort of a degenerate country are we turning into.