Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Dundalk...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭dundalk cailin

RIP

dont know him, but thats awful

• Registered Users Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭joe.

Ah no.....:( :(:(

R.I.P.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭bopper

Sarge wrote:
    But to start a thread stating dundalk is a dangerous town im insulted and will be reporting your post.You sterotyped all people living in dundalk.

OMG that is priceless! Just proves people aren't allowed to have a negative opininon of anywhere in the North East on this board.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,506 ✭✭✭woody

They are but that was like saying all Arabs are Suicide Bombers it is branding everyone with the same brush.

Apart from Nordies :D

Not really. There's a difference between slating the town and slating the people from there.

bopper wrote:
    Not really. There's a difference between slating the town and slating the people from there.

but do the people living there not give the place its reputation?

Not all of them. If somebody called Drogheda a nacker town I'd agree with them, even though I'm originally from there. I wouldn't take it as the person calling me a nacker, that would just be me being over sensitive.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Maybe not bopper, but generalisations are not welcome here. They only cause pointless arguements which results in people insulting each other. If it's tongue in cheek it is acceptable but it's not if it is meant to insult people.

• Registered Users Posts: 139 ✭✭Switchead

lived in dundalk all my life an i have to say in my opinion it is a dangerous town.

ppl keep sayin here how its 'no more dangerous' than ne where else an that seems to make it ok, but that doesnt change the fact that YES it is dangerous. i've been jumped in broad daylight in the middle of town on a saturday by a group of roughly 15 scumbags...an 4 wat??? nvr met them b4 in my life, nvr did ne thin to them...if thats not dangerous wat is???

sum 1 wrote earlier about how dundalk needs to shake the 'el paso' image but how can it wen thats all it is...

i've walked home drunk 2 like every1 else here on many occassions an not had ne trouble, but thats jst luck in my opinion...on more than 1 occassion now i've heard of lads been beaten to a pulp on the same stretch of road minutes after i've been on them...

sure its ok 2 b proud of where ur from an i like lots of things about the town but i dnt think ppl shud b attackin the guy who started the thread 4 askin bout the town, it is in a right state...(an i think only naivety wud make ppl disagree)

im not saying that dundalk is not dangerous, im just saying u could find this in most towns across the country. maybe ive just been lucky, but id imagine im at risk of being raped, mugged, attacked, if i was in drogheda/ardee, or anywhere. i think ireland in general is a more dangerous place than it was a couple years ago

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

It is the exact same with Cavan town, Castleblaney, Carrickmacross, Monaghan town, Navan or whatever large town you go to. If you go looking for trouble, you're going to get it. All of these towns have estates that have bad reputations just like Muirhevnamór in Dundalk. The Half Acre in Cavan town is just as bad, if not worse than Muirhevnamór.

So I don't think that anyone can just single out Dundalk for being a "dangerous" town. Most towns with over 2,000 people have the same problems.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 7,395 Mod ✭✭✭✭**Timbuk2**

The danger level in towns like Dundalk is all to do with population. Dundalk I'd say would have more dangerous people than Ardee or a town a similar size because there are more people and therefore more "bad eggs".

Dundalk has around 30,000+ people in the town (I think), it is one of the biggest towns in Ireland. It is no surprise that in a town like this some people have got beaten up or what ever. It happens everywhere.

They say that Dundalk will be the first Irish city of the 21st century. It will increase in size and there will be more "bad eggs". It happens everywhere.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭joe.

I was going to go on a rant, but no. Dundalk is on the up. It might not have had the best of pasts, but things are looking up without a doubt. Give it time.

there's so much going for the town now, as timbuk2 said its likely to be the first Irish city of the 21st centruy. take Dkit for eg, the transformation its gone through in the last couple years, and it serves a good portion of the surrounding area

• Registered Users Posts: 2,823 ✭✭✭neacy69

i've lived in dundalk all of my life (with shorts breaks to live in edinburgh and manhattan) and i can honstly that yes dundalk CAN be a dangerous place BUT so can any small/big town or city in the world. I think the publicity dundalk gets when there is any problems is due to the reputation that the town has

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    So I don't think that anyone can just single out Dundalk for being a "dangerous" town. Most towns with over 2,000 people have the same problems.

Nobody is denying that. If somebody started a thread saying "Dundalk is the only dangerous town in the north east and everywhere else is safe", then I could understand people complaining about Dundalk being singled out. Someone was just voicing there opinion on a particular place, you don't have to agree with them.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,080 ✭✭✭mada999

I've lived in Dundalk all my life (except when I've been Carlow for college) and I have to say that like all big towns in Ireland it is a little dangerous. Sure there's gonna be a few 'Jumpings' and muggings but thats what happens in big towns.....

I've lived near cox's and lived in muirhevna mor(spelling?) in my youth and I have to say they are no different than the moneymore's (drug-heda) or the John sweeney park's (carlow) in other towns....lots of people = bigger percentage of bad apples....

Things is about Dundalk (like any other town) is that you gotta have a bit of cop on and if you see 8 young lads down the street at night, you walk the other way....might sound a bit chicken but thats the way it is....not enough Youth clubs and shít....

sure I got in a few scraps (most of the times I didn't even know the person they just had too many drinks or drugs) and avoided a lot more by using my common sense......

In this day and age everywhere is dangerous (any country any town etc) if you meet the wrong person or if you are in the 'wrong place at the wrong time'

• Registered Users Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

I grew up in Limerick myself, moved to Dublin, then Ardee and now am living in Dundalk for the best part of a year. I've made a lot of friends here, been out a fair bit in plenty of local pubs and clubs, I work here and I've even gotten involved in community radio here.

I've had FAR less problems here in Dundalk than I ever had in Limerick or Dublin - both of which I was accosted/attacked/mugged in. Maybe that's just luck, - or maybe it's the fact that Dundalk is actually quite a fine town with a promising future as Ireland's next city. As someone said already, it's on the up and up and things are looking good for the town. We'll see. Personally, I like the place and I'm sticking around. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 617 ✭✭✭flynnser19

"I have lived here for 20 years and found incidents from time to time happened but I feel safe in my town and a lot of weekend incidents are caused by A) Knackers (people from the town will know who I am talking about) and B) Drunken Northern Morons who have an over inflated ego and are generally full of sh1t."

Here i live in dundalk and my whole family are from the north!!i think you'll find not all people from the north are full of **** and have over inflated egos!!god talk about generalisation!!you were all complaining about generalising dundalk but now you come along and say that!!pot...kettle...black!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,702 ✭✭✭bounty_hunter

I don't think he was generalising tbh, seems to me like he meant the particular people (who just happen to be from the North) who are causing trouble are drunken morons with over-inflated egos and are generally full of ****. Maybe you should chill out a bit and then try reading it again.

• Registered Users Posts: 14 Pandabear2

I'm looking for some up to date feedback on Dundalk and what it is like to live in with young kids. Has anyone relocated there from Dublin (or elsewhere) recently?
    I like it myself but people's faces seem to drop when I say we're thinking of moving there!!
    Thanks!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭dave 27

As a Limerick man I know what its like to have this "stigma" after i tell people im from there, it gets tiring after hearing it over and over from people who havent even been there or know anything about the place.

As it happens I am going to be moving to the Dundalk area in the not too distant future so it would be interesting to see feedback on local people on their views of the place.

To me i see a fast growing, young town with huge potential due to its proximity to both Belfast and Dublin. Certainly a place to watch out for in the future, the more it grows the more investment it will get which leads to more opportunity.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭dave 27

Bard wrote: »
    I grew up in Limerick myself, moved to Dublin, then Ardee and now am living in Dundalk for the best part of a year. I've made a lot of friends here, been out a fair bit in plenty of local pubs and clubs, I work here and I've even gotten involved in community radio here.

I've had FAR less problems here in Dundalk than I ever had in Limerick or Dublin - both of which I was accosted/attacked/mugged in. Maybe that's just luck, - or maybe it's the fact that Dundalk is actually quite a fine town with a promising future as Ireland's next city. As someone said already, it's on the up and up and things are looking good for the town. We'll see. Personally, I like the place and I'm sticking around. :)

Just seen this post, you look like you've followed a similar path as myself only im still in Dublin, looking at the move in a few months which will be nice. Plenty positives to take on the area when youve lived in cities like myself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

It's like any large town but it does have a feel of progress and positive growth nowadays. There's decent investment in the area, plenty of activities to suit all tastes and a great mix of people. It has a reputation from decades back, that was overstated even then, but all in all I think it's a fine town with lots of good people and is set to thrive.

• Registered Users Posts: 14 Pandabear2

@Dave 27, yeah you're right, I find its mainly people who haven't even been to Dundalk that are putting it down.
    Living up here now and its a grand spot. As you said it really does have great potential being between Dublin and Belfast as well. It's nice that its on the coast too. Blackrock just down the road is lovely with nice cafes, pubs and a couple restaurants. The people are friendly.
    The way I see it is every big town has its rougher areas so if you want to avoid that you'd have to go to a sleepy little village somewhere but then that has its disadvantages. I've tried the country living too and you end up spending a lot of time driving to get from A to B and get stuff done.