Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

DEPRESSION SUPPORT- Anonymous posting is possible, see note in post #1.

• Registered Users Posts: 542 ✭✭✭mashedbanana

My OH is in and out of farmers yards all day every day (he delivers feed) and ya, he has often come home to me telling yet again about another horror story. It's so very very sad. Alot of the time it's down to oweing money, the loss of a crop, loss of animals for whatever reason. It's horrible to hear about it, especially of they are young. I couldn't begin to register what it must be like for their families.

A family living quite close to us, BIG farmers, but they have their money made, if ya know what I mean? Well established. One day, obviously down to depression, the father attempted suicide. Thank God he survived. We peronally didn't hear about it from neighbours...my husband heard about it from another farmer.... 3 counties away.

I Like 'yellow50hx' is in the Cork/Kerry region.... and ya, the percentage is high.

If people were a bit more open minded, and not so judging, not so 'clanish', were a bit friendlier, neighbourly, then maybe people might feel a bit more relaxed about talking. It's dreadful.

• Registered Users Posts: 26 CJA James

I don't know if you received the first section of this message as my computer did something and I am unsure. Anyhow since my husband died by suicide I have had an extremely hard time in West Cork, stigma is not gone and the kids have suffered for no reason only lack of understanding and perhaps people need to be educated from a young age regarding mental health issues and its no shame to ask for help.
    I have actively campaigned for better health services. I have put my experience in a book I have written, Deadly Dilemma.
    I have acquired charitable status to set up a centre, which is for the West Cork and greater cork area, like Pieta House but not in Dublin, a free service to those who feel they cannot go to a hospital or GP due to family attitute. A phone call, person call to their home if they feel they are in danger of suicide or thoughts of self harm. I am commencing fundraising from now and I hope to help anyone who needs it. It has been a lot of hard work and its been hard to survive but I will survive and my husband and our home will be there to help others and hopefully prevent deaths. My son struggles to forgive his dad and its understandable but the people left behind are a pity and kids are lost and need a lot of hlelp

Depression is still a taboo subject, bet very few people you work with will tell you they suffer with the illness, there is still stigma attached to it, hence the suicide increase, people afraid to mention they have it or ask for help

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

anyone feeling down please go and talk to someone, local farmer died yesterday, very sad... lovely man, r.i.p

That is very sad, he needed to talk to someone to help him, sadly its too late for him but people must encourage people to seek help

• Registered Users Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

That's a terrible story in Cork :o God help them.

just seems to be getting worse and worse, last week 10 out of 14 deaths in the coroners court in wexford where suicide :confused::confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,938 ✭✭✭dzer2

Muckit wrote: »
    That's a terrible story in Cork :o God help them.

Terrible news

• Registered Users Posts: 328 ✭✭DMAXMAN

thoughts and prayers to those left behind

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

Bad business. I only heard it there now. I know I had to go upstairs to check on my two after hearing it. May all those left behind have all the support and help they need in these toughest of times.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,156 ✭✭✭Suckler

CJA James wrote: »
    Depression is a taboo subject especially in rural areas. First hand experience of that. Land, money and greed and then families tying to cover up if a member of the family suffering and will go to any lengths to hide it. I have written about this in my book I just published, fact is stranger than fiction.
    It is a taboo subject and the post’s I’ve quoted below highlight why. It’s the very definition of stupidity ignorance and rural life still living in the 40’s.
    kerryjack wrote: »
    That is a very bold , politically incorrect statement but i have to agree with it
    It’s not very ‘bold’, as you put it, it was patently wrong. Not to worry though your follow on lines of ‘wisdom’ highlight your idiotic understanding of how the world works.
    There is a lot of lads going around with no jobs and very little purpose in life. If every man had a job and got reasonably well paid for it we would be much happier,
    Job satisfaction, promotional opportunities, benefits, social interaction etc. have nothing to do with it? It must be only poor an unemployed people that get depressed so…
    in a lot of houses now its the man that's stay at home and herself out working, that cant be right, man was not programmed to be changing nappies and dropping kids to school
    This will come as a surprise to you but women don’t have a section of their brain reserved for ‘household duties and mammy duties’. You’ve even associated dropping children to school as a female job, are men not capable of driving a car with children present? I’ve managed to do it, as have others, should we now be regarded as some class of dual gender superbeings?
    So what if a wife works while a father stays at home? You fail to realise that one of the main focal points of rearing a child is a stable home environment; if the ‘price’ of that is a role reversal of who brings in the bigger pay cheque the child and society in general benefits. If a farmer earns 20K off the land but his wife who, for example, teaches gradually climbs the ranks and earns 60K per year be subjected to the same sort of misguided and idiotic judgement or would he be glad to see the stability of a second income? In other news, you may also be shocked to hear that some men even cook and clean. If a man cannot do those simple things in this day and age he should be ashamed. Welcome to a modern society.
    What this has to do with depression I have no idea, perhaps you can find away to associate prostate cancer to men doing the washing up or dementia being linked to holding a child’s bottle. Keep us up to speed on your research please.
    thousands of years of evolution and it has come down to this,
    You’re going to give us your experienced insights in to evolution now….can’t wait.
    Yes, thousands (millions in fact) of years of evolution and here we are. We’ve achieved so much from mere micro-organisms, to conscious beings, developed incredible inventions the like of which no other species has managed and reign as the unparallel apex living species but your right, it has all come down to this…women in the work place & men carrying for their offspring. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We may throw the towel in now so, it’s all over.
    in an other thousand years a man will have grown Tits and will be the weaker sex and they will be looking back in history and wondering where it all went wrong, .
    You seem to lack the understanding of the requirement for two genders in the human race for procreation. If you are rearing animals with this level of misguided thoughts, I am genuinely worried. As a sided note it’s a common trait among mentally unstable males to have had distant or detachment from father figures in their lives. Males who think they are bringing up their sons good and tough by not engaging with them on emotional and personal levels often drive the child to the mother and facilitate a more effeminate personality.
    As for your ‘weaker sex’ statement; I’d love to hear your wifes/parteners (surely referred to as slave) view that you are her superior. With your misguided views, basic language skills and all round stupidity you are doing nothing for promoting men as the (mythological) stronger sex. Please stop. The rest of the intelligent male population and I do not wish to be associated with your ilk.
    it all started when a man started changing nappies
    Can we find the first man who dared change a nappy and have him hung at the cross roads for offenses against mankind?
    What about single fathers? Surely they commit a whole gamut of ‘crimes against Manliness’ every day.
    am i a sexist, yes i am ,
    Thank you for clarifying. We may never have guessed. I could think of a few other, more apt, descriptions however.
    O K guys lets get back doing manly things like pub every evening and eating the dinner out of the bin when we get home the next generation will thank us for it.
    Again, how this is associated with curing depression I’m not sure….I’m sure your well read research highlighted alcohol as depressant so I’m interested in hearing how consuming it can help. As for the suggestion that real men head for the pub every night and eating dinner from a bin being a step forward for humanity I can only assume was conjured after one or many nights in said pub.
    We’ve been trying to rid ourselves from the “paddy-in-the-pub” generalisation for long enough, it actually costs us jobs, you know the jobs that you recommend everyone acquires to be happy. Also, I have nothing but scorn for the generation that did think it ok to sit in the pub every evening; I’ve had to work harder to convince others that it is not a definition of modern Ireland.
    i know thats the popular sentiment but i see little bravery in swallowing happy pills for the rest of your days or sitting on a couch ,spilling your guts to some well paid head doctor , some people are pride and perfer to deal with things on their own terms , its admirable anyone who thinks a suicidee is not fully aware of the gravity of what they are about to do is naive on the subject
    Another ‘gem’ of an insight in to depression and suicide.
    This is why it is a taboo subject. To take medication is somehow a sign of weakness? Would you say the same of treatment for cancer? Or would it be brave to ignore the treatments available and just see it waste your body away? I know which one you would choose.
    To talk to a qualified professional is A: stupid because you’re implying they just sit on the couch and spill nonsense and B: A qualified professional in now a ‘head doctor’ who somehow duped you in to handing over money for treatment. Again I wonder if you diagnosed with a serious illness and had the option to go to a specialist in that area or refer to bar stool opinions, which would you choose. Again, I know exactly which one you would choose but don’t let the opportunity to appear a real hardy man go past.
    Your last line really captures your understanding of the subject; you have the audacity to call others naïve on this subject!

This highlights why we are now topping some of the charts on suicide, especially in men. Simplistic stupidity in differentiating a disease and laziness has led to this. The delight in laughing at those who suffer and painting them as effeminate, lazy downers in need of a 'kick in the arse' and a few happy pills has led to this. The association of depression with mental instability has led to this.

Depression is a massive problem and in rural parts of Ireland is still a taboo subject and families do not want to be associated. Its Oh "he or she suffers upstairs", that runs in the family. The latter statement may be true as when one generation does not deal with the problems that give them reason to drink, take drugs to block out the pain then it goes to the next generation. Very hard to escape. When you hear they play GAA sur he's fine, what folly. The story in West Cork, another child taken by her dad, when will the people wake up. I am at present fundraising to set up a free counselling service for those who have suicidal thoughts or thoughts of self harm and for those who feel they are going under. Money is a big issue when it comes to getting help, we are all struggling now and counselling is expensive. We do not have a mental health service in this country and all they do is talk and write documents when the services are not on the ground.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭kerryjack

Very sad what happened in West Cork A hard working farmer that loved his daughter so much that he never wanted to loose her very very sad.

Yes it is very sad but the lack of services and help for people very evident and especially in rural area's. No one has the right to take an innocent child with him and her mother left without her and she left to bear the pain. May God help her. There needs to be huge reform of the system and men need to talk more when in time of crisis, the child lost her life in a very cruel and unneccessary way as what he did was not a solution. Her mother now left in this world and will have to cope without the child she gave birth to and her pain will be something we will never be able to understand. She will need a lot of help and support

• Registered Users Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭grazeaway

Was reading about this today, awful, really feel for the wife no matter what issues may have being going on in their life I'm fairly sure she would prefer to wake up tomorrow with her husband and daughter.

That said I'm very pissed off with pj Sheehan. Saw this quote earlier "Mr Sheehan said Martin was committed to his family, farming, and Fine Gael, and rarely took holidays. ".

Typical of the standard of Irish politician that we have that they will try anything to promote themselves. As if equating FG to ones family is apropreite. I think this is the fella that threatened a gaurd after she stopped him leaving the dail after he had a good time in the bar. I remember my dad having to calm me down at grandfathers funeral after a FF td turned up and standing with the family, I had no problem with him coming to pay his respects but he was only there so that every one could see him. If my dad wasn't behind me he would have been laid out on the ground picking his teeth up from the ground.

grazeaway wrote: »
    Was reading about this today, awful, really feel for the wife no matter what issues may have being going on in their life I'm fairly sure she would prefer to wake up tomorrow with her husband and daughter.

That said I'm very pissed off with pj Sheehan. Saw this quote earlier "Mr Sheehan said Martin was committed to his family, farming, and Fine Gael, and rarely took holidays. ".

Typical of the standard of Irish politician that we have that they will try anything to promote themselves. As if equating FG to ones family is apropreite. I think this is the fella that threatened a gaurd after she stopped him leaving the dail after he had a good time in the bar. I remember my dad having to calm me down at grandfathers funeral after a FF td turned up and standing with the family, I had no problem with him coming to pay his respects but he was only there so that every one could see him. If my dad wasn't behind me he would have been laid out on the ground picking his teeth up from the ground.
    i spoke of a local farmer who died a few weeks ago here, i missed his funeral as we where away, my dad said every tom , dick and harry where at the funeral but what really annoyed him was the bigwigs who where obviously only there to be seen who spoke to each other the whole lenght of the funeral, no respect what so ever

• Registered Users Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭grazeaway

whelan1 wrote: »
    i spoke of a local farmer who died a few weeks ago here, i missed his funeral as we where away, my dad said every tom , dick and harry where at the funeral but what really annoyed him was the bigwigs who where obviously only there to be seen who spoke to each other the whole lenght of the funeral, no respect what so ever

Yipp, know the type.

Yea. The TD and the retired school teacher giving their views, as if we would take more notice of those types. All the same old words. Its simply wrong for newspapers to keep writing reports calling the little girl his princess and PJ Sheehan stated she ws the light of his life, he had no right to put a child's head into cold water and take her life, saying he was a hard worker and all may be the case but in cold lights of day he murdered a child.

Yea, I can identify with that, at my husbands funeral every Tom, Dick and Harry came for a gawk and to be seen and my or my children have not seen them since. The gossip after a suicide is just plain awful for the kids but who cares about the truth as its a bitter pill to swallow. All funerals involving my family will be private from now on.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,843 ✭✭✭mf240

Thank god someone agrees with me If he loved her that much he would have let her live.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

mf240 wrote: »
    Thank god someone agrees with me If he loved her that much he would have let her live.

While not defending his actions I don't think we should assume that he didn't love his child.

Many people whoare in such a pit of despair will feel that taking their children with them will spare the child having to experience that despair too.
    Twisted logic i know but this can sometimes be the case. It is very easy to judge from afar but we don't know what kind of relationship they had and how close they were.

From the outside it easy for us to say he should have spared the child, Christ knows that was the right thing to do as would talking to someone about his own issues to prevent his own death. But there is a very different logic at work in cases of suicide.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

if you were in the place he was it might make sencse to you too.that s what it does.

• Registered Users Posts: 44 louiseamd

Depression is a vicious illness and it is viewed as trivial among people living in this country. From reading some of the threads posted about depression, I too have known people who have said that they would rather some other serious disease like cancer because more people would have sympathy.

I am prone to bouts of depression and I do not appreciate how people I know and even relatives see it. Even their attitudes towards counselling and medication. It feels like I am a disgrace to the family or particular people. Basically, it is their problem.

There is no shame in therapy or going to your G.P for help. You are not wasting their time. Like I said, it is a vicious illness and it is not as easy as just thinking positive, because you need the help to think positively and doing things such as comedy may help after a bad day, but it is not to replace going to the doctor if you aren't feeling like yourself for more than two weeks. There are the physical symptoms of depression, such as loss of appetite, libido, interest in even the most trivial of things like showering and people become numb.

If people in this country were more understanding about depression, I believe that the number of deaths by suicide would lessen. It is not just a case of the person needing "a kick in the arse". Depression can happen for no apparent reason so anyone who can't stand that person who "suffers with her nerves" or "is a negative nelly" or a "mysery guts" a day will come when you have more in common with them than you think.

just wondering with the weather and all the crap that goes with it would any one consider themselves depressed? I am plodding along but could well understand how people could be under pressure mentally

• Registered Users Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

whelan1 wrote: »
    just wondering with the weather and all the crap that goes with it would any one consider themselves depressed? I am plodding along but could well understand how people could be under pressure mentally

I wouldn't say the weather is getting me down (well not yet) but I do notice that it is shorting my fuse and it certainly makes me more grumpy. So when some thing really annoys me it REALLY annoys me. Reading about the shower of hypocritical gob****es that we elected starts to wind me up big time.

So in the evening I log on to you tube and start listening to angry music it actually calms me down. This evening I started with killing in the name of by rage against the machine, then some old school hip hop and some beasties boys. What i listen to gradually mellows and I'm now listening to men with hats and the safety dance with smile on my face.

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=AjPau5QYtYs

• Registered Users Posts: 11,394 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

There is a condition known as SAD! I definitely think I suffer from it ha, really not a winter person! http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/seasonal-affective-disorder/DS00195

But yeh, the weather is certainly something that has a massive impact on farming/farmers, both from the increased workload we have, and the reduced profits in times like now when we are short on grass/fodder!

I also happened to be taking to a friend on facebook the other night, he has just moved over to Australia (the usual, young lad with almost no chance for him here in Ireland), he is working hard there now on a farm, he said over here he couldn't get out of bed before like 11am, now he has no problems being up at 6am, straight out into the sunshine etc!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

this might help somebody at the moment but sometimes when things are rough go and do some small job like fixing a gate or a gutter or tidy up some corner of the yard-nothing big maybe a hour or twos work.it just gives you the feeling that not everything is going to pot and you have some kind of control

Hi just left a young man, who has been smoking weed for a few years, since the suicide of his dad, is this common, he is a fine young man but on the road to no where as nobody will trust him now as he just not only lets himself down but those closest to him. He has been offered place in rehab for under 18's and just wonder if he will go. I hope he does as his mother and gran now just have had enough and they are not to blame. Perhaps the father could have stuck around to look out for him and not leave his mother to carry the can as from my knowledge the family have never accepted that their son and brother suffered from depression or died by suicide so no support there. Its a sad situation for the young man but its terrible for his mother as she had tried everything

• Closed Accounts Posts: 351 ✭✭matTNT

CJA James wrote: »
    Hi just left a young man, who has been smoking weed for a few years, since the suicide of his dad, is this common, he is a fine young man but on the road to no where as nobody will trust him now as he just not only lets himself down but those closest to him. He has been offered place in rehab for under 18's and just wonder if he will go. I hope he does as his mother and gran now just have had enough and they are not to blame. Perhaps the father could have stuck around to look out for him and not leave his mother to carry the can as from my knowledge the family have never accepted that their son and brother suffered from depression or died by suicide so no support there. Its a sad situation for the young man but its terrible for his mother as she had tried everything

That's a tragic situation. I can't imagine the pain and suffering the family must be going through. Smoking weed will promote any underlying mental problems and bring them to the fore I really hope he stops for his own sake.

I honestly have no idea of the situation so I'm only speculating but maybe counselling might help and then hopefully find some goal the guy has and help him work towards it, be it Leaving Cert or sport. Something like that might give him focus.

The young guy had lost his father to suicide and only then started smoking weed, its been very hard on the rest of the family and his mother had to remove him from the family home, he blames everyone for his fathers death, he is attending counselling at the minute but usually does not last long as at his age he thinks he knows it all. He is not only destroying his life but everyone around him. His mother now has had to step back as all along she was trying to protect him and keep him out of trouble. He dropped out of school a few years ago and never seems to be able to tackle things. His father's suicide destroyed the family and he destroyed his son by leaving him in the way he did but the young fella will have to address his pain. The inlaws did all they could to play the blame game and no contact there either, why is it that inlaws become your outlaws when suicide occurs, its no one's fault but the backlash to suicide just not right to the family directly affected. If this young man does not address his issues he will end up dead also