Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Glenroe

• Site Banned Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Ralf and Florian

Anyone remember the episode where Fr Deveroux borrows a video from Stephen Brennan(the latter might have been running a video rental shop,not 100% sure) in the belief that its some kind of religious video about Lourdes or something?When he puts it on its a porn film(we don't actually see it,just hear porn type music and FDs shocked expression),cue confrontation with Stephen,I can vaugely remember some of the dialogue SB:"Was it a dirty film Father?" FD:"It was depraved!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭whatismyname

Old thread dredged up here I know but does anyone recall the plot of the last episode of Glenroe?

Not sure if this is any help

Despite the sadness at its demise, the show is to end on a high note and the last episode will feature the wedding of former priest Tim Devereaux to Gracie, the sister of the Parish Priest in the series.

The love triangle between Dick Moran, his wife Venetia and his ex-wife Mary will also come to a conclusion in the grand finale of the show.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/battle-for-payoffs-overshadowing-glenroes-final-curtain-26090595.html

Also:

Three funerals, nine weddings, 16 pregnancies and God knows how many "Well, holy Gods" after its first showing in September 1983, Ireland's longest running soap opera, Glenroe, bowed out last night.

There was no dramatic finale, no apocalyptic event to mark the end of an era in Irish broadcasting. Instead, an expected three-quarters of a million-plus viewers tuned in to see Miley return to his former home, Bracken, where his journey, and that of a nation of couch potatoes, began 18 years ago.

In an episode full of nostalgia, there was a hint last night that Dick and Mary's long and turbulent relationship was finally coming full circle. Proving there's still hope for us all, Trickie Dicky - following three affairs, including a mother and daughter combination - was invited back into Mary's home with a bunch of flowers.

But the last word, fittingly, went to Miley - and there are no prizes for guessing what it was.

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/miley-gets-the-last-word-as-glenroe-bows-out-1.306408

• Site Banned Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Ralf and Florian

Firetrap wrote: »
    I stopped watching it a few years before it was cancelled - I don't know if it was because the show got worse or if I'd grown up a bit and realised it was a load of rubbish. I have some fond memories of it though - Fr Devereux's greyhound getting impregnated by some Heinz 57, Fiona asking around in the pub for some grass (Miley thought she was on about silage), Dick Moran up to no good.

Like plenty of others here, the theme tune sounded an ominous tone and I didn't have ANY of my homework done.

Ha,I'd forgotten about that.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭FanadMan

If they put the whole series back on, I'd say that RTE would get massive ratings for it.......even in the middle of the night. I know I'd watch it - for the horrible stomach cramps reminiscent of Sunday nights with no homework done.

Loved Well, Holy God last night btw - great memories :)

• Registered Users Posts: 220 ✭✭jacknife

i watched the program about Glenroe on sunday night, brought back memories, i grew up with Glenroe, and have the same memories that everyone else had that the weekend was over and school the next day.

i think the program came to the end of its life, Ireland was a different place in 2001, look at Emmerdale Farm how that program changed from a rural drama focused on a family to the soap it is now.

Its a pity there are not more episodes on youtube, generations of Irish people will always remember Glenroe in its heyday and those of us who we in school at the time, the ending theme signaled school was about to begin again

• Registered Users Posts: 472 ✭✭onform

ongarboy wrote: »
    I remember there was an actor from Tralee where I'm from who played the dishy newcomer, Conor maybe? (think he scored with Fidelma). I remember the women in Tralee used to swoon over him if he turned up in one of the bars at the time. Whatever happened to him?? Can't even remember his real name now!

Tim Murphy, now goes as Timothy V Murphy. He was in the second season of True Detective recently. Seems to be doing OK for himself Stateside.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Timothy_V._Murphy

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

A few Miley moments worth mentioning.

Miley tackling armed raiders holding Biddy hostage in the house,that was early on maybe in the first series.

Miley gets a horse and Stephen shoots it for straying onto his land.Shortly after there was this weird sequence where Miley was thinking about the horse and above his head this superimposed footage of the horse appears,it looked like one of those cheapo special effects you'd see in Bosco or Wanderly Wagon and looked really out of place here.

Miley buys this complete banger of a car with just one headlight working,hes driving it at night and as far as I remember the steering wheel comes off in his hand.Car crashes and turns over and I think the episode ended with one of those did he survive?/tune in next week clifffhangers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭whatismyname

1997 episode of Miley off in London

Don't remember that one but by that point I was only watching the odd episode.Poor Miley was always getting into scrapes that weren't his doing.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭messrs

jacknife wrote: »
    i watched the program about Glenroe on sunday night, brought back memories, i grew up with Glenroe, and have the same memories that everyone else had that the weekend was over and school the next day.

i think the program came to the end of its life, Ireland was a different place in 2001, look at Emmerdale Farm how that program changed from a rural drama focused on a family to the soap it is now.

Its a pity there are not more episodes on youtube, generations of Irish people will always remember Glenroe in its heyday and those of us who we in school at the time, the ending theme signaled school was about to begin again

didn't get to watch this on the night, tried to find it on the player but couldn't - anyone know where I may be able to get it?

Dinny falling off the ladder was another end of series cliffhanger.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭fiachr_a

Anyone know what happened to the actor who played Hoppy? Used to work as a barman in Dublin. Last I remember he was in a scene in the Mike Basset movie.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Truckermal

I'm watching it on YouTube all morning! !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

fiachr_a wrote: »
    Anyone know what happened to the actor who played Hoppy? Used to work as a barman in Dublin. Last I remember he was in a scene in the Mike Basset movie.

Here is his IMDB entry.

http://www.imdb.com/name/nm2689624/?ref_=tt_cl_t8

Ruu wrote: »

One of Mynas ever expanding brood of teenage children.It was ridiculous the way they used to introduce them into the series.They'd just appear out of the blue in an episode usually argueing with Mynah at the breakfast table about being late for school or something and in such a way that we were supposed to believe they were there all along.As well as Hoppy there was a daughter and I think another son,and they'd all be introduced at intervals when the makers decided it was time for another teenage character in a desperate attempt to get younger viewers.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,870 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

Remember this ad Joe Lynch did as Dinny?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,288 ✭✭✭✭branie2

I'd forgotten about that!

Mick Lally used to do a lot of ads, though as himself, I dont recall him doing any as Miley.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭paleoperson

Remember this ad Joe Lynch did as Dinny?]

Not really but seems vaguely familiar.

Mick Lally famous for singing also of course:

I wouldn't really stay listening to it but lot better than you'd think, right?

Not really but seems vaguely familiar.

Mick Lally famous for singing also of course:

I wouldn't really stay listening to it but lot better than you'd think, right?

I remember that was featured in Glenroe in a storyline where he goes to a recording studio and records it in character as Miley.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,606 ✭✭✭Luckycharms_74

Old thread dredged up here I know but does anyone recall the plot of the last episode of Glenroe?

Miley and Fidelma in the hay. The dirty feckers!

Anyone find Fidelma strangely attractive or was that just due to the lack of talent in the show? (i hope it was the latter)

Nyom nyom nyom :P

The YouTube channel that had the 1985 episode has gone, probably hit with a copyright strike. They had several other later episodes as well, pity.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭paleoperson

Miley and Fidelma in the hay. The dirty feckers!

Anyone find Fidelma strangely attractive or was that just due to the lack of talent in the show? (i hope it was the latter)

Well most young, fit (and some non-fit) women are attractive. Did I find her unusually attractive? No, she was fairly unremarkable.

OLDYELLAR wrote: »
    Ou member that chuck guy , He was deadly!!
    Miley needed a hair cut badly , jesus that song the byroad to glenroe :)

I'd forgotten about Chuck, lol.He was having it off with Fidelma while she was engaged to Rory I think.

I remember in one of the early series she was going out with a guy called Lar who was supposed to be "ethnic", I think he was Middle Eastern. If I remember correctly the actor playing him looked suspiciously like he was in brown face.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,664 ✭✭✭Worztron

Whenever I heard the tune - it was time to do the homework!

Mitch Hedberg: "Rice is great if you're really hungry and want to eat two thousand of something."

Firetrap wrote: »
    I stopped watching it a few years before it was cancelled - I don't know if it was because the show got worse or if I'd grown up a bit and realised it was a load of rubbish. I have some fond memories of it though - Fr Devereux's greyhound getting impregnated by some Heinz 57, Fiona asking around in the pub for some grass (Miley thought she was on about silage), Dick Moran up to no good.

Like plenty of others here, the theme tune sounded an ominous tone and I didn't have ANY of my homework done.

If I remember correctly it was Terry, the posh English one, who was asking about grass.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

I can't believe she called him an asshole :eek: Glenroe used to be on pre-watershed around 7 or 8 o'clock wasn't it?

Yes but Glenroe left the stage in 2001- by that time there would have been a level of acceptance by the nation of such rudey words :P