Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Leinster Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread XI (The Finals Countdown)

• Subscribers Posts: 40,953 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Podge_irl wrote: »
    I don't know why people constantly think this. It makes absolutely no sense.

and as a slight follow on.. ive no idea why people think tomane might be on a large contract.

he wanted to leave montpellier..... he actively looked to join leinster.
    Plenty of negotiating elastic there for leinster.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,598 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

sydthebeat wrote: »
    and as a slight follow on.. ive no idea why people think tomane might be on a large contract.

Not even, I am fairly sure Monty had to let him go to free up some Jiff space or whatever. He had another year on his contract there.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,720 ✭✭✭ionadnapokot

sydthebeat wrote: »

Leaving aside the money - ive always felt he was an unnecessary signing.

Todays team announcement would be a good example of why hes not needed.

Would prefer to see Frawley starting at 12.

And where O'Loughlin, C O'Brien & J O'Brien this wk?
    Would also like to see Tommy O'Brien given a game at some stage.

• Subscribers Posts: 40,953 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

And where O'Loughlin, C O'Brien & J O'Brien this wk?

rested?

hes started 5 from 5 already this season.

Backs!
    here ya go...
    One of the backs goes to the team doctor one day and said: "I've been playing for 5 consecutive games and I find that when I touch my legs, my arms, my head, my tummy and everywhere else, it really hurts." So the doctor said: "You've broken your finger."

Or to be more pertinent
    what do you call the ladies that hang around with rugby players?
    Backs

• Registered Users Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭Richie_Rich89

It's perfectly conceivable that salary could play a role in team selection. Tomane probably isn't getting paid megabucks, but he probably is on multiples of what Conor O'Brien is on. Everyone wants to get value for money in life. Value for money in this case is Tomane playing well, and to play well he needs to be playing in the first place.

Some other factors that could influence selection:

Growing Leinster's reputation as a good place for NIQs to come
    There's a bigger picture here. If NIQs have a happy time at Leinster then word will get around and it'll be an attractive option for players who are looking for clubs to join. People talk. Cullen will obviously want Leinster to be more appealing to future targets and every little helps. It's pretty obvious from article such as this https://www.the42.ie/leo-cullen-leinster-toulon-champions-cup-2512624-Dec2015/ that Cullen has a yearning to sign up loads of overseas players. He'd probably love to be coaching in the Top Quatorze or the Premiership so he could splash the cash.

Marketability
    PR man Cullen no doubt thinks that exotic NIQ Joe Tomane is more marketable to your average punter than plain old Conor O'Brien from Mullingar. Making an NIQ more visible will also help strengthen the impression that Leinster can compete with the big English and French clubs for signings. It's all about the brand.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,632 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

Going back to an article from 4 years ago.

You've outdone yourself there, Rich.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,175 Mod ✭✭✭✭aloooof

It's perfectly conceivable that salary could play a role in team selection. Tomane probably isn't getting paid megabucks, but he probably is on multiples of what Conor O'Brien is on. Everyone wants to get value for money in life. Value for money in this case is Tomane playing well, and to play well he needs to be playing in the first place.

Some other factors that could influence selection:

Growing Leinster's reputation as a good place for NIQs to come
    There's a bigger picture here. If NIQs have a happy time at Leinster then word will get around and it'll be an attractive option for players who are looking for clubs to join. People talk. Cullen will obviously want Leinster to be more appealing to future targets and every little helps. It's pretty obvious from article such as this https://www.the42.ie/leo-cullen-leinster-toulon-champions-cup-2512624-Dec2015/ that Cullen has a yearning to sign up loads of overseas players. He'd probably love to be coaching in the Top Quatorze or the Premiership so he could splash the cash.

Marketability
    PR man Cullen no doubt thinks that exotic NIQ Joe Tomane is more marketable to your average punter than plain old Conor O'Brien from Mullingar. Making an NIQ more visible will also help strengthen the impression that Leinster can compete with the big English and French clubs for signings. It's all about the brand.

Y'know what'll grow Leinster's rep for NIQ's, and Marketability even further? Wins. Which is the only criteria that comes into consideration for selection.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,282 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

aloooof wrote: »
    Y'know what'll grow Leinster's rep for NIQ's, and Marketability even further? Wins. Which is the only criteria that comes into consideration for selection.

Did you miss the PR thing? He told us all about it last year and is worried that not everyone remembers the PR thing. It’s Cullen the PR man.

...except Tomane got selected ahead of O'Loughlin and O'Brien at different stages last season when they were delivering higher quality performances, so...

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,175 Mod ✭✭✭✭aloooof

...except Tomane got selected ahead of O'Loughlin and O'Brien at different stages last season when they were delivering higher quality performances, in my opinion...

Fixed your post, there.

Did you watch Leinster's games early season last year leading up to Tomane getting selected ahead of ROL for Europe? Or the ones COB played in during JT's injury absence?

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

Did you watch Leinster's games early season last year leading up to Tomane getting selected ahead of ROL for Europe? Or the ones COB played in during JT's injury absence?

Whatever about your hate for Joe Tomane because he’s a little bit brown, but seriously what is with your love-in for Conor O’Brien? Grand player but nowhere near in Tomane’s league.

You talk like COB is an international superstar in the making when he doesn’t look anywhere near that.

He's the best inside centre prospect through Leinster in a decade an a half. Who knows where his ceiling truly is but he's been very good so far. He just needs to be playing to develop further.

It would be an absolute travesty if he's sitting behind two imports in Henshaw and Tomane next season.

He's the best inside centre prospect through Leinster in a decade an a half. Who knows where his ceiling truly is but he's been very good so far. He just needs to be playing to develop further.

It would be an absolute travesty if he's sitting behind two imports in Henshaw and Tomane next season.

Ah here. He’s been grand. Nowhere near the level you put him at.

He’s behind Henshaw and Tomane because Henshaw and Tomane are much better players. Until O’Brien shows he’s better than them, he’ll take the jersey off them.

‘Travesty’ that a 3rd/4th choice 12 is drilling behind 2/3 better players ffs.

Faugheen wrote: »
    Ah here. He’s been grand. Nowhere near the level you put him at.

He’s behind Henshaw and Tomane because Henshaw and Tomane are much better players. Until O’Brien shows he’s better than them, he’ll take the jersey off them.

‘Travesty’ that a 3rd/4th choice 12 is drilling behind 2/3 better players ffs.

I suppose we'll just have to agree to disagree then. To my mind O'Brien has been good to excellent in most of his games, and I'd say there's fair scope for further improvement with more exposure, which he won't get if Tomane gets an extension. Keeping Tomane on is incompatible with developing O'Brien further.

salmocab wrote: »
    Did you miss the PR thing? He told us all about it last year and is worried that not everyone remembers the PR thing. It’s Cullen the PR man.

Ha!

Must admit I find his interviews appallingly bland. I’m now totally disinterested whenever he speaks.

If his PR company specialises in saying nothing he’s rightfully the boss man. Or is it his Dad?

Hold on! RRich has nailed it!
    PR brief: say nothing & grow the brand with fancy signings like Tomane.
    Genius

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,958 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

If he is that good then Leinster could sign Sonny Bill and he would take him out of the team

This bulls**t you have come up with about Teo and know Tomane just shows you are against players coming into Leinster from afar, some might call it racism, I would, but some might not

Leinster above any club have shown they pick on form, if they are good enough they will start.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,963 ✭✭✭connachta

Guys, sometimes a fan has to put his hat off. You were brillant tonight. Just played in another dimension.
    You don't need good luck for the season:)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,784 ✭✭✭LostArt

The double is on

• Registered Users Posts: 21,605 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

Hard to pick individual players out when the whole team puts on an amazing performance, but really impressed with Kelleher. He's on the right track to being our starting option for Europe at this rate with Cronin on the bench as impact sub. Tomane with another stellar performance, similar to Lowe in the fact that it looks like it takes a season to get up to speed with the systems for a player to shine.

Backrow was immense too considering it was two 23 year olds and a 24 year old, line speed was crazy and Connors in particular had a VdF-esque tackle rate. Completely bossed their opposition players.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,958 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

I think Byrne played well, he really is our starting 10 now with Sexton really a marquee player at this stage

Will be interesting to see how they integrate H Byrne going forward

Wouldn't surprise me at all if Lowe went straight onto a central contract.

By a distance the best winger in the country.

Venjur wrote: »

And that’s not a knock on Earls, Stockdale, Larmour, Conway et al. It says more about Lowe than those lads.

EDIT: Is Cronin still out? Kelleher has to start against Benneton if so. If he can keep this up he’s a bolter for the six nations squad. He’s come on leaps and bounds.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,605 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

Faugheen wrote: »
    And that’s not a knock on Earls, Stockdale, Larmour, Conway et al. It says more about Lowe than those lads.

EDIT: Is Cronin still out? Kelleher has to start against Benneton if so. If he can keep this up he’s a bolter for the six nations squad. He’s come on leaps and bounds.

He's unlikely to make it for next Saturday apparently. Kelleher's miles ahead of Tracy at the moment and Bryan Byrne seems to be in the 3rd spot too. Leo would be mad not to stick him in.

Watched the second half last night. Only watching first half now. That first try was a think of beauty. High pass to Tomane, jumps gathers and still wins the collision. Great carries from Kelleher, Healy and Porter for the score. Lot of power there.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,999 ✭✭✭✭Interested Observer

Venjur wrote: »

It'll be this time next year he's qualified right? But yes if he decides to stick around he will be playing for Ireland, in fact he'll walk into the team. James 'Poison' Lowe.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,809 ✭✭✭KH25

Really impressed with Tomane so far this season. Putting in a lot of hard work.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,999 ✭✭✭✭Interested Observer

KH25 wrote: »
    Really impressed with Tomane so far this season. Putting in a lot of hard work.

He's been excellent. Would be surprised if he's not in next weekend.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,018 ✭✭✭Bridge93

I’ll be stunned if Kelleher isn’t starting next week. Limited opposition I know but he’s been brilliant. Don’t see how he isn’t in the Irish squad either bar injury. Best is gone, I can see Cronin be finished internationally too. Not a whole lot else about at the minute