Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Where you goin' city boy? - the off topic and chat thread

• Registered Users Posts: 428 ✭✭wolfeye

From waterford county council website.

Does a mobile home or caravan need permission?
    The keeping or storing of a caravan, campervan or boat within the curtilage of a house is exempt from permission provided that there is not more than one caravan, campervan or boat, that it is not so kept or stored for more than 9 months in any year, or occupied as a dwelling while so kept or stored. It should not be used for the storage, display, advertisement or sale of goods or for the purposes of any business.
    A storage, keeping or occupation of a mobile home requires planning permission.

http://www.waterfordcoco.ie/en/services/planning/faqs/exempteddevelopment/#Does

http://www.justanswer.com/ireland-law/537w4-own-acres-land-co-mayo-put-static-caravan.html

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,691 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

It's the same in Dublin, but I see the same caravans, camper vans and boats sitting in driveways year round ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 273 ✭✭Danpad

The rules seem to differ a little when it comes to putting a unit on a plot of land. Also, I forgot to include that the erection of a shed (or several sheds-within reason) is deemed to be OK. There are quite a few nice little 'lodge' style shed kits around, some of which can be up to 16ft long. Whilst re-posting fences and the like on your land these would be more than adequate for taking shelter from the rain. (Yes, I posed this question to the civil servant also and expanded on such a scenario by suggesting that it sometimes rains solidly for a whole week :D and that "it was hardly a criminal offence to fall asleep during such a time was it?").
    All in all, I think common sense prevails.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,691 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

This is the kind of thing that makes me very worried for the future. You can be 100% certain that this is happening in Ireland too.

http://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2013/oct/25/suspected-3d-printer-gun-found-manchester
    Police have seized components for what could be the UK's first ever 3D-printed gun in what they called a "really significant discovery".

Greater Manchester police said they believed the parts represented the next generation of firearms, which could be created by gangs in the privacy of their homes and smuggled with ease because they could avoid X-ray detection.

The gun parts were discovered, along with a 3D printer, when officers executed warrants in the Bagley area of the city on Thursday.

Officers found what were thought to be a plastic magazine and trigger which could be fitted together to make a viable gun. They said the haul also included a quantity of gunpowder.

The parts are now being forensically examined by firearms specialists to establish if they could construct a working device. If so, it would be the first seizure of its kind in the UK, police said.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭ShadowFox

Get lots of tradesmen together build your own secret under ground bunker

Tabnabs wrote: »
    This is the kind of thing that makes me very worried for the future. You can be 100% certain that this is happening in Ireland too.

http://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2013/oct/25/suspected-3d-printer-gun-found-manchester
    The barrel and the bullets would still be metal so the metal detectors would still be triggered.

I Agree, this changes everything.

ShadowFox wrote: »
    The barrel and the bullets would still be metal so the metal detectors would still be triggered.

I've read that these guns would be similar to what are known as a 'Saturday Night Special'. I.e. small, low cost and low quality handguns. They may misfire, they wouldn't be used for long due to fragility, but could be easily replaced.

Why worry about metal detection at airports etc. if you can print it up in your back bedroom and take it out for a "job"?

I've read that these guns would be similar to what are known as a 'Saturday Night Special'. I.e. small, low cost and low quality handguns. They may misfire, they wouldn't be used for long due to fragility, but could be easily replaced.

Why worry about metal detection at airports etc. if you can print it up in your back bedroom and take it out for a "job"?
    True but i wouldnt fancy being the one holding it when its fired i like my fingers

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 37,485 Mod ✭✭✭✭Khannie

ShadowFox wrote: »

There were guys in the US that released the schematics for one that only had a metal firing pin. I think that was last year. After a lot of pressure they removed the design from their web site, but of course the designs are all over the internet.

I remember reading that people were making single shot guns out of door handles during the vietnam war (I have _no_idea_ how), so this isn't a new thing.

Khannie wrote: »
    There were guys in the US that released the schematics for one that only had a metal firing pin. I think that was last year. After a lot of pressure they removed the design from their web site, but of course the designs are all over the internet.

I remember reading that people were making single shot guns out of door handles during the vietnam war (I have _no_idea_ how), so this isn't a new thing.
    They were called zip guns Ive seen them made from maglites there are even videos on how to make them

• Registered Users Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭aaakev

I dont think ot will be anymore of a problem than gun crime is now. Guns are easily got by the scum who use them, thankfully for the most part, they just shoot each other

aaakev wrote: »
    I dont think ot will be anymore of a problem than gun crime is now. Guns are easily got by the scum who use them, thankfully for the most part, they just shoot each other
    I agree in this country most of the scum are too stupid to make something like that

• Registered Users Posts: 428 ✭✭wolfeye

Turns out they were only printer spare parts.
    http://www.independent.ie/world-news/europe/police-redfaced-as-3d-gun-turns-out-to-be-printer-spare-parts-29701945.html

They really jumped the gun (no pun intended...) on that one

wolfeye wrote: »
    Or is that only what they told the media to avoid panic and copycats

• Registered Users Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Fries-With-That

Danpad wrote: »
    So, not one for arguing politics over the phone and not in the mood to try and get the person to re-design the system into a utopian blue print that would fit my needs (I prefer to have such debates over a pint and a plate of dinner) I then hit them with the following questions:
    "Does the permission to camp on agri land for 10 days mean 10 days per year? Or camp for 10 days, leave for a day and then return to begin a consecutive 10 days?"
    The reply they gave was to inform me that "Nobody was going to prohibit me from camping on my own land as long as I didn't make it look like the Electric Picnic."

This is interesting, where did you get the 10 days per year information.

I found this info on the county council websites of counties I conducted searches for land in. For example here's a link to Mayo county council regs:
    [FONT=TimesNewRoman,Bold]http://www.mayococo.ie/en/Planning/Publications/DoELeaflets/PDFFile,374,en.pdf

Scroll down to: 3. What are the exemptions from planning permission?

[/FONT][FONT=TimesNewRoman,Bold]It seems to be pretty much the same whatever county council regs you view. [/FONT]

I came across a great tip on another forum today and thought it worth sharing:
    An alternative driveway block in the countryside is a cattle grid. Dig a trench right across the driveway. Line it with concrete so it is about three feet deep by six feet wide and as long as the track is wide. Lay scaffold poles across so it looks and behaves like a conventional cattle grid, but don't secure them. When you enter the driveway, stop on the inside and lift out the poles. Have somewhere nearby to hide them (in a hollow under a pile of rotting dung is good). Anybody trying to get up the drive will be stopped in their tracks and will probably look for an easier target.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,002 ✭✭✭✭Esel

I came across a great tip on another forum today and thought it worth sharing:
    Anybody trying to get up the drive will be stopped in their tracks and will probably look for an easier target.
    To local Garda investigating possible intentional injury to possibly nefarious trespasser "Ah Jebus, Guard, do you mean to tell me that someone stole the crossbars again? That's the third time! I think I'll just fill the fecking thing in at this stage."

Might be a good idea to have previously reported a theft or two of said crossbars, and never to forget whether they are 'in' or 'out'.

Not your ornery onager

Has anyone seen the latest Doomsday preppers? Its well worth a look if you want a good laugh
    Here is a blog about one guy on it read through the comments but if you watch the show first you will understand the rude comments
    http://www.gunssavelife.com/?p=9950&utm_source=feedly

I'm hooked on the Mountain Men series, TBF, the current series is pretty poor with the most predicable stories of something breaks down in the wilderness, but they get home without any issues in the end. It would make a nice fly on the wall documentary rather than the kind of adventure programming they are trying for.

Yeah i think they have ruined what could have been a very good show!

Eustace conway for example, everything he does is set up and staged... Look when they went huntimg squirels with the flintlock rifles that they made the bullets for. I mean ffs he has a shotgun, we have seen him with it, ammo for a shotgun costs cents!! It always seems like he is making life harder on himself

I still look forward to watching it every week tho! Haha

If you haven't read the book on Eustace, get it, well worth reading. A very mixed character. It also shows just how much more unreal his bits are.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 37,485 Mod ✭✭✭✭Khannie

I'm hooked on the Mountain Men series

Hadn't heard of it. Gonna give it a whirl.

I had watched season 1 of doomsday preppers. Of course they're all breaking the cardinal rule of letting everyone know what they have, but I found it fascinating. Some of them I felt sorry for (the guy with the truck getting shafted on the military netting) others were just mental.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,979 ✭✭✭Stovepipe

I think the crossbars over the hole idea might backfire if a casual visit by a family member or friend after dark turned into an accident. At a guess, you might find yourself in trouble for having knowingly allowed a trap to exist....

regards
    Stovepipe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭booom

Stovepipe wrote: »
    I think the crossbars over the hole idea might backfire if a casual visit by a family member or friend after dark turned into an accident. At a guess, you might find yourself in trouble for having knowingly allowed a trap to exist....

regards
    Stovepipe

+1, especially if you decided to fill it with punji sticks- ouch. Still sounds like a good idea for dealing with the mad roaming bear population- seriously though; if you had a decent padlocked gate between the 'cattle grid' and the road or public right of way, and 'no trespassing' and a few 'beware of the dogs' hung within view- i don't see why you wouldn't get away with it.

what_will_you_be.png

I was on my land to be the other day camo'd to the hilt, machete in hand, literally blazing a trail along one of the perimeters, stopping along the way to scan for sign on the forest floor picking up deer and badger tracks...thought I was great...in fact I thought I was a green beret...until a wasp zoned in on me, yes a wasp...in bloody November...the boy scout act quickly vanished and turned into that of boy George.

...and yes I was waving my machete at it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 987 ✭✭✭The Glass Key

what_will_you_be.png

Perfect for Ireland....

As George Bernard Shaw said

Put an Irishman on the spit and you can always get another Irishman to turn him.