Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Deal breakers and turn-off's in dating!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭Feisar

a950f79dede3ad29a234b885bea2278c1bcb5c1588cb8b375e8c3233ecbbf461.jpg

I'm out of the game so don't worry. Besides iron sharpens iron no harm in competition, keeps us all sharp.

First they came for the socialists...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭Assetbacked

Feisar wrote: »
    I'm out of the game so don't worry. Besides iron sharpens iron no harm in competition, keeps us all sharp.

I'm also out of the game but if I ever go back, girls with daddy issues are a treasure trove as a lot of men just see psycho and crazy, without appreciating the positives.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭con___manx1

Good/Average looking women on dating apps with a list of dislikes on there page.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭optogirl

Motivator wrote: »
    Hairy box.

Waxing your balls yourself are you?

• Registered Users Posts: 729 ✭✭✭tjhook

For me, the deal-breaker is somebody with "a cause". They're on a crusade. It might be a great cause, and well done for taking a position and following up, but living with it constantly gets weary. I even get fed up of RTE spending more than a few days frowning about a single issue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭nkl12xtw5goz70

tjhook wrote: »
    For me, the deal-breaker is somebody with "a cause". They're on a crusade. It might be a great cause, and well done for taking a position and following up, but living with it constantly gets weary. I even get fed up of RTE spending more than a few days frowning about a single issue.

Yeah, add "climate activist" to my list. Global warming is a serious problem but I don't want to be hectored constantly about driving, flying, lighting the fire, etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,027 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

Pretty much everything I'd consider a dealbreaker has been mentioned in this thread - primarily lack of interests, obsession about TV/celebrities, clingyness, lack of independence.

I've recently ran into a new one, which I don't know how to define at all - and I'm not sure if I can even explain it well; basically, "lack of style in daily life": essentially women who look absolutely fine when going out/on a date - and when I mean "fine", I mean they really know how to style themselves, not some cheap&tacky "fake tan and eyelashes" job - but completely drab and frumpy if say you met them during the day. Like there's no middle way, if I give the idea.
    I can’t drive and hubs is never my taximan. I always use public transport if it’s just me going somewhere. If we moved to a rural location, I’d learn.

Yes, especially in Dublin it is indeed possible that someone might not need a driving license at all; Plus you're clearly stating you'd learn if necessary.

However, I've known plenty of women who have the "somebody will give me a lift, I don't need to drive" mentality - it's a very tricky one to figure out, just like the following one about drinking. Usually, it takes a few months of "free taxi driver" work before you realize what's going on :mad:
    I worked with a girl who said its fairly common for a non-drinker to a be a red flag/warning sign for girls if they meet a lad (purely speaking about those that did drink and don't anymore).

Problem is, people here ASSUME you to be a former ferocious alcoholic when they learn you don't drink. Experiencing it first-hand for the last 11 years. No amount of explanation that I never actually drank will suffice - and I'm not even Irish, I don't even want to imagine how bad it must be for an Irish-born on drinker.

• Registered Users Posts: 532 ✭✭✭Turquoise Hexagon Sun

People that have politicize everything. OK, so you don't like that stand-up comic because he's perhaps un-PC, he's not recruiting you in to his cult, he's not standing for election, he's telling jokes and people aren't idiots for liking it, we can separate the man from the jokes. Stop taking jokes litterally. Gets angry if you have a more nuanced view to social and political issues. Basically people that are millitant in their beliefs and can't get why you don't follow their exact stance on everything.

Another red flag would be if she was on her phone a lot. Or if we swapped Instagrams and all her photos are just her.

I would be very obliging to pay on a first date but if she didn't at least offer (just offer) or said something like "you paid for the meal, let me get the drinks" or something to that effect.

Other red flag is someone who will happliy answer a million questions about themselves but doesn't ask you a question in return.

Too much make-up, or any amount fake-tan. Maybe not a deal-breaker but would I would just be thinking of how this is going to smell? Is it all coagjulating on her knuckles. Is she insecure about herself? If she's in to fake tan, what else is she going to be in to.

Yeah and as other's mentioned. Into celeb culture and reality TV. No thanks.

Or doesn't have any hobbies. (And shopping isn't a hobby) or doesn't appreciate art in any form.

Most people are usually grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 461 ✭✭Sober Crappy Chemis

People with tattoos that say stuff like ‘Only God can judge me’ and think that makes them as clever and insightful as Aristotle or Plato.

• Registered Users Posts: 81 ✭✭Monkey2019

A guy sending unsolicited dick pics after a couple of text exchanges.

Is there any need :/

• Registered Users Posts: 16,333 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

What, may I ask, are acceptable hobbies? They're mentioned a lot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 461 ✭✭Sober Crappy Chemis

Monkey2019 wrote: »

PM sent.

• Registered Users Posts: 532 ✭✭✭Turquoise Hexagon Sun

What, may I ask, are acceptable hobbies? They're mentioned a lot.

I mentioned hobbies. I just think anyone with a hobby shows passion for something in life. It shows that someone has taken the initative to learn some skill or to occupy their time in a productive or fun way.

For me, any hobby is acceptable so long as it's doesn't interfere greatly with someones to the point they're too unavailable, or other parts of of their life is greatly lacking due to an overinvestment in their hobby.

But, if I met a girl who had a hobby like, painting, writing, photography, blogging, fashion design, hiking, surfing, playing an instrument, or health and fitness or anything like that, I would definitely more instantly attracted to her.

• Registered Users Posts: 553 ✭✭✭BASHIR

Believes in healing crystals.
    Believes in Reiki
    Believes in Angels
    Believes in Homeopathy
    The only thing a salt lamp is good for is a nice glow in a room as an alternative to a regular lamp.
    Stingy

There is never a need, like what's a lad expecting, she'll keel over and start writhing on the floor, frothing with desire?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Qrt

Living with their Ex

• Registered Users Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭theguzman

Women who turn the lights off or want to have sex in darkness, had an incident last year where I was on a first date which went great and we went back to the hotel (Happened abroad) anyway despite my best efforts she totally blank refused to do it with even a bit of light shining out the bathroom door.

I was thinking she must have some nasty STD she is hiding and I don't know nothing about her, she was very attractive with a great body so being able to see her with light would have been a major bonus. Anyway it was just for a few nights but I couldn't handle that level of controlling in a relationship and the lights must be turned on. Around 5 years ago hooked up with a girl who insisted on covering the mirror in the bedroom with a towel before shenanigans started, apparently mirrors reflect your soul and she didn't want her soul to see what we would do!

Alot of posts here criticizing religious people or those who are into religion but some of the best sex I've had has been with the real religious conservative zealot type women and they really get a thrill out of "misbehaving" and "sinning" in their mind. Getting dragged along to mass after a nights passion is a downer but worth it. One woman who was totally anti-abortion refused to allow me to use a Condom, win for me!

I have dated a few feminist leftwing types and one was incredible in bed but the majority were as painful as a root canal and you might expect to get laid 6 months later.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,748 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

theguzman wrote: »
    One woman who was totally anti-abortion refused to allow me to use a Condom, win for me!

Eh....congratulations, daddy!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,268 ✭✭✭dinorebel

Someone beat me to it

• Registered Users Posts: 21,517 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

pgj2015 wrote: »
    psycho ex who she has a kid or kids with

religious

if she dislikes the police

if she is the type to protest or campaign for causes like the homeless

pessimistic

unorganized

no ambition

two faced

a snob

selfish

no sense of humor

How did both of these appear on the same list?

This list explains a lot

Such as?

• Registered Users Posts: 487 ✭✭Jim Root

There is never a need, like what's a lad expecting, she'll keel over and start writhing on the floor, frothing with desire?

that would be ideal.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,777 ✭✭✭KathleenGrant

pgj2015 wrote: »
    if she dislikes the police

She has to like the same bands??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭1o059k7ewrqj3n

She has to like the same bands??

I think he means the Guards

• Registered Users Posts: 3,777 ✭✭✭KathleenGrant

Steyr 556 wrote: »
    I think he means the Guards

Oops.... Is low IQ a deal-breaker?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

It's like the ones who roar or whistle at women on the street.

Either: it worked for someone, at some point, and they keep plugging away, or; it's the fact that they've made a woman angry or upset or disgusted that they get off on.

I have one friend who if possible looks at their socials, finds a female relative and threatens to send her the screenshots. The dick piccers all seem to feel very strongly that this is poor form :D

I don't think she's ever actually followed through.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭1o059k7ewrqj3n

Oops.... Is low IQ a deal-breaker?

Sense of humour definitely is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭Assetbacked

Either: it worked for someone, at some point, and they keep plugging away, or; it's the fact that they've made a woman angry or upset or disgusted that they get off on.

I have one friend who if possible looks at their socials, finds a female relative and threatens to send her the screenshots. The dick piccers all seem to feel very strongly that this is poor form :D

That female friend must have some serious men hang ups.

While dick pics are lowest common denominator males, the women who get vindictive about them betray something not quite right with themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

That female friend must have some serious men hang ups.

While dick pics are lowest common denominator males, the women who get vindictive about them betray something not quite right with themselves.

Or simply refuse to be treated with disrespect.