Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Deal breakers and turn-off's in dating!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 945 ✭✭✭Always Tired

Motivator wrote: »
    Hairy box.

If I get that far that ain't holding up proceedings in the slightest

• Registered Users Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭mvl

Rule Number 1 of dating.Dont tell the wife. Total dealbreaker
    thought there is also the type that expects you tell the wife: she says no, you got no date !

• Registered Users Posts: 2,385 ✭✭✭lainey_d_123

If the woman smokes, does drugs, doesn't have a driver's license or car or has a weird OTT obsession with dogs. I have a lovely rottweiler but I dont parade him around the place the whole time.

Why on earth is that a deal breaker? :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭rapul

Have to agree with the car or at least a licence, no one wants to be a taxi, dealt with that for years, and if she smokes that's a definite no, the smell how would ya be well

Well. Since my last relationship I have quite the list.

Be emotionally available.
    Do not let your issues get in the way of having a healthy and intimate relationship.
    Kiss me. All the time.
    Don't be an anti-vaxxer. I spent three and a half years engaging in all sorts of mental gymnastics to manage that one.
    Accept who I am.
    No conspiracy theories please.
    Listen.
    Be kind.
    Don't shut down and punish me.
    Get to know my friends and family.
    Do not even think you can control me and yes I did buy a cushion without your 'permission'.
    Use your words.
    Let me have your back because I expect you to have mine.

That's enough to be getting on with :D

• Registered Users Posts: 16,330 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Do not let your issues get in the way of having a healthy and intimate relationship.
    Kiss me. All the time.
    Don't be an anti-vaxxer. I spent three and a half years engaging in all sorts of mental gymnastics to manage that one.
    Accept who I am.
    Listen.
    Be kind.
    Do not even think you can control me and yes I did buy a cushion without your 'permission'.
    Use your words.

The cushion part is scary, Perse, I hope you're happier now.

• Registered Users Posts: 601 ✭✭✭Snails pace

Why on earth is that a deal breaker? :confused:

I live out in the sticks and you need a car, public transport isn't really available. I don't want to be a taxi either. All my friends and family, male and female have cars.

Guys who 'don't like the feel' of condoms :rolleyes:

I don't like the feel of them either but I'd hate the feeling of paying child maintenance even more.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,505 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

Kiss me. All the time.
    Accept who I am.
    Listen.
    Be kind.
    Use your words.

i was in total agreement with you until you got to the part about cushions.
    too many cushions are the work of the devil. a few is grand but loads is fairly close to a deal breaker for me. if i was to break up with my GF it would probably be over the bloody cushions . its not too much to ask to sit in a chair or getinto bed without having to move a hape of crap first and find somewhere aproved to put them.

fat women
    smokers
    bad breaths

• Registered Users Posts: 16,757 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

If she doesn't put her hand in her pocket, there'd be no second date.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

No one likes the feel of them though, but they are a necessary evil.

Dont get this really.

One spends their entire adolescence and early adult life knocking it out into a crusty sock and now all of a sudden a scientifically designed and lubricated latex sock is not comfortable

• Closed Accounts Posts: 945 ✭✭✭Always Tired

Buy a cushion without my permission.

The cushion part is scary, Perse, I hope you're happier now.

Well I never actually bought a cushion because "you have no taste". So it was easier.

I'm not happier Leg End, I'm happy :)

Dont get this really.

One spends their entire adolescence and early adult life knocking it out into a crusty sock and now all of a sudden a scientifically designed and lubricated latex sock is not comfortable

I didn't, I'm a woman, so no sock required. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 487 ✭✭Jim Root

Narcissism / instagram obsessive / girls who post motivational self serving memes = bunny boiler alert

• Registered Users Posts: 16,757 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

I didn't, I'm a woman, so no sock required. :D

You've just reminded me of femidoms!

Anyone ever use one?
    (I've not had the pleasure)

• Registered Users Posts: 10,526 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Dont get this really.

Very “American“.

Tried it once but found it similar to the feeling of biting on tinfoil, except on my knob, obviously. Plus the “fluff” buildup wasn’t fun removing.

Went back to just employing the use of a “tulip” after that. Found that a step up from the, big standard, “wankerchief”.

The tide is turning…

You've just reminded me of femidoms!

Anyone ever use one?
    (I've not had the pleasure)

Did once years ago out of curiosity. Awful looking yokes and it didn't seem to want to stay in position. They've probably been improved since.

Kiss me. All the time.
    Accept who I am.
    Listen.
    Be kind.
    Use your words.

Yep. An anti-vaxxer or a flat earther would be an instant turn off.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Yep. An anti-vaxxer or a flat earther would be an instant turn off.

But probably an easy ride. They'd believe anything you say

• Registered Users Posts: 4,812 ✭✭✭Addle

Someone who still drinks like they did in their 20s when they’re in their late 30s/40s.
    Someone who can’t keep a steady job.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭theguzman

I'd have guessed the opposite questioning everything and would take nothing at face value as the truth. But either stupid or deficient in some other way.

But sweetheart, this IS what 9 inches really looks like.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,356 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Rule Number 1 of dating.

Dont tell the wife. Total dealbreaker

Rule number 1 of dating :

Do not stick your dick in crazy , not even the tip.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,031 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Someone ignorant and/or stupid.
    Someone without interests (other than daily mail or love islandy type ****e)

No longer looking but if I was.

Vegan/vegetarian - just love meat too much, also we are farmers and I’d have no time whatsoever for their anti-farmers rubbish.

Non-drinker and doesn’t like a good session fairly regularly.

Clingy

Sees going out with the lads regularly as anything other than normal and does her own thing with her own friends too.

Thick and not educated.

Not interested to some degree in doing fairly well in work, having a career.

Not getting on with my family.

Fitness fanatic.

Anti-catholic

• Registered Users Posts: 71,799 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

Kiss me. All the time.
    Accept who I am.
    Listen.
    Be kind.
    Use your words.

I've met some of them & they are the deal breakers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭Gynoid

IF I was ever dating a big thing would be smells. I seem to be afflicted by a horribly acute sense of smell. Ordinary human smell is fine, a bit of musk no problem. BUT bad breath, blech! go to the dentist!, greasy hair or collar smell, damp musty clothes that didn't dry properly, strange pungent body odour, :( euchhhh... I can't go on....my whole face has puckered up in disgust just thinking about these things.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,581 ✭✭✭✭The Princess Bride

In no particular order.

Nail biting, best get your protein from a different source, surely, it tastes better plus your fingers will look better.

Smoking.

Anyone who drinks moderately and often.

Stingy, mean, miserly, miserable penny pinching.

Constant moaning about your ex. Most of us have a history, but there's no need to go on and on about the past.
    Repeatedly.

Sexually dysfunctional, (neither willing to admit to nor seek help for it); for the record, it's not that common, it doesn't happen to every guy, and it is a big deal!

Criticising how much washing up liquid I use, seriously, lighten up, who doesn't like bubbles?

Poor sense of humour.

Someone who feels the need to talk about their job almost non stop.
    No thank you- I love what I do, but it's not all that I do.