Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Do you keep a weapon by your bed?

• Registered Users Posts: 229 ✭✭WAW

Those salt lamps would made great weapons. Have one in the bedroom as a bona fide lamp. The weight of it and it's slightly jagged. Fell on my bare foot, definitely hurts!
    I'd an uncle used to keep a meat cleaver in his bedroom

• Registered Users Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

ablelocks wrote: »
    ee52efa8e7b6af23df5c7602e126fb5a.jpg

Yea I like to break out the eh, barbed truncheon, once in a while. In case any zombies come crawlin

Part of my training I had to pick weapons. I go with knives and staff because I figure of all the things lying around the world - these were the most likely to find lying around or quick substitutes lying around.

I've been learning to use guns through a friend with my 9 year old daughter recently but don't think I will ever want to own one. Going to use and train with them off site is fun - but ownership not for me.

The one time someone came into my house in the night he was cornered by the house canine and I found him sitting quietly in the corner - too terrified to try and leave - when I happened to come down for something from the kitchen. We had a surprisingly amicable wait for the guards to arrive.

Asking for a friend :D

How far into one's training does one need to be before they 'get to pick weapons'? Does one have to be certified a black belt/expert in that discipline before they graduate to 'master'/ 'grandmaster' (or whatever the terminology is)? What I mean is, is there a waiting time in that martial arts field before a person can acquire the aforementioned "accoutrements", or can beginners get access to and or bring them home?

Going by some of your posts you wouldn't need much :)

Not much good for regular folk if there's a waiting period :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

yep, baseball bat

• Registered Users Posts: 152 ✭✭vikings2012

I have two hammers one on either side of my bed. I also have a chair beside my door to ensure I hear anyone entering my room as I tend to be a deep sleeper. It’s a bit excessive but I had a terrifying experience when I was 16

Our house was broken into when my parents were away at a friend’s wedding. I was home in our house with my grand mother.

Back then I would go to sleep with the door open or could fall asleep with the corridor light switched on.

I woke to the noise of football rolling on the floor of my bedroom. When I looked up all I could see a man with a black hat and purple scarf covering his face. He was Beside my wardrobe reaching for a tin box on top of the wardrobe. He looked me dead straight in my eyes. I completely froze. I couldn’t even scream or shout. Thankfully he legged it!

This encountered affected me for months after. Especially when I would awake at night. When I went way for college I would lock the door. Even in hotels, I would leave a chair in front of the door.

I do feel that this experience has mentally prepared me for my next encounter. This time I will be ready and will make sure to face it down whenever it will happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

Anyone got any ideas on what one could use; say an object that could reasonably expected to be in one's bedroom that would satisfy for the purpose of defending oneself. It would have to be effective and not considered a weapon lest one gets fvcked on a 'voluntary manslaughter' rap.

There's loads of things........ that hammer you used to hang that picture in your bedroom and you just weren't arsed putting it back in the shed before bed.
    The screwdriver you used to tighten up the curtain pole, the golf club you took off your kids because it was too dangerous for them to be playing with etc.
    Don't worry, the Guards will help you you with your Statement, they're fairly sympathetic in these cases ......... been there myself.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,496 ✭✭✭Yester

I have a pencil.

What I mean is, is there a waiting time in that martial arts field before a person can acquire the aforementioned "accoutrements", or can beginners get access to and or bring them home?

Depends what you want to learn I guess and where you live. There are people selling Bo Staffs on adverts.ie and amazon if you want one :) Call into whatever schools are in your area(s) and just talk to them about what is in your area. Bōjutsu is easier to find around Dublin I think. There is even a club in Dublin a friend of mine had some affiliation with that focuses on Longsword and also on Sword & Buckler :) It's all out there if you look around.

I guess the reason I like Bo so much is that I can pick up the handle off a mop and practice with it. At the end of the day it's just a stick. And I always loved that scene from "Coming to America" with Samuel L Jackson fighting Eddie Murphy :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,445 ✭✭✭Rodney Bathgate

Yester wrote: »
    I have a pencil.

Hope the burglar doesn’t bring his own eraser.

• Registered Users Posts: 548 ✭✭✭pawdee

Just a Gatling gun.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,764 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Yester wrote: »
    I have a pencil.

Ahhh you want to take down their particulars ¡

Home security is a big topic. I wonder how many people have something by their bed in case they hear a noise in the night? If not, what's your plan?

I have a hurl by the bed. But the wife makes me clean it after pucking around, and even then it has to rest on a few sheets of kitchen paper. A friend of mine keeps a screwdriver in his bedside locker. I think my brother has half a snooker que as his. I don't know of any women which have something ready, which is concerning.

They seem very odd choices. Why a screwdriver and half cue? Cue would do **** all really and stabbing with a screwdriver is a it savage thing to do.

May as well just have a solid baseball bat and a knife

Depends what you want to learn I guess and where you live. There are people selling Bo Staffs on adverts.ie and amazon if you want one :) Call into whatever schools are in your area(s) and just talk to them about what is in your area. Bōjutsu is easier to find around Dublin I think. There is even a club in Dublin a friend of mine had some affiliation with that focuses on Longsword and also on Sword & Buckler :) It's all out there if you look around.

I guess the reason I like Bo so much is that I can pick up the handle off a mop and practice with it. At the end of the day it's just a stick. And I always loved that scene from "Coming to America" with Samuel L Jackson fighting Eddie Murphy :)

Thanks, I saw "Coming to America" once - years ago. I don't remember Samuel L Jackson in it - must have been before he was famous :pac:
    Earliest film I remember him from is "Loaded Weapon" with Emilio Estevez - probably made about 5 or so yrs after the Eddie Murphy flick.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭Feisar

TheChizler wrote: »
    I'm convinced that the type of person capable of burgling a house would be much more adept at using a weapon than the average groggy person with eyes not adjusted to the light.

Lads on here can't even speak with their neighbor, yet are fit to bust some moves when it comes to it:pac:

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,668 ✭✭✭4Ad

6 iron under the bed..

Sortof.

It was a clarification. The courts had already ruled on the standard of defense, in DPP v Barnes. It is easy reading, and makes a lot of sense. The Oireachtas then put it into law for those who don't read court cases.

https://www.casemine.com/judgement/uk/5da044464653d077725a0b6f

To answer the question, I've a SIG P2340 in 357SIG with hollow-points in a finger-print release lockbox by the bed. But I live in the US, where that sort of thing is normal.

It's that all? Like an Irishman threatening to stab someone with a thumb tak :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭Roger Mellie Man on the Telly

I used to have a hatchet under my bed. I was using it for something and just put it there.

• Registered Users Posts: 876 ✭✭✭bb12

Rodin wrote: »
    German Shepherd in back hall and front hall.

I'm happy with that level of protection

yup i've got 3 rottie mixes...nobody's even getting near a door or window handle.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,734 ✭✭✭saabsaab

No. Not really. There is a shotgun in the house and a ceremonial sword upstairs.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,322 ✭✭✭Heckler

Hammer to break windows in case of fire.

Have a couple of firearms locked away in a gun safe but as was mentioned the intruder would have to sit down and watch a bit of netflix while I got them ready for use.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,542 ✭✭✭bassy

my c*ck

• Registered Users Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Neames

unhappys10 wrote: »
    Got a baseball bat in America on a childhood holiday
    Keep it in the corner of the room.
    God help the cnut that comes into the house, or God help me if they get it off me!

Here's a tip...put a sock around the end of the bat that way if the assailant tries to grab the bat ...they'll end up with just the sock...and then you go full Joe Pesci on them!

• Registered Users Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Neames

I used to have a hatchet under my bed. I was using it for something and just put it there.

Ominous

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,194 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

It's that all? Like an Irishman threatening to stab someone with a thumb tak :)

I've two children under 12. They don't appear to make affordable suitable locking devices for keeping a rifle to hand for the purpose, so I have to settle for the pistol.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭CBear1993

Tried buying one of those telescopic / extendable steel baton things online but apparently they’re illegal here. My friend used to drive about with one in the door pocket of his car. He was a shady character though

• Registered Users Posts: 13,329 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

My wife sleeps next the door. Not many would go near her so I'm safe

Neames wrote: »
    Here's a tip...put a sock around the end of the bat that way if the assailant tries to grab the bat ...they'll end up with just the sock...and then you go full Joe Pesci on them!

Thats a good tip !

I have a savagely bright led torch. I tried it out on myself. If someone is creeping around in the dark in your house and gets it in the eyes, 10 to 15 secs pretty much blindness on their part.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 90,657 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Can't fit the road to Dublin in the back of a pick up.
    Actually .. https://i.imgur.com/z40kw7T.jpeg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭gogo

/Gogo goes to bed early because she’s tired and her husband is working nights
    /Gogo reads quick post on boards before turning out the lights and calling it a night
    /Gogo now has the fricken heebie jeebies, knows the next theee hours are going to be spent jumping at every sound and departs to the kitchen to find a make shift weapon :(