Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Irritating American names for things

• Registered Users Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

We rely so much on America.

Our culture is basically American, our wealth is from American companies.

American english is superior english anyway so i'm glad it's getting more common in Ireland :)

Not true at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,388 ✭✭✭VG31

Cups. As a measurement.

I never got this. What are "cups"? Are all cups the same size in the US?
    EYE-raq (Iraq)

AY-rabs (Arabs) as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 651 ✭✭✭440Hertz

If you think our culture is American, you didn’t get much past a pub in Boston!

• Registered Users Posts: 16,310 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Sardonicat wrote: »
    Pantyhose for tights. Panties for knickers.
    I quickly scanned the thread looking to see if these had been posted.

They set my teeth on edge. Hideous words that make tights and knickers sound like they're excitedly uttered by a depraved, greasy-haired flasher whilst pulling the knob off himself.

• Registered Users Posts: 472 ✭✭CVB

Pawsta for PASTA !!!

& calling long pasta Like spaghetti
    They call them NOODLES !

Boil the NOODLES!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,990 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

I haven't heard that in a long, long time. Co. Limerick. Never heard it anywhere else.

I've only ever heard it uttered by Limerick people too. Cousins of mine who thought I was posh saying runners :D

To thine own self be true

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭smellyoldboot

"Math" seems to be gaining traction this side of the pond. And those who use the term "soccer" to describe a football game should be forced to operate a hotdog stand in an abandoned carpark.

Association Football is soccer though. In the non-anglified parts of this land.

• Registered Users Posts: 472 ✭✭CVB

GAS Station ! (For Petrol/Diesel Fuel)

• Registered Users Posts: 12,378 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

I quickly scanned the thread looking to see if these had been posted.

They set my teeth on edge. Hideous words that make tights and knickers sound like they're excitedly uttered by a depraved, greasy-haired flasher whilst pulling the knob off himself.

Precisely my reaction to those words.
    "Panties, oh panties. She puts on her panties and then her pantyhose . Oh JAYSUS! A1 Sharon "

• Registered Users Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Sonic the Shaghog

Maybe it's just a rural thing but we always called it soccer, football was reserved specifically to mean GAA football

• Registered Users Posts: 24,288 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

I've only ever heard it uttered by Limerick people too. Cousins of mine who thought I was posh saying runners :D

Ya there was a lot of "watch your man off thinks hes from New York with his runners" thrown about when anything other than tackies got a mention.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,378 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

Maybe it's just a rural thing but we always called it soccer, football was reserved specifically to mean GAA football

Yup. You say football round here you mean Gaelic. If you called soccer football you'd be hounded out of the county.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,651 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

It's called soccer in Australia, because footie, or sometimes football, is something entirely different.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,288 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

cnocbui wrote: »
    It's called soccer in Australia, because footie, or sometimes football, is something entirely different.

Same as Ireland then

It’s not a rural thing. I’ve had my head taken off by Dubs for using the term football in reference to soccer and you’ll find it gets used in Donegal, where soccer often is a rural thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Sonic the Shaghog

Yup. You say football round here you mean Garelic. If you called soccer football you'd be hounded out of the county.

I remember plenty of young lads getting an awful slagging off aul fellas when they'd ask if they play football, the young lad says I do and when asked is it club X, y or z (local GAA clubs) the young lad would correct and say oh no I mean soccer

Cue the aul lads doing a "ara jaysus" and walking off like the old woman in Fr. Ted when she finds out the film is subtitled :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 17,222 ✭✭✭✭gammygils

Expiration date for Expiry date

I remember an American comedian being quite bemused at the term "washing up liquid" (dish soap in the US). He wondered if they called gasoline "driving around fluid" in England.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,719 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

cnocbui wrote: »
    No kidding. Great when you have an emergency and someone's screaming about a gas leak.

That’s grand, but I’m just pointing out that you saying that gas is a liquid is a bit erroneous, as that’s got nothing to do with the term ‘Gas’ - which is only called Gas because it’s a shortening of Gasoline. The same way we shorten Petroleum to Petrol.

The fact the physical state is also called a gas is unrelated - sure there’s tonnes of English words with alternative meanings, and you figure it out by context.

The “gas leak” thing is a good example, but even still depending on context you know what it means - and either way you’ll be acting fast :pac:

But sure given that it’s been this way for decades, they’ve obviously not had much of an issue distinguishing based on context..

gammygils wrote: »
    Expiration date for Expiry date

The main one that caused confusion is writing the date month, day, year format.

03/09/2021 gets read here as 03 September 2021 and not March 09, 2021. It can cause really serious confusion as nobody in Europe uses that MM/DD/YY format and it's not very intuitive, if you're unaware of it, especially in numerical form.

I've seen it cause really serious mix-ups in business contexts.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

Freshman, Sophomore and Varsity years in College. Why can't they just say 1st, 2nd and 3rd year?

• Registered Users Posts: 30,719 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Freshman, Sophomore and Varsity years in College. Why can't they just say 1st, 2nd and 3rd year?

Don’t get me started on Starbucks cup sizes!!

~Rebel~ wrote: »
    Don’t get me started on Starbucks cup sizes!!

They're nothing to do with American English though. It's just Starbucks own terminology, and is best ignored.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

The weird pronunciation of Europe as "Eurp"

Meh! Sure Irish people say Chi cahRR Go for Chicago.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,973 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Calling someone's fringe 'bangs' just annoys me.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭gogo

Learn something new every day ... heard of freshman and the rest but could never be arsed to google them

Sure we've universities that use terms like Michaelmas, Hillary and Trinity terms, borrowed from Oxford & Cambridge.

UCC replaced them after modularisation, with Teaching Period 1, Teaching Period 2 and Teaching Period 3...

• Registered Users Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

Cilantro.

Actually the Spanish word. Don't know how they started using it.

• Registered Users Posts: 554 ✭✭✭Creol1

Watching US politics they use the same terms but with somewhat different meanings, which is very confusing: they say "middle class" meaning "working class" and use "liberal" to mean "socialist" or "social democratic".