Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
21-05-2020, 15:57   #1
cladonia
Registered User
 
cladonia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 6
Protein sequencing

Hi Guys,

I am complete nube at genetics and bioinformatics.

Can some one please tell me.... if we analyse and determine the protein sequence of an enzyme produced by a given strain, and we then use that to determine the gene sequence from the organism that produced it?

I thought the mature peptide or amino acid sequence of the enzyme would be different to the amino acid sequence of the gene - or is that stupid?

Thanks guys
cladonia is offline  
Advertisement
21-05-2020, 19:34   #2
Tree
Moderator
 
Tree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,960
Many amino acids have more than one codon that codes for them (redundancy, woo!), so you can't properly predict a (D|R)NA sequence from an amino acid sequence. I mean, you could have a stab at it... but you'd also be missing any introns that might get excised too.

A given (D|R)NA sequence will have a single amino acid string as its output (with appropriate intron handling, etc).
Tree is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet