Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Gangland criminals with respectable-sounding surnames.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 805 ✭✭✭Anthracite

Gravelly wrote: »
    Have a look at any regional paper anywhere in Ireland over a few months, and you will discover that certain surnames are strongly associated with crime in each region. This is usually far more geographically spread than can be accounted for by a single family. There are numerous surnames in Ireland that most people would immediately recognise as being associated with criminality.
    Crinnion?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,025 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

The spacer I'm married to is related to a notorious London crime family with multiple convictions and sentences served and has their name.
    I'm hopeful she'll be arrested any day soon.

Yer missus's name is Reggie Kray? :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 19,025 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Them oul' Varadkars are a notoriously criminal Irish enterprise

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭steve-collins

Casino park Marino is not posh. Far from it in fact.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭political analyst

Dr Brown wrote: »
    Don't forget "fatpuss".

That's the nickname of Alan Bradley (an ordinary-sounding surname).

• Registered Users Posts: 15,731 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

What's an English person look like?

They have differently shaped heads and noses, quite unlike the Celtic 'Master Race'.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,316 ✭✭✭nthclare

They have differently shaped heads and noses, quite unlike the Celtic 'Master Race'.

They're more squinted looking, if you observe well enough you'll notice it.

It's like Kerry people, I'm not from Kerry but their men are very good looking, dark complexion and a good jaw bone.
    The women in Kerry are quite attractive looking too.
    Clare people aren't great looking, they have a pudgy look about them.
    Galway aren't that attractive either.
    Mayo no....
    Sligo and Donegal have great looking people too...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

226a730eb1c4574b44d865837a557461.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭BoneIdol

Tommy Robinson

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭BoneIdol

Danzy wrote: »
    Angus oSnodaigh TD one of the few voices in Dublin that has the Protestant working class accent still.

A little known lingual fact.

His no shoes wearing hippy brother and the rest of Kila should ask the queen for some smart footwear.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,681 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

I knew a Robin Banks once. He'd disappear every so often. When I'd ask him where he was, he'd say 'I was at me Nan's"

'The Bishops blessed the Blueshirts in Galway, As they sailed beneath the Swastika to Spain'

• Registered Users Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

I knew a Robin Banks once. He'd disappear every so often. When I'd ask him where he was, he'd say 'I was at me Nan's"

Ann Dover?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,316 ✭✭✭nthclare

BoneIdol wrote: »
    Tommy Robinson

You'll never see Tommy Robinson and Andy Bell in the same room....

Can ye see the resemblance ?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭imme

oi posh boy!

surely there's a student somewhere who could throw together a piece on this for you OP.

Does a surname bear such connotations as 'poshness'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

nthclare wrote: »
    They're more squinted looking, if you observe well enough you'll notice it.

It's like Kerry people, I'm not from Kerry but their men are very good looking, dark complexion and a good jaw bone.
    The women in Kerry are quite attractive looking too.
    Clare people aren't great looking, they have a pudgy look about them.
    Galway aren't that attractive either.
    Mayo no....
    Sligo and Donegal have great looking people too...

Haha I lolled. The 3 people from Clare I know are as you described.

• Registered Users Posts: 576 ✭✭✭mick malones mauser

Forget surnames..people with the most unusual surnames can be crims, it's not just the Byrnes, Smiths, Kellys etc .
    But First or Christian names among the criminal fraternity is worth doing a thesis on.
    Lets start with an analysis of the fly on the wall documentary about Dublins underworld which was called Love/Hate. Main guys nickname was Nidge, which apparently is "short " for Nigel..
    Now here is fun fact..No member of the Dublin working class was ever called Nigel..ever..Fact

• Registered Users Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭political analyst

Forget surnames..people with the most unusual surnames can be crims, it's not just the Byrnes, Smiths, Kellys etc .
    But First or Christian names among the criminal fraternity is worth doing a thesis on.
    Lets start with an analysis of the fly on the wall documentary about Dublins underworld which was called Love/Hate. Main guys nickname was Nidge, which apparently is "short " for Nigel..
    Now here is fun fact..No member of the Dublin working class was ever called Nigel..ever..Fact

Usually, gangland criminals with unusual surnames are the ones whose surnames sound rough, i.e. Collopy, Dundon, Sugg.

I'm aware that one criminal was Shane Coates, who was from the same family as the composer of the theme tune of "The Dam Busters".

It was mentioned earlier in this thread that there used to be a significant Protestant working-class community in Dublin and that this may explain the posh-sounding "skanger" surnames. An example here is conticted drug dealer Paul Ainscough, who died earlier this year (I assumed the deceased here is the same person).

https://rip.ie/death-notice/paul-ainscough-drimnagh-dublin/355100

Funnily enough, there's a marriage registrar in England who has the same name!
    https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/world-news/sham-wedding-exposed-bride-groom-4968957

• Registered Users Posts: 719 ✭✭✭1968

Usually, gangland criminals with unusual surnames are the ones whose surnames sound rough, i.e. Collopy, Dundon, Sugg.

I'm aware that one criminal was Shane Coates, who was from the same family as the composer of the theme tune of "The Dam Busters".

It was mentioned earlier in this thread that there used to be a significant Protestant working-class community in Dublin and that this may explain the posh-sounding "skanger" surnames. An example here is conticted drug dealer Paul Ainscough, who died earlier this year (I assumed the deceased here is the same person).

https://rip.ie/death-notice/paul-ainscough-drimnagh-dublin/355100

Funnily enough, there's a marriage registrar in England who has the same name!
    https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/world-news/sham-wedding-exposed-bride-groom-4968957

Paul 'Gash' Ainscough actually died in June 2019

https://rip.ie/death-notice/paul-gash-ainscough-dublin-8-dublin/391077

He had a rap sheet going back to the late 1960s

https://www.thefreelibrary.com/This+man+sold+hard+drugs+around+here+for+yrs%2C+now+he+knows+what+it%27s...-a083068408

He may have been related to a former gangland Dublin character called Charles ‘Charlie’ Ainscough (aka Henchico) who was active in the 1940s-1960s. See:

https://comeheretome.com/2018/01/30/henchico-dublins-early-underworld-kingpin/

• Registered Users Posts: 719 ✭✭✭1968

Zambra is another unusual/surname that has gangland connections in Dublin.

Wayne Zambra of Lourdes Road, Maryland, Dublin 8 shot dead in 2006
    https://www.irishtimes.com/news/garda%C3%AD-in-new-push-after-gang-murder-1.1040655

Christopher 'Git' Zambra of Galtymore Road, Drimnagh shot dead in 2014
    https://www.thejournal.ie/christopher-zambra-drimnagh-1449066-May2014/

Karl Zambra - 77 convictions
    https://www.thejournal.ie/man-jailed-for-selling-cocaine-to-undercover-gardai-4347935-Nov2018/

Paul Zambra
    https://www.rte.ie/news/2016/0316/775314-gun-sentence/

There was only two Zambra familes in the whole island in 1911. Living in Mercer St and Cuffe St.(around the corner from each other) in Dublin.

A May Zambra was active in republican politics during the Civil War. She went on hunger strike while imprisoned aged 17.