Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

New Dail / New Taoiseach

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,160 ✭✭✭Huntergonzo

washman3 wrote: »
    Did Bertie not tell the people who forecast the crash to go commit suicide.?

He did indeed, an appalling man he was to, Ireland's worst ever Taoiseach. The coward even abandoned ship once he saw the writing on the wall, an utterly shameful legacy.

Did Mary Lou call Slab Murphy a "good republican" and "a very nice man"?

• Registered Users Posts: 39,437 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Just heard Pearse Doherty suggesting this on Rte1 - thoughts..

If Sinn Fein win the most seats then it's very much a possibility but if they aren't the largest party then no.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,796 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

I can understand Pearse Doherty getting giddy today, but SF are going to be the third largest party so there's no question of her being Taoiseach.

That said, they have a large mandate so they may figure in Government. However, to properly tackle the Health Service issues, they are going to have to move on two big points.

They are going to have to pay medical staff more, in line with the world market for such professionals. And more importantly, they are going to have to take the Unions on head on. Not just take them on but shatter them.

The very best of luck to any leftist party with that.

We have fairly taken the piss ourselves TBF,
    Charlie
    Bertie
    Enda
    Leo

Start at your own door....;)

Charlie is going to be made look like Machiavelli compared to Mary Lou if she gets the reins of power. SF are past masters of telling the people what the want to hear. It's the benefit of being in opposition for so long.

What strings the Ard Chomhairle pull to get Mary Lou to dance to their tune is anybody's business. Do you think they believe in something as anti socialist as Capitalism? :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 582 ✭✭✭CiarraiAbu2

Can't see Sinn Fein wanting to go into power, they would be happy out consolidating their position and leave FG prop FF.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,454 ✭✭✭Icepick

Like they would want the responsibility.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

Co-living will be added in as well, each bed will likely bed counted as a 'unit'.

100k figure is such nonsense in fairness anyway and I wonder who SF proposes to build all these homes considering they seem to hate developers and banks (except for the one up north that was robbed in 2004, but that had nothing to so with SF nor the IRA of course.....)
    It's not as bad as the 160 million for a national retrofitting programme, it wouldn't do a country town.
    This "surge" will come and go as fast as the poncho, beret, or any other trend.
    It would be grand if they were just naive or deluded though but I'd be worried for peace throughout Ireland and the negative influence they could have on post Brexit relation's with the UK.
    I'd be especially worried if I was in the Gardaí.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

I agree, no question.

Interesting though that you won't acknowlege Mary Lou's praise of Slab Murphy.

Do you deny she said them or would you rather forget her comments?

I know for sure that Adams referred to him as a good Republican.
    Also distinctly remember Mary Lou refer to him as something likewise, not certain if she used a 'nice man' term. But you sound really certain so i will take your word for it.
    Most of us down here will never understand or would want to know what a 'good republican' is. Certainly the vast majority of people that voted SF yesterday would give 2 hoots about Slab Murphy. They do though, hate to be treated like children and taken for mugs, like successive FF and FG governments have done for decades.
    Maybe people are finally waking up and seeking change.
    And if it's any consolation to you, i did not vote SF yesterday.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

Larbre34 wrote: »
    I can understand Pearse Doherty getting giddy today, but SF are going to be the third largest party so there's no question of her being Taoiseach.

That said, they have a large mandate so they may figure in Government. However, to properly tackle the Health Service issues, they are going to have to move on two big points.

They are going to have to pay medical staff more, in line with the world market for such professionals. And more importantly, they are going to have to take the Unions on head on. Not just take them on but shatter them.

The very best of luck to any leftist party with that.
    I would suggest Foreign Affairs for Mary Lou, starting with a trip to China..

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    If Sinn Fein win the most seats then it's very much a possibility but if they aren't the largest party then no.

If all the independents and others come on board, we’ll have an answer to all our problems. Let’s see how well they manage.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,437 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

If all the independents and others come on board, we’ll have an answer to all our problems. Let’s see how well they manage.

These words are the most important ones in your post. I mean I think this evening will make the lay of the land.

Also distinctly remember Mary Lou refer to him as something likewise, not certain if she used a 'nice man' term. But you sound really certain so i will take your word for it.
    Most of us down here will never understand or would want to know what a 'good republican' is. Certainly the vast majority of people that voted SF yesterday would give 2 hoots about Slab Murphy. They do though, hate to be treated like children and taken for mugs, like successive FF and FG governments have done for decades.

Well in fairness SF have promised to deliver 100k homes over the next 5 years even though they seemingly aren't the party of the developer (so not sure who's going to stack the bricks together to fulfil this promise).

If that's not taking the public for mugs then I don't know what is!!

If it's any consolation to you I don't believe the BS of any party but SF are the lowest of the low given their murky connections.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Toireasa Ferris taking on an entire panel of FF/FG single handled over on TG4, well able for 'em too.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,193 ✭✭✭Eircom_Sucks

Will she not be too busy building 100,000 public homes in 5 years?

Cos unless she grabs a shovel herself, along with everyone else, how the **** is that particular promise going to happen?

Spoiler alert

They never back up their promises so it will never happen , so glad i never vote

It's not as bad as the 160 million for a national retrofitting programme, it wouldn't do a country town.
    This "surge" will come and go as fast as the poncho, beret, or any other trend.
    It would be grand if they were just naive or deluded though but I'd be worried for peace throughout Ireland and the negative influence they could have on post Brexit relation's with the UK.
    I'd be especially worried if I was in the Gardaí.

Yes their dark connections are a worry, and the way people have just blanked their love for the likes of Slab Murphy is disheartening.

But the people have spoken, they want the likes of Slab acting in the background, so the bed is made, we may sleep in it now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭amadangomor

Yes their dark connections are a worry, and the way people have just blanked their love for the likes of Slab Murphy is disheartening.

But the people have spoken, they want the likes of Slab acting in the background, so the bed is made, we may sleep in it now.

75 percent of people had enough sense and didn't vote for them

• Registered Users Posts: 6,003 ✭✭✭handlemaster

SF will have to spend and spend to do what they promised. In order to do that debt have to go up ie the public will be borrowing alot more or taxes go up. Tax wise the populist 'tax the rich ' is not going to pay for anything.. it's the middle class that pay the majority of tax...

• Registered Users Posts: 518 ✭✭✭kingbhome

A good republican is someone who took the fight right to the wire with the Brits, never gave up then sat down and talked a good peace deal for the country which was a stepping stone to a United Ireland. This is what a good republican is!

• Registered Users Posts: 16,457 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

SF will have to spend and spend to do what they promised. In order to do that debt have to go up ie the public will be borrowing alot more or taxes go up. Tax wise the populist 'tax the rich ' is not going to pay for anything.. it's the middle class that pay the majority of tax...

You get about 2-3 years out of it, before the money runs out and debt piles up too high. There will be lots of houses completed this year that started 2-3 years ago, the next government will take credit for that, even though it's nothing to do with them, and get a surge, then, corporation tax receipts will level off, and we'll be back where we were in 2009 with a narrow tax base and out of control public spending (and not on infrastructure, but on day to day expenses).

• Registered Users Posts: 5,878 ✭✭✭signostic

If you are of the older generation who worked and saved some monry for your retirement and old age, Sinn Fein will be coming to get a share of it to finance their policies.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

signostic wrote: »
    If you are of the older generation who worked and saved some monry for your retirement and old age, Sinn Fein will be coming to get a share of it to finance their policies.

Considering Fiona Foyle spent the pension paying off the banking collapse that shouldn't be an issue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭05eaftqbrs9jlh

If I were looking for lots of likes on my post, I would put up something derogatory about Mary Lou like a huge number of posters did.

It's just funny that the demographic posting here are so at odds with the view of a good proportion of the electorate. She's a fine orator and seems like a very decent person on the whole. Comparing Mary Lou to Trump and Johnson makes no sense.

People didn't have much issue with Varadkar when he was appointed and many of those people turned a full 180° in the time since he's been Taoiseach because of his wheeling, dealing and general disdain for anyone outside of his circle. The difference between him and Mary Lou is that he always intended to exploit the power of his authority to benefit his own end.

I stand to be corrected if it turns out that I'm wrong, but Mary Lou might actually be one of those rare politicians who tries to do the best they can to genuinely improve life for a lot of people. I have little to lose with that wager; worst-case scenario is that nothing changes and the country is still awfully run. The best outcome would be a fair and supportive society with a safety net for hard-working people who happen to fall through the cracks.

I just don't know where the hell half my earnings are going at the moment.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,685 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

I do not see Seinn Fein with the position of Taoiseach. Next time I say yes, that is if things do not go to crap in this Dail as as a government party they are blamed. However I do not see Mary Lou as it I actually think it will be Doherty. I am not a fan of her she seems very abrasive, sneery and may I say a bit dictatorial. Yes I know other leader of parties are the same and I would be against them for that reason also.

I do think they need to stand down (well the Irish government side) on the border poll and just let it happen.

Also in the last 2 party Ard Feish they had a bit on campaigning for a Republican prisoner who was was again imprisoned and fighting for his release and then the following year welcoming back one. I think they need to be very careful if they do this in the future.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,343 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

I don't know

FG has spent 3 years dealing with Brexit while SF have refused to....
    1 take their seats in Westminster
    2 work with DUP in the Assembly

I don't know

FG has spent 3 years dealing with Brexit while SF have refused to....
    1 take their seats in Westminster
    2 work with DUP in the Assembly

1 Brexit is done
    2. If you think Sein Fein in Westminster given what went on over there would have changed things you are very sorely mistaken

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Can't see Sinn Fein wanting to go into power, they would be happy out consolidating their position and leave FG prop FF.
    They are making the right noises after first refusing and then complaining about being ignored in 2016.

is_that_so wrote: »
    They are making the right noises after first refusing and then complaining about being ignored in 2016.

I don't think this will work with the increased voters they got this time

• Registered Users Posts: 11,296 ✭✭✭✭jm08

What you fail to appreciate is that to maintain peace on this island, Sinn Fein have to keep the likes of Slab Murphy on side or else we will have a growing number of dissident republicans.

Just did a search on Mary Lou and Slab Murphy. This is what I got.

At a press conference in Dublin, Ms McDonald repeatedly declined to stand over her and Mr Adams’s claim that Murphy is a “good republican”.
    I have told you that Tom Murphy, like everybody else is accountable to the courts,” the Dublin Central TD said.
    “Tom Murphy, like everybody else, has to pay their taxes. That is the position. The courts will deal with that matter. And I have nothing further to say on it.”
    https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/election-2016/mary-lou-mcdonald-refuses-to-stand-over-her-claim-slab-murphy-is-a-good-republican-34423764.html

Worth noting that the Indo seem to have had a bit of a bee in their bonnet over Slab Murphy with most links showing up coming from them!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,286 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

1 Brexit is done

barely started more like

Brexit itself is done. The real talk of getting a trade deal is now starting and Seinn Fein can do nothing about it in Westmeister. In the NI executive they can decide to stay in the Withdrawal agreement or not