Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Biggest scandal in your workplace (Mod Note in OP)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭DelBoy Trotter

kingtut wrote: »
    People wank1ng / shagging in the toilets. You hear it all the time :o

I have never once heard anybody at that in the office toilets

• Registered Users Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭Bazzy

I've a good few I can't post on here

One that is safe and fairly unidentifiable

We used to do on call for a company as a contractor. So out of hours if something broke we'd have to send someone down to fix whatever broke.

I used to get the calls when it was broken and i'd have to dole them out to someone.

After a while I happened to notice a pattern of call outs when a certain person was on call.

In arrives the call so I said i'd go and take a look to see what was going on. On the way to the call the guy who was on call rang and asked had anything come in.

Told him it hadn't

When I got there I found he'd a timer plug on an essential piece of equipment. So he'd set it to go off for two hours on a sunday or bank holiday monday to get an alarm of an outage and it would reset itself after two hours and everything would come back working again.

Clever Boy. I reported it to the boss man he didnt lose his jon but he got an awful bollocking for it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Wayne Jarvis

You have to listen carefully and diligently like kingtut does.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,268 ✭✭✭dinorebel

I'm very quiet.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,014 ✭✭✭tylercheribini

**** loudly he/she must want to be caught, I don't even let a whimper when I cum at home.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,610 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Anyone remember the case of the Irish mining company Kenmare Resources and one of their directors Donal Kinsella? The directors were all in a hotel in Mozambique along with the company secretary. At night Kinsella shows up naked at the secretaries hotel room door three times. She complained and the company sent out a press release to the media which said they were asking him to resign over his behaviour. Kinsella takes a defamation action and he claims he was prone to naked sleepwalking, the judge ruled in his favour and awarded the highest ever defamation award in Ireland -€10m to Kinsella.

This all happened back in 2007 and the main court case where he won the €10m was in 2010. But just last year the case finally came up for appeal and the court there reduced the award from €10m down to €250,000, ouch!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭vriesmays

Nothing at all funny about this one.

Did most of my training in a firm in the south east. Small office. 2 bosses, 1 middle aged lad that was there for years, 2 part timers in reception and 3/4 trainees then as well. The guy that was there for years was fair sound. Always helping out the trainees with work or any other problems etc. Often went out to lunch as a group (without the bosses) and he'd pay for it (he was from an old well to do family in the locality). Anyway, I moved on after a few years but anytime I was down there I'd pop in and say hello and there'd be the odd text etc usually to do with a gaa match if our counties were playing each other.

Then a couple of years later I'm looking at the news and this guy is being sentenced to a fairly long jail term for abusing young lads for years. It would have been happening all the time we were working together. There were dozens of victims and the oldest any of them would have been would be the mid teens. I never had such a feeling of disbelief and the thought of how you could think one thing of a person while at the same time they are capable of sinking to such lows still bothers me. He's still in jail as far as I know.

South East + well-to-do family + abusing young lads for years + still in jail = K.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 19,219 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

Many years ago I worked as a chef in a prestigious family owned hotel.
    We were all sitting around one day and one of the owners pointed out a ceramic bowl and began talking about how certain well known customers used to have private dinner parties in the late 1970s where the men used to throw their car keys into that bowl and how when everyone was leaving their wives/partners would retrieve the keys. She said she always wondered why they did that...
    There was utter silence for a while before we all burst out laughing and it was explained to her that these private dinner parties were what are known as 'wife swapping parties'. Even then she didn't get it. We nearly had to draw pictures.
    When the penny dropped she was horrified. The ceramic bowl was put into storage and never seen again.

On another occasion a high ranking British diplomat was staying (we often had high ranking diplomats incl ambassadors, presidents etc) but this time British secret service wanted to see the 'document's' (passports and the like) of all the staff. We had a French Head Chef and he lost his sh*t over it. He insisted that British agents had no right to ask Irish people in Ireland for ID documents and he would shut the kitchen if they even set foot in there.
    This guy was 6 foot five with a very strong French accents and he was roaring at the British agent in charge that it was an outrage to think he could just march in and ask Irish people doing their jobs in their own country to answer his questions.. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭vriesmays

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    This guy was 6 foot five with a very strong French accents and he was roaring at the British agent in charge that it was an outrage to think he could just march in and ask Irish people doing their jobs in their own country to answer his questions.. :D
    He was right to object.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,526 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

vriesmays wrote: »
    He was right to object.

Because he had “something” to hide?

The tide is turning…

• Registered Users Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Cause it isn't Britain.

bear1 wrote: »
    Cause it isn't Britain.

You don’t think it’s “standard procedure” or just plain smart for British, or any country’s, security to question the staff of a hotel their diplomats are staying in?

The chef should have been sent home if he refused to answer the “questions”. But I’m guessing he complied in the end.

The tide is turning…

• Registered Users Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭bear1

You don’t think it’s “standard procedure” or just plain smart for British, or any country’s, security to question the staff of a hotel their diplomats are staying in?

The chef should have been sent home if he refused to answer the “questions”. But I’m guessing he complied in the end.

They demanded their passports. What does seeing a passport tell you about the person apart from their nationality?

You guessed wrong.

And his objection was to Irish staff having to show British agents ID in Ireland.
    He had no problem providing his own.

And it was the only time such a request was made, despite having many other diplomats from many other countries - incl the UK - staying.

Personally I would have refused to provide it if asked.
    Should I have been 'sent home'?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,468 ✭✭✭✭banie01

They demanded their passports. What does seeing a passport tell you about the person apart from their nationality?

Not that I agree with a foreign agent making demands of anyone in Ireland.
    But!
    Aside from nationality, it would confirm identity, would allow confirmation that the passport is genuine, that the person obtained it legally, that the document is unaltered and that the person queried is actually even legally entitled to be present in the country and entitled to work.
    Amongst myriad other things.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 38,842 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

banie01 wrote: »
    But!
    Aside from nationality, it would confirm identity, would allow confirmation that the passport is genuine, that the person obtained it legally, that the document is unaltered and that the person queried is actually even legally entitled to be present in the country and entitled to work.
    Amongst myriad other things.
    So if a foreigner came to your workplace and made that demand, you'd readily comply?

They could be forged. Look, I’m not going to argue over something as silly as some jumped up Frenchman thinking he’s William Wallace going to give the “Brits” a black eye by rallying the staff against them.

It would be utterly foolish for those British “secret service” crowd to let one of their people stay somewhere where they didn’t know exactly who they’d be exposed to.

The tide is turning…

• Registered Users Posts: 16,468 ✭✭✭✭banie01

So if a foreigner came to your workplace and made that demand, you'd readily comply?

Where did I say, or indeed even allude to that?

Bear1 said

I replied explaining what sight of a passport could show aside from nationality.
    I also made fairly clear that

But allow me to make it clear, a foreign agent has no jurisdiction to make such a demand of any person in Ireland nor do I believe they should have.
    Now the usual way a demand such as work documents or ID for staff attending a foreign visiting dignitary is presented, is via a Garda Liaison and it is done well in advance of any dignitary rocking up.

Any member of a protection detail making a direct demand for such documentation outside of the Garda Liaison channel, should quite rightly be told to go fúck themselves with whichever implement they'd prefer ;)

They could be forged. Look, I’m not going to argue over something as silly as some jumped up Frenchman thinking he’s William Wallace going to give the “Brits” a black eye by rallying the staff against them.

It would be utterly foolish for those British “secret service” crowd to let one of their people stay somewhere where they didn’t know exactly who they’d be exposed to.

And yet they did, every other time. And that time too.
    As did the US, and Israel, and Germany, and France, etc etc.

Imagine if the British secret service requested documents for everyone working the Cork's English Market when the Queen visited. There would have been outrage.
    And this diplomat was no where near as important as the queen.

Where did I say, or indeed even allude to that?

Bear1 said

I replied explaining what sight of a passport could show aside from nationality.
    I also made fairly clear that

But allow me to make it clear, a foreign agent has no jurisdiction to make such a demand of any person in Ireland nor do I believe they should have.
    Now the usual way a demand such as work documents or ID for staff attending a foreign visiting dignitary is presented, is via a Garda Liaison and it is done well in advance of any dignitary rocking up.

Any member of a protection detail making a direct demand for such documentation outside of the Garda Liaison channel, should quite rightly be told to go fúck themselves with whichever implement they'd prefer ;)

The Irish side knew all the staff. We fed them.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,215 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Bazzy wrote: »
    I reported it to the boss man he didnt lose his jon but he got an awful bollocking for it

Snitches get stitches.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,421 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

I'm thinking about the guy who posted on here about making a slushi drum on one of those machines out of a cleaning agent by mistake... 'boy was my face red'

• Registered Users Posts: 2,956 ✭✭✭patnor1011

It’s not that I have something to hide. I have nothing I want you to see.

• Registered Users Posts: 597 ✭✭✭sportsfan90

Nowhere near as big a deal as some of the stories here, but a fella I know always carries two phones with him. Not uncommon, I just presumed one was his work phone.

I was right - it was a work phone, but for the company he left over 10 years ago. He was supposed to hand it back on his last day but told them he forgot it at home and that he’d drop it in next time he was passing by. He’s been using it away for the last decade and must have cost them thousands.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Jet Black

The worst I can think of was a guy robbing from the charity donations we got at work. Once a month there was a donation box brought in that usually had about 10-20k in notes and coins. Nobody liked doing it because it took a few days to go through and we got extra commission for doing our job so we'd be down on our wage. One of the greedy bastard's that never did it suddenly gained an interest in doing it everytime. He did it for over a year and they noticed that the money was down less than 10k since he started doing it. They set him up with a pre counted box and found he took around 5k from it. Didn't sack him but made him resign. A week later he was working for a company down the road taking cash payments. Needless to say there was an anonymous tip off about his past and he was never seen again.

Another one I can think of is a guy who went on paid leave for personal reasons and was found working in his brothers new coffee shop that was ten minutes from the job.

Another a guy who was an alcoholic said his life and family were falling apart because of him. Everyone helped by giving money for rehab. Went off for two weeks but was caught in the pub. Never went to rehab just drank all the money he was giving on the two weeks off.

Few more that I can't think off right now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Wayne Jarvis

Jet Black wrote: »
    The worst I can think of was a guy robbing from the charity donations we got at work.
    I used to steal donations when I worked in a blood bank. I also stole donations from a sperm bank but I didn't work there.

patnor1011 wrote: »
    It’s not that I have something to hide. I have nothing I want you to see.

Do you wear “shorts” in the shower too?

The tide is turning…

• Registered Users Posts: 10,972 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

Anyone who worked in **** in Swords will have loads of these stories.

Two guys sacked on separate occasions for sexual assault, and harassment.

Another guy sacked because he put up on Facebook that he wanted to lock the doors with everyone inside and burn it down.

The Phantom ****ter

The guy who was brought in by HR to have his probation extended because he had too many sick days, but came out of the meeting and immediately started threatening his manager (of ten days), then ran out of the building, never to be seen again.

Fraulein Fraud, a German girl who was hired for the retention team, so constantly dealing with credit/debit cards. One day one of the lads shows us a news story about her many scams. Was reported to HR, and she was fired.

The guy who had his office PC taken away by Gardaí. He lived with workmates, and they could hear the conversation between him and his solicitor, with the solicitor saying "this is what we'll tell them". His flatmate just kept thinking, surely just tell the truth if you've done nothing wrong. This article is about it I think (behind a pay wall, so can't be 100%): https://www.leinsterleader.ie/news/local-news/72669/Judge-refuses-to-hear-child-porn.html

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Phantom sh1tter was a real thing on the buses back in the day....

Male would get on, lift rear seat upstairs open cover under seat area and relieve himself and replace all parts....

It took maintenance a while to dig it out, the smell that is.

Inspectors in the company were fudging working hours done and when they were meant to be in work many of them were off on the golf course.....

Amazing to see they kept their jobs and some have even moved up to management level.

Conductors and their rent money.... They had 2 ticket machines and both weren't company provided....

Others would stick condoms or tights into the money drops and take the cash back out.....

• Registered Users Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

In the late 80s I worked in an Irish pub in a big English midlands town. There was a huge Irish contingent so there was the obligatory "Irish Centre". I was very friendly with the steward. Very decent chap. Never afraid to decorate the mahogany. He had the total running of the bar and was only answerable to a committee of people who knew very little about accounting.

The place was always heaving with 18st to 80th birthdays, anniversaries, funeral and wedding afters, bands over from Ireland etc. etc.

He'd been there about 5 years when his mother had a stroke and he had to go home to Ireland for three months. In those three months the takings went up by about 30% with no extra footfall. When he came back the takings dropped again.

After investigations it turned out he'd been bringing in his own beer, spirits and cigarettes and cigars. There was a till for busy nights that only he used. Remember in those days a till was just a calculator with a cash drawer and there was no CCTV. The place was making a healthy profit on 70% of the takings so nobody questioned anything

He promptly got the boot and headed off to another town "Up North" in a 5 year old V12 Jag to start all over again.