Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Girls as young as 11..... *may contain strong language*

• 14-06-2012 2:31pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭

Girls as young as 11 living in estates where gangs reign are being expected to take part in initiation ceremonies involving graphic sexual activity, according to a leading child abuse counselling service.

Listening to the radio earlier I heard some councilor speak about this. Many unreported incidents apparently. Goes without saying it's terrible.

I don't think a trip to the garda station or an appearance in court would suffice as ''justice''. This is one of those things we all need to be vigilant (or vigilante) about.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/pre-teens-gang-raped-in-initiation-rites-197304.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 352 ✭✭Best username ever

Reminds me of the ballymun video where a group of lads taped themselves shagging some girl

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

squod wrote: »
    Goes without saying it's terrible.

Terrible Joe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

They always blame it on the Internet don't they...

• Registered Users Posts: 43,024 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

If anyone did that to my daughter i would murder them slowly

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

That is the biggest non-story nonsense full of half-truth, conjecture and anecdotal crap.

I am quite surprised it isn't from the indo.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,191 ✭✭✭CardBordWindow

Hmmm..... gotta get me a gang.

JOKING!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,229 ✭✭✭LeinsterDub

squod wrote: »
    Listening to the radio earlier I heard some councilor speak about this. Many unreported incidents apparently. Goes without saying it's terrible.

I don't think a trip to the garda station or an appearance in court would suffice as ''justice''. This is one of those things we all need to be vigilant (or vigilante) about.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/pre-teens-gang-raped-in-initiation-rites-197304.html

Was listen on the radio to and while the reported incidences are terrible there seems to be a lot of jumping to conclusions. These incidents are happening up and down the country in every town but its unreported so how do they know its happening up and down the country.

Also where is the evidence that Porn is some how the cause of this?

• Registered Users Posts: 25,057 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

with such activity "normalised" by the prevalence of online pornography

Kind of loses credibility there. Seems like a rant against online porn more than anything else. Porn doesn't normalise vile acts such as child molestation.. it's bizarre to suggest that it does.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Scioch

Kind of loses credibility there. Seems like a rant against online porn more than anything else. Porn doesn't normalise vile acts such as child molestation.. it's bizarre to suggest that it does.

Yeah, gangs of scum normalise this shít same as they do with all manner of criminal behaviour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Awaits bullshit link to cannabis...........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

That is the biggest non-story nonsense full of half-truth, conjecture and anecdotal crap.

Via Ruhama's press office.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,973 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I think 99.9999999999999999999999999999999% of the article refers to the UK.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

I think there are several reasons for this behaviour.
    Sure, internet has become a source of pretty graphic porn that kids can now access whereas before they couldn't. They now believe anal is the done thing, and so does these young girls.
    They take after the gang culture from US where this type of initiation has been going on for years, started with MC gangs I think.
    A general decline is young morals where girls aren't considered to be quite equal to boys. I watched an interview with a guy that worked with youths and he himself thought it was normal to call girls "whores" (this wasn't in Ireland btw).

• Registered Users Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

smash wrote: »
    They always blame it on the Internet don't they...

Or video games, the parents, lack of opportunities, schools...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,641 ✭✭✭Hardonraging

This sort of Bullsh*t never took place in my day !!

**** sake.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

There were sort of 'gangs' when I was young. But nothing serious, just snowball fights in the winter or throwing water balloons at each other in the winter ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭dilallio

INDO EXCLUSIVE
    'I Found a vulnerable 11 year old outside my apartment'
    by Alison O'Riordan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

I thought I read this story in an English paper. Maybe the guardian?
    It's the priests you have too look out for over here. What's their excuse? Online pornography corrupt them back in the 60s?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

biko wrote: »
    They now believe anal is the done thing, and so does these young girls.

The future is bright!

• Registered Users Posts: 25,057 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

It more than likely did.. you just didn't hear about it as much. More people are probably involved in that kind of thing nowadays because they know that (if caught) idiots will absolve them of all wrongdoing and responsibility, and blame it all on society instead.

It's not his fault he raped that girl/stole that car/burned that bin, it's the internets/games/drugs fault.

biko wrote: »
    They now believe anal is the done thing, and so does these young girls.

I though we were all in agreement that we'd keep pushing this anyway ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Scioch

It more than likely did.. you just didn't hear about it as much. More people are probably involved in that kind of thing nowadays because they know that (if caught) idiots will absolve them of all wrongdoing and responsibility, and blame it all on society instead.

It's not his fault he raped that girl/stole that car/burned that bin, it's the internets/games/drugs fault.

Most of the idiots absolving these people though are in the judicial system. 40 convictions for violent offences - taking into account his troubled upbringing - suspended sentence.

Not all those looking for the root cause or a way to stop it are absolving these people. When someone "blames" drugs/porn/games they aint absolving people but just linking certain behaviour to these things.

It does contribute to the spread of gang culture maybe but as you said this shít is nothing new and it goes back beyond the Internet. This is behaviour inherent in human beings and goes back thousands of years.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

When I was eleven, it was all "spare the rod and spoil the child". Now it seems there's a different kind of rod being used.:):)

It's all too simplistic to blame this on pornography, and I reckon the article is a shocking piece of exaggeration anyway. :rolleyes::rolleyes:

It's all part of a general malaise that seems to be afflicting Ireland (and a lot of other countries). Small wonder here, though, if you look at the betrayal, hypocrisy, greed and generally disgusting behaviour that has characterised Irish society for so long - paedophile priests, an unholy nexus between the kiddy-fiddler church, the media and the State in years gone by, corrupt politicians and their fat-cat partners in the business community ...;)

What does anyone expect the place to be like?:confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭RoboRat

Or video games, the parents, lack of opportunities, schools...

Generally it is the parents fault.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

dilallio wrote: »

INDO EXCLUSIVE
    'I Found a vulnerable 11 year old outside my apartment'
    by Alison O'Riordan

Did she try to sell the vunerable girl the apartment?:pac:

Ellis Dee wrote: »
    When I was eleven, it was all "spare the rod and spoil the child". Now it seems there's a different kind of rod being used.:):)

It's all too simplistic to blame this on pornography, and I reckon the article is a shocking piece of exaggeration anyway. :rolleyes::rolleyes:

It's all part of a general malaise that seems to be afflicting Ireland (and a lot of other countries). Small wonder here, though, if you look at the betrayal, hypocrisy, greed and generally disgusting behaviour that has characterised Irish society for so long - paedophile priests, an unholy nexus between the kiddy-fiddler church, the media and the State in years gone by, corrupt politicians and their fat-cat partners in the business community ...;)

What does anyone expect the place to be like?:confused:

You got off handy so, when i was a child it was stfu and do as your told or else you'll get a beating !!

Made me in to the man i am today .. :D

Sure the country id fecked , but LordSmeg hit the nail on the head, it's nothing new, group sex, etc.. we were all monkey's once... just throw it in anywhere..

You got off handy so, when i was a child it was stfu and do as your told or else you'll get a beating !!
    regardless of what you think of heavy handed parenting, it had a far greater impact than "Im your dad but think of me as your pal".:pac:

RVP 11 wrote: »
    regardless of what you think of heavy handed parenting, it had a far greater impact than "Im your dad but think of me as your pal".:pac:

A good feckin bounce off a hard brick wall never hurt anyone.. sure kids bounce anyway !!!!!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭christmas2012

its this kind of lack of morality we need to clean up,girls as young as 11 being sexually exploited by gang of young boys,what does it say about how they grow up or what morals or lack of morals are being instilled in them,or do they completley ignore advice given,questions need to be asked about this..kids today are like ten generations away from me as far as im concerned when i grew up we played with twigs and used our imaginations maybe kicked a football in the wrong garden but that was it..today its iphones,pornography on the internet,which i think is a lot different to mag porn,on the internet you can literally see anything you want to see..i remember doing summer jobs as a kid and not having much time to hang about acting like a peado..