Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Meet the Londoners - an introductions & general chat thread

• 14-01-2012 11:10pm
    Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 11,008 Mod ✭✭✭✭

I'm seeing a good influx of new usernames around the place, which is great, so I thought it'd be good to have a thread for folks to introduce themselves - aside from anything else it means anyone coming to a Beers session soon has a bit more of an idea what to expect.

Edited to add: I've made this a sticky so that it's easy to find for the time being. Please don't post any chat in this thread - I've moved some posts to the Off-topic/chat thread.

So, to get the ball rolling, I'm Kyle. I moved here four and a bit years ago after five years living in Cork, and I love it here. I work in IT support in central London, for a university (not a bank, thank god). I'm into reading, drawing comics, playing videogames, watching films, giving out about films, and being a bit snobby about beer.

I love that London has so many green spaces, so many great cinemas and bookshops, so many excellent cheap food places, and so many things that you can do even when you're broke.

What about you?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Playboy

Good idea Fysh

Name is Michael .. moved here 5 years ago this month from Galway. I live in Streatham in south london (pretty close to Clapham, Balham, Brixton) and have done for the last 4 years.

I work as a sourcing consultant for a Bank .. joined intially on their Graduate program.

I'm a movie freak! Love my box set US TV shows like Breaking Bad, Mad Men, The Wire etc. Also love reading (you have to if you travel in London!). Try not to go out as much anymore as it was starting to hurt the wallet and the liver. Still love a night out a couple of times a month though. Really enjoy going out for a meal and trying different restaurants. Also love to travel when I get a chance. If I'm on my own and bored I'll play some video games but its quite rare that I get that opportunity now!

• Registered Users Posts: 122 ✭✭Fenny

I'll give it a go. :)

Sharon here, just moved over last summer after finishing college. Working in North London while living in SW, but hopefully moving to somewhere closer in the near future. Still staying with (VERY hospitable) family - bet they didn't predict this long a stay when I blew in six odd months ago! - until I get a place of my own with some friends from home, hopefully.

Love films and London's excellent selection of cinemas, even if a ticket somewhere central does cost you your firstborn; reading anything and everything; and quoting Arrested Development until people want to punch me in the face (probably). I also love going to gigs, musicals and museums, which I think basically makes London the best place in the world for me to be at the moment. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,277 ✭✭✭x43r0

Nice thread idea

My name's Damien. I moved here last summer after finishing a masters in college and started work in Canary Wharf on the grad program for one of the investment banks. Living in North Greenwich - which is the docklands(ish) area by the O2. Picked the area purely for the convenient commute (20 mins door to door :) ).

Absolutely loving being here so far, mainly because there are very few limits here. If you want to do something in London, chances are there is somewhere in the city where you can do it! Very much enjoy the nightlife here too, mainly went out in Clapham, Central and Camden areas until I broke my leg in December and haven't seen the inside of a pub/club(or work) since:o

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 6,485 Mod ✭✭✭✭silvervixen84

I'm Shirley. I moved here from Cork 1 1/2 years ago with a friend. She's since moved back home so now it's just me!

I live in NW London and work in the legal department of a media company in SW London.

I love that London has so much to offer. Music, comedy, theatre, shopping, museums, history, nice restaurants, markets...

I enjoy quizzes, so always go to the regular one at the North London Tavern with other London boardsies. I also watch an unhealthy amount of TV, love going to gigs and attend the occasional gym class :o

Here's a picture of me at work:

6a00d8341c51c053ef01310fca38af970c-450wi

• Registered Users Posts: 609 ✭✭✭duffarama

Well, after a short term contract in the summer I moved permanently to London at the end of September having secured a job in Kent. I'm from Dublin and didn't fancy living in the sticks, plus I've always liked London as a city and wanted to live here for a long time.

Living in a very sleepy posh neighbourhood (No idea how that happened) but I'm close to Brixton and love hanging out down there and finding cool bars and trying different types of food.

Still finding my feet in the city and working on making friends, the fact that I have a couple of mates from home living nearby is great too. Looking forward to 2012 immensely!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

I’m Ailbhe, I moved over here in October 2009 to do my MSc and stayed on. I live in SW London and work in for a magazine in EC.

I love a lot of things about London – the museums, the theatre (when I can afford it), the parks in summer, how easy it is to travel around. Bits of London life I’m not so keen on include the passive-aggressive tube commuters and having to explain my name to basically every person I come into contact with.

I have been known to get a bit competitive at quizzes [/understatement]

• Registered Users Posts: 4,309 ✭✭✭Tefral

I might as well throw my hat into the ring.

My name is Jonathan Cronin, moved over from Ireland in December of last year. Was working in Dublin as a Quantity Surveyor and transferred within my own company where I was doing a three day week to their Heathrow Based office where now there isnt enough hours in the day to do my work ha ha.

My girlfriend is still back home working away in Dublin so I travel home quite a bit. I moved into a house share that I found on spareroom and the couple happened to be Irish so its a little easier when I get home. My mate is moving over from New Zealand (he's also Irish) in March so going to be looking looking for a new place to live next Month.

So far I havent had the opportunity to sample much of London as I was just head down in work and the days were quickly turning to nights.

Hopefully ill get a chance to get out more once I get settled in.

So far I have found it hard to adjust to being away from the OH and stuff and am looking at Ireland with the green eye of Envy. I plan on joining a rugby and boxing club soon so should get me out of the house in the evenings.

And just for laughs this is my typical Monday morning

• Registered Users Posts: 5,095 ✭✭✭LadyMayBelle

Right, so I'm LadyMaybelle ;). Moved here in June 2010, following my partner who had gotten work here. Lived in NW London (West Hampstead/Kilburn) until January 2011, when we moved out to East London. Big change, still adjusting, loved NW London!) Kilburn's deadly for gigs and the likes..

Trained as a social worker in Ireland and now working for a charity (half day Fridays, woo!), tis hard but I like it. Did a few funny odd jobs before I landed this one, ah the world of social work!

Free time for me is zumba (fun!) and love my boxsets (gone through Mad Men, The Sopranos, The Wire, Friday Night Lights (which is possibly my favourite and I recommend it highly) finishing Breaking Bad and just started Twin Peaks..)) I sound tv mad..and like films and wine and chocolate, indie tunes (6 Music fan) and a bit of crafting (crochet and making stuff) on the side..like nice cafes and markets and getting a nice meal in a nice resteraunt!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,309 ✭✭✭Tefral

Right, so I'm LadyMaybelle ;). Moved here in June 2010, following my partner who had gotten work here. Lived in NW London (West Hampstead/Kilburn) until January 2011, when we moved out to East London. Big change, still adjusting, loved NW London!)

Trained as a social worker in Ireland and now working for a charity (half day Fridays, woo!), tis hard but I like it. Did a few funny odd jobs before I landed this one, ah the world of social work!

Free time for me is zumba (fun!) and love my boxsets (gone through Mad Men, The Sopranos, The Wire, Friday Night Lights (which is possibly my favourite and I recommend it highly) finishing Breaking Bad and just started Twin Peaks..)) I sound tv mad..and like films and wine and chocolate, and a bit of crafting (crochet and making stuff) on the side..like nice cafes and markets and getting a nice meal in a nice resteraunt!

Small bit off topic but you should start watching Sonds of Anarchy.. id say you would love it

• Registered Users Posts: 66 ✭✭flynninio

this is wicked idea and i even considered with a mate starting a page on facebook to this effect. its always good to stay in touch with irish when abroad imo. i do go to irish pubs at ties but near me in north london it tends to be mainly old pubs which are good craic but not any new arrivals like myself.
    I have been here for 5 yrs this month and on the most part i actually love the city and all it offers but do miss certain things like watchin sports from home with ates like the rugby or ireland matches etc. did try the gaa clubs at first but found a lot of the quite clicky tbh. handy initially finding work as i a plumber but am about to change professions to be a carer for people with learning difficulties(not sure this would av happened at home).

if anybody wants to chat or hook up with other irish send me a pm as i do know quite a few irish here now and know it can be daunting when new .

good luck to everyone on here anyhow.

• Registered Users Posts: 657 ✭✭✭exiledelbows

Hi, my name's Davet. I moved over in April 2008 with my girlfriend, originally to Brighton and then moved up to London in April 2011.

I live near Willesden Junction and work for a legal publishing company in Notting Hill. It's an area of London I really love, Portobello Road feels like a little village rather than London and while it's a bit pretentious you can usually go one street over and stumble across a Palestinian or Spanish enclave with the most incredible food stalls.

I love London for a lot of the same reasons mentioned above - the cinemas, the museums, the architecture, the history, the fact there's always something on.

I'm big into my sport and love the fact that, with a little planning, you can get along to see any live sport you might care to see. In a 12-month period starting from last July I'm going to see the Open Championship in Kent, Wimbledon, the London Marathon, Northampton V Munster this Saturday, the Heineken Cup Final in Twickenham, England V Ireland in the Six Nations (if I can get tickets) and various Olympic events, as well as watching the Rugby World Cup Final with a few hundred Kiwis in Shepherds Bush last October. I could never dream of doing that in Ireland, and it's all on my doorstep.

I dislike people who complain about transport when they're late due to delays less than once a month, chuggers, losing at quizzes, people who mimic an Irish accent badly when speaking to me and being made to describe myself on an online forum (that's for you Fysh).

• Registered Users Posts: 539 ✭✭✭83ste

Hi, Stephen here.

I moved to the UK (Bath) from Dublin in January 2011, then moved to London in September after the car magazine I was working on closed down. I now work for another car magazine (I quite like cars, me) in the somewhat inappropriate location of the West End.

I live in southeast London and apart from things with wheels and engines, I enjoy quality music, theatre, TV, movies and books as well as museums and general historical stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 66 ✭✭flynninio

Hi, my name's Davet. I moved over in April 2008 with my girlfriend, originally to Brighton and then moved up to London in April 2011.

I live near Willesden Junction and work for a legal publishing company in Notting Hill. It's an area of London I really love, Portobello Road feels like a little village rather than London and while it's a bit pretentious you can usually go one street over and stumble across a Palestinian or Spanish enclave with the most incredible food stalls.

I love London for a lot of the same reasons mentioned above - the cinemas, the museums, the architecture, the history, the fact there's always something on.

I'm big into my sport and love the fact that, with a little planning, you can get along to see any live sport you might care to see. In a 12-month period starting from last July I'm going to see the Open Championship in Kent, Wimbledon, the London Marathon, Northampton V Munster this Saturday, the Heineken Cup Final in Twickenham, England V Ireland in the Six Nations (if I can get tickets) and various Olympic events, as well as watching the Rugby World Cup Final with a few hundred Kiwis in Shepherds Bush last October. I could never dream of doing that in Ireland, and it's all on my doorstep.

I dislike people who complain about transport when they're late due to delays less than once a month, chuggers, losing at quizzes, people who mimic an Irish accent badly when speaking to me and being made to describe myself on an online forum (that's for you Fysh).

that final paragraph made me chuckle. you have done well to get tickets for northampton gae this wk and maybe even luckier to get tickets for irl v eng on paddys day. i had tickets for munsters games as my mate lives in northampton but i couldnt make it up. btw where would you go to watch games on tv? willesdon been near cricklewood i guess you av few options like the crown but i often found even in irish pubs they would prefer to show show the football.

enjoy sat and hope we get the win.

• Registered Users Posts: 657 ✭✭✭exiledelbows

flynninio wrote: »
    that final paragraph made me chuckle. you have done well to get tickets for northampton gae this wk and maybe even luckier to get tickets for irl v eng on paddys day. i had tickets for munsters games as my mate lives in northampton but i couldnt make it up. btw where would you go to watch games on tv? willesdon been near cricklewood i guess you av few options like the crown but i often found even in irish pubs they would prefer to show show the football.

enjoy sat and hope we get the win.

I have fellow boardsie Brianderunner to thank for getting the tickets for Saturday.

Re pubs, I actually don't drink near where I live at all (except for work drinks in Notting Hill). Because Willesden Junction is so handy for transport I go over to the Sheephaven Bay in Mornington Crescent for Irish soccer games and I meet up with the Munster supporters club in the Mustard bar at St Pauls for Munster games (its currently closed for refurbishment, so they're in the Cape bar also in St Pauls). I haven't lived in London for a Six Nations campaign yet so haven't decided on a venue.

There's a couple of social events being planned for the game this weekend even if you're not going. PM me if you want details (that goes for anyone else too)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭afatbollix

Hi all, The names Anthony and I work in TV in the south west of London I live pretty far out but hoping to move a bit closer in the summer.

Moved here to move up the career ladder and I'm still going. The amount of work coming up with Olympics is unreal Its going to be a busy summer! Into Motorsport and I've joined my local club and am now a manager on running the local rally down south. I also play squash weekly which I find a great work out even tho I'm still crap! I did do one silly thing and that was buy a expensive bike and when you go in to buy the silly bike they sell you the silly shoes. I haven't fallen yet but when I do Im sure someone will have it on camera! With being so close to the cycle route I'm getting bits of it done. Made it out to Guildford & into the mall one day. By the sounds of it I must be fit but really I do live up to my username.

As you may of guessed I work in sports anything goes except Football I hate it with a passion. I go to the Tennis events in the summer as they are good fun Eastbourne and Wimbledon.

Over here a year and a half now meet the girl of my dreams but she moved away and now have a lovely girlfriend (in fact the first anniversary is coming up.. Ideas anyone!!!?? )

Live near both bushy park and Richmond park If you get a clear day head up to Richmond park the view back into London is amazing! You might even meet Fenton the dog ;)

I don't know if you have cars or not but get your selfs a national trust membership. If you are under 25 it costs under £20 a year and you make a profit after visiting 3 places. In a year I have visited about 7 property's its a good day out. Churchill's old house is one that sticks out. visit on a very hot day tho a picnic on the lawn for me is heaven.

I can see myself staying in London/Uk for the future.

last I work shifts so that is why I haven't made it to a boards beer yet :(

• Registered Users Posts: 350 ✭✭ICANN

I'm ICANN :D
    I came over here last year to teach (alongside thousands of other teachers it seems). I live in Holloway (not too far from the prison eek) I don't know many people here and was all alone until my sister joined me here last week :) she'll be here til July when she moves to Australia so I want to make the most of having her here with me.

I like going out in Camden and around Liverpool Street. The contract for my house is up at the end of February so I'm considering a move east, not sure where yet though!! I plan on staying here a year or two, I love it here but I love home too. It's a constant dilemma!!

• Registered Users Posts: 59 ✭✭bill_lehane

Hey everyone

My name's Bill, I'm an online journalist from Rathfarnham who moves a lot, but is hopefully staying put in London for the next while!

I came here in August with my wife, a travel writer from New Mexico who specialises in China and Ireland. (Check out her rather groovy site here: www.irishjaunt.com)

We like flaneuring about the city enjoying the cheap eats and drinks of London's various hotspots.

I can't stand sport but enjoy old English pubs all the same, as well as the usual cultural recreational stuff already mentioned. I'm also a complete Twitter addict (@lehaneb).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

Hi guys; I'm Tadhg, which almost nobody says in London:( and I live in Hammersmith. I'm 25 and moved over here for university but never quite moved home properly. I'm currently studying on a law conversion course but my big interest is in economics.

I love almost everything about this city; from Londoners themselves to the pace of life, to the clubs, to the little idiosyncrasies like birdwatching out on Rainham Marshes. I feel like we're living in our own, slightly barmy mini Republic. The diversity and the independence of London are two of my favourite things about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,560 ✭✭✭Woden

Hi I'm Woden,

I've moved here about 3 months ago after spending a number of years living in Stockholm. So far so good. Living in the Holloway road area and enjoying what London has to offer so far. Much more gigs on. Need to get to more shows/musicals though.

I work as a consultant and am currently working (too much) in a bank near Liverpool Street.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭Alessandra

Hey good thread. I'm logged on here a lot more lately and searching for things to do.
    I moved over in Sept 09, trained as a teacher and 2 years in the job now. It's tough work over here and bad pay. Hoping for a career change in the summer! I live in SW zone 4. Nothing much nice to do/see about my area. I go to the gym eat and sleep here and commute out of London to work. Hoping to move more central late in the year. Can't see myself moving home anytime soon.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭fluke

Hey all,

Brian here. Been living here almost a year and a half. Live in the East end not far from where a lot of the Olympic events will be. I work in Central London.

My interests, mostly movies and music and comics, I go to museums from time to time and watch the GAA when I think of it. lately developed an interest in graphic design but more so as a hobbie than anything else.

Hopefully see you (or at least some of you) at one of these meet ups soon! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭Reekwind

Sure, I might as well do this now. The name's Eddie and I've been working in London for about four months now... of which two were spent in Saudi Arabia. Now I'm back

Currently living in West Ham and looking forward to getting to know the city and some peeps in it (both of which I currently know nothing.) Hobbies include film, football and just walking around the city. I'm working through a list of tourist attractions on my weekend; feel free to recommend any lesser known ones

• Registered Users Posts: 244 ✭✭Choccie Lover

Hey all. Aisling here. Not in London yet, but plan on being there in late March, early April. I’m teaching in the Far East at the moment, but fancy moving somewhere more accessible to home. Plus, I love London, so can’t wait to get stuck in!

I’m in my early thirties. I like films, reading, hiking, trekking, theatre, having a sneaky pint, coffee and pastries and lots more. Will be heading over solo, so would like to take advantage of any boards meet-ups or hang out with anyone in a similar situation.

• Registered Users Posts: 583 ✭✭✭cranky bollix

im cranky (well not really, chose this name years ago and never got around to changing it)
    Moving over to London tomorrow with the other half.Will be staying out in Ealing at the start and then see what happens.We dont have any work sorted yet, so we're a bit/ VERY apprehensive.But looking forward to it all the same.

Ive never been to a boards meet up, so London might be a good place to start.....

• Registered Users Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Semele

Hi, I'm Marie...been on boards.ie for years and only now discovered this forum! I'm 27, moved here 4 years ago to do a masters- hated it for the whole year than had a sudden change of heart when I was getting ready to move back to Dublin, decided to give it another 6 months and I'm still here 3 years later!

Would love to come along to the next meet-up if I can...I work shifts (as a mental health support worker) so maintaining a social life that coincides with anyone elses is an effort sometimes and I've found myself becoming increasingly reclusive since I started this job...could do with meeting some fun new people:) I've just read through the Ye Olde Pub Thread and was pretty impressed to find many of my favourite places mentioned- You've all good taste! I'm not bad in a pub quiz either and have been looking for a new one since I moved away from my old local in Ealing.

Hope to put faces to names in the not-too-distant future!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 reusable

Hello, im Patrick. I moved over to London last Thursday and ive finally found a room in Oval just beside the cricket pitch. Now just need to find a job!!

Loving London so far especially the tube.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 fireyred

Hi everyone

My name is Marie. I have just moved over to London a few days ago with by boyfriend from Ireland. I'm liking London so far! At the moment, we're spending most of our time job hunting.. Would be nice to meet people outside of this :). Hope to join your nights out over the next few months.

• Registered Users Posts: 10 coco1001

Hi, I'm Claire. Moved here over a year ago with my boyfriend. Working in finance and living in Holloway Road. Hope to come along to a drinks night soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 Aoifebm

Hi I'm Aoife!
    Moved over here from Cork about a year ago. Studied business and Marketing at CIT. Im working as an intern in a Theatre at the moment and also do some waitressing for extra pocket money. I love London! Theres so much to do here, its constantly buzzing. However, there are a lot of downsides aswell like the crowds, rushing around on the tube etc. I live in Fulham with two Italian girls who are great. Hoping to meet some Irish friends aswell so will defo be along to one of the pub quizzes! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,294 ✭✭✭Jack B. Badd

KidKeith89, I've moved your query and subsequent posts to the FAQ for moving to/living in London.

Thank you,
    Jack.