Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Signs you are dealing with a 'Rooter'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 685 ✭✭✭keepalive213

Im not sure if it counts as a rooter but I reckon I know 1 very rough farmer.
    Pile of tools and gear in the back of van all tangled up. He'll grab the power lead of what he needs and just reef it towards the door. Before he ever uses any tool he generally first has to fix it.
    He towed a borrowed cement mixer on small wheels for miles. Afterwards he discovered the wheels were not turning and had been ground down to a nub.
    I once saw him drive up on a concrete septic tank lid with a malone topper going full bore.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,875 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

I know of a lad hes a good handy man. One day the sewage in the house was blocked, so he yoked the compressor up to the pipe, it didnt end well lol. Lads could write books about rooters around here

• Registered Users Posts: 3,862 ✭✭✭Dickie10

The lad I trained with always said 10 minutes in the morning was a half an hour in the evening, he said if you'd the mixer or drill going at ten to 8 you were finished at 5, anything after 8 and you weren't out the gap until half 5 and I've seen it happen over the years where a late start of only 5 or 10 minutes has a knock on effect all day long

I think your a plasterer?!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,862 ✭✭✭Dickie10

was scanning ewes last saturday, the guy said he would be here at 5:30 , drove into the yard at:5:33am , 105 ewes scanned at 6:35 gone to next job by 6:45am, i finshed up that evening at 6pm, got 3 days work done in 1

• Registered Users Posts: 10,681 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Dickie10 wrote: »
    was scanning ewes last saturday, the guy said he would be here at 5:30 , drove into the yard at:5:33am , 105 ewes scanned at 6:35 gone to next job by 6:45am, i finshed up that evening at 6pm, got 3 days work done in 1

So he was late !!!

'The Bishops blessed the Blueshirts in Galway, As they sailed beneath the Swastika to Spain'

• Registered Users Posts: 715 ✭✭✭Stihl waters

Dickie10 wrote: »
    I think your a plasterer?!

Bang on

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,034 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

squinn2912 wrote: »
    I hate the term work shy. As though you owe it to the world to have bleeding hands at the end of a day. There’s more to life than slogging. Fair play to you for managing your time to enable your lifestyle.
    You do know the fella thats happy working is every bit as happy ,maybe happier .i see it all the time,there's people that just hate work and others that it is no.bother to them

• Registered Users Posts: 1,899 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

On about everyone only having so many heartbeats. I heard someone on the radio talking about that before they were asked is exercise wasting up heartbeats. She answered that The heartbeats from high intensity training are deducted from your heartbeat count to date

• Registered Users Posts: 4,677 ✭✭✭squinn2912

K.G. wrote: »
    You do know the fella thats happy working is every bit as happy ,maybe happier .i see it all the time,there's people that just hate work and others that it is no.bother to them

Absolutely, that’s the key being happy at what you’re doing. For some people work is hobby and escape but for others they need to find that away from work. I don’t think anyone should be ridiculed for liking to do things other than work or for liking to do nothing but work.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Zimmerframe

whelan2 wrote: »
    People always being late really annoys me.

Funny though, people who are late always seem happier than those waiting for them. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,677 ✭✭✭squinn2912

Funny though, people who are late always seem happier than those waiting for them. :D

Bit of an aside but I used to go to a physio. His work was very good and I had no complaints. One time I slept in and arrived ten mins late. I went anyhow and apologised and he told me it’s ok but your session will still have to finish at ‘half’ I said that was no bother and paid the full price. A few weeks later he arrived ten mins late and my session finished... at half! That finished me with him.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Zimmerframe

squinn2912 wrote: »
    Bit of an aside but I used to go to a physio. His work was very good and I had no complaints. One time I slept in and arrived ten mins late. I went anyhow and apologised and he told me it’s ok but your session will still have to finish at ‘half’ I said that was no bother and paid the full price. A few weeks later he arrived ten mins late and my session finished... at half! That finished me with him.

I too would have said, it's Ok, but your fee has finished at half. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 722 ✭✭✭French Toast

Yep the slower heart beating creatures live longer.

Dogs are the opposite, strangely enough.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭Feisar

On about everyone only having so many heartbeats. I heard someone on the radio talking about that before they were asked is exercise wasting up heartbeats. She answered that The heartbeats from high intensity training are deducted from your heartbeat count to date

I don't think it works like that however very fit people have lower resting BPM. A very fit person could be as low as thirty whereas the average person is between 60 and 100ish.

First they came for the socialists...

BENDYBINN wrote: »
    Yea,and all the neighbors laughing at you sayin your backward as fucck, stuck in the dark ages!!
    Base price wrote: »
    I've never given a fiddlers feck about what anyone thinks of me :)

It's a well known fact neighbours won't pay for your tractor. Other half's father has an ole Fiat thing that never let's him down (lightwork) but it's well shook looking.
    Feisar wrote: »
    I don't think it works like that however very fit people have lower resting BPM. A very fit person could be as low as thirty whereas the average person is between 60 and 100ish.

Mine went from 70 odd to low 50s after losing 3 stone & a bit...... There was surprising fitness benefits TBH.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,187 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

The lad I trained with always said 10 minutes in the morning was a half an hour in the evening, he said if you'd the mixer or drill going at ten to 8 you were finished at 5, anything after 8 and you weren't out the gap until half 5 and I've seen it happen over the years where a late start of only 5 or 10 minutes has a knock on effect all day long

A lad told me recently the main thing here is to be on time if not even a bit earlier, if you do mess up during the day youll only have messed up but if you were late no matter how well you did youd still have been late that morning.
    Farming on the other side of the world with massive herds has definitly stood to me here. It took a long time to get out of the habit of early rising when i went to a cropping farm after a dairy farm i used to still wake at 0230 every morning thinking it was time to make a start.
    All the lads at home think im mad leaving the house at 5a. or earlier but i think there mad for going milking at 6pm or even answerig the phone for an AI call at 8pm on a Saturday evening is one i couldnt understand and then he went and served the cow while the lads waited in the car to bring him to town. Horses for courses i suppose.

Better living everyone

• Registered Users Posts: 851 ✭✭✭Sacrolyte

A lad told me recently the main thing here is to be on time if not even a bit earlier, if you do mess up during the day youll only have messed up but if you were late no matter how well you did youd still have been late that morning.
    Farming on the other side of the world with massive herds has definitly stood to me here. It took a long time to get out of the habit of early rising when i went to a cropping farm after a dairy farm i used to still wake at 0230 every morning thinking it was time to make a start.
    All the lads at home think im mad leaving the house at 5a. or earlier but i think there mad for going milking at 6pm or even answerig the phone for an AI call at 8pm on a Saturday evening is one i couldnt understand and then he went and served the cow while the lads waited in the car to bring him to town. Horses for courses i suppose.

That’s dedication for you boy. I hope you bought that lad a pint.
    And he scored before he ever went out. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,187 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

Sacrolyte wrote: »
    That’s dedication for you boy. I hope you bought that lad a pint.
    And he scored before he ever went out. :)

I was in the pub waiting on them at that stage, a Saturday evening and outside the main bust of AI work that he does. It was the Summer just gone where ye had to book tables etc i was more conscious of the publicans at the time it was enough of a dose for them to be dealing with without late arrivals and no shows.

Better living everyone

• Registered Users Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭kerryjack

I worked for a plant hire lad one time who used to do a lot of price work and he would under cut everyone, he reconned if you weren't breaking stuff you weren't working hard enough. You worked 8 to 8 Monday to Friday and 8 to 6 on a Saturday and if you didn't like that off you go.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭Tonynewholland

kerryjack wrote: »
    I worked for a plant hire lad one time who used to do a lot of price work and he would under cut everyone, he reconned if you weren't breaking stuff you weren't working hard enough. You worked 8 to 8 Monday to Friday and 8 to 6 on a Saturday and if you didn't like that off you go.

Did you milk cows as well with those hours

• Registered Users Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭kerryjack

Did you milk cows as well with those hours
    No the ould lad was around at the time, this was 30 odd years ago, when you had 2 choices work for those cowboys or go to England or Newyork.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭vincenzolorenzo

K.G. wrote: »
    One word ,evenflow

Only found this lad because of this thread. That's a gas channel! :D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 8,260 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Only found this lad because of this thread. That's a gas channel! :D:D

A comic genius!

The video where he is trying to start the super major is brilliant!

The editing of the videos is first class, he’s far from a rooter when it comes to that

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,034 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

A comic genius!

The editing of the videos is first class, he’s far from a rooter when it comes to that
    See he s been nominated for the bale challenge.......can you just see it ,the CONSAW

• Registered Users Posts: 980 ✭✭✭einn32

There was a lad around home years ago that bolted a half 200L barrel to the bottom of his Zetor to catch all the weeping oil. He would collect it at the end of the day and throw it back in to the tractor. Nice oul divil though.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,225 ✭✭✭Dunedin

einn32 wrote: »
    There was a lad around home years ago that bolted a half 200L barrel to the bottom of his Zetor to catch all the weeping oil. He would collect it at the end of the day and throw it back in to the tractor. Nice oul divil though.

Classic.....

• Registered Users Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭Jjameson

A character here bought a mf 50 digger years ago.. asked was she a good yoke?
    “She’s a great sieve for new oil”

• Registered Users Posts: 980 ✭✭✭einn32

Jjameson wrote: »
    A character here bought a mf 50 digger years ago.. asked was she a good yoke?
    “She’s a great sieve for new oil”

Our lad used burnt oil!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,100 ✭✭✭Grueller

Our lad used burnt oil!

Local auld fella to here would be a complete rooter but his son, wherever he got it from, would be an excellent operator.
    The auld fella has a ford 6600 and the son has a TS115. When the son changes the oils in the TS115, lo and behold, the auld fella gathers it up and changes the oil in the 6600.

• Registered Users Posts: 922 ✭✭✭RobinBanks

A comic genius!

Who is he anyway? I love watching his videos