Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
24-10-2020, 20:15   #3316
ironictoaster
Registered User
 
ironictoaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3,661
Quote:
Originally Posted by BKWDR View Post
Did you use Curve? Revolut being refused
I tried curve there. Same issue.
ironictoaster is offline  
Advertisement
24-10-2020, 20:39   #3317
frash
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,144
Quote:
Originally Posted by ironictoaster View Post
I tried curve there. Same issue.
You have to change to Curve when Irish account is still active.

See my post from the 22nd
frash is offline  
25-10-2020, 01:28   #3318
Simi
Registered User
 
Simi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,508
Quote:
Originally Posted by frash View Post
THIS WORKED!!!

The trick I missed in previous attempts was to change the card I want to pay from Turkey with before I cancel my Irish sub.

Steps for anyone who is still stuck
  1. Assumes you are paying in Ireland with an Irish credit card
  2. When still an active member, change your payment method from your Irish card to a Curve card (mine is linked to my Revolut Card)
  3. Cancel your sub
  4. Wait until the day after it expires & "Go to Turkey" (I used VPNUnlimited)
  5. Restart your membership

Just paid €4.54 for the top package of 4 screens
This worked for me today. Only difference was I also added an Irish mobile number before I cancelled just in case.
Simi is offline  
(2) thanks from:
25-10-2020, 13:12   #3319
Julez
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,612
Do you have to do the Curve part, or is that only if you're paying with Revolut? Have started a new account on a normal Irish Mastercard, can I let that expire then resign up with VPN activated?
Julez is offline  
25-10-2020, 13:49   #3320
wiz569
Registered User
 
wiz569's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,501
Quote:
Originally Posted by Julez View Post
Do you have to do the Curve part, or is that only if you're paying with Revolut? Have started a new account on a normal Irish Mastercard, can I let that expire then resign up with VPN activated?
I did exactly that albeit with a Visa debit card
wiz569 is offline  
Thanks from:
Advertisement
25-10-2020, 14:59   #3321
odddavey
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 309
Quote:
Originally Posted by odddavey View Post
I would say no, I have a sub through Argentina. Stupidly agreed to the fraudulent activity on the revolut, didn't realise the card would be cancelled. Tried to use the new card, denied payment. Tried to use the Mrs revolut, denied. Used an aib card, denied. Then got on to Netflix chat, they wouldn't approve revolut as a payment. Told me to use a local Argentinian card. In the end they unlocked my account so I can sort out payment. Due to expire next Monday.
Sorted now, signed up to Curve, enterd the curve card details on Netflix and bingo it worked.
Argentina sub for 4k has increased in price to 6. 63 euro, it was 4.54.
Thanks for the tip on curve, u beauty
odddavey is offline  
Thanks from:
25-10-2020, 15:57   #3322
frash
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,144
Quote:
Originally Posted by Julez View Post
Do you have to do the Curve part, or is that only if you're paying with Revolut? Have started a new account on a normal Irish Mastercard, can I let that expire then resign up with VPN activated?
No irish debit or credit card would work for me once I went to Turkey. Revolut neither.
Only Curve would work.
Someone used Monese earlier I think.

See my post from 22nd
frash is offline  
25-10-2020, 23:20   #3323
ReverseGiraffe
Registered User
 
ReverseGiraffe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 90
Do I need to sign up for Irish Netflix and pay for a month before I can take advantage of the Turkey option or is there any way to do it with a new account?
ReverseGiraffe is offline  
26-10-2020, 07:48   #3324
snoopy84
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by BKWDR
Did you use Curve? Revolut being refused

Tried curve, revolut and aib.
Changed my payment to revolut while still on irish sub then cancelled. I obviously did not know the revolut wouldn't work untill after my sub expired so might try signing up again from ireland with curve and go through process again.
snoopy84 is offline  
Advertisement
26-10-2020, 10:42   #3325
dulpit
Registered User
 
dulpit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 7,201
I think the common error here and solution seems to be: set up the payment method you intend to use with telephone number/etc added on Irish sub and ensure you pay at least once. Then move to Turkey.
dulpit is offline  
Thanks from:
26-10-2020, 17:00   #3326
ironictoaster
Registered User
 
ironictoaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3,661
Thanks for everyone's helpful messages.

Just so that I am on the page as everyone else

Cancel Mexico account
Restart membership in Ireland and pay for a month and then cancel.
Restart account in Turkey.

I am currently using revolut to pay in Mexican Pesos and have my Irish number is assigned to my account. Do I need to change my banking details again?
ironictoaster is offline  
26-10-2020, 20:17   #3327
frash
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,144
Quote:
Originally Posted by ironictoaster View Post
Thanks for everyone's helpful messages.

Just so that I am on the page as everyone else

Cancel Mexico account
Restart membership in Ireland and pay for a month and then cancel.
Restart account in Turkey.

I am currently using revolut to pay in Mexican Pesos and have my Irish number is assigned to my account. Do I need to change my banking details again?
Yes
Revolut isn't working for most
Switch to Curve from Ireland before cancelling
frash is offline  
26-10-2020, 20:22   #3328
jc77
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 393
I recently bought 360 Turkish Lira via Revolut for ~€40.
I'm hoping it will look after my 29.99TL Netflix plan for next 12 months.
jc77 is offline  
26-10-2020, 23:43   #3329
dulpit
Registered User
 
dulpit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 7,201
Might be of interest here, I was paying at a petrol station today at a self service pump. I was using my Revolut card and my newer card (I have 2 linked to same account) worked initially and showed up as Revolut on screen. It then stopped working and I had to use my original card instead which showed up as Revolut prepay. So I'm wondering if they changed the way their cards are coded or something that might affect which cards do or don't work for this system?
dulpit is offline  
27-10-2020, 00:06   #3330
Quackster
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 4,099
Mod: Kerry, ZTest
Quote:
Originally Posted by dulpit View Post
Might be of interest here, I was paying at a petrol station today at a self service pump. I was using my Revolut card and my newer card (I have 2 linked to same account) worked initially and showed up as Revolut on screen. It then stopped working and I had to use my original card instead which showed up as Revolut prepay. So I'm wondering if they changed the way their cards are coded or something that might affect which cards do or don't work for this system?
Yes, recently-issued Revolut cards are coded as debit cards and should work.
Quackster is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet