Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How to Politely avoid telling someone your salary

• 08-05-2015 12:58am
    Registered Users Posts: 454 ✭✭

Started a new job in recent months. The odd person asks whats the money is like out of pure nosiness. However a good friend has asked me several times what I'm on indirectly, feel bad not telling them though! We are not in the same industry or anything however.

Interested to know what ways you people use to get around this question?

P.s. I'm on 35 ;-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

TheCoolWay wrote: »
    Interested to know what ways you people use to get around this question?

I usually just tell them to fcuk off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,154 ✭✭✭silverfeather

TELL THEM YOU WORK FOR MAGIC BEANS!!

Silence... Lie...laugh ...lie....tell them you would rather not say....

Who ASKS that anyway ...????

MAGIC BEANS FTW!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,154 ✭✭✭silverfeather

smash wrote: »
    I usually just tell them to fcuk off

Forget mine this!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

35 euro a day! Woohoooo.

Wish I had a job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

"Jesus, the guards wouldn't ask me that."
    Or "that's a very personal question, isn't it?"

• Registered Users Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

I don't answer, I've always found it rude when people ask directly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭DareGod

One of my best friends never has any problem asking me such personal questions, including questions about money. I find questions about money very rude. I dance around the answer and avoid giving a straight one. It's really not easy at all to say "Mind your own f-ing business" to one of your best friends.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

Depending on your age, 35 grand is basically shíte. Just tell them you're on more or less shíte money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Why would you not tell a good friend what you earn yet tell everybody here?

• Registered Users Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Fuzzy wrote: »
    Depending on your age, 35 grand is basically shíte. Just tell them you're on more or less shíte money.

lovely

Chucken wrote: »
    35 euro a day! Woohoooo.

Wish I had a job.

Fuzzy wrote: »

How much is not ****e then?

Double your age minus 7. Or 2.5 times your girlfriends age.

Well this could get awkward :(

When do I tell my husband about the girlfriend? :o

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

A gentleman would never ask such a vulgar question.

Well this could get awkward :(

When do I tell my husband about the girlfriend? :o

Just send him a snapchat, that's what all the cool kids are doing...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 560 ✭✭✭Flood

lovely

Bottoms

• Registered Users Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭GalwayKiefer

I usually give one of three answers -
    1. P*ss off and mind your own business
    2. Are you working for the tax man or something?
    3. Why, are you looking for a loan?

Just send him a snapchat, that's what all the cool kids are doing...

Does my phone have a snapchat? http://www.mobilephonehistory.co.uk/nokia/nokia3210.gif

Hmmm... Send him a note through your carrier pigeon :D

Or dig him in the ribs? ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

Just be diplomatic and politely tell them to fuck off.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,405 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

One million dollars then touch their leg

Or dig him in the ribs? ;)

He might appreciate being woken up to such news :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

"Jesus, the guards wouldn't ask me that."

this

• Registered Users Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭moc moc a moc

TheCoolWay wrote: »
    P.s. I'm on 35 ;-)

I can see why you don't want to tell people, so. Just lie and tell them you're on 45. Fake it 'til you make it and all that.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,753 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Lie, tell him you are on 78 grand a year and that as an aside you started to volunteer at St Vincent De Paul... And add that you saw someone very closely resembling him down there and if he needs a ' dig out ' you can't give him preferential treatment but he shouldn't feel bad about coming up and saying hello.

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,905 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

Lone Stone wrote: »
    One million dollars then touch their leg

"The money's ok, but I'm always up for making a little extra on the side..." Leer and rub your fingertips down their chest and towards their belt buckle. Either they'll never ask again, or you'll get laid. Win win.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

"You'll want to know where I had a shite last next!" :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭HonestCry

I wouldn't see a problem telling somebody especially a good friend mind you my salary.

Whats the big deal?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭gar32

glassdoor web site if you want to know what people are making. Then you don'T have to ask :)